Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Castel Vecchio 3 stars

Viale Pio XI 23, 00040 Castel Gandolfo, Italy

#2 of 5 hotels in Castel Gandolfo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 658 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Design of the hotel, view on the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very modest, restaurent is closed in the evening, so, food is a challenge in the hotel. There are restaurents 10min by walk, but the road is dangerous for passants

    Design of the hotel, view on the lake

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    A stylish hotel with a lovely view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only details - the hotel i nice, but: The pool area could need a little renovation – but is okay. They forgot to clean the tables in the pool area - and the pool The curtains could not darken the room completely

    Wonderful view to the lake. (from the room, restaurant and the pool area) Charming hotel - It has style The receptionist was very kind Good WIFI Parking is free and easy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful Lake views, great way to start an Italian trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, we arrived really late (around midnight) and they made our arrival seamless. Room was clean and modern. We woke ourselves for the sunrise over the The Lake and what a view it was. We booked this hotel purely because it was close to the airport and on the way to our next stop but really worth a visit just for the views alone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Lack of proper aircondition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircondition did not work properly which made the room too hot. The staff should have given us a new room, or tried to fix it. Some of the staff was hard to communicate with. Breakfast was okay.

    Nice hotel in a cute town! Pleasantly surprised! The aircondition did not work which made the room too hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Exceeded expectations. Would definitely recommend to fellow travellers. Would love to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small complaint the air conditioning was quite noisy.

    Everything was stunningly beautiful. Especially the view from our room overlooking the lake. Breathtaking! Concierge recommended a restaurant (Bucci) which was also fantastic, with spectacular views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Jewel of a place needing a little polish to shine like a diamond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little problem with tarnished cutlery, quickly solved by waitress. A few dusty corners here and there. Very steep drive up to and down from hotel, slippery in wet weather.

    Old world charm, lovely views over Lago Albano, air of slightly faded grandeur, staff very informative about locality (unfortunately we only stayed one night). Good breakfast selection and tasty evening meal. Nice feel to the place, worth a longer stay next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Great for laid-back weekends with a hint of elegance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop pool has no ladder/steps- otherwise its lovely; waiters were a tad bit slow

    Amazing views, good breakfast (as for Italy), lovely elegant building, chilled atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    That they had a pool - except it didn’t look clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan in the room noisey. No airport transfer service (at a reasonable price). No English channels on the TV. Not much outdoor space because the terrace is used for weddings.

    That they had a pool - except it didn’t look clean. Some of the staff were bery good. Food good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated. Not extremely clean. There were fungus in the toilette. the breakfast was a laugh. Not fresh fruit. For yogurt you needed to ask and someone would bring. Only one kind of bread. the sweets and pastery was limited and seemed/tasted never fresh. Overall, too expensive for the experience. Not 3 star hotel

    The location/views are amazing. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    3.8
    Expectations were not met. Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor of room cold and austere. Breakfasts were uninteresting with lukewarm water provided for tea/coffee. Wait staff needed constant reminding. No minibars in room or coffee/tea making facilities so ordered tea at bar at inflated price. This was undrinkable.

    The view of the lake from our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.8
    The room was in the basement and with no balcony or exit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the basement and with no balcony or exit near by. Not good if you want to put your child to bed in the room early. It was situated under the restaurant and was extremely noisy late at night. The hotel had no extra bed for a child of 1 year, wich was unsatisfying. The restaurant was expensive. Wanna be fine dining, but did not taste good. A complete misunderstanding of the simple and lovely italian cuisine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Character and a great lakeview location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant prices were quite high, service was lacking if you were not part of a group function. Bathrooms are small and could be better looked after.

    Food in the restaurant was very tasty and well presented, lake view was fantastic! Reception staff are professional and a wealth of local information. On site parking is a bonus as is a short walk into the village.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was in an excellent position, food very good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom facilities, very small shower. Rooms need decoration but the bed was very comfortable.

    The hotel was in an excellent position, food very good and staff excellent,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    Hotel with Very Good View and Facilities with Poor Customer Service and Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The services of this Reception staff need to be improved. We arrived in a raining evening, we temporary park the car in front of hotel reception, just less than 3 metres away. The staff help us to handle the luggage with eyes only !!! When we check out, the same staff to check in us, upon we returned to our car, he suddenly came out and queried us whether we have paid the room fee, he requested us to wait for his checking. Finally, he checked and confirmed that we have already paid well before our arrival through booking.com. What a excellent customer services to a hotel staff !!! No sign of apology whatever !!! Another bitter experience, upon our check in, the reception gave us a coupon for dinner in the hotel restaurant with a free spaghetti, due to raining, we went to the restaurant. The salad and fish, the paid items, are OK, however, the two different spaghetti we already were both under cook very much, we informed the waiter that we were very disappointed with the dishes of spaghetti. The restaurant offered not charging us the bottle of water and lemon tea, we ended up pay the waiter 5 Euro to him. Whether you go to this restaurant is your choice with experience we had !!! The hotel shall post in the site that they are undergoing minor renovation, this cause noise, dust, and nuisance to customers while there stay, the customer shall have the right to know it before booking. You can refer to our photos post for the situation. Also the room is generally in good condition, however the toilet door is defective which could be potential hazard to customers' hand, please refer to the photo !!!

    The hotel got very good facilities, it has elevator, indoor and outdoor swimming pool and a very good lake view. It also provide feed parking inside the property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Good solid Italian hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good solid Italian hotel. Don't exect too much as its a little dated but the location more than makes up for it. Lovely little town, good restaurants and perfect view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Great location and value with such an accommodating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would like to have and English TV station, especially for the news.

    Beautiful place with spectacular views. Most friendly and accommodating staff. Wi Fi was good and the rooms was spacious and with what a view. Beds very comfortable and the best pillows. Great location for walking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful lake views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location would be hard to get to without a car. It is within walking distance of town but there is quite a bit of uphill.

    Nice older, renovated property. The individual rooms were not as nicely renovated but they were of adequate size. We had a lovely view of the lake from our room. The breakfast was good with many choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    The view from our room was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is below average. The checkout time should be extended to 12pm.

    The view from our room was fantastic. The location is great in a walking distance to the main square in Castel Gandolf. The parking is pretty convenient and free of charge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Charming hotel in beautiful Castelgondolfo...wish we stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very welcoming owners who helped us enjoy our short stay at a very clean, beautiful hotel. Wish we booked more days to enjoy the town, the private tour the owners wanted to arrange for us sounded wonderful but we were on a tight schedule. We totally enjoyed dinner which was delicious, overlooking the beautiful lake. The breakfast was plentiful, varied, and delicious too Very clean, nicely decorated room with beautiful view of the lake. Would stay here again for a few days to enjoy the town, the many historic sites. We totally enjoyed our short stay. This is a great place to decompress after the flight from the USA and a short trip to get to the airport so why not stay here before you leave? LOVELY TIME!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location for last night in Italy before flying out of Ciampino Airport next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather small but adequate for one night. Shame the windows didn't go to the floor with doors to open to take in beautiful views, a bit lost with the small window. Only one chair in the room.

    The bed & pillows were fabulous, so comfortable 10/10. Excellent location for last night in Italy, only 10-15 mins from Ciampino Airport. Very quiet if have lake view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.8
    Just okay.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This must have been a beautiful hotel back in the day but is now dated and a bit tired looking and could use some updating. I was looking for a nice hotel close to Fiumicino Airport for our last night in Italy. I was a bit hesitant to book this hotel because the pictures looked more like paintings then photographs which left me wondering if they were hiding something. Although there were mixed reviews, most were quite good and all said the view was lovely so I thought I would take a chance. I wish I had trusted my instincts and stayed elswhere as it was not what I had hoped for. The views were indeed lovely but the hotel itself and breakfast were just ok. Also, although the hotel is just 40 minutes from the airport, depending on the time of your flight you should allow 1 1/2 hours to get there due to traffic.

    Th view was lovely and it was within walking distance of the town and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.2
    The view was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was 15min walking from the center but with loggage and all we had to take a taxi which costs more than 20€!! In general it was costly with poor breakfast! And I already asked for the room with the view by mail but when We arrived we had to wait 45min after 2pm so they clean the room!

    The view was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Great base for exploring Castel Gandolfo and Lake Albano
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to get a taxi to and from the hotel to the train station - it took about 4 minutes and cost 15 euros (20 euros at night), which seemed really over-priced.

    Abundant breakfast - mainly sweet products. Friendly staff who were able to handle the different needs of our large group of 25 with ease. Nice location for walking to the main squares and about 40 min walk to beautiful lake albano. It is great that it is so close to Ciampino, yet it feels about 5 hours away. Nicely hidden in an interesting landscape.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Pope Francis has opened up his Summer Residence to the public, stay in this Hotel to visit it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our room was large, with a table and chairs and a fantastic view of the lake. Parking the car was easy and felt secure. The rooftop pool and seats with an amazing view. The village, the Pope's Summer Palace and the wonderful gardens are a short stroll from the hotel. Pope Francis is the first and only Pope to allow visitors in to this Palace and gardens, it could well be closed to the public in the future, so we are amongst the lucky ones to visit and stay in such an accomadating Hotel so nearby. The hotel itself was full of character, lots of different levels, indoor Romanesque Pool, rooftop pool, restaurant with beautiful views and gourmet food. The breakfast was the best we had in all of the 7 hotels we stayed in on this trip. The staff were all so friendly, helpful and happy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    Ok for one night (except breakfast)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty glasses, very poor quality of breakfast, horrible coffee. Hotel has a potential to be one of the best, but screaming for solid renovation.

    Landscape/view, architecture of the buliding, idea of swimming pool on the roof.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only 4 sun lounges, about 10 plastic white chairs on the terrace, lunch wasn't that great, so went out for dinner which was amazing, no hot food for breakfast, no fruit, so didn't eat, air con didn't seem to work, ended up sleeping on the floor didn't like the foam mattress and the fan on the ceiling was to noisy, to hot to sleep with out it on and to noisy to sleep with it on,

    The veiw and the reception staff local area for food, and the swimming pool was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Delightful old world elegance in a charming lakeside hotel.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Well the shower was awfully small, Although breakfast was nice the coffee was terrible. You could ask for espresso etc but the basic coffee was not nice. Unfortunately although the swimming pool was in a great location and large enough there was no easy way to get in and out of it! A real shame that.

    Delightful hotel with an old fashioned elegance. Lovely staff. Beautiful views and a very good restaurant. The rooms were pleasant with some outside areas for sitting in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    The View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only problem was with the restaurant chef. We arrived late by car and were advised by the desk that the restaurant was open until 10:00pm. A sign at the desk indicated it was open until 10:30pm. We entered at 9:45 and were told we could get cold appetizers or a hot rice dish being served to a party in the restaurant; the chef had closed the kitchen. The service staff was most apologetic and did what they could to make us happy, but we didn't get a dinner.

    The view, the view, the view. From the room, the breakfast room, the restaurant, the view of the lake and Castel Gandolfo were phenomenal. Parking was easy. The main sights are within walking distance (papal gardens are across the street).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    4.6
    1970s type hotel - ok for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The overhead propeller fan in the room was extremely noisy. The air con did NOT work at all. The place was outdated and you had to pay for eggs at breakfast time! Eggs appear to be non-existent in Italian hotels - they seem to have a problem with egg economy!

    I did not like any of it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    You could go just to see the view and marvel at it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar is an afterthought. Better to have it down at the terrace to see the view. Slow staff in the morning with breakfast not organised

    It has one of the best views in Italy...sunset or sunrise over the lake, its worth the stay alone. Outstanding greeting staff and the lady owner was very charming. Right beside the old town which is a dream for a nice meal and chill/people watch

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.4
    They need to advice a custums if they have a wedding party...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to advice a custums if they have a wedding party at Hotel Because in that case can not use the pool Can not sleep well because so much noise until very kate in the night

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.3
    Lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely views, aircon and ceiling fan ornate but not working during our stay. Shortage of plug sockets. Breakfast poor, coffee and hot water cold. Bathroom too small. Staff surly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.0
    Old and poorly kept
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is obsolescent and the room was not very clean. Sheets felt like plastic and the towels were smelly. Uncomfortable bed

    The staff in nice and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    Great view, friendly and noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast with emphasis on a lot of cakes. You can actually hear what the neighbour says on their room and hear all noise from around.

    Beautiful view of the lake and very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Good location with a view of the lake Albano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it looked impressive from the outside, the hotel is a little outdated and the rooms could use refurbishment. Our room on the second floor was an attic room with small, small window looking at the lake. WiFi only available in the lobby.

    Good location with a view of the lake Albano.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful view and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms. Very small shower.

    Beautiful, stylish hotel on the shore of the lake. Beautiful view from the window. Pleasant staff. Good breakfast, big choice. A nice, small town, near Rome Ciampino Airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    Beautifully located castle at the lakeside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easily accessible by car, less than 45min drive from Fiumicino airport and hotel has parking space. Beautiful castle-like building located just at the lake.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    6.7
    Fair enough, but far from spectacular
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi speed was extremely poor; if you need more than WhatsApp texting, go somewhere else. There is no Grandezza in this "Grand Hotel"; it is well past its best times with windows on the ground floor smashed and waste piling up. Bread for breakfast was rock hard. The place is deserted off season, almost spooky...

    Location overlooking the lake was pleasant. The historic centre is within walking distance (no pavement though). Early breakfast at 7 am is possible. Personnel speaks English. Warm water in the bathroom. Clean room and linen. - For dinner, go to restaurant "Arte e Vino"; it is popular with locals and not overpriced.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    9.6
    Great staff - Alessia has helped us a lot to find and book...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit outdated facilities and not very tasty coffee for breakfast

    Great staff - Alessia has helped us a lot to find and book very good place for dinner while everything was closed for Christmas

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.5
    Charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    It is a charming hotel: classic, not modern, but very well kept and mantained perfectly. The view is gorgeous (take a room with view to the lake). Breakfast is excellent. Free parking, so no problem to visit other places by car. I will come back!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.8
    Worth everyt Euro. Fairy tale stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Needs better waypoints for GPS. Not easy to find.

    The views of the lake below is out of this world. You think that you have been transferred to wonderland

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.2
    Very beautiful, very near to the centre of Castel Gandolfo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not very large, but comfortable enough. The only thing that was rather unconfortable was the shower, very very narrow and with a plastic curtain that is irritably sticky when you are washing. May I suggest a glass door? The walls are not soundproof, so be aware!

    Very beautiful, very near to the centre of Castel Gandolfo and with a wonderful view on the lake. Staff was extremely kind, obsequious and helpful. There is parking in front of the hotel. Breakfast was good enough, there is even excellent restaurant inside the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    8.8
    great value great view, not for famalies
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kind hosts but not everyone speaks English , regular breakfast normal to italy culture. the place has amazing view to lago albano, feet to travelers road hotel for 1-2 days.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    6.3
    Poor hospitality in a stunning location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite being the middle of August the hotel felt very 'off-season'. It seemed to have only a skeleton staff. We had a meal in the restaurant which was very poor - despite a wide choice of traditional Italian dishes of which we chose a variety, all did not seem to be freshly prepared. The meat was tough and very salty, some was inedible, and we had to ask for a discount. This may just have been an unlucky night at the wrong time of year, but it was a sad experience at the end of an otherwise wonderful holiday.

    The location is beautiful and very convenient for an early start to catch a flight from Rome Ciampino airport. Although so near the city, being up on the hills with splendid 360 views was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel with nice view just outside the village and Apostolic summer Palace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way up to hotel from the station is not easy and difficult to find for the first time. Get to the center of the village/ to the Pope Palace first, then it's easy. Also little railway station have no ticket machine our stuff, so buy a ticket before you come down to the station.

    Great breakfast buffet and also not so big, but nice and sunny pool and terrace on the top floor! Just 5 min walk to the Apostolic summer palace.Also good choice for dinner at acceptable price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    6.3
    Beautiful lake view, friendly reception staff - very quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty breakfast table, not working air condition, old furniture in the room, not friendly stuff in breakfast room

    Beautiful lake view, friendly reception staff - very quiet location - roof pool (but not open yet due to weather)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    10
    Excellent view from roof top swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the roof top swimming pool, breakfast selection was vast and lakeside room view outstanding. The staff couldnt do enough to make our stay pleasant and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable Stay Away From Hustle and Bustle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures were a little misleading because the pool on the roof is just a couple of inches deep.

    The views were beautiful and air was refreshing. The front desk lady was helpful and kind. The bed was comfortable. The dining room actually looked nicer than the pictures.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Hotel overlooking a beautiful lake in a picturesque Italian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel overlooking a beautiful lake in a picturesque Italian city. Hotel staff was very helpful and told about a recently opened Pope's palace nearby

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of something worth complaining of.

    Nice lake view, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Quaint villa with good view. Disorganized staff. Very small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disorganized and not especially clean.

    The view is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    A vista do lago
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atraso no check in

    A vista do lago

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Great place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and Alexander who was on reception excelled in his work, really polite and helpful. Would defiantly go again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    This is a nice traditional hotel with good standard and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a nice traditional hotel with good standard and pleasant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Very nice and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    I liked the food,staff,location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty, please put attention on cleaning team

    I liked the food,staff,location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    The beautiful view of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee and tea water at breakfast were tepid.

    The beautiful view of the lake. The quiet sophistication of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    A true European stay....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely respite after 2 weeks walking Rome. The staff was fabulous, the dinner was superb and the view and accommodations couldn’t be better.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    A hotel one would like to go back to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A wastepaper basket in the bedroom and not only in the bathroom.

    Fantastic view on Lake Albano. Very good cooking. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    certainly you must visit there :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything you can image.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small, breakfast is not perfect

    Location and view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    The beautiful view from the top deck (swimming pool).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beautiful view from the top deck (swimming pool). Walking distance to Pope's residence and gardens. Ease and free parking. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.1
    Lot of noice, personnel not all very client oriented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Noice. Construction activities early in the morning. 6 AM!!

    The view on the lake

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.9
    Fleeting! But joyful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room With Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is quite dissappointing 😞

    I loved the view... and the rooms are very in keeping with the property!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    Their reataurant was pretty poor as well as the service there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their reataurant was pretty poor as well as the service there

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    The location overlooking the lake is stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air conditioning was not good enough

    The location overlooking the lake is stunning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better.

    The hotel is so beautiful and big enoug. The rooms with lake view are breathtaking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel, excelent rich breacfast, gorgeous lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    loud music till 1 am, not much sleep

    nice, clean, beatiful view, excellent delicious breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Very nice hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in the room did not cool, it was very hot

    Very nice hosts

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lake view. Staff. Easy walk into town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Don't miss a stay in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior hallways need a bit of updating. Overall delightful.

    Room w/balcony over the lake. Super soft bed & extremely accommodating staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Awesome location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful property, nice room with amazing view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    one of the best service, very help full personet at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    one of the best service, very help full personet at reception desk . amazing view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable room and nice food
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of cigarettes in our room

    Comfortable room and nice food

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Castel Vecchio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: