Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Tenuta dell'Argento Resort

Via Colline Dell'argento, 00053 Civitavecchia, Italy

#4 of 12 hotels in Civitavecchia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    4.2
    Direct transportation to cruise ship.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff treated us like we didn’t exist. They preferred Italians to Americans. It had been 3yrs since and we really missed the previous greeter. He made you feel welcome. We didn’t feel welcomed once in or 2 day stay. The bed and the pillows were extremely hard.

    Direct transportation to cruise ship.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    7.9
    Place has nice views and we liked the open areas and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very veey basic. No toiletries of any sort. Okay a one nights stay on the way to the cruise.

    Place has nice views and we liked the open areas and grounds. Nice and quiet. Food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Very basic room, hotel is outside of Civitavecchia up the hill on a dirt road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic room. Sign over sink in room says water is not for drinking.

    Staff drove us to a local restaurant as their restaurant was closed on Monday's. They also drove us to ship pier.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed there Tuesday, September 12th, 2017 for one (1) night. Layover before our cruise the next day. Property is owned by owners - it is on a farm - they have horses and cows and dogs. I booked 2 rooms one for my husband Peter & Angelina Traccitto and one for my friends (a married couple) Darlene & Wally Sinjakewitsch. Darlene went to pat one of the horses and 5 dogs attacked her - she was badly hurt with bites on her thigh. She was traumatized and in shock - we went to front desk and told them what happened and showed them the bites on my friends thigh - we then asked them if their dogs have had Rabie shots - at first the man at the front desk just looked at me and didn't know what I asked - I repeated my self and he said "yes" - they didn't offer to take their guest to the hospital that night. As a matter of fact they could care less that their guest was bitten by their dogs. We are very upset and disappointed. They gave us rubbing alchohol with a few pads - that's it! The following morning September 13th, Darlene called her daughter who is a nurse in Toronto, Ontario, Canada and asked her to call her family doctor back home. Her family doctor recommended that we go to the hospital - but if we went we would have missed our cruise. That same morning, hotel Tenuta shuttled us to our cruise port Hotel Tenuta should have taken their guest Darlene to the hospital and pay the bill. It was their dogs. Property should have signs informing guests not to go near the horses or any animal on that farm. Their dogs are not tied up and they are viscious. Once we registered ourselves on the cruise we immediately went to seek for the doctor on the cruise. They gave Darlene two (2) tetatnus shots.The doctor bill on cruise was $800.00 U.S. We are all very upset and extremely disappointed in Hotel Tenuta. We don't want anyone else to be attacked by five (5) dogs.

    Beautiful view! Excellent Food!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    The hospitality was incredible. The staff went above and beyond to make you happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was non existing. No grass on property. And shaded areas were tacky.

    Food was excellent! I cannot praise the staff enough. Especially Filipe. The view was amazing. The server in the restaurant was also very kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    The swimming pool has a nice view over the landscape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The swimming pool has a nice view over the landscape. You can see the sea and the harbour. Also very friendly staff, for example they prepared a little meal for our two year old daughter outside the opening hours of the restaurant. It is also nice to visit the farm next to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Great place for pre or post cruise stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a bit of a problem on the second night at the restaurant when only some of our food arrived. I'm not sure f the reason why but we were compensated accordingly.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is quite a way from Civitavecchia but they offer shuttle buses - free - to the town, port or nearby attractions - providing that there are enough staff available.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful stay in stunning surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and location superb - ideal for the port. Pool beautiful with astounding views and very peaceful. Disappointing that the restaurant was closed but we were recommended a lovely trattoria - lovely food and only 2km down the road

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Great view, clean, friendly staff, good food, and a place to relax and recharge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool wasn't ready because season didn't start yet. We stayed in the middle of the week nothing really to do there in the off season.

    We were tired from traveling and when we got there when lunch was almost over so we were not really excited with lunch. Dinner was really great we had appetizers, dinner, dessert coffee and local wine good value for price. We booked this hotel because it was close to cruise ship. It really was a quite place to relax before cruise. Would book again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was blocked but that's the second place Italy we had that so I'm wondering if it's common.

    Beautiful place ... scenery is amazing. Staff are wonderful and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    9.2
    What a Lovely Place to Rest Before Your Cruise out of Civitavecchia/Port?Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of a thing

    This small hotel/restaurant was absolutely stunning and a great place to stay if you're taking a cruise out of Civitavecchia and want to get there a day early. The staff was extremely helpful, the grounds are beautiful with a beautiful view of the Port. And the restaurant had truly authentic Italian food I would recommend this place to everyone and already did with my fellow cruisers on the HAL Rotterdam.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    8.8
    Great place to stay before or after a cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved the location. It's in a very bucolic setting with cows and horses and olive trees nearby and is situated on a hill overlooking the water and shipping terminals. Very quiet and relaxing environment. Also has a very good restaurant on site.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    Friendly staff. Free transport into town and back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place to stay and eat night before a cruise!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been decorated more...had bare walls. Shower could have been cleaner.

    The restaurant on site was AMAZING!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Room - amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room - amazing. View - amazing. Breakfast - amazing. Everything exceeded my expectations!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful view, pleasant personnel, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful view, pleasant personnel, good food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    HOTEL RESTAURANT WAS EXCELLENT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    HOTEL RESTAURANT WAS EXCELLENT!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Aside from shower, stay was satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower showed excessive molding

    Continental breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice country views of rolling hills and the Mediterranean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice country views of rolling hills and the Mediterranean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Great way to start a cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was excellent! Great value as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.1
    Great stopover before catching s cruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too rustic for us but a good place for a one night stopover

    Great stopover before catching s cruise. Good value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    7.5
    Close to rail,bus and Metro stations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee/kettle facilities The location was in a narrow street,poorly lit but was very quiet

    Close to rail,bus and Metro stations. Security was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very responsive to our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only very minor problem was the inadequate lighting. It was very hard to apply makeup in the bathroom or the bedroom.

    The staff were very responsive to our needs. Brand new bathroom was spotless. Bed was comfortable in a very quiet room. Dinner in the dining room was excellent with fresh ingredients. The location was remote but the setting and the views were glorious. Wonderful cappuccino for breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Location, on hillside overlooking Port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant not open on Mondays.Hotel did provide transport to town if it was requested so there are dining options available. Same menu both lunch and dinner.

    Location, on hillside overlooking Port. Pool was a plus. Room was huge and very clean. Bathroom also very big and clean. Peace and quiet before a busy cruise. the only noises were the birds and the wind in the trees surrounding the pool. Food was very good and well served. The staff was outstanding with both Phillipo and Marina? were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    This is the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is the place. Our first impression was the staff. English was well spoken. Everyone was friendly. Abundance of courtesy transportation. Food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.3
    In the hills high above Civitavecchia it is calm quiet and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast was alright but that was it.

    In the hills high above Civitavecchia it is calm quiet and a long way from the disorganised chaos of the Port, which you can see from the hotel. There is a shuttle service to and from the Port, the town and the hotel which you can book as long as you give the hotel some notice. We were travelling with our car so we didnt try the service. I looked at hotels in town but with problems of parking and City noise we decided to rely on reviews and we are glad we did. I only wish we had used the hotel restaurant as well. A meal we had in town was all about the seaside location and not the food. The bathrooms were good, bedrooms large and Wifi convenient. Our friends went on a cruise the following day and the hotel had done its job perfectly.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    The location is outside Civitevicha on a hill overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    The location is outside Civitevicha on a hill overlooking the port. But the location was nice because it was serene and beautiful. They would take you into town if you wanted to the port. We had a great time there at a wonderful restaurant and the food was great. We were able to walk around and see the farm. they even let my daughter ride a on the tractor to go out and see the cows. this is the second time we had stayed there and both times were very nice. Specially if you're flying in from overseas and you're very tired. This is a way to get over the jetlag still be able to see some things in the area but be able to relax and get ready for your cruise.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    8.3
    The room design was beautiful and the view view was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a ant problem. We needed to store our luggage in the bathroom.

    The room design was beautiful and the view view was spectacular. A summer stay would have been more enjoyable though.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    5.8
    location, price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not clean, rest staff did not understand English, got wrong meal, Internet very weak.

    location, price.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    7.1
    The view
    • Couple

    No space to open suitcases. No teamakfac. No place to hang clothes in the bathrooms.

    The view

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.6
    Staff was most accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was behind another which was very noise late in the night.

    Staff was most accommodating

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.2
    It's so peaceful and quite and the staff amazing they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's so peaceful and quite and the staff amazing they couldn't do enough ....loved seeing the horses and cows

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.6
    nice,quiet place,good dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice,quiet place,good dinner

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect!

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    5.8
    Nice quiet stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff at dinner not friendly

    Nice quiet stay

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.5
    Lovely views, nice quiet pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lack of choice for children in the menu, and restricted eating times.

    Lovely views, nice quiet pool. Large bedroom and bathroom. Beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    5.4
    The food very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    More bar facility and more lighting in the rooms

    The food very good

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    7.1
    Friendly helpful staff and good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In bad weather a bit remote

    Friendly helpful staff and good restaurant. Good service to the port so ideal for overnight before a cruise

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Hotel Tenuta dell'Argento Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: