Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casavacanze Residence Maia Volcani

Via Balestrate 12, 95024 Acireale, Italy

#4 of 50 Holiday rentals in Acireale

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 291 apartment reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    udany pobyt, polecamy !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Residence owner was very helpful. He arrived on his motorbike to escort us to the residence when we could not manage to find the place on our own. He gave us some useful tips about shops and restaurants. The lemon trees in the garden were delightful, as well as the little beach and the view from the terrace. Janusz and Jola from Poland

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Owner of the Property was very good, because we arrived very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Owner of the Property was very good, because we arrived very late at 2 am in the morning and he was waiting for as., then he showed as around the property. The property is located in very beautiful area. Around property are lots of citrus trees, the best view to the sea. The property are in very quit area in small village, But not to far from bigger city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    The location is beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was pretty awful! You had about three minutes of hot water and the shower doors were broken and difficult to close. It was colder in the room, so the owner was kind enough to supply space heaters. But because of electrical limitations, you couldn’t run the tv and heater, or the space heaters and the stove.

    The location is beautiful! It is right on the coast and fruit trees are all around. The owner told us which trees were best to pick from. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful apartment greatly located in a very quite area and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 4 cats living there, which are used to guests feeding them, so they can be very annoying every time you want to stay outdoors. I think it's fair you know it, just in case you don't like cats...

    Wonderful apartment greatly located in a very quite area and with stunning views to the sea. We liked it so much that we decided to stay there till the end of our trip. It's only about half an hour to Catania airport. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    The view and outdoor area is fantastic, especially on a...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower cubicle is a bit small, a large size women or a pregnant women would find it uncomfortable to get in.

    The view and outdoor area is fantastic, especially on a lovely sunny day. Owner very friendly and helpful. Spacious with plenty of natural light coming in. We traveled as a family of 8 plus 2 children and we were all satisfied with this choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not about the property, but the Italians in Sicily drive really crazy, just take care! :)

    We have enjoyed wonderful vacation, feeling at home at this romantic charming apartment "Etna" at the second floor with 270° amazing sea, mountain and garden view from the large terrace, bedroom with sunrise above the sea, cosy fireplace and very efficiently working airconditioners!❤🌞🌴 Walter was very welcoming and helpful, with Italian sweets, coffee and cold water at the arrival. There is little private beach in the large garden with fantastic sea view and comfortable chairs! The garden is exotic with lemons, mandarinas, bananas, olives, wallnut trees! The little village Santa Tecla is nearby, 5min walk, with charming streets, smelling of flowers, local restaurants and smiling people. Almost nobody in the village speaks English so prepare some basic Italian and body language to communicate :) We will come back and will bring friends with us next time! ❤

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    We found everything we wanted like a bbq and a space for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The van could 'nt get in the parking space with narrow street

    We found everything we wanted like a bbq and a space for kids to play with a safe annviorment

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    We'd like to say to the owners of three guys we could enjoy our two days stay with satisfaction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The garden and the sea from our balcony would be so excellent. The owner of two brothers and the son were so nice. The recommendable fish restaurant at Santa Tecla was splendid. And also the bakery shop was so nice. They introduced us the electric shop in the mall in Acireale with the detailed map because of lack of battery charger for the mobile phone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place for longer stay. Fantastic house. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing comes to my mind.

    The hosts were very nice and responsive. The studio is part of a bigger residence. It is fabulously well equipped (full kitchen, 3 types of coffee machine, small owen, lots of drawers and wardrobe, etc). The internet connection was ok. There is a great terrace next to the studio, each studio has its own place. There are plenty of room for cars. The view is great and there is always sun somewhere. The location is great - not far from the highway (10 minutes by car) and the airport (45 minutes), next to the sea (7 minutes on foot), and next to a small nice town (Santa Tecla), where there are restaurants and shops (even a pizzeria with delivery, with really affordable prices and good pizza). The Etna is also not far away (50 minutes by car). The bathroom is nice and well equipped. The hot water limited (by the volume of the heater), but the shower is comfortable. The house was obviously designed by a practical and inventive architect. I wish I could have stayed there longer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    I have really enjoyed beautiful sea view from apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have really enjoyed beautiful sea view from apartment. There is citrus garden outside which I loved. The owner is very communicative and pleasant. He helped us by providing information about worth seeing places and restaurants around. Great stay, thanks.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs and walkways are a little bit uncomfortable.

    Good location, excellent views surrounded with lemon trees all around! Francesco one of the owners was really helpful and a kind person.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Short holiday/ shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite bathroom only between 4 but we managed :)

    Francesco is superr helpful and very kind, he even surprised us with typical sicilian sweets and let us check out at whatever time we wanted (had a late flight). Also the area is private and beautiful surrounded with citrus trees. Thanks francesco

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly manager, generous New Year's gift provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Place was a bit shabby - not overly comfortable beds and very small showers. Some stairs and walkways felt uncomfortable. Definitely better for summer as rooms were not warm but we were provided with nice heaters

    Very friendly manager, generous New Year's gift provided. WiFi was pretty good. View from almost everywhere was breathtaking. Great viewing for fireworks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.5
    ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The one bedroom apartment was not very clean, cup with broken handle, glasses chipped, sofa was sagging so badly, wifi not worked. Turn on the toaster and the fuse blown. We requested to change room and it was swiftly done. The second room was a studio flat with nice shower room, good wifi and is much better. Found two dead mice outside on the terrace. not nice, probably the work of the five cats living in the premises.

    The garden with fruit trees, we were allowed to pick the fruits - orange, lemon, lime and banana. The owner leaves us some cakes on our last day which was a nice touch. There is a really nice fish restaurant, Lorenzo, in the village, recommended by the owner -must try.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.5
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hot water didn't last long (about 5 minutes of hot water) - needed to wait 30 minutes between showers so the water will heat up again

    beautiful view specious room host was very nice and waited for us to check in very late even after our flight was delayed fully equipped kitchen

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful garden, kind and helpful staff, nice view and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Kitchen equipment could be better.

    Beautiful garden, kind and helpful staff, nice view and terrace, quiet and pleasant place.Very good location for exploring the sights and Etna.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Perfect stay and breathtaking scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    minor things as pans and pots could be renewed

    Perfect stay, everything was as described, we enjoyed the spacious and clean apartment, coffee machine and AC, and sunbathing on terrace staring at breathtaking scenery

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Appartment with amazing all round views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting could have been stronger.

    The views. The garden. Secure parking. Terraces all around. Comfortable and well equipped. The village. The host. The fish restaurant in the village right on the sea.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Apartment with a magnificent sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View and Terrace
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Great accommodation, apartment with a wonderful sea view from the terrace and a lot of trees around, very helpful and nice owners. It is only 10 minutes walk to the nice village of Santa Tecla - restaurants, bars etc. Also small supermarket is just 2 minutes drive from the location. Everything was just perfect!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.9
    nice and friendly home stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The house is divided in several apartments. If all occupied it may be pretty noisy, Italian family style, which is nothing for those seeking quietness.

    Absolutely nice and friendly people, reliable and helpful. Place is spacy and comfortably equipped. Nice stay off the big tourist places.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    Friendly, clean and calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area of (at least?) eastern Sicilia is full of litter pollution - beaches as well as wayside and cities.

    Clean and fully equipped flato. Close to the stoney beach of Santa Tecla and near to the city of Acireale but quiet and calm for relax. Very friendly and helpful hirer. View is muchanged more better than the photos in the Internet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    If you plan to visit Acireale you better make sure to stay at Maia Volcani
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owner and his partner were friendly, very obliging and helpful. The place has a great view and the appartment was lovely arranged and equipped with all you need.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    The villa is in a wonderful setting;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The villa is in a wonderful setting; the view from the terrace and the garden is stunning. The apartment Volcano is nicely furnished and equipped (there’s even a washing machine in the building!), and was ideal for our family (2 adults, 1 child). The double bed was extremely comfy, but we had to remove the mattress from the sofa bed and we rather used it on the floor, as it was less noisy and more comfortable in this way, and could be also placed in the bedroom for the satisfaction of our child ;) The terrace is great for morning coffee and relaxation (and also for using wifi), and our kid loved to play with the two nice kittens there, too. The village, the supermarket and a good café/pizzeria are only some hundred meters away as well as a beach for those who can safely swim and like volcanic stone. We didn’t go much to the beach, but Acireale/Santa Tecla was ideally located for our visits in the eastern and southern parts of Sicily (Taormina, Castelmola, Gole Alcantara, Etna, Siracusa, Noto, Ragusa, Modica, Marzamemi etc.) Of course, you have to get used to the narrow, winding roads and the hectic traffic, but it’s good to return to this quiet place (except for some party nights at the neighbouring villa) and also leave your car in the safe, private parking. We enjoyed our stay a lot, and Francesco and Walter are really nice hosts. Thanks for everything!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very helpful and friendly. Lovely value for money villa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Great location and views - local restaurants are very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good

    Great location and views - local restaurants are very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a good stay, very nice beaches and a lovely terrace at our appartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View and Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We missed a good knife and a cutting board in the Kitchen.

    The big garden, with the magnificent view and the clean bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Fantastico!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view was spectacular and the beds really comfy. The lemons from the trees in the garden were delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Bellisima!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Loved the location of this property and the view from the belcony was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Just perfect
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed the seaview.
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View and Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed the seaview.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    grade place to stay quiet surronding with fuit trees and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    grade place to stay quiet surronding with fuit trees and nice view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Perfect location with a wonderful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, wonderful view, very friendly and obliging host. Absolut recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    8.8
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view and private pasking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Great place especially with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect with children.....owners very helpfull.....keep it up

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.5
    A PLEASANT STAY OVER ALL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WIFI SERVICE COULD BE BETTER

    THE HOSTS WERE VERY NICE, THE VIEW FANTASTIC AND CLEAN. WE WILL SURELY BE BACK

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.2
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Peaceful location and superb view from the terrace.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    Breathtaking view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plaster crunbling from the ceiling in the bedroom... not pleasure

    Very nice place, beautiful garden,breathtaking view from terrace :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.2
    Unique location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unique location, privacy, nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.2
    Beatiful view and nice terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View and Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beatiful view and nice terrace. Owner was very friendly and helpfull. It was a 10 minutes walk to the village and the beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    The view from the appartment was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from the appartment was lovely. The location was convenient for all the major sites.....Catania, Taormina, Etna and the nearby Acireale was an unexpected delight. The nearby small fishing villages were a bonus.. Both brothers (owners) were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    10
    The view, the Lemon trees, the Mandarins are simply great,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the smell in the bathroom, but not a big problem

    The view, the Lemon trees, the Mandarins are simply great, the host very helpfull, close to the beach, market, an 15 min close to catania.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    Host is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no problem at all

    Host is very friendly and helpful. Sea view from the terrace is beautiful. First it was not easy to find the house - as it is only the 3rd house in a narrow, steep street but than it was no problem, as there is a convenient parking place in the garden. Supermarket and restaurant is only a few hundred meters away.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    10
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have liked to have more time to enjoy of the apartment and this lovely place, but of course it is not responsibility of the apartment :)

    Perfect stay. Francesco, the owners that we met, is really a nice person who did everything to make our stay enjoyable and easy, giving us all the facilities. The views are incredible. The studio is very comfortable and practically new. Highly recommendable.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    10
    We loved the location, owner and pretty much everything of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We loved the location, owner and pretty much everything of this place. Thank you to Walter and Francesco for everything. We have 2 young kids that they had so much fun in the nature. The volcanic rock beach is very close, supermarket is near by. I could go on and on about how great this place was. I highly recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    10
    We loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience at all. All positive

    We loved the location. It was out of the italian city madness. The apartment was perfect for 2. The hosts were just lovely anf helpful. Just loved it

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.3
    Lovely view when we finally arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The apartment was very difficult to find being in a very small lane behind another hotel - not even the friendly local Carrabiniere knew how to reach it!

    Lovely view when we finally arrived. Tv

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    Perfect location for relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location for relax. Santa Tecla is a small village with friendly local people, very close 2 minutes on foot also the nice beach. Beautiful seaview from balcony what is equipped with grill, chairs, sunbed. Parking availability inside the garden.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    it was our second stay in this property and it was great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    it was our second stay in this property and it was great again. amazing view, barbecue on the terrace, very well kept apartment. Since it has new owners they improve it a lot.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    10
    Place: on the hill, with sea view, sunny terrace, fully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WiFi did not work outside the apartment - no signal in terrace.

    Place: on the hill, with sea view, sunny terrace, fully equipped, spacious, light apartment. Free snacks we found in the kitchen after long journey (toasters, nuttella cream, marmalade), it was nice. Yes, it was on the steep road, but it was no problem to us. Near supermarket and sea food restaurants. We visited Etna, Taormina, Syracuse from this place, very convenient! Fully equipped, clean place. Views from apartment are invaluable!

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    7.9
    Close to beach and town with restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The short walk to town and the beach is along a busy road with a sharp bend. The beach is volcanic rock so not sandy but hey.

    Close to beach and town with restaurants. Also 5* hotel close by with a pool if you want to go for a meal, cocktails or a swim. Also love the lemons and orange trees in the gardens.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.9
    View,big terase with sunchairs,a lot of equipment in kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No privacy on terase-have to share with other guests

    View,big terase with sunchairs,a lot of equipment in kitchen

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.2
    Amazing view, great terrace, equiped kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Left just 1pc of toilet paper :)

    Amazing view, great terrace, equiped kitchen

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    8.3
    Fantastic views out over the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Fantastic views out over the sea

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    10
    Very good accomendation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very good accomendation. Wonderful terrace and seaview. Nice to have the opportunity to cook your one Food if you want.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    5.4
    scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bathroom needs repair

    scenery

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    Amazing view on the see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing view on the see. Even a bbq and 2 lawn chairs on the terrasse.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    close to the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no comment, everything was perfect

    close to the sea cleanliness big terrace comfortable bed free WiFi kindly landlord

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    10
    I really like the location and the amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I really like the location and the amazing view

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    10
    Comfort place and the beautiful view of the sea and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Small geaser for 5 persons

    Comfort place and the beautiful view of the sea and the greenery around with oranges lemons and flowers

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    10
    View, helpful staff, comfort, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    View, helpful staff, comfort, location

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Casavacanze Residence Maia Volcani traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: