Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casale Giancesare

Via Giancesare 8, 84047 Capaccio-Paestum, Italy

#2 of 24 hotels in Capaccio-Paestum

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Happy to share our Giancesare visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of owner Antonino also his excellent culinary capabilities, Enzo his Dad but particularly Jonny who was always at hand to answer our every need from early morning to late at night. Jonny also bakes a wonderful orange cake and is also an excellent cook. We would have brought some cake home with us, but we ate it all! The family's vineyard, just beyond the swimming pool, produces a wonderfully fresh white wine with excellent character. The red, we also found, after serious tasting endeavours, to be well up to standard. In the distance from the property you can see the shape of Capri and the Amalfi peninsula. History buffs will know that the US Army landed at Paestum in the Salerno landings straight in line from the swimming pool. We were made feel very welcome from the start and will be back again. Don't forget to visit the buffalo farm down the hill. The buffalo mozzarella at Giancesare is ordered fresh every day and is beautiful, naturally the food is wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    View look likes a million!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One couple from quests :(

    View look likes a million! Swimming pool is very good. Delicios breakfast, fruits from garden, kind people, especially owners, perfect place for holidays,around many beaches,nature parks, nice small villages, I would like to come again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Amazing property (& swimming pool) in a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything about Casale Giancesare!

    Amazing property (& swimming pool) in a beautiful setting, with exceptional food (both breakfast & 10-course tasting menu of local food, wine, & lemoncello)! More than reasonable prices. Very helpful staff (Johnny w/ daily meals, Antonino w/ local travel & travel ideas for going further afield (Polignano a Mare in Puglia)!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Warm welcome, nice views, fantastic swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every thing was superb!

    Warm welcome, nice views, fantastic swimming pool. Breakfast in the garden with nice views. Very friendly staff Relaxed environment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Stay with the locals on their farm for a warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In early spring it was cool and there was no heat on our cottage

    Peace, family (staff). That it is a working vinyard and farm that serves their own produce. The views are exceptional and the pool would be wonderful in summer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful hosts who treated us like an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful hosts who treated us like an extension of their own family. The rooms and the bathroom were spacious, comfortable and well equipped.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful place looks like Toscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was relatively poor, basics were at extra charges such as eggs , cheese. This is to be cheap with your guests. They had planty of grenadine trees and another fruit they could easily serve. It's a pity.

    Beautiful place looks like Toscany. Nice swimming pool, chairs, beautiful view. We liked Jonny who worked there, extremely nice , seems he never rests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful countryside property close to Paestum, could do with a better breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast buffet was rather sparse, just fruit, some cake, cereal and biscuits, it was not consistent (sometimes there were brioches or bread, other times there were none) and the owners did not seem to care that the guests were not satisfied (I heard others complain). They could at least offer some of the nice produce they grow on the farm

    Great location (very close to Paestum temples and the sea), beautiful property surrounded by olive trees and vineyards, great pool, nice and clean room, friendly staff, lots of books and magazines lying arround, great place to relax

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Our stay in Casale Gianccesare was great!
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay in Casale Gianccesare was great! The place and the views were wonderful and Antonino helped us a lot explaining what we needed to visit. I would recommend It 100%! Thanks Antonino!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place looks really nice, but we did not feel very well at easy at Casale Giancesare. The son (Antonino) seemed very friendly but we only saw him for check-in unfortunately. The parents were mainly enjoying time off for themselves (chatting with friends who came for lunch, hanging out in front of the TV, going through their Facebook on the phone, etc.) instead of showing that they were available to serve and help out their guests. Basically, all the work was being done by a guy they hired (not part of the family) and a cleaning lady but all we saw her do was smoking... We saw this guy cooking, serving, clearing plates, doing dishes, cleaning rooms, gardening and everything else that needs to be done in a B&B. Very hard work for one guy and made very long days to finish everything they asked him to do. In addition, and this is what shocked us most, he was made to serve the parents (and their friends) elaborate dinners and lunches on the patio, whilst dinner was not available for customers, and for lunch only very small antipasto-type dishes were available for guests. Once, we fed our son some crackers and cheese for dinner (since he goes to bed before the restaurants open and there was no dinner at the location available) and the lady of the house only came over to tell us to be careful with her wooden table and her porcelain "art" instead of apologizing for her lack of interest in helping us out to feed our son well for dinner. Also, we had to pay extra for cappuccino at breakfast and for a baby cot, which was not asked of us in all 7 other places we stayed at in the region (hotels, B&B's, etc). All in all, not the type of friendliness and welcoming vibe you'd expect and hope for.

    Beautiful garden and living pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous stylish and authentic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was perfect But wish we had booked a room in the main house

    The rustic location and amazing hospitality and fabulous pool and attentive service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful location, homely and relaxing B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool towels should be free not €5. Cleaner didn't do much to our room.

    Swimming pool is nice and big and with a fun diving board! Owners and staff very nice and helpful. View is beautiful. Nice to have homemade wine and jam, etc... Liked having a ping pong table. Very relaxing and quiet. Beautiful location. Convenient for Cilento, paestum, agropoli, etc...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Three enjoyable days with pool near ancient Paestum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff could have waited until no guests were at pool side before cleaning pool area with a hose.

    We spent three nights at Casale Giancesare. It is within an easy drive of various interesting places to see, including Paestum, an ancient Greek city with three Doric temples dating from 600 to 450 BC. There is also a museum in Paestum, which some people will love, but we found the ruins themselves to be more interesting. We enjoyed driving around the area, but we spent one day just lounging around the pool and reading—a great break from running around seeing the sights. The staff at Casale Giancesare were all friendly and helpful. The grounds and the view were beautiful. Our bedroom was basic but big enough, with a private shower room. The bed was very comfortable, the air conditioning was quiet after the initial start-up, and the breakfasts were sweet with multiple cakes and tarts and plenty of good coffee and red OJ, which was quite good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Country Estate near Paestum
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address did not come up on my car's GPS & the road across the railway track has been closed, so in the first instance it was difficult to find.

    It was the most attractive property I've stayed at during my 2 months in Italy, although you can't really compare an inner city apartment to a country manor. Beautiful gardens, large pool, views to the ocean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    The Best Stay During Our Trip in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Idyllic countryside location with awesome views down to the valley and up to the mountain, outside pool, vineyard, olive and fruit trees. Friendly and helpful staff including lovely dogs and a cat. Amazing wines and olive oil for tasting and buying to take home. Beautiful, spacious and clean apartment with a well equipped kitchen.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually far from archeology site, up in the hills. Not really convenient to shops and restaurants. Rooms are up a wrought iron winding staircase...very impractical, especially for carrying luggage. Staff not particularly friendly.

    Lovely property, lovingly modernized and maintained. Nice breakfast in separate building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful place to relax and enjoy the Italian area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing place to stay! The view and the area is beautiful. The family is very friendly and helpful. Free parking space. The breakfast was very nice. No reason not to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Outstanding B&B near Paestum and Salerno.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic B&B with excellent breakfast and dinner. Antonino and his family are outstanding hosts. Terrific location about 10 to 15 minutes from the Paestum ruins.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful B&B lodge, great view and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful B&B lodge, great view and pool. And if course very friendly owners and staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Fine atmosphere, nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fine atmosphere, nice view Breakfast in the garden Swimming pool Very quiet and relaxing environment' Very friendly and warm staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Do Not Pass This One Up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting with a commanding vista for a typically relaxed stay. Congenial staff and a sumptuous breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic wine and olive oil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic wine and olive oil. Great views of Paestum and Mar Mediterraneo :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Perfect , fantastic attentive staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The setting in the olive grove very beautiful , belle vista and great pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the scenery where the property is set. It was fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    6.7
    Wonderful skyline, relaxing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful skyline, relaxing place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful farmstay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable rooms. Warm, helpful host. Short drive to Paestum ruins and museum. Excellent wine made on site.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.1
    Nice swimming pool and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beware of hidden costs when staying at this establishment. The description says a restaurant is available. In fact meals are only provided on request in the evening and then are 50% above what you pay elsewhere. Even the customary limoncello at the end of the meal is added to your bill! The mattress on our bad needed changing - an old one where you both roll towards the middle.

    Nice swimming pool and surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    4.2
    Pleasant and well kept gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed in single level apartment which I would equate to a 2 star standard. I believe rooms in the house are much nicer. I would say the glowing description given for the apartments is not the reality. Briefly- Kitchen: old pots, plates cutlery. New bench top, sink, gas cooker. But everything else old and. No dining table in room. Expected to eat outside even though weather still quite cold, and raining when we stayed. Breakfast was very poor quality, little to choose from. Most choices unhealthy. Couldn't find one unchipped mug for my coffee. Nice setting, shame about the lack of attention to detail.

    Pleasant and well kept gardens. Helpful pleasant owner

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    8.8
    The welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Comfort of the beds (twin beds put together in a king size bed).

    The welcome.the view. The wine, olive oil. Nice trattoria restaurant suggestion in Capaccio. Mozzarella country. Beautiful Paestum site nearby.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    10
    Family was very helpful and provided choices for dinner and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Family was very helpful and provided choices for dinner and also showed how to navigate local roads to Paestum. Room was beautiful and great views of countryside to ocean. Owner showed us history book of Paestum and also during war (1943). Loved our stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    We had a lovely room with a private entrance;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a lovely room with a private entrance; the views were amazing. Beautiful gardens with hammocks dotted here and there on undercover patios. Comfortable lounging areas overlooking the swimming pool. Plentiful breakfast. A wonderful treat!!!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location..Claudia was very helpful. . Steps up to Ravello good to increase your heart rate Enjoyed our concert and the gardent in Ravello Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    I can't recommend this B&B too highly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't recommend this B&B too highly. Nice room (not luxurious), grounds and pool absolutely gorgeous. We were served an amazing dinner, with every conceivable way of cooking mozzarella and ricotta, and great home produced wine.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.3
    Nice pool and garden, with lots of shaddow and hammocs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Additonal foods for breakfast, eggs, meat, and water was very high priced. Bread for breakfast was too hard and old. No refrigorator in the room. Not allowed to bring food into the hotel, this is not very practical with children, water that we could buy at the place got warm in 30 min. Checkout at 10. Aircon in loftroom didnt make the room cooler before the second night. 5 out of 6 in our family got sic with vomiting and diarrea, the staff was obviously also sic, but continued working and propably infected more guests also.

    Nice pool and garden, with lots of shaddow and hammocs.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    All of it ,just very cool ,great view ,nice pool .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothina

    All of it ,just very cool ,great view ,nice pool .had a great vibe .evenings up to village for good food .owners recommended .al in all great .goin back

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing! Probably would be best to come with a car so that you are able to easily explore the local area however Enzo was amazing, picking us up & driving us wherever we wanted to go.

    Everything! From the moment we arrived we were blown away by the hospitality we received from Enzo & Anna plus the amazing location. The food & serenity is incredible. Just what we needed, perfect for relaxing. Antonino was also super helpful with all our needs, transport to & from etc. Felt as though we were in the heart of Italy amongst a vineyard & olive trees plus the mozzarella in the region is the best in Italy! Loved it.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    The view, garden and pool are gorgeous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is difficult to reach and there is nothing around.

    The view, garden and pool are gorgeous. The owners are extremely nice, he even took us to his favorite restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    10
    This is a place where you can feel at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a place where you can feel at home. It is simple but comfortable and a great place to stop to get your batteries recharged. It was very close to the Greek ruins.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    We loved everything about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing negative to write about

    We loved everything about this place. We were greeted with warmth and enthusiasm and their efforts to make our stay enjoyable never waned The setting and accommodations are superb with expansive views out to the water

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    The beautiful view plus the ancient trees in the garden,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bad experience was my fault. It was nothing to do with the home. I didn't realise it was 4 kilometres from the temples. That is a bloody long way on two tired legs.

    The beautiful view plus the ancient trees in the garden, plus the best coffee (definitely no sugar required) that I have had in Italy.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    7.1
    Loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked the apartment. The room smelled moldy. Really moldy. Really soured the whole indoor experience. Outdoors was fine. Lovely. Although breakfast wasn't much to speak of.

    Loved the location. And the pool. And the kind hosts. They were very nice but I was especially disappointed in the room.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    9.6
    The views were stunning from the patio and sunroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very average. Did not meet description in reviews. Nothing homemade. Croissants, jam, whole fruits and yogurt.

    The views were stunning from the patio and sunroom. The sunroom was amazing.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    the view amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room and bathroom quite simple (but goes with the rustic charm of the spot)

    the view amazing. Very nice garden, pool and living room. Lovely family.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    8.3
    Everything else was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lack of linen and soap to clean the dishes + the bed was not so confortable +

    Everything else was great

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    Wonderful location, comfortable room, local produce, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location, comfortable room, local produce, lovely pool (May-Sep) and warm attention from the Voza family.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    The food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothimg at all.

    The food! The atmosphere! The family! It's simply amazing ;-)

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Everything! Food, very caring and generous hosts, beautiful surroundings. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.6
    The pool area was excellent and their self made dinner was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool area was excellent and their self made dinner was unforgettable. Also the familys´hospiltality was fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.6
    Lovely people, fantastic food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely people, fantastic food.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    10
    The location is fantastic, the property beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is fantastic, the property beautiful. And the hosts extremely nice. I can only say good things about the experience.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    Picturesque location and villa with very italian interiour,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some strict rules for travelling with children

    Picturesque location and villa with very italian interiour, excellent homemade wine

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    Very helpful kind family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room in Annexe a bit small and dark.

    Very helpful kind family. Stunning location. Excellent pool.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Very good facilities and location, with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good facilities and location, with helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Beautiful property, fantastic service and lovely owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was nothing to dislike

    Beautiful property, fantastic service and lovely owners

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Casale Giancesare traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: