Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of CastelBrando 4 stars

Brandolini 29, 31030 Cison di Valmarino, Italy

#3 of 6 hotels in Cison di Valmarino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The castle was absolutely wonderful! The sound of the village bell towers resounding through out the castle was amazing! The best water quality and the best hot shower to be had in Italy!! An amazing staff and exceptional service, a privileged experience. Fantastic food and beverage from local gardens and wineries served throughout. Simply amazing... thank you!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing in our 3 days was a difficult to maneuver shower head.

    The staff are professional and friendly throughout, particularly in the restaurants and bar. Hanna in La Focasina stood out above that high bar, helping us with everything we asked. Everyone speaks English, which is a big help to us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the investment was made in 1997 ; if they want to offer a very nice experience they have to rise the prices and invest in comfort; the room are very small, the furniture is cheap.

    area is fantastic. the castle is nice, with stories and is very big.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds a little hard. Shower in bathtub not convenient. Paid hotel parking didn't make sense considering the location. Could not figure out a convenient way to get from parking to reception without either driving up to the reception entrance or climbing many flights of stairs.

    We liked that the checkin process was THE easiest we ever experienced. Just our passports and a welcome. Not even a signature. Amazing. This is luxury. Breakfast spread was HUGE. Cakes, mineral waters, pastries.. only found scrambled eggs and back that we could relate to an ordinary experience but even then the bacon was amazingly thinly sliced. Coffee was delicious as you would expect from an Italian establishment. The view? Cannot be described. From the flight back over the alps you can see the location - on the foothills of the pre-alps. If you were to climb that mountain you'd have a view onto the Alps. Not enough time to explore all the facilities. You should try the on-site pizza place: La Fucina. Amazing pizzas reasonably priced. Loved the car that transports you to-from the bottom parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lights in the room was harsh. In a castle room, you are expecting more dramatic lighting.

    Old castle rooms takes you to mid age. Waking up to panoramic view of the valley was fantastic. Good restaurants and lounges in the complex. No need to go out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The castle & grounds were beautiful. The room was clean, comfortable, and decorated very nicely. The staff were professional and very helpful. The food/drinks were very good & affordable. We only wish we would have stayed more than one night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to like! Nothing bad you say at all.

    Fairy tale castle. Lively place to stay. Staff are very attentive and make you feel very welcome. I would stay here again. I can recommend the spa. Treat yourself you deserve it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is one of the most arrogant and cold I have had for many years. The previous reviews were all true. They are clearly under staffed. We have been to everywhere in Italy and are familiar with the italian hospitality. I honestly can't believe the staffs are Italian. The breakfast was also a disappointment. Maximum 3-star level. Only scramble egg and a few bacon are warm food. We know italian eat cold breakfast but pastries and coffee there are also pretty bad. I would only recommend for a visit, then find an agriturismo to stay. There you will see the true italian hospitality.

    the location is perfect on the hill, has good view. The castle is in good state. The nearby villages are quite nice to visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although the 'spa' treatments were reasonable, I think access to the leisure centre (gym, terrace, sauna etc) should be complimentary for hotel guests. ( costs an extra 36 euro /day per couple)

    Fantastic place, very unique and charming! Great for a romantic break! Fabulous location view breathtaking views!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magical experience! We especially appreciated Marco helping us through the "secret passage" so that my mother could get to the elevator without climbing down the stairs. The breakfast is wonderful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was quite hard. The bar and museum were closed while we were there.

    A rather unique place to stay - really worth the effort. Staff very friendly and helpful. Spacious rooms (bed, dining/breakfast)etc. Grandure. Meals were well presented and of high quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture was not very modern, though the bed was comfortable, the living area furniture wasn't. I reserved the King suite for my anniversary, and I don't think it was worth the value ($309/ night). I think I would have been happier if I had got a standard room and had less expectations. We also had spa reservations, which I'm not sure are the same business as the lodging, though it is on the same premises. My wife got stressed out with the admin assistant and a lot of confusion about our reservation and ended up cancelling her spa treatments. The Pool and gym was part of the spa and cost extra ($22/ night).

    The location was very beautiful, the castle was very interesting and rustic. Good cable TV and Internet service. We couldn't find a lot to do in the area, but we did find probably the best restaurant we have ever eaten at in Italy - Osteria a la Becasse - highly recommend it, it was fantastic and it's about a 5 minute drive from the castle.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The castle is impressive and rooms (junior suite excellent!). Minor - no possibility to add an additionel bed for our 3-year old and although features a swimming pool young children are not allowed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hallway to my room looked like the hallway in the shining so it was a bit creepy, that. There were not any other people on the entire hall but they put a couple right beside my room -should have had some space between the rooms.

    I felt like the castle was all mine- I hardly saw other people on the grounds or in the spa. I felt like a Queen! The bed was cozy and the small room was like a cocoon, just what I needed!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool 70 euros for 2.5 hours Tourist all over the hotel from the cable car Can not sit outside to eat with a view and really bad food Noise from disco below till late

    Lovely building

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing except one aspect. The grumpy, rude, disrespectful and unhelpful bartender at the only partially-open Cocktail Bar Al Donatello. Was hoping for Danilo, praised in reviews as the funny and cheeky bartender nicknamed Eeyore, nicknamed such because he has a stuffed cuddly toy version of A.A. Milne's character on the bench. Typical conversation. 'Birra media per favore.' Brings out a bottle. 'No. Birra spina.' Draught beer.' 'We only do bottles. Cannot you see.' 'Erm. No. Three taps here.' 'Only for bar upstairs.' 'But I got a big bottle of Birra Moretti upstairs. Five euros.' 'Only small bottle.' 'Si. Okay.' Teenage son conversation. 'Can I have a (small boitle of beer, like my dad, per favore.' 'Si.' Bartender grumpily pulls away from his private mobile telephone conversation. 'Can I charge it to my card.' 'No cards. Cash only.' 'Dad. What do I do.?' 'Charge it to our room. 702. The Royal Suite. Give him my name.' My advice. Order a big bottle of Birra Moretti from La Fuccina pizzeria and take it down to mister grumpy pant's bar. and watch him moan and growl..

    Fairy-tale setting, superb mountain-top setting, thebiggest suite I've ever stayed in in my life (The Royal Suite, with its mezzanine floor), value for money, lovely helpful staff (with one proviso), great (massive) pizza and a litro carafe of Vino Bianco frizzante in La Fucina pizzeria which my teenage son thought was the best he'd tasted, and breakfast in the posher and more formal Venetian-styled massive Sansovino ristorante, with baroque music playing in the background, was quite lovely. Do the funnicular and imagine a log flume ride in a them park but without the water. Hire a bike at the base stazione. The view out of the various salla and other areas of the castle are superb, vast vineyards of Prosecco grapes awaiting harvest. Cison di Valmarino is a lovely little village full of typically quirky Italian architecture - lovely old buildings that have lain abandoned inexplicably for decades - and a cheap decent birra in Osteria Caff dei Loff but stick to the castle for good food. Honeymoon couple. Go there. Newly weds. Go there. Young children. Go there. Older children. Go there. But a word of few of caution. Take comfortable walking shoes, a portable sat nav - you'll cover miles exploring the various parts of the castel and you *WILL* get lost. And for goodness sake don't lose your room key. There are gazillions of swipe card entry/exit points. But. Enjoy...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location splendida!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location - proximity to Veneto wine estates

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is amazing. Staff is very polite and professional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is superb. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The on-site casual restaurant is convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    CHILDREN UNDER 18 CAN NOT SWIM IN POOL.....

    VERY CLEAN... ELEGANT....BREAKFAST WAS EXCELLENT.....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    troppo commerciale

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better room service options and children allowed in the swimming facilities.

    Amazing location - 4* but only 3* service in reality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super quiet, amazing views, lots to explore

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing service, great breakfast buffet, luxurious and unique castle experience.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, felt like royalty

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Italian castle, with amazing views of city below

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location, nice breakfast. Everything is perfect in this special place.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Incredible place

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ok. It's worth to spend a day to stay and visit the castle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    quite far from any other amenities and the view from the hotel is nothing special, breakfast is very poor ("orange juice" is a disaster)

    unique experience, were upgraded to the junior suite, friendly personnel

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The entire staff with exception of one person were totally indifferent to providing any service. It was embarrassing in such spectacular place

    Magnificent location and setting

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A stunning location on a hill top with views down the valley, linked with a well appointed room in an atmospheric castle, gives for a great experience. It is linked to the village below by its own rack railway.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Impossible to turn A/C to desired level - still too hot in room. Advertised bikes were far too pricey. No pool available for children. Unclear whether spa facilities - ie adult pool - were included in stay. In-suite kitchen had no wine glasses, silverware, tea maker / coffee pot or corkscrew.

    The atmosphere and staff were excellent. Breakfast buffet was also excellent. Liked weaponry museum and carriages.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No kids allowed (under 16) in the spa. Some parts of the hotel are very outdated (bar area). No gym.

    Interesting building. Friendly staff. Has a special atmosphere. Romantic restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had to pay for the pool - quite a lot by US standards. Not what we expected. Quite disappointed in that. We did not use it. Could have a better map of the inside of the castle. Never found the museum with the instruments but we did not ask. We assumed it was closed since it was winter. Stumbled on the small museum near our rooms- it was on the 7th floor. Brought a space heater and we used it. The room was just a little cool.

    Breakfast was delicious and the setting was beautiful. Staff was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Love everything about this place.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location fantastica

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast buffet was not great. Coffee poor. Orange juice comes from a machine that splashes.

    Castle history, views from hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no shuttle service directly to castle. Train, taxi or car rental is needed.

    Spa, restaurants, room, staff, and view.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tea was ont so good but Italy loves coffee

    The majesty of the place, the kindness of the staff

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse CastelBrando traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: