Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casafrassi 4 stars

Localita' Casafrassi 40, 53011 Castellina in Chianti, Italy

#16 of 17 hotels in Castellina in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 206 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the end of April the pool was still not opened. While this was advantage compared to other accommodations, we were quite disappointed.

    Nice place to relax. Beautiful old buildings in nice countryside. A lot of choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking behind hotel is a bit if a risk if you are not driving four wheel drive. Room had patches of damp on walls and wasn't exactly traditional (laminate flooring and a couple of repro pictures). Pool was a bit careworn with numerous tiles missing and in need of maintenance.

    This hotel is tired and in need of some serious updating and a little loving care. The room was basic. Bar was atmosphereless and staff not exactly forward in making guests feel valued or engaged. Value for money not great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and breakfast could improve, and since you more or less have to eat there this brings the experience down a bit.

    The place is beautiful beyond everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is not under the same management as the hotel and that is easy to tell. The servents bad english skills make it easy to get wrong food and the Quality of service and food is not up to the hotel standard.

    A perfect place to relax. Nice helpfull personel. Nice room with a beautiful wiew. Quiet and clean poolarea, but we where missing a clean changingroom with toilet in connection with the pool. There is one but in need of reconstruction. Cassafrassi was for us a very nice place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel. We were especially lucky with our room because outdoor patio was outstanding. So beautiful to have this extra space where the roiling hills of Tuscany painting the most beautiful picture at sunset and sunrise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to leave at 7.30 to drive to Pisa airport and no breakfast was available before 8 am. Shame!

    Wonderfully peaceful atmosphere of old farmhouse in lovely countryside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's brand as a tranquille place in the middle of no where. It's as tranquil place instill noon when 4 big busses arrives every day with lots of tourist going for wine tasting and lunch. It's a BIG minus for the place and the 4 star brand it claims to be. We did not know this when booking - and would have loved to know it - it's very important to keep your guests informed. We were promised a room with wine yard view in the booking, but did not get this in the first place - we had to discuss with the reception 'claiming our right' and we got it. 2 out of 3 nights we had to sleep on the floor close to the window not to melt from the heat because the air con did not work (even though they had tryed to fix it). And the last night we had no water - it can happen when you are in the country - but the way the staff handled it was not very service minded and not what you would expect from a 4 Star hotel.

    Nice and simple breakfast, but good - great view over the vineyards. Big and nice roome, very nice place for relaxation and enjoying the Chianti. It's possible to rent road bikes near by. The hotel offers massage (to pay for). Very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are ok but nothing fancy.

    We loved the place sourrounded by nature and wineyards. Very nice swimming pool. We enjoyed the wine from the owner. Food at the restaurant was very nice. Staff was very helpful and hospitable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The agent at the reception desk went beyond her duties calling other Hyksos and airline about my laggage that came 5 days later...never ever had that friendly staff to try to accommodate you,even at breakfast they got me lactose free milk..want to congratulate Domizia

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful property & lovely grounds. Loved it & had magical dinner in vineyards one night. ❤️ Lovely territorial views. Comfortable rooms & great wines! ❤️

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of heating. Had to ask each night for heat and would not turn on before 20 hours. But had to go to desk each night to request and nit on before 20:30 or 21:00

    Restaurant on site.and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is amazing, quiet and beautiful. The staff is kind and wishfull to help. The breakfast is good. The view is amazing. The garden is a piece of heaven

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff somewhat distant or unavailable.

    Grounds were interesting and well kept. Dinner restaurant and breakfast food and staff were excellent. Room and bathroom was spacious and romantic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms can vary greatly but one family in our group had a bathroom so short they could not stand up in the shower, not even the 12 year old, - showered on their knees! one person in the room was over 6 feet tall and they couldn't change their room. Our friends' toilet seat was not attached when we checked in and just sat on top, not sure if it was fixed by the time we left but I don't think so. The property is all in need of maintenance, no pool lights working, fountains not working. The parking lot was full and very steep, loose gravel, tires spun a lot every time you had to wind your way up to get out. Breakfast patio in need of a good sweep. Lots of overgrown or leggy landscaping. We visited a few other places for dinner or wine nearby that were very nicely maintained that nightly rate was less money. Pillows super thin and flat, mattress very minimal. AC minimal but cools off a lot at night so not a problem for us. Not great for kids, very quiet older people or couples so it always felt like we're shushing kids and telling them to not run, etc. first day there after they were cooped up in car and ran out to the playground we were told to remind kids to keep it down - "some people go to bed early" ?? It wasn't even dark yet, just dusk. Whole point of booking out in the rural area was the playground, pool and place for kids to let loose a little. Spent entire rest of time reminding kids to generally stay out of main areas, be quiet and not run😞

    We booked our Tuscany accommodations through a travel agent and then had to add a room - it was booked a little late in the planning stage so maybe we were lucky to find this but it was very clean, good size room, small fridge in room, nice views, breakfast, restaurant on site was very good. Old stone buildings and grounds made nice old world pictures. Some really interesting architectural elements. And all the vineyards around were fun to pop into and do wine tasting and ship home.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The baths could be larger. The pool wasn't clean(grass, flies, rocks from the surroundings)

    Housekeepers clean well, every room had a bath which was excellent, the property is appropriate for the region, the food in the restaurant was delicious(tiramisu) and the wine as well. The tables are in the nature with the view over the vineyard. Lots of flowers

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location, Very tasty food in restaurant for dinner and wine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property has lot of character, old style.

    Very nice place to stay and relax. Nice and quiet,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out was a little too early (11 AM)

    The location, the restaurant, the room, the pool, the wine, the staff, the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The acomodation was not great the bed and the furniture in the room was not great

    the wine farm was very beautiful with the old buildings

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, location , swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a nice and relaxing place. The best experience here was to eat outside the next building in the sunset with a nice bottle of wine.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were very uncomfortable and stone hard!

    Pool area was fantastic. The outdoor restaurant was very romantic with great view and the truffle carpaccio was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff, dinner at the restaurant was excellent. Really comfy bed and spacious room..

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great views Good location Nice buildings Great pool Good value for money

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: