Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello Delle Quattro Torra

Strada Di Pieve Al Bozzone 36, 53100 Siena, Italy

#25 of 98 B&Bs and Inns in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The castle BnB was beautiful. Laura and her son Nicola were charming. The views over the Tuscan countryside and of Siena from our tower room were just stunning! Breakfast was delicious. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Castelle Delle Quattro Torro if you want to add an unforgettable element to your vacation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were welcomed in an ancient castle, for which we received it's history as a handout from the owner. Living in one of the 4 towers of the castle was really nice , and the views towards Siena and all other surroundings were stunning. Recommended to all who want to feel a little bit like in ancient Tuscany !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is such a special property that you should not miss. The historical castle bears unique characters and is surrounded by fantastic Tuscany countryside landscape. It's just amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looooooved staying in a castle!! The tower was gorgeous and the view was mind blowing. We woke up early to watch the sun rising over the Tuscan countryside- unbeatable! Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A really special b&b in a former fortress, surrounded by oil trees, pines and flowers, with great views on the surrounding Tuscan countryside and Siena, which is less than 2 kms away. The staff was very helpful and super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were received so warmly, it was like staying with family--except it's in a real castle breathtaking views!! The breakfast was the best one of the trip and I highly recommend eating at the nearby Farmhouse Restaurant associated with the castle. We definitely want to go back and stay for longer next time. (Note: lots of stairs, which we didn't mind, but would be tough on bad knees)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. It was Absolutely Incredible. So Beautiful in a castles natural setting overlooking Sienna on 1 side and Tuscany on the other. The Staff were Amazing and warm and friendly. Felt like we were at home and lived no in a castle.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had great view. Our stay was like living in a fairytale. Quiet and romantic place. Once in a lifetime experience everyone must have!!! The staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to arrange in advance to go to town...a couple miles away...

    The room(s) were exactly as described...we used the bedroom and also the pull out in the living room, and all was very comfortable! The extra touches with the slippers and extra towels in the bathroom were great. Also, the option of drinks to purchase in the fridge were convienent...as we were not in the center of town...Also, the parking was great, just a few dozen meters from the entrance...The Estate itself-MAGNIFICENT! The views from our rooms was as if a postcard of Tuscany! I couldn't believe I was staying in this fairy tale come to life! Great hosts-anticipated our needs, etc....Will come back and definitely refer my friends!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a small note that the have many other rooms without stairs. If you have any restriction to climb by narrow stairs, just state and They will give you other options.

    Woow! What a place! Remaining from 13th century castle will take you to a scene like from Winterfell at Game of Thrones! If you are visiting a middle aged place Siena, this place will be the missing part of the puzzle. Staying at a castle is an amazing experience. I have to say that the view from the windows under a clear morning is breathtaking. Our room was the tower room with 3 floors and climbing from narrow stairs to the top. We loved the room and its authentic look. It was such a luck to stay there to feel the real Siena. The croissants we had at the breakfast were the best of best!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stunning castle with nice and comfortable room and incredible view of Siena's countryside, 5min by car from the city. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came to the castel after the sunset, so it was really dark and was difficult to find the way to go in to the castel. Because of the darkness i felt very stange but i got used to after a while

    -Staying one night in a castle was a really different experience for me -the all area has a really beautiful toscany view during the day time. -the breakfast was pretty enough -all staff and the owner of the castle were very helpful -i would like to stay in the castle again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing place! Castle is in the hart of Tuscany. Spectacular view. The filling was that we have turn back in times. Very, very friendly staff. The Bulgarian Rositsa prepared for us unbelievable breakfast. The nice receptionist( an Italian woman) was very nice to show us the castle. The owner booked a nice dinner for us in a farm house near the castle and drive us to the place. It was unbelievable stay, which we will remember.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unusual property in old castle - family still living in several parts. Good location nr Siena. And good recommendation for farm restaurant owned by the same family. But be prepared for lots of stairs!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this is a very special accommodation - spectacular views of the Tuscan countryside, storied castle with all of the modern trappings you need, and glorious breakfast served in sun-drenched breakfast room. you will not be disappointed. And Valeria, the property manager, is a pure delight -

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stone staircases might be difficult for those with restricted mobility, although that wasn't an issue for us.

    Although this is a true medieval castle, surrounded by olive trees, our spacious 2-bedroom apartment had everything necessary for a comfortable visit. The manager (Valeria) is extremely gracious, and the breakfast (featuring local products) was outstanding! Several kilometers away, Valeria also manages a farm where she offers Tuscan cooking classes and truffle hunts. The castle sells its own olive oil, wine, honey and saffron. It's a great year-around opportunity to live in a genuine medieval castle with wonderful views of Siena and of the surrounding Tuscan countryside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just stunning. Stayed in the tower room with the most amazing views over the Tuscan hills and Siena. Also had a superb meal at the owners restaurant a short drive away. I would advise if you only stay one night or two to transfer your stuff into a small overnight bag as the tower stairs are quite steep and narrow. Typical delicious Italian breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little hard, but the rest of the experience made up for that

    Loved everything, especially the authentic castle and Val. She is the best! She gave helpful info, great dinner recommendation, and excellent honey. The breakfast location and cappuccino are exceptional too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs are really nice and hospitality!! The view from castle is amazing! Moreover, the breakfast is super delicious! Its not a tipical italian breakfast! There are lots of choices!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing preserved castle with spectacular views of Tuscany in all directions. Easy (free) about 2 miles from site with regular shuttle bus to enter Siena.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you can't do stairs, this is not the place for you. Also, decor is not modern or especially stylish. But the view and the fact that I was sleeping in a castle tower compensated.

    Breakfast was exquisite. The croissants were fresh out of the oven and one of the best bites of my whole trip to Italy. The view of olive orchards and rolling hills was incredible and ambiance delightful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plenty of space for a family with 2 children. In the small kitchen in the turret was everything we needed after a full day's sightseeing. Was lovely to come 'home' and chill with a relaxed meal. Views were spectacular, and Valeria couldn't have been more helpful. Our children spent 3 days imagining how they would defend the castle from attack. They will always remember it. The children were also excited when they realised they could see the castle in the distance from the top of the Duomo in Siena.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the apartment, the bathroom is a little small, but then again, it is a 13th c. building! Everythg else was spacious.

    Amazing historic location. Friendly staff, delicious croissants and honey. Very easy drve to Siena. We plan to return someday to just relax and enjoy the views. Our teens loved it!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What more can one say about staying in a castle? Excellent experience;would highly recommend to everyone! Staff was excellent and accommodations were very comfortable. Not to mention the view of the Tuscan countryside.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furnishings, kitchen etc very dated but it did give it a more authentic feel so more of an observation than a complaint.

    It was very close to Siena but still felt remote which was what we wanted. The kids loved living in an actual castle. They were so excited if a little nervous about "ghosts". Breakfast was delicious ... the best we had during our 3 week stay in Italy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only recommendation would be to give occupants of the apartment more access to the spacious and lovely common area connected to the two smaller rooms. But this is a minor matter. Clearer driving directions might also be helpful. We used Google maps to find it without any serious problems. I'm not sure how accessible it would be to public transportation. We rented a car so that we could stay at places like this.

    This bed and breakfast is just as beautiful as it appears in the pictures: evocative, historic, and unique. It is comfortable and clean and the staff is lovely. They allow one to drive right up to the entrance with bags. They were appreciative that we kept them informed by text of our anticipated arrival time, as we delayed our arrival in order to visit Siena. There are stairs to all the rooms, including several flights up to breakfast, so it would not work for anyone who cannot manage stairs. (There is a hoist for bags only). The lowest room is the apartment on the "first" floor (second floor by the U.S. definition). We had a decent pizza for dinner nearby. My family thought I had scored quite a coup by getting us a room at this castle. We sipped Prosecco in the garden, strolling among the olive trees.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing location and property. A very special and unique experience in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing experience staying in a 14th century fort. Incredible building, great staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique stay and property

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm welcome, experience overall was over expectations. Excellent breakfast and atmosphere, thank you Valeria!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For people with a car. Stunning room views and fabulous breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy Airconditioning

    An amazing place Beautiful Quirky Fun And awesome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quirky accomodation. Set in the heart of the countryside, but close to Siena Wonderful views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    proximity to Sienna downtown

    being in a castle

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cool setting and wonderful people staffing the Castle

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location, medieval athmosphere and the host: Valeria is the best host ever! (She was friedly and helpful) Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing stay in a castle. Price is right and the views are incredible!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in a castle!! Gorgeous location surrounded by olives

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much dove😂

    The location is great for people who drive.Nicola is really nice.sun raise is great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Group
    • 2-Room Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    A broader breakfast selection although the food was great.

    Great location for a great price. And owners were very nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is a real medieval castle surrounded by gorgeous Tuscany views. It will be a very special experience. I slept tight here and enjoyed a lovely breakfast. Valeria is also kind and helpful. Glazie! I will definitely recommend the hotel to my friends.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No one at the property to check us in. Better communication in advance of stay would be nice. We were traveling around Italy and had no access to email.

    Nice old castle, friendly staff. Our apartment was large and well appointed.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Incredible breakfast and a great place to explore Siena and the surroundings. Whether you're interested in Chianti wineries, Etruscan history, or visiting Montalcino, Castello Delle Quattro Torra is in a great location. And it's a castle!

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is too popular for booking a room.

    It is typical castle and near to Siena. The owner Laura waited us until midnight. The tower room is very awesome with good view!

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    well virtually nothing important and something should be expected to stya in an several hundreds years old castle

    this is a historic heritage and very well renowned castle that you may find its gorgeous images in magazine. cannot expect any better. lovely owner and supporter. breathtaking tuscan view from every windows. room was very warm and comfortable in this winter. taxi was 12 euro both from station and from piazza campo.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's inconvenient to carry anything up the spiral stairs but it's also part of the experience. It wouldn't be the same if there was an elevator. Parking in the orchards with rain was a bit muddy. Limited local restraunts.

    Wonderful to stay in a maintained middle ages castle, wonderful breakfast. Very personal experience since there aren't many guests on any day. Views from our room were amazing on all four sides. Helpful and friendly hosts and staff. Amazing that it's preserved for us to enjoy.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have no complaints other than not having longer to stay in the Siena area.

    The entire experience is more than I expected. The facility is a one of a kind experience and the views are incredible. The castle is only a 5 minute cab ride to the Centre of Siena. The facility has a working farm with a working kitchen that holds cooking classes. It's a little south of the castle. It all part of the same property that has been in the owners family since the 1700's. Be prepared to be impressed by an experience that you'll remember long after you have forgotten all of you other hospitality experiences. Upon arrival be prepared to be greeted with a huge Bonjourno from Valeria, hanging out of one of the top floor windows overlooking the entrance area. This is truly a unique experience. Our many thanks to Valerie, our host, and Rosa, our breakfast cook. Valerie you are the best.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No air conditioning and the self catering facilities were very poor, we had to go hunting the castle for plates and the kitchen appliances were in poor condition, might be better if they were not there at all.

    Unique opportunity to stay in an old castle, great views, friendly and informative staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Where do I start No air conditioning in room only fan pooe service Bed uncomfortable Location is away from everything Parking only available under a tree far from property despite have an area close by which had paving No where to sit around the Castillo only your room Was only given I suggest place to eat which was her resturant Extremely disappointed

    View from room

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a fantastic escape from the busy city. The castle itself is simply stunning and Valeria is soo lovely and helpful. Our blue room was large and had a gorgeous view over Sienna.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spending one night in a centuries-old castel was a very special experience in our trip to Italy. The lady who welcomed us was very nice. She told us about the history of the castel and showed us around the public space. The place is beautifully decorated in toscan country style and is very comfortable inside and the dining rooms are really delicate! One cay even enjoy the old photos, books and paitings of the family who owned the castel. Our room is "the blu", it's cute and comfy. We enjoyed gorgeous view through the large wooden windows of the huge bathroom (which is beautiful too). Pity that we stayed for only 1night. Loved it!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    View was beautiful and the hosts were very accommodating and knowledgeable. The hosts also spoke English very well. I'm glad we stayed here instead of inside the walls of Siena. Highly recommend staying at this Castle.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we couldn't move in and live there forever!

    Our stay here was one of the highlights of our entire trip to Italy!! The castle was amazing--just oozing with history and character and all that one hopes to experience in Sienna! The accommodations were more than comfortable, and the castle itself if a gem! The hosts truly went above and beyond anything we could have expected--on our way there, we misplaced our directions and our phone was not working, so we had someone call them for us and the host came and picked us up, making us feel like we were old friends! We spent two weeks in Italy, and this was our favorite of all of the lovely places we stayed. For a Hill Town experience, I just don't think this can be beat! Historically significant, culturally authentic, and absolutely lovely!

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here last Night and it was the most relaxing experience. The architecture and views are breath taking and the staff are wonderful. They have their own honey and wines. Must stay!

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptional castle experience! Great service,breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a Something different stay here, very nice experience. Valeria very helpful and kindly:-)

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful environment and perfect location to explore Siena

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A perfect gem that we did not expect. It had everything as advertised and made the experience better than we anticipated.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Beautiful property, wonderful location. The associated restaurant - Il Pietra Vivre - is worth a visit.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Romantic setting but very down to earth. Its a lovely b & b run by lovely women. We loved our rooms - very cool three level loft.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Laura, thanks a lot! It was amazing experience.. Everything was great!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Valeria is a superstar! The castle is very interesting and just two miles or so from Siena. Taxi drivers know how to get there easily.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It's not only overnight place. You touch the history. And welcomed by very nice people

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: