Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello Dal Pozzo 5 stars

Via Visconti 8, 28040 Oleggio Castello, Italy

#4 of 6 hotels in Oleggio Castello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 118 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    1. All TV chanells ara only Italian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. All TV chanells ara only Italian 2. Instructions for using steam bad and shower cabin are only in Italian 3. Beautiful inner yard with chairs, however without cushins, seating impossible 4. Internet connection chrases every few minutes. No Internet in outside breafast zone

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent top quality 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 star price as you’d expect with big mark up and very expensive restaurant. Needs a pool which they are working on and will be well worth a visit when that is finished.

    Excellent top quality 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had thought the hotel was the castle, but now realise they are separate. The room had an all singing and dancing shower - which only worked as a shower. Not the end of the world but it would have been nice to have experienced it. We told reception but nothing was done. The castle was closed in the early evening for a function so if we wanted to visit would have had to go in the afternoon and it was too hot. The chef was catering for the castle function and the evening restaurant dining and as such it was chaos! The food took for ever with lots of people complaining. We had our aperitif drinks refunded as recompense. There was no pool (there was but it wasn't open yet). My fault for not checking - I think I presumed it would have, given in is 5 star. I think the main problem is that my expectations were high and there were too many niggles that you don't expect from 5 star accommodation.

    Reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were good. Dinner was very slow but lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect place for exploring the area, and when the pool area is ready also just to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only bad thing is that the pool was not ready as was advertised. Since we really would have liked this, the average goes down.

    Very nice place to stay at. Very good food, excellent and friendly service, drinks in Dan Garden Lounge perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Dream vacation.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To leave.

    Beautiful place, staff were very wellcome and helpfull. The garden and terrasa very quiet and relaxing place. Garage is comftable. Wish to come again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    very friendly stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel and castle are separated. Thus, you can go for a walk their, but you don't feel like you live next door to the castle..

    very friendly stuff. <delicious dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    The staff were very nice and the room was large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is pretty terrible. There is nothing around at all--not even a place to eat other than the hotel restaurant. You are not near the lake and there is no pool so nothing to do in the heat of the summer. May be better when there is a pool, but still wouldn't go back or recommend to a friend.

    The staff were very nice and the room was large.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    This is the most spectacular place we have ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Lake View - Castle
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large room in the castle was a real treat. It was the dearest room but the experience will live with us forever. The treatment by the staff was exceptional. We felt like the king and queen. A chilled bottle of wine in our room was welcome. The self guided tour inside the building was an unexpected bonus. The grounds of the castle were well worth the walking tour. The presentation of the property inside and out could not be faulted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Thanks to the staff for making our holiday special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside was the distance to Arona. Buses very punctual but not very regular. We spent a lot of money on taxis in the evenings. We did walk s few times but about 40 minutes and quite hilly on the way back

    Bed was really comfy. Room very luxurious. Bathroom and toiletries excellent. Breakfast was also excellent, very good choice of food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    The service , the rooms and the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    The service , the rooms and the breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Quality of the Food was not good (Dinner)

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.4
    Some facilities not finished, pool etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some facilities not finished, pool etc. View of Lago Maggiore required binoculars! Despite lots of staff check out took ages - not 5*

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed for renovation

    Exceptional service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the peace and silence is what one needs aftr busy day beautiful restaurant

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    No Iron, as was a fire hazard, this is the only reason the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Iron, as was a fire hazard, this is the only reason the hotel did not get a 10

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.5
    Excellent bed and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well to start it's not in the Castello, it's in a separate building which is nice, but not the Castello. The breakfast room was very chilly. The lighting system in the room is intended to be high-tech, but is simply a pain.

    Excellent bed and service. Really nice people all a round. Breakfast was good. Room was large and big.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    The facility is truly a 5-star establishment--spacious,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The information blurb on the booking.com website indicates that the hotel is only about 18 km from Malpensa Airport. That may be as the crow flies, since the actual road distance is about 33 km. This could be a problem if you don't plan for it in order to make your flight.

    The facility is truly a 5-star establishment--spacious, accommodating rooms; everything in first-class condition and extremely well-maintained; near-museum quality art; gracious, helpful staff; beautiful grounds.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful spot and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We made the mistake of not having a gps with us to first locate the property. The front desk personnel said twice they'd send a car to meet us and lead us back. They never did. On our own, we finally found a gps on the hotel website. Why could they not have at least mentioned that?! Then the next morning the same girl failed to give us our wake-up call.

    Beautiful spot and facilities. Except for the front desk staff, all other service people were outstanding. Location is good, once you first locate the property. Food is very good.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    First, a big thank you to the exceptional stuff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not really a negative just some comments: - the electricity plugs are not all the times visible / they are somehow hidden in the tea-pot area - would be nice to have some kind of little ironing facilities in the room - definitely a car is required to have flexibility to go to Arona and Milano

    First, a big thank you to the exceptional stuff! We stayed at the hotel for four nights during which time we had 2 birthdays. All the stuff has been very helpful in planning and arranging the birthdays and making us feel comfortable. Despite of the late arrival on the first night and the closed restaurant, the stuff at the Wine Bar arranges dome cold cuts plates for us and stayed till after the regular hours basically only for us. The ladies at the reception were very kind and helped with every inquiry raised and when we were going into Arona and Milano provided us with maps of the cities and metro. Second, the Castello in itself is located in a very beautiful park. Is beautiful to stay at the terrace and overlook the park or just take little walks around. Third, the rooms at the Castello are beautifully done in old style and very romantic. Soon the Castello will offer a bigger wellness center that will make it even more atractive

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    9.6
    Really beautiful, i didnt expect so nice
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Really beautiful, i didnt expect so nice

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like

    Wonderful staff. Fabulous chef. Incredible room and location

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.3
    Great Location with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant cannot keep up with high overall standard.

    Great Location with very friendly staff. Excellent comfort and beautiful castle. Great wine bar.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.9
    Restaurant in different location than the casello
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant in different location than the casello

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.6
    Staff were wonderful, the rooms were luxurious, food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were wonderful, the rooms were luxurious, food was delicious.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: