Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello Della Castelluccia 4 stars

Via Carlo Cavina 40, 00123 La Giustiniana, Italy

#1 of 11 hotels in La Giustiniana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 347 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    The supper was just delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best place to stay away from the maddening crowds. The property is beautiful and safe with big enough parking space. The room is good size, comfortable and have everything you might need. Nice big pool with a lot of sun beds. Restaurant is the best in Italy! Very nice breakfast. And the supper was just delicious. Highly recommend it to everybody!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing stay in a beautiful castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is open to the public so it may get a little loud with kids - but really not a deal breaker.

    The location is amazing. Enjoyed the pool and dinner in the castle rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Romantic room and dinner in a castle close to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good.

    It is an old castle, close to Rome but in a very green area. The rooms, just like the whole hotel is carefully decorated according to the age of the building. The pool is fantastic. And the restaurant, too. Romantic dinner with the partner is what it is made for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.7
    Could have been much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    The jacuzzi had a terrible smell and we were forced to change room. Then same issue in the second room. It is absolutely disgusting. The bed also was not comfortable at all for the standing of the castle

    Excellent breakfast and dinner. Excellent garden and location. Stunning experience out of the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Suitable if you have no where to invest money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not recommend booking a room with dinner(half board). This is absurd. We had to pay over 60 euros to have a normal dinner. We are not picky. And what a dinner here, if nobody offered a cold snack before a hot meal. This is not an Italian version. Small salad plate costs over 11 euros and two shots of grapa (maybe 30ml) after dinner-28 euros, it's just nasty.They do not care about their customers.They are only interested in our money. Conditioning only blowing hot air.We reprogrammed it, but it did not help.

    This is a good place. Very beautiful, safe and well-maintained area. Beautiful images. Room is clean, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful week in magnificent surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No casual dining options available/bar meals etc which is difficult (and very expensive) if you are staying more than a couple of days with children due to the remoteness of the location.

    Castle was full of character, beautiful setting, fabulous staff, fantastic breakfasts with great selection, free courtesy bus. Food in restaurant was delicious)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    a beautiful reprieve from the hustle of Italian cities: gorgeous views and scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful setting, rooms were lovely with all modern amenities, food in the restaurant was outstanding, staff were gracious and attentive without being overbearing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant! Met my expectations and more! Great value for the money! Will stay again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably include the omelet option as a regular item as a regular item in the "free" breakfast not as an additional cost. Also, the breakfast is announced up to 10:30 AM but they start running out of items about 9:30 AM. The HVAC was hard to controlled. The room was really hot when we got in. Although we adjusted it continue to run hot air. It gave me the impression that there was no A/C. Don't know if the A/C will work in that room during the hot season.

    The breakfast was great. Although I had to pay for the omelet, the variety of the breakfast was really good. The place is beautiful and gave you the impression that you are in a castle. The staff was friendly, especially the attendant during breakfast. Security was a plus! Parking was available in the property. Rome was about 20 mins from the hotel but it was very accessible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    Best place to enjoy Rome in a relaxing way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Durinng breakfast the service seemed to be not too attentive as for dinner time. Although they were two different staffs.

    Our bed was quite nice and comfortable (one of the best in all my trips) Plus the bed was carefully done everyday, sheets and pillows always looked as if it was our first day in the room. The housekeeping noticed we needed an extra pillow without us asking for it. They also always took good care of the extra blanket (already provided in the room), making sure it was properly folded inside a plastic bag.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Perfect spot for a couple of nights. Summertime would be best because the pool closes early October.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have weddings and other functions so the dining room becomes closed and you have to dine in a different corner of the hotel.

    Location was amazing. Sooo quiet. Did not seem like I was in rome! Countryside!! And did I mention it’s a four or five hundred year old castle?? Really a special place to stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Garden - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pretty disappointed in this place given the very high price, did not live up to my expectations. Unfortunately while we were there there were constantly weddings or events going on which got pretty annoying, especially when we were having dinner in the dining room and a bunch of people came in and began a photo shoot around us while we were eating. The next night the dining room had been booked out for a private function so we were escorted around the corner to a small room with 3 tables in it for us to have dinner while listening to the loud party going on in the next room. The immediate local area isn't great, we tried to find some small/interesting towns around but it was all a bit stale, and the transport links to Rome central are quite unreliable, we sat on the platform waiting for a train for an hour until giving up. Overall I feel it was a bit of a waste of money.

    The breakfast buffet was really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Most friendly staff ever in a hotel and so, so beautiful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all: everything was just perfect and we couldn't have wished for more.

    Everything: - The super friendly staff - The unique, stylish rooms - How beautiful it was by night - The delicious food in the restaurant - The pool!! - The hotel gardens - The location: so beautiful and still so close to the city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Best Hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to comment on. It was perfect.

    We had our wedding at this property and we are so happy about the service. The staff are very professional, helpful kind and indeed superb. We would like to thank them very much for their amazing service and help. They indeed made our big day a very special one.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous castle in the hills outside Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The hotel is outstanding.

    Beautiful place. Wonderful rooms. I was worried that as a wedding was taking place I would be ignored or out of place. How wrong! A small separate dining room was prepared and tables and chairs set up in a quiet part of the garden. The food was exquisite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    Our second time here and we will stay again because it's just such a beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our check-in was delayed till 16:30pm because of a client that wouldn't leave!!

    Beautiful castle, pretty rooms, lovely countryside, very tranquil and quiet. The pool is amazing! There are many places to relax and enjoy the views and tranquillity of the area. There is a convenient shuttle to/from the closest train station making going into Rome easy and quick. Though we didn't eat there, the restaurant menu looks great and the prices reasonable in relation to other restaurants in Rome.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    This was our favorite hotel stay for our entire 21 day trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little pricey for a family of 5.

    This was our favorite hotel stay for our entire 21 day trip. The location is a little off the beaten path but not bad if you aren't interested in Rome's night life. Just a little maneuvering to get downtown but we wanted the peace and quiet of the castle. Wonderful experience!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice people, beatifull castlle big love
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think we had the smallest room in the hotel but even that was not a problem. The real problem was that we have to go home. We love the castlle

    The staff, from breakfast ( Catharina ) swimmingpool , reception and restaurant are so nice, you feel welcome and a real guest. Amazing , romantic dinner, good wine, friendly waiters. At the pool they bring you the towels and if you want they bring you lunch on your sunbed. If you want to now,feel and experince how it is to be a king&queen come to this place!! Whe are a big fan. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Great setting just a short (and cheap) train ride from the centre of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Once again (this is our third visit) the dining room bill was wrong with at least five items on it we didn't order.

    Lovely breakfast, great pool area and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    Great Stay! Authentic medieval building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C in the room was barely cooling. In hot days of summer a cold AC would have been grately appreciated.

    Federica at the front desk was beyond amazing! She was kind and made us feel beyond welcome. Throughout our stay we felt like there was someone we knew downstairs.... that is the kind of bond she builds with her guests! Federica made a huge difference in the quality of our stay! Also, all the servers were mutli langual and spuer kind! Great authentic medevial place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    A beautiful castle set in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is in a lovely location just outside of Rome. They put on a free transfer to train station that is great to get into Rome. Swimming Pool was lovely, sun loungers a little outdated but that didn't stop us loving out stay. Every member of staff we spoke to ere couldn't do enough for us, they were all amazing. I don't have anything negative to say about this Hotel and we would re-book again on our next travel to Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Atractive building, quiet location - but check for wedding bookings!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We parked below the hotel building as the rest of the parking area was occupied by wedding guests' cars - there are a lot of steps back up to the hotel, although the hotel will apparently shuttle you in a golf buggy if required. The swimming pool is also below the hotel, and if you have any walking difficulties it is difficult to access (due to the hill) unless you ask for a lift in the golf buggy. Our main problem was that we had specifically asked in advance whether there would be a wedding function taking place (having seen other reviews, and as we were staying on a Saturday), and had no reply; unfortunately we took a chance and regretted it. We were put in a first-floor room directly overlooking the evening festivities, with the accompanying microphone-assisted speeches, music, dancing, general merrymaking (by 0100 it had all finished). The restaurant was closed as it was taken over by the wedding, as was the bar; dinner was served in the "Salon", with a tressle-table temporary bar; not terribly attractive. The food was good, but the restaurant's extensive wine list was severely restricted; the waiting staff were very good though. The receptionist was apologetic the next morning and discounted 40 euros off the bill - appreciated by us, but not really the point; he was clearly half-expecting the complaint, particularly as he had my email enquiry about possible weddings in front of him, in our file. The hotel location is quiet, semi-rural, but odd - in a suburb of Rome, with no real views, but it is quiet. The hotel will no doubt seem quite different if operating normally for all its guests, and not restricted due to being taken over by a wedding.

    Very attractive old building in extensive gardens. Restaurant / breakfast room is very attractive, with an outdoor terrace. Very nice pool and pool area. Quiet location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Restaurant is bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've been on restaurant twice - for breakfast and lunch. Talking about breakfast it is really poor for that money. Very limited choice, nothing interesting like, all proposed is like in budget hotel Lunch was much better but still it leaves a wish to be better: perfect carpacio and at the same time absolutly bad-cooked turbo - dry, not tasty (probably, because not very fresh)

    Perfect swimming pool, perfect stuff, amazing atmospere of the castle

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable,Romantic,Photogenic and different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our stay was delightful ,but we could have done with some more chairs in the family rooms.Some people thought that the pool was a little bit to far from the hotel, as it was situated at the foot of the castellos protecting terraces. We stayed for the full week and our two 14yr olds felt that there was not enough variety in the meals. The aged ones did not.

    The whole Hotel was a step back into the gentile life of many years ago, with modern updates. Antique furniture, painted murals on the walls gave a romantic setting for weddings ,honeymoons and pleasant breaks .The restaurant,with Michelin recommendations was delightful and not too expensive.The grounds and swimming pool were peaceful .All in all a lovely oasis away from the hustle and bustle of Rome but still readily accessible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.1
    Liked it, but a bit disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have enjoyed a comfortable shady spot to enjoy the air and views. They could have some seating on grassy terraces. All outdoor seating is stiff except pool. Lined up dining chairs everywhere. Fountains not running. Seems to be waiting for next event as opposed to catering to weekday hotel guests. Unmanned bar.

    The castle itself is very beautiful. Authentic historic feel. Lovely views of horses and olive groves. Great pool, very friendly staff. Exceptional waiter at dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    The property was beautiful, locat ated about 40 mid outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom was working and the staff was told twice and never fixed it

    The property was beautiful, locat ated about 40 mid outside center Rome

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel that's not quite perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are beautiful and look totally authentic but as clearly the whole hotel has been renovated, they really have missed some obvious improvements. There was only one socket in the room - really insufficient for two people with phones and iPads, and there was no full length mirror. Also, the A/C unit was sited BEHIND the heavy full-length curtains which meant that the only way we could cool the bedroom at night was to hitch them up on the windowsill and hope they didn't fall down. Similarly, the bathroom had lovely antique fittings but this meant that the over-bath shower was useless and water poured under the glass screen so the floor flooded. There was no information on the history of the property which was disappointing as i'm sure it's fascinating. Apparently it is being reprinted but a walking tour with a member of staff would have been perfect. It's worth checking if a wedding is taking place when you stay. If so the dining room and outside bar area are out of bounds so dinner was served in a lovely room at the other end of the castle but we waited 1 hour 10mins for our starter. The two waiters were working like Trojans but clearly most off the staff were servicing the wedding and hotel guests came second! Finally, it is worth flagging that this hotel is really not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. There are steps everywhere, including up to the en-suite bathrooms and down to the dining room and there are 107 steps down to the lovely swimming pool although you can request a golf buggy to drive you down.

    This is a wonderful old manor in the countryside just outside Rome which was built in the 13th Century to cater for pilgrims. It features beautiful original features, wall paintings and antique furnishings and is clearly the result of a very sympathetic restoration. The food is very good - breakfasts were excellent and served on the tree-shaded terrace with a view over the valley. We ate lunch by the pool which was light and tasty and our evening meal, served in a lovely medieval dining hall, was first class with excellent service provided by Mary and her husband.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    The hotel guests are not treated as they should dye to all the events organized at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every evening they had a wedding event. Parking was not easy as everyone was coming with the car. The restaurant was not available for hotel guests anymore due to the events. Noise was also a problem. Internet in not working at all in the rooms. With little investment this could be fixed

    Location is perfect. The pool area is very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.3
    A nice break from the crowds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Terrace - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rugs entering the lobby & restaurant had not been vacuumed or cleaned in weeks! Booked a limo (there was a cardboard advertising on lobby desk, showing a white limo) to port, but when car showed the next morning, it was a older model small regular sedan, not a limo. The desk clerk the night before told me it would be a limo. Price quoted was 30 euros more than the car I had planned from another company. The driver was not at fault and did a great job. This was an error made by hotel staff!

    The location was pretty, but not close to any restaurants. The one at the hotel was overpriced and not very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Charming castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    You can reach this beautiful property by public transport: From Roma Termini by bus 223 ride to La Giustiana approximately 50 min. Other option is 20 min by metro+20 min local train. Then contact castle for free shuttle and they will pick up you in 5 min. Swimming pool is outstanding, staff perfect. Once you find the property you can walk to nearest village 20 min for shops and pizzerias, area around is safe and authentic Italian.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    My husband and I got the room with the jacuzzi and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My husband and I got the room with the jacuzzi and it was well worth it. Castle is well kept and staff is helpful. The food at the restaurant is amazing! We will definitely be going back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    An amazing experience for someone who want to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a littlebit overprized for someone who doesn't have a car and want to spent many days there, because he has to stay in the hotel and eat there lunch and dinner. And the kitchen has to be open all the evening, because we were at the pool and order food at 3:00 and the kitchen was closed so we had to wait until 7:30 for the dinner.

    An amazing experience for someone who want to relax. Incredible room with a view to the wood , i really loved the decoration, the feeling that you live in a past era in a small castle. Everything was perfect, the room, the food, the swimming pool, the spa, the view, the horses. I would like to spend more days there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.4
    Guests something of an inconvenience when functions are on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wasn't given the deluxe double room I had booked for. On weekend we were there the hotel had two large wedding/family functions which meant they were very busy. Result was service from staff was hard to get, certain areas - such as the beautiful terrace were out of bounds to hotel guests - even to the extent of having to lunch in the Gazebo rather than the outside terrace. Insult was added to injury when the children attending the function were brought to the Gazebo for a play-time - presumably to give the adults at the function a break from them. Generally as a paying hotel guest one felt something of an inconvenience whilst they serviced these functions- not something which adds the the feeling that you are staying in a luxurious country hotel.

    Hotel is luxuriously located, but if you don't have a car then it's a metro+ train+ hotel shuttle ride to get there - or a taxi from Rome which soon mounts up.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    Historic site - will search for the story behind it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is obviously not from the 1300's, although the structure is. The rooms need some maintenance in the bathrooms. If you want the largest shower you'll ever get, book room 319. The shower space was not always a shower, and has been tiled to be a shower/bath with roof for the ceiling and a round window. I would have preferred something more traditional but my husband thought it was neat. The location, although beautiful, is difficult to find without GPS. Would be helpful if the hotel would start their signage when you leave the ring road, A1.

    The castle was built in the 1300's, so the architecture is interesting and beautiful. You could take a photograph almost anywhere on the property. The food in the restaurant is excellent - the property is probably used more as a restaurant and event location than as a hotel. The property has its own Chapel and a large event room, beautiful grounds and swimming pool so it is ideal for a wedding. While we were leaving, we talked to a couple who had had their son's wedding there. Because their party was too large for the Chapel, they had been bused into Rome to an historic church for their wedding. The hotel is about a 20 minute ride to the airport in Rome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.3
    Unique!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were helpful which helped make our busy overnight stay more relaxed and enjoyable. If you'd like to stay somewhere out of the ordinary then we definitely recommend you stay at this hotel!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    6.7
    Loved the character of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately as two elderly travellers the outside terraces had too many steps therefore walking was difficult. Also no comfortable outside seating.

    Loved the character of the property

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.2
    Something special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect except for one night when there was a wedding in the garden. The music didn't stop untill 1:00 am and we couldn't sleep. We were told that everything must have ended by 00:00 but somehow the party continued. The advice is: ask about the weddings by checking-in and if anything is planned ask for a room on the other side of the castle. Otherwise it can definitely spoil the magic feeling.

    The experience of living in the castle is really something special. We enjoyed almost everything. The breakfast was great, the staff was very welcoming and helpful. The room and the building were very impressive. BTW there is also a small health in centre so you can spend evening relaxing after a busy day. The location is perfect if you want to visit Lazio region and come to Rome a couple of times.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    Romantic get-away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It just missed the mark being perfect. Staff should have been a bit more welcoming. The staff should have been more concerned about each individuals comfort. The place is in a rural location that is remote to any food & drink or other necessities. Senior staff should have been asking" are you missing anything"- "what can we do to make you more comfortable?" example: why have a bar if it's not open during the day? There was no opportunity for on-site food or drink during the mid day hours. A tour or at least a map of the facilities would have been nice, but was never offered. At the end of the day we were ok exploring the place on our own.

    It was a very romantic get-away. Had great possibilities. Kathryn, that ran the breakfast buffet was amazing. Breakfast buffet choice was excellent. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. Shuttle service to/from the train station was incredible- which was a huge plus. Always willing to accommodate.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    9.2
    A Castle of Dreams
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were warmly greeted by Paola who kindly gave us a very early check-in. The castle is stunning and set in a forest- worth a stay for its own sake, or as we did, using it as a base to explore Rome and then return to the hot tubs and steam room in Castello. The spa area is small but enough to relax. However, the massage room has an open ceiling so that all the noise is heard throughout. Being there with children meant it was impossible to keep totally quiet, and so we got nervously hushed by the masseur, poor guy, who was trying to give someone an immersive relaxing experience. He was not rude, just frustrated, as was I, but perhaps this set up needs to be rethought- it just doesn't work to give massages while others are using the spa when it is so open. Our room had inspiring ceiling drawings and the furniture give an old-time charm, but I would have wished the bed was a little less creaky. Overall, the staff were extremely friendly and professional- Simone, Fabrizio, Isabel (?, short dark hair), Catarina at breakfast- thank you all! The restaurant food and service was good, and the breakfast buffet plentiful. Being located outside of Rome was not a bother at all- a free shuttle bus takes you to the station with trains leaving regularly. Within about half an hour you can reach the Spanish Steps. The upside was the amazingly peaceful countryside and castle- perfect for unwinding after a day's sightseeing. We would definitely come to stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Great castle close to rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the front door, we slept with our window open for ventilation and could hear guests coming and going from restraunt.

    Very classy castle 30 minutes out of Rome. Fantastic restraunt. Quite setting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    A magical wedding experience.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast food needed fresh supplies more often.....most days the hot food had gone & there was a long wait for more....same with the coffee, milk & hot water. We needed to return to the hotel for one night on the Saturday & stayed in 212 again but there was another celebration & the noise was dreadful. OK if you were downstairs enjoying yourself but not good when you were trying to sleep because you had an early start in the morning !!! Something to bear in mind when booking your room.

    This was a wonderful venue for our daughters wedding. The staff, food & organisation was excellent. Everyone had a fab time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.2
    Most beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was limited, and very pricey to eat and drink. Similar prices to centre of Rome.

    Absolutely stunning hotel. Staff are very attentive and welcoming. Free shuttle bus to train was a godsend!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Magnificent..!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Classic
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely tranquil location with extremely friendly and helpful staff and management. The courtesy taxi service to / from the local railway station made visits into the city very efficient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel in an idyllic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel in an idyllic setting. The terrace is lovely to dine on for evening or breakfast, and the pool was very well kept and good. Free shuttle to/from Rome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    8.3
    Great place to use as a base to see Rome & chill out too.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were nice, but very impersonal (apart from Valentino - who was a great help) The pool had far too many wasps around it, something should be done to lower the numbers.

    Nice breakfast - albeit a bit samey after a few days. Beautiful grounds Great pool (4m deep so great for diving into!) Lovely building Amazing rooms Comfy beds Shuttle service to the train station was excellent. 20 Minutes into Rome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.6
    Restaurant was great quality food and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC in out room wasn't great but you expect that with an old castle.

    Restaurant was great quality food and good value. Facilities were good and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.5
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Menu i restaurant need to change. I stayed 5 days and same menu for lunch and dinner. Softer pillows would be good

    A Beautiful opportunity to experience 900 year old castle. Breakfast was lovely. rooms charming and good size. a peacefull place to be on the edge of Rome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    It was beautifully located just minutes from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot and the air conditioner had difficulty keeping up. Like all of Italy the beds could be up graded for little softness.

    It was beautifully located just minutes from the train station into Rome. The rooms were amazing, the grounds exceptional and staff very accommodating. The dining on the deck was spectactular, seriously romantic. Loved the pool. It was like a Caribbean vacation. We used this as a day of rest. Love this place. The castle is known as being haunted by emperior Nero. Oddly enough we did have strangle encounter. Our lights turn on at 3:00 am.....seriously it did turned on. Could it be an electricity issue??? Or could it be Nero???

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    10
    Lovely place with great atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place with great family-room. Pur teenagers were happy to get some space. Nice large pool with good service. The restaurant was good and we had acess to the beautiful relax center.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    7.9
    Rural feeling location close to Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon struggled to keep up. Pool a long way below the level of the hotel itself.

    Rural feeling location close to Rome. Good restaurant in wonderful setting - especially as we were able to have dinner out on the terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.2
    We would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little dark, but it was ground floor. Poolside a bit too noisy (lots of ragazzi!)

    Very spacious room, beautiful setting, great food in the restaurant, great staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.9
    Romantic stay, great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Garden - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa in our room had a strong rotten egg smell which was unpleasant and turned us off using the spa.

    The pool was surrounded by trees which really added to the beauty. Obviously staying in a castle-whats not to like.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    10
    A must do when staying in Rome!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really. It was perfect.

    Everything! The staff were wonderful,nothing was too much trouble for them. Also the food from the restaurant was first class. We loved the pool and breakfast was varied and plentiful. Thoroughly recommended!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    I like to came back and to enjoy this place once again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the tranquility

    the first time I stay in such style, historical facility with spirit of pure nature and tranquil place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    very friendly, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    slow internet

    very friendly, nice location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    An idyllic retreat away from the hustle and bustle of Rome, but easily reachable via local train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Garden - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Lovely Breakfasts on the sunny terrace, overlooking the beautiful scenery. The pool was quiet, peaceful and the staff were attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great historic building, service and food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Terrace - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool had no bar open

    Great historic building, service and food was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Totally divine weeekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fantastic place in a great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful castle with a beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty small

    Beautiful castle with a beautiful view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Would return again—very nice to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit less hard.

    The bed was too hard for me but perfect for my husband!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Peaceful, Old World Sanctuary
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent, scenic property with character and a great kitchen. Staff friendly, professional and courteous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Great views, medieval feel, lovely staff, fantastic breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shame the hot tub was broken for the first day

    Fabulous breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfort at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, historical dining room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location & lack of information on how to find the hotel by public transport

    Everything! Would definitely return one day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful castle hotel. Great food and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor information re: getting to hotel.

    Facilities were very nice. Room was large and clean. Meals were great. Good value and good service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    I'll come back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location. I guess it should be avoided during marriage parties.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Meals were excellent/pool was great/nice views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    air conditioning

    Meals were excellent/pool was great/nice views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Another amazing stay, back again next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Private Garden - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff where a little grumpy

    Amazing breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    on the way to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurant was excellent!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Hard to find by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find by car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    فيلم تاريخي...historical movie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    Every thing, wow...روووووعة بتحس حالك بفيلم تاريخي...u feel that u rbin historical mivie

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Time stopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic snenic place. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable, clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of complimentary tea and coffee making facility in the room.

    The meals and staff attitude.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    A Gorgeous property with an abundance of charm and history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Gorgeous property with an abundance of charm and history.!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Mattress on bed was a bit hard for our liking.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Nice Restaurant. Shuttle service to train station was useful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    9.6
    Great place to stay outside Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and air conditioning was noisy in the bedroom

    The evening meals sitting outside with candle light. The pool was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Castello Della Castelluccia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: