Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Casmona 3 stars

Salita Pineto 13, 16032 Camogli, Italy

#4 of 6 hotels in Camogli

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 385 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing negative was the lighting in the room. The lights were positioned on the wall and were too bright. A couple of nice lamps with soft lighting would have been much better.

    The room was bright and comfortable. Excellent view of the sea. The beach was just a couple of minutes walk. In the centre of everything close to Great restaurants. It was my first time in Italy. Really enjoyed it . Everyone was so helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower was a bit cramped.

    The hotel and bedrooms are right above the sea. The sight and sound of the waves was wonderful. The location is also perfect for all the facilities of Camogli. The terrace bar was also nice for a relaxing drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many steps up and down to the hotel but it’s worth!!

    Nice Hotel on the near the beach, not far from the train station, Lovely staffs, Clean and comfortable Room with large Balcony, I love croissants and cappuccino there, Good WiFi signal. #Room 301 is the Best!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very tired and in need of a complete overhaul. It is a shame that such a wonderful position is not better serviced by better quality accommodation particularly as by our standards it is on the expensive side. The access to the main door is down 32 steep steps and then rooms are accessed up or down by more flights of steps....THERE IS NO ELEVATOR and staff WILL NOT render any assistance with luggage!!! The shower mixer is very difficult to regulate as either steaming or cold water showers were the order of the day and towels were very thin , like large tea-towels! The breakfast was scant and of poor quality, in fact the worst we've had in our monthe of travel through Europe!

    The location, location, location is everything for this hotel! The view from our room was wonderful and it was relatively easy to access the "beach"- front and restaurants located along the esplanade just down another pathway flight of steps.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Can't think of anything. It suited me perfectly.

    Superb location overlooking beach, close to station and all amenities. Friendly helpful staff. Bed very comfortable. Good hotel bar. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have appreciated tea and coffee making facilities in our room.

    A great location with views to die for. Very friendly staff. Breakfast more than adequate. Staff carried our bags to the street above .. Wonderful service!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What not to like here?

    We stayed 5 days in this hotel in August 2017. The best about this hotel is, of course, its location: Rooms with seaview and 3 minutes walk down to the beach and promenade. 5 minutes walk to the train station. Hotel offers reservation at the parking nearby so if you have a car - this is a must! Don't dream you will be able to park on the street in Camogli - this is impossible. Room 203 was small and simple but very cute and comfortable to live in. Stuff is very friendly, speaking basic english. Breakfast is quite standard, nothing special. WiFi not very fast, like 2-3mbps, however connected without any problem.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all ok.

    Lovely views and the sound of the sea. Nice hotel, slightly old fashioned. Staff really helpful and friendly. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast good. Parking nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A clean, comfortable, centrally located Hotel. The room had a stunning view out onto the ocean which made it. I loved Camogli, it a beautiful, sleepy seaside village, less touristy and has a unique charm. Do visit Nico at the local Gelato bar under the arches as you walk along the promenade to the boat mooring area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to dislike about this hotel! The only thing that might be worth mentioning is that there is no lift.

    The staff could not have been any nicer and the view from the hotel room took our breath away, absolutely stunning! The location is perfect. It is close to the train station, a supermarket, restaurants, bars and shops.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice room with big balcony and see view. Breakfast with really good cappuccino. Very nice staff. Hotel near the station, so easy to come and go.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic continental but this was expected. Coffee good for a hotel.

    Very comfortable and well appointed. Brilliantlocation at head of promenade and 5 minutes from railway station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was OK, but not much to take when coming around 9am.

    Great location, nice rooms, friendly staff was helping a lot. Many thanks to Alexandro for resolving parking problem

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was ok but not great, no homemade jams. Room adequate but pricey for what you get.

    Location was great, overlooking the sea and 1 minute walk to the stoney beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As our room was on the 4th floor, it was extremely difficult to carry our heavy cases up and down stairs, none of this was mentioned when booking. No lifts in Comolgi.. Breakfast very ordinary.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect. Walk down the stairs right into all the restaurants and beachside cafes. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Would absolutely recommend to others

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were not lazy and not helpful.

    The room overlooking the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access and parking options No assistance to get suite cases up two levels of stairs

    Access to amenities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sheltered place to enjoy smoking.

    Excellent location, choice for breakfast, staff. Terrasse overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Excellent location in Camogli.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have visited this hotel a dozen times and consider the personnel our friends. We are always welcomed there as such and always enjoy our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little expensive at 135€ per night

    Forget the croissants, go for the bread and salami

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic experience. Friendly staff and gorgeous views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Lovely Italian hotel We were upgraded to larger room.. sea front... wonderful view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous hotel and wonderful welcoming staff. Location superb!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC doesnt work .. could get hot at night

    Staff extremely cheerful! Location is superb !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cards for the door locks hardly worked.

    The woman at the desk was great! Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower, very small

    Best location and view!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are old, breakfast a bit poor.

    Amazing location and sea view from the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful position

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service. Marvellous setting. Pictures do not do this hotel justice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave

    Great staff and fantastic view! Rooms were very spacious with the bathroom upstairs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The wonderful view upon the sea !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, Location, Location!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly staff. Fantastic location. We have stayed before and hope to visit again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location and water views!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows to improve.

    Excellent hygiene. Dreaming location. Extremely kind personnel. Awesome breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service and reception

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Wonderful view from my window. Slept peacefully with the sound of the waves.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit run down

    What a surprise funny older hotel but amazing position right on oceans edge ..waves lapping all night gold! Good staff great breakfast. Loved it

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff go out of their way to be helpful. The owner is charming, speaks excellent English, and went out of his way to help us with our Italian. The rooms are fresh and comfortable. The waiter Lorenzo is a real character, always happy and full of fun, and has been there for 25 years. Lovely homely atmosphere. Hotel Casmona is right on the beach and it is lovely to hear the "whoosh" of the waves against the pebbles. We left our window open at night so we could hear the waves. Really calming. We liked it so much we have listed it as one of our favourite holiday hotels and destinations. Can really recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast. The breakfast each day consisted of what had not been eaten the day before, or the day before that!

    Location with glorious views of the sea from our window. The outdoor areas where you could relax and enjoy the view.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most staff spoke very poor English. Phone broken in room. Needed travel help from front desk but couldn't get help because of poor or no English. NO ELEVATOR. 4th floor room.

    Location; view.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expected more from this hotel. Room Facilities basic. Bathroom shocking. Noisy fridge. Better hotels up the road in Santa Margurite.

    The location of the hotel is very close to the esplanade. Our room overlooked the ocean but the view was obscured by shutters. Airconditioning worked well.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Car park and Station is about 600 meters away and you have to drag your bags and climb steep stairs before you get to the hotel. It can be quite a workout.

    Excellent Location and very helpful staff. Great view from the room.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location and the quirkiness of the staff - not your typical well honed and well drilled bunch! Plus we were upgraded to a larger room which had a fabulous sea view.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel has an arrangement for interior parking down the street from the hotel, but the directions provided to find the lot weren't clear so I ended up having to put the car in a pay-lot overnight, costing a steep 40 Euros. The shower was quite cramped and a little tricky to get into and out of. The wifi was a bit fluxy but I was able to access eventually.

    When I arrived I was so pleased to find out that my room was upgraded from a 'partial sea view room' to a room with a complete and wonderful view over the sea coast and the promenade below. This allowed me to also enjoy the animated life of the town along the water's edge during the evening and morning as well as providing the soundscape of waves and surf throughout the night. Very special.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you have mobility problems, forget it, but that applies to most of Italy.

    Wonderful view from the window, with the sound of the sea, cicadas and swifts.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Position in town and the sign posting to the hotel made it easy to find when driving. Someone cancelled and I got upgraded to a larger room and a sea view. The view is directly over the water and promenade. It is extremely close to the train station. Easy to arrive by train and catch a train to Portofino/Sante Marguerita.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was intermittent.

    Camogli is a convenient base to catch the train to Genova, and down to Cinque Terre, as well as a charming little seaside town. The Casmona is in the best spot in town. Our balcony/terrace overlooked the sea, directly above the beach, and was a short walk to the station, and the parking lot. Driving in and parking were easy. The hotel staff were wonderfully helpful, and our room (they upgraded us to the 'superior double' was spacious, comfortable and quiet).

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    upkeep and cleanliness. Shower was old, dirty and drained so poorly that water had to be shut off between soaping and rinsing. Bed was two singles pushed together with a noticeable gap. Everything was old and not maintained. Wifi, though free didn't make it to the room.

    location. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was adequate. Coffee was good and plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs from the street to the hotel is quite steep, specifically if one carried a suitcase. But Staff Alexandro was very helpful.

    Beautifully overviews the ocean, promenade and the town.all the small details of a classic boutique hotel, such as bath room cabin spaces...friendly staff Alexandro.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Alesandro, our view room with a deck and the location.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location in a wonderful environment

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Roma are a little dated

    Very friendly staff. Great location. AC worked well and very quiet

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    la situation, la gentillesse des personnes de l'hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    When we arrived we were greeted very kindly and with lovely enthusiasm and told we had been upgraded to a bigger room which was just beautiful!

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    rooms, lobby dated

    Location unbeatable

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor choice for breakfast .

    Reception staff went out of their way to help us when we had to deal with an urgent business matter.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It is located directly at the beach front. Thus one has an incredible view from the nice balconies, and one can hear the sound of the waves tumbling.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful and relaxing

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room had terrace and great views of the sea

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Hotel Casmona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: