Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castel Pietraio

Strada Di Strove 33, 53035 Monteriggioni, Italy

#3 of 10 hotels in Monteriggioni

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 165 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    It's Been Waiting for You for 1100 Years!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything I had a problem with

    Castel Petraio is a charming place in beautiful location. The core of the buildings is over a thousand years old, but the rooms have been updated so that the interiors are comfortable and modern. The pool is very nice. Gabriella, the manager during our stay, was very helpful. She arranged a taxi to Siena for me so I could pick up a rental car (we had been dropped at the property by the van from a bike trip we had just completed), recommended a nice restaurant for us to eat in nearby and even helped us figure out how to fit our luggage in the tiny rental car (which was the largest one the agency had - be prepared for small rental cars!). It was a very relaxing atmosphere and we wished we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    This place was so special, a little castle in the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was so special, a little castle in the country. Just an absolute beautiful place. The staff are very friendly and our stay was comfortable and made special with accommodating staff and location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Three days near Siena and Chiantti country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful property with comfortable clean air conditioned rooms. The Castle is in a great location near Monteriggioni and a 15 minutes drive from Siena. It also has a nice swimming pool. There are two good restaurants close to the hotel. One in Strove and one is Acquaviva. Restaurant Casalta in Strove is the best though and very popular so best to make a reservation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    great room but cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is cold the heat didn't work, the pool doesn't work, the breakfast is kinda thin

    the staff were very welcoming and nice, pretty location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    It was wonderful. Would absolutly stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No warning about the steep walk to get to our room. That was a little difficult. While we loved everything else, that was a bit of a challenge.

    The property was wonderful. We wanted to stay in a castle, and that's what we got! Awesome!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    On the whole,the property is on the pricier side. It's ok to stay for 2-3 nights for the experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not in the castle but rather in an adjoining building. The breakfast was ok, nothing special. For the type of property, it could have been more varied with diverse items. The WI-FI at the property was very weak in the rooms. Yes, I know that we are on vacation in the countryside, but that is no excuse to have an extremely weak connection.

    The staff was very friendly, helpful and warm, especially Gabriela, who went out of her way to make life easier for the guests. The location of the property is great, close to Monteriggioni as well as to the other main attractions such as San Gimignano and Volterra. Parking was free, plentiful and easy. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The bed was firm and provided a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful Visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use some shelving in the bathrooms.

    Gabriela is the perfect hostess! She is very helpful and pleasant. This was our second visit and we really enjoy the historical surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Medieval splendour in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely romantic location. An ancient castle with good facilities, in beautiful countryside, very near Monteriggioni. Great base for exploring Tuscany. Gabriella was a fabulous host .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful setting and grounds, wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our double bed was made up of two single mattresses which made for a slightly uncomfortable dip in the middle, however, that is the only slightly negative thing I could find - everything else fantastic.

    Fantastic staff - Gabriela is a delight who couldn't do enough for us! Absolutely beautiful setting and grounds, spacious accommodation and extremely well placed to explore nearby towns and villages.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    A perfect base from which to explore this part of Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the attractions of this place for me was that the booking.com review stated one could ride from the castle walls. I was collected and taken to the stables which were, however, a 20 minute drive away. Although it had been stated at booking that I was an experienced rider and there were, I was told, 66 horses to choose from, I was given a horse that could not respond to a basic aid, to go backwards, and was unable to trot - when I tried it was completely discombobulated! There was no malice in it nor did it stumble, shy, buck or bolt but I felt that I had been ripped off and could have spent the €45 better buying 2 or 3 handbags for my daughter for the same money! The countryside and route around the woods, passing lovely villas, woods with funghi hunters and people hunting cinghiali was really lovely but part of the fun of a ride is a good trot and canter where possible. I was, therefore, very disappointed by this - but absolutely no blame for this goes to Castel Pietraio.

    Comfortable rooms, lovely swimming pool and exceptional assistance from Gabriela who was always on hand to advise us on all aspects of our stay.a perfect

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic location close to all the important places in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location close to all the important places in Tuscany. Very friendly manager, Gabriella that goes more than the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. Perfect place!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Gabriella was a fabulous hostess.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs if you stay in 3 bedroom otherwise it was fantastic

    Gabriella was a fabulous hostess. Would love to come back and just relax

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Thank you it’s a lovely find we loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC and the Bed

    Gabriella was very welcoming lovely reception, she showed us all we needed to know. The pool was secluded but lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Stunning location, beautiful property, so clean, gorgeous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stunning location, beautiful property, so clean, gorgeous pool, comfy beds - couldn’t fault it ..... Castle Life 💞

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Great (g)host😀
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet in the room was quite poor.

    Great (g)host😀

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    LIKE A DREAM
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Splendid property. Wonderful tower. Lovely staff, attended and great fun. Love our stay !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    We will have to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing and the staff were always friendly and helpful, especially Gabriella; she has such a bubbly personality and so helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    It was very aloof and dingy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very aloof and dingy. Hardly any staff, my family got scared staying there

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A castle in tuscany!! We loved everything about our 4 night stay. Gabriella was a gem!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    We will definitely be coming back as it was an amazing stay and made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner not avail on property but very close by.

    The property and staff exceeded expectations on all levels

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Foarte frumos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant at the property

    The hotel manager, Gabriela, is very nice and cheerful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very close to town and no dinner options.

    Cosy and a nice rest stop on the way south. Loved picnicking around the pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    We will definitely come back in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern room in a beautiful historic property. The owner was warm and welcoming which made our stay all the more special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    10
    Amazing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful host who went out of her way to make our stay special and memorable. Hope to be back one day!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    6.3
    Good country location near Monteriggione and south of San...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Both the advertising and website give the impression of staying in a Tuscan Castle . Not so ! The bedrooms are in a converted barn outside the castle as is the breakfast room ! The Castle is ' off limits ' ! Poor value for money . Breakfast was also poor . No toaster. and limited choice . Only one German staff member in evidence , who seemed to have learned her English from old James Cagney movies !

    Good country location near Monteriggione and south of San Gimignano ( both " must see" destinations ). Comfortable room with novel " electrically operated" wooden window shutters !

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    10
    I cannot say enough great things about this residence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I cannot say enough great things about this residence. Gabriela was friendly, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. On our last day we left early and she kindly set us a seperate breakfast before the main breakfast area opened so we could eat before we left. Afternoons spent watching the sun set with a glass of wine were simply magical.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    What a special place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a special place..... Off the tourist radar..... The residence was beautiful. I'd love to go back! Gabriella was a wonderful, helpful hostess. Her recommendations for dinner were delicious!

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    10
    Gabriela was so nice and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    None.

    Gabriela was so nice and welcoming. I would go back, just to talk to her again. We rented an apartment for 3 and it was perfect. We knew it would be in the old castle part and that was what we were looking for. We wanted some old world charm and we found it. Free parking! We loved exploring the grounds.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    All the rooms of the same prise don't have the same comfort so we had to change. There is no heating even if you need it in September. This is a problem in Italy in general though. We thought that all the rooms were in the castle. But it turned out that the rooms are at in a beautful barn outside the castle and the apartments are in the castle.

    Friendly staff. Nice place to stay. Some of the rooms are really beautiful. Beautiful castle.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.2
    Overall feel of the place was very relaxing, located away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overall feel of the place was very relaxing, located away from the cacophony of the city, in the serene environment. Gabriela ensures that guests feel at home, her positive energy is so contagious! Despite being such an old building, it is very well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    7.1
    Great location to use as a base to explore in Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been better to have dining facilities as castle is somewhat isolated.

    Great location to use as a base to explore in Tuscany. Beautiful pool. Gabriella was very helpful!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    The staff was amazing, the wine was delicious, the castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was great, but a little light... Croissants, yogurt, cookies. We could've used a little protein option (eggs and ham/bacon/sausage) to hold us over until lunch since everything in Tuscany is a little spread out. My husband is hypoglycemic and he was starving within an hour of eating. :) Other than that, it was fantastic!!

    The staff was amazing, the wine was delicious, the castle was incredible, the room was adorable and huge! And the property was no more than 5 minutes from Monteriggioni... An adorably charming castle-town with incredible dinners and sunset views!! We are definitely coming back next year and will bring our family!! ≪3

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    7.5
    The beautiful gardens and the upkeep of the property is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The stairs were a killer! Some of the beds weren't that comfortable. Furnishings were minimal

    The beautiful gardens and the upkeep of the property is fantastic. Gabriella was very friendly and helpful. Loads of place for the kids to play.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    8.8
    Great looking castle, great location, and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience, but the stairs to our room needs a hand rail for safety reasons.

    Great looking castle, great location, and great staff. We stayed in a room from the 10th century!

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    9.2
    Gabriella was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The mattress on the bed, I believe to be as old as the castle. On the flip side, you are ready to rise and shine early.

    Gabriella was amazing. I was so happy to meet her and hope to stay in touch. The castle was very cool and convenient for traveling in Tuscany! Would definitely return. Wine is also very good. Apartment was clean and well kept.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    9.6
    We loved the unusual experience of staying in a real castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would suggest that one would enjoy the castle more when the weather becomes warmer.

    We loved the unusual experience of staying in a real castle. The hostess Gabriela was simply personable and fun to be with. Breakfast was fabulous and plentiful.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    8.3
    The manager Gabriella of the castle was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The manager Gabriella of the castle was fantastic. She kept us entertained with her bubbly personality and she was extremely helpful - she even did our washing!! Loved her. Great location near Siena, if you are looking for the old castle experience it's perfect.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    6.3
    Gabriella was welcoming and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very old buildings and antiques can have mold issues. I knew that when I reserved this accommodation, but went ahead anyway despite being allergic to molds. My bad. Be aware of this issue as you consider this accommodation. Our room and many of the antiques in it had a strong moldy/musty odor. Antiques can be beautiful artifacts, but most of these were just "tired." Plus our shower had a great deal of mildew. Ick! We made the best of it, but I can't really recommend this accommodation.

    Gabriella was welcoming and very helpful. The view from the castle is beautiful and the buildings are historically intriguing. The proximity to the highway and to Sienna were both convenient.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    7.5
    Location, friendly and helpful staff - good recommendation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spiders on the ceiling.

    Location, friendly and helpful staff - good recommendation for dinner. Nice pool.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    great place, great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    great place, great staff

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.6
    The manager , Gabriela, was helpful and very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The manager , Gabriela, was helpful and very welcoming. Beautiful facility and fantastic breakfast in a glorious setting.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    The facility and staff were great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facility and staff were great!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    The pool was ideallic - warm and with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great.

    The pool was ideallic - warm and with great views. Loved being in a castle and Gabriella was a good host.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mini-bar was not replenished.

    Great location. Fantastic staff. Lovely Breakfast. Swimming Pool. Lovely grounds.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    Great, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant No English channels on tv

    Great, great location A touch of history Fantastic staff

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    8.3
    Nice staff, location near Monterigionni is great to visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice staff, location near Monterigionni is great to visit south Tuscany!

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: