Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Castel Gandolfo 4 stars

Via de' Zecchini 27, 00040 Castel Gandolfo, Italy

#3 of 5 hotels in Castel Gandolfo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 391 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ciampino taxi couldn't find it and dropped us 200 yards away for 55 Euros for a 15 minute journey! Use the bus as it's much cheaper.

    Lovely, old fashioned, typical Italian hotel in a stunning setting. The staff are fantastic, very helpful and speak god English. Breakfast is good and there are loads of good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi connection in the room was mild- moderate Roof bar was closed in May (it could be stated in the booking com page) There is a steep and long slop from the train station to the hotel. If you have luggaces and come with train to Castel Gandalfo you better organize a shuttle servise (with cost) from the hotel

    Ecellent view from the balcony Good breakfast Clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got put in an apartment away from the hotel because we had a kid. No bath in the room even though it says all rooms have baths, terrible shower - took 30mins to have hot water and no water pressure. Not enough blankets.

    Great view and large room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Other guests were quite noisy and kept us awake, and the resturant below us was noisy on one of the evenings, but not enough for us to complain or ask to be moved. If you are a particularly light sleeper ask not to be placed on the hotel's ground floor.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the views were amazing. The hotel perfectly located in the town. We arrived by train and the hotel was very easy to find. Be aware though if you are walking with your luggage, its a good ten minutes up a steep hill.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace was not set and no chance to have the breakfast. The breakfast meal was below average for a four star hotel.

    The staff was attentive and prepared to provide tourist information

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were tiny and didn't even have a chair on which to put our clothes. There wasn't even a hook on which to hang our coats!!!!!!! Only one roll of toilet paper. Each time we asked for them to bring us some they brought one. We had to ask for it twice. This is not a 4 star hotel. I don't know who checks for Booking but he/she is doing an appalling job. It is the second time I book a 4 star with booking and each time the hotel is not up to standards. Bear in mind that I am not a difficult customer.

    Friendly staff. Superb view on the lake.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property was beautifully located on the lake with breathtaking views. Even better were the staff. Everyone was welcoming, helpful, professional while making us feel so well taken care of. Breakfast was delicious. We are going back!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the hotel's small apartment located just steps from the reception desk. Not only is it clean and quiet, it boasts a small kitchen and a spectacular view of the lake. The staff couldn't have been better --- they were both warm and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are not really sound proofed, I would take earplugs with me next time!

    This is quite a small hotel in a great location in the centre of Castel Gandolfo. It feels intimate and the staff were very friendly. The rooms are comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived in the evening with two children and the receptionist did not even advise to unload our suitcases before we park a few streets away, we had to drag our luggage from the parking to the hotel. Very inconvenient ! The allocated parking space for the hotel where guest can stop and unload their lugagages has been constantly engaged with parked cars. To park 10 minutes away and drag your suitcases to and from the hotel was very hard, especially with small children. We also had to pay for the parking and my rent-a-car was badly scratch by somebody while trying to park. The parking is a few streets down and it's not secure !

    Comfortable bed, nice apartment

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to reach by car to the hotel, only one unidirectional street. Too poor breakfasts, its could be more varied.

    Nice hotel in the historic center of Castel Gandolfo, near the hotel several restaurants overlooking the lake, nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is nowhere near a 4 star, we stayed in a 4 star hotel in Rome for 4 nights before travelling to Castel Gandolfo and the hotel in Rome was a proper professionally run hotel, where as the Hotel Castel Gandolfo was run by people in shorts or jeans and t shirts who were constantly on their mobile phones. The carpets throughout were dirty and worn. Breakfast was really poor, it was all laid out at 7:30am, with meats and cheese not covered, if you are not there for 7:30am you had the choice of cold bacon and cold scrambled eggs or the meats and cheese that were never covered. The room we had was clean but basic, the air con was crap and I had to ask for an electric fan (which they did give me). The only decent thing was the view we had which was amazing. Also, we got ripped off with the taxi to the Ciampiano airport which we booked through the hotel, they charged us 45 euros for a drive that took just 15 minutes. All in all, the town itself was lovely and we will be going back, but will not stay at this hotel. in my view a 2 star hotel with a 5 star view

    The view from our room was amazing, we over looked the lake. If we were in a room on the other side which didn't over look the lake we would have really been disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old and dated.small everything including tv.They had to be reminded of welcome drink.roof terrace had a private party so we couldnt use it.ASKED FOR A QIUIET ROOM AND HAD THE ONE IMMEDIATELY BELOW THE PARTY. poor breakfast.

    not a lot.great view but you get this from most restaurants anyway.Very expensive for what we got.How can you describe it as 4 star ??????

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets needed replacing. Gave the initial impression of shabbiness. Really a three star hotel. Ideal for a one or two night stay as it is convenient for Rome and airport. Breakfast average .

    Lovely views of the lake

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV in the room was so high up on the ceiling that I had to stand if I wanted to watch it.

    This is a nice hotel in the old village of the town of Castel Gandolfo. I could not see what makes it a four star hotel but I do not have anything particular to complain about the hotel. It is very well located. The staff is very nice, the breakfast was normal and fresh. This is a small hotel that suits your needs if you would like to spend 1 or 2 nights in the village. The room was cheap, but clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the front of the hotel a little small and very noisy as the street is below. They say the rooms are soundproof. They are not. The next room was noisy until 1 am on the first night. If you stay here pay extra and stay at the back where they are bigger and have a balcony over the lake.

    Staff were super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good although arriving late means things are running out.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little town is beautiful, but empty. Not much to do besides the Apostolic Palace (garden opens only on sunday for visits).

    The location is great to visit the Apostolic Palace, great view of the lake and a very friendly staff (speaking english and spanish). Close to several local restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit outdated and the wifi signal can be very low.

    Great view, the extra price for the rooms at the lake side is absolutely worth it! So great to wake up for the sun rise above the caldera. The location in the middle of town is very nice, you can park your car close by and just stroll everywhere in a few minutes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartments offered by the hotel do not match the 4 star rating. Ours was quite old and very much worn, but still clean. Breakfast options quickly finished and they were not able to provide more food.

    Location by the lake, nice view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location could not be better. The restricted parking was close by and cheap. 4 euros per day. Beautiful view with really nice restaurants. The room was tiny but clean. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    One bedroom was internal with no window.

    The two bedded apartment was very clean with a fantastic view from the terrace. The staff were excellent and served us a great meal in the hotel. The location was perfect,

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The girl that was at the check in counter most of the time was not very customer service oriented.On check in she did not provide any information about the 2 bedroom apartment we were staying in. She scowled at me the following morning when I went for breakfast and asked her how it worked as I didn't see any empty plates. She did get one of the guys to put clean plates out though. When I went to collect our passports and wifi router about an hour after check in, there was a different girl and a guy there and they were very friendly. The bed in the bedroom that overlooks Lago Albano was uncomfortable.

    The location of hotel apartment and the terrace and views from the terrace and one of the bedrooms of the 2 bedroom apartment

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi in the rooms - good in the foyer. Our room was a little small.

    Delightful view of the lake, staff were very attentive & helpful, breakfast was good (they even had bacon & eggs), closely to restaurants, bars & the Pope's palace

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is very restricted but friendly locals will help if asked.

    Superb views, unfortunately the roof terrace was closed so we were unable to enjoy them from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic view over the lake, great to have a separate appartment for family of 4. Perfect location. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, wonderful views and delicious breakfast. We stayed here the night before flying back to the UK from Ciampino Airport. It was a great stop over and only 15 mins taxi ride to the airport. Perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a room with a lakeview. The view was absolutely amazing. Castel Gandolfo is charming and romantic, and so is the hotel. Service at the hotel was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were on the small side and fairly basic even though superior lake view. The breakfast was pretty poor. I would go again but would book the top of range room next time

    Excellent location, friendly staff and great lake views. Some brilliant restaurants and bars just around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    This is a great hotel, situated right in the middle of the small town Castel Gandolfo. wonderful breakfast with fresh mozzarella, fresh tomatoes, great coffee and the most amazing croissants. The staff are very caring and always remembers to say good morning and good night, whenever you run into them in the hotel. The wifi is different from floor to floor. We stayed on the 3rd floor where it was nonexistant. However, honestly, with the most amazing view of the lake from our balcony we could care less about social media and emails. Also, if you\re very tall or on the bigger side, the showers and room itself might feel crammy. However Im quite short and it worked. Do NOT miss the Sor Carpanna on the shigh street where you will find the best pizza and the nicest staff ever. Spent almost every night there, was quite bummed to leave. Right next to it, there is a Gelato shop which also is wonderful. They no not accept cards but there is an atm right down the street.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Attitude of staff - Lack of access to rooftop pool or bar - Grubbiness of hotel - List of rules in apartment we stayed in - Lack of comfort - Lack of promised facilities - Had to prise information from staff e.g. they had to give us a booster cable for Wi-Fi, and also explain lack of parking near hotel

    The view of Lake Albergo Cheerier younger fellow who served us breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only booked one night :) Actually a small thing for parents of young kids to think about, the apartment we stayed in had stairs and no gate. We were able to block with chairs etc but just something to think about when you book.

    The breakfast was beyond expectations. Bacon,eggs, sausages, dried meets, amazing pastries and cakes, fresh fruit, cereals...the list goes on.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    great hotel, amazing view to the lake

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bathtub, tiny rooms

    The view from balcony spectacular and worth all minuses.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, perfect roof terrace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Péssimo Hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very pokey.

    The View was the best thing about this hotel,rooms very small and dated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dusty, my kids have dust allergies so it affects our experience.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    clean welcoming stunning view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    patio

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult access

    Very helpful & friendly staff hotel in excellent position but access extremely difficult Room faced the lake with small balcony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor isolation between rooms

    The cost

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room just to small

    The jacuzzi

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very compact.

    Breakfast was great. Staff were very helpful. Good location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view, amazing breakfast, wonderful town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Address Hotel is not correct. Call hotel for correct address and GPS directions

    Lovely Location. Very nice owners

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a bit small and walls a bit thin

    The view from the balcony is stupendous

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Town View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location good, excellent shower, comfortable bed, ample breakfast Hotel car for short journeys.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the stuff was really friendly and always helped us! The room had an excellent view and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, excellent view, comfortable. Nice staff, helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was far away from the hotel.

    Great service, great view.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic views across the lake from huge balcony

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was hard to find but the staff walked us thru the directions.

    Location was perfect for our purposes. the staff were extra friendly. The complimentary breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited facilities, small and some things need an upgrade.

    Hotel was very comfortable, beautiful views and central. When we requested assistance this was immediately looked into.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cold shower - hot water lasts for less than 5 mins and then you are left in the cold to finish your shower.

    Very nice breakfast, friendly staff and super location with amazing views. The one bedroom apartment is perfect perfect for families

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room ( knew it was small when we booked but a bit claustrophobic ) , bathroom and especially the shower certainly not to a 4 star standard , the tv wasn't working .

    Polite helpful staff, central position, nicely decorated hotel although the stair carpet needs changing. Pretty partial lake view from balcony. the hotel is fine ( particularly considering the price we paid ) but it's not a 4 star hotel

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is not a 4 star hotel at all. It is a tiny guesthouse without any dining facilities. Price is too expensive.

    The view is exceptional. Hotel is very tidy. Breakfast is delicious.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was fantastic,the rooms with a lake view are breathtaking.Rooms spotless and cleaned to very high standard.Breakfast excellent,hotel staff first class could not do enough for guests.I asked the hotel manager to book me a taxi to the train station, he took my wife and I in his car to the station six star service .

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    my stay was not long enough!(3 nights)

    mountain/lake location with stunning views of the lake.15 miles from Rome.easy and cheap to travel into the Termni station in Rome.Heavenly retreat after the chaos of the city.staff really helpful and friendly.has some authentic Italian dinning places within the Castelo Gandolfi old village.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The brochure claims the rooms are soundproofed - ours wasn't. Could even here the guy next door snoring! Parking is limited, but not too difficult if you are prepared to walk a little.

    Location, location, location. Decent breakfast, compact room, helpful staff. Amazing view of Lake Albano.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The Hotel has a fabulous location right in the center of town and directly on Lake Albano. The staff was fabulous and were very kind in speaking English to us. The small apartment was VERY clean and nicely decorated. We loved the family photos on the walls and the 'rules' of the apartment establishing the care and love the family had and has for their home. The town has a lovely central square with shops and restaurants. The restaurants are excellent. The breakfast at the hotel was wonderful and we were so happy to have it before our trip. There was easy parking nearby which was free. We will return there. The hotel has great ambiance and charm. There is easy access to Rome on the train without all the hassle of driving in and dealing with the Rome traffic. We did not want to leave!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On-street parking that had to be fed at 0800 every day. Quite difficult to find. Breakfast supplies were not kept up to speed or quantity.

    Helpful reception staff. Excellent location for trains to Rome. Colli Albani are amazingly fresher than Rome. Pleasant local restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sometimes the WIFI was a bit temperamental but who wants to be working on holiday? Other than that, just wonderful.

    Gorgeous location, beautiful views from superior lake view rooms (worth the price), kind helpful staff. Attached restaurant (separately owned) just great.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. The staff were so friendly and helpful. Superb location overlooking the lake and lots of coffee shops and restaurants around the corner, . At night the streets really came to life. A really beautiful place.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience but parking s car is impossible near the hotel. Balconies are on the small side.

    The hotel is in a wonderful location at the highest point of upper Castel Gondolfo. Service is friendly to the extreme.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Complete lack of wifi even after it had been restarted, TV was tiny and sky box wasn't working on the first night. Coffee was awful! Stick to making smaller cups of traditional Italian style coffee, it's why we are in Italy! Coffee and wifi probably worst two things...

    The view was outstanding, really worth getting a lake view. The breakfast was also really well made and varied. Service was very polite, rooms well cleaned.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was hot at night the street is noisy till 1am, air con dont have cold air instead it releases hot air and there is a limitation on the control you cannot lower the temp too much(lowest around ~25 degrees), the room was a bit small and the lake view, you cant see the whole lake. The hair dryer doesnt work at all.

    The staff were helpful and friendly, Wifi was amazingly fast compared to others hotel in italy, buffet breakfast was great which we ate in our balcony,

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would give two max three stars. Outdated interior, very small rooms (although the lake view very nice), empty minibar, dirt on walls, windows and furniture, TV cables fully exposed.

    Location, nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Food breakfast basic but good

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff spoke English and were very helpful

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small rooms. Hotel for one night not more.

    Beautiful lake view. Center location. Good staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its central position is fabulous and the views of the lake spectacular.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the view is extraordinary and the staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    what a beautiful view, comfy room, funky bath tub and a tasty breakfast :)

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    nice clean hotel,good location and great lake views and a good breakfast.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Castel Gandolfo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: