Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello Di Monterone

Strada Montevile, 3, 06126 Perugia, Italy

#2 of 34 hotels in Perugia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 484 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    7.1
    It was nice, but over-rated, but expensive for what was there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was very small. We recommend getting rid of the bidet so one doesn't constantly bump into the bathroom door. I felt like was always wedging myself out the door, and I'm small.

    This is a real castle with beautiful hallways and rooms all over the place. The breakfast was spectacular! However there was not a lot of "service with a smile"' at this hotel, especially in the restaurant. What is the problem there? The exception was the desk clerks who were accommodating and very helpful. The room was very nice but very small (very little room for luggage for two). The view was terrific as were the wonderful sunsets. The grounds were gorgeous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Memorable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying at this beautiful castle was a unique and memorable experience. The rooms, the grounds and the views were wonderful. The restaurant was fantastic and breakfast far exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Reliable wifi, very helpful receptionists, beautiful castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't get me wrong, breakfast is good, but at this level I've seen better and with more choices.

    Reliable wifi, very helpful receptionists, beautiful castle with lovely surroundings despite being close to Perugia city centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property seemed a little remote for our liking

    All the staff were very well trained in all aspects of their work and were very helpful. The hotel did a good job mixing the new fittings and fixtures with the old style of the building

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful views of the Umbrian countryside from the garden. Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor in relation to the rest the property. The choice didn’t feel at all luxurious as would be expected from this type of establishment. We were also disappointed by the lack of concern towards the environment, mini bottles of shampoo and having your towels changed every day is NOT LUXURIOUS!!

    The decoration of our room was luxurious, cosy and it felt really unique. The swimming and garden areas were beautiful as was the incredible view both from our bedroom and from the garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Brilliant - incredible place. Great service & food, lovely room. Lovely staff at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - everything top notch.

    Magical medieval castle - incredible detail, plenty of places to explore in grounds and hotel. the "secret" passage down to restaurant great touch. Best cappuccino and Macchiano EVER by the young waitress at breakfast each day. Great choice and very fresh food for breakfast. Dinner superb 3 course meal with great view. Spa / pool area great also.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    The best property we have every stayed. Everything is perfect and well worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is perfect!

    This is the second time we have stayed at this property. We brought our relatives back on our second visit because we wanted them to have the wonderful experience of staying here. We are from the United States and have been traveling the world for 30 years and this is our favorite place to stay. The hospitality, food, beds, ambiance, location, everything is absolutely wonderful. I am so sad that I can't stay here more often. Even if you're not in the exact area, change your route just to have the opportunity of staying at this hotel. It ia a great location to explore all the wonderful hilltop towns in Umbria and Tuscany.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    What a nice team
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing. What a beautiful place what nice team. I loved all about it. Especially the staff was super helpful. They have helped me to organize everything for me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in vintage castle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View - CAMERA PANORAMIC
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic hotel in vintage castle! We had big trip through hotels in castle in Europe and this was the best! Very friendly staff, excellent restaurant. Hope, it's not our last visit here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    It was a stunning hotel to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a stunning hotel to stay in. The rooms are extremely comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and the restaurants serves delicious, local food. A brilliant stay all round.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    A fabulous experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a castle made by stone, and therefore the WiFi is hard to find. And, the room itself can be a bit too cold, AC somehow can be unnecessary.

    The full score is 10, but I’d rather give them an 11. This is a very service-oriented hotel. They literally help their guests with everything. Even though they say it’s a four-star hotel, they definitely gave us a five-star-hotel experience. They even serve bubble wine at the breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Castle with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed big but too hard, pillows too thin, our room a bit too small.

    Bathroom fantastic, pool area beautiful, views amazing, restaurant excellent, staff very helpful, great service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Pure romance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room- CAMERA ROMANTIC
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows

    I loved the views of olive trees the country side and Perugia the gardens especially the rosemary hedge , the pool The castle was restored beautifully and the frescos on the walls gave the castle a romantic feel the colours were perfect The food was exceptional the bread wine and fish

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Impressive castle retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access road, need to take car for everything outside although many places nearby

    They kept many features and decoration to contribute to the overall castle experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    PRINCES FOR ONE NIGHT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there only one night.

    I often hire rooms in castles. I love them ! From all the ones I have seen, this is a fabulous example of a very well kept one. Like a fairytale. Beautiful gardens and a stunning view to the Centro Histórico of Perugia. Go !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Glorious castle setting but don’t expect a peaceful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better signage to reception at the entrance - it was very confusing. Softer pillows please. Breakfast looked like a plague of locusts had been through by 9am - everything picked over & had to ask for more eggs & ham as staff didn’t appear to notice. Overall, it was the noise at what should have been an idyllic hotel. Noisy at dinner because of a conference. Noisy at breakfast as staff cleared tables with clattering of cups & plates & cutlery & final straw was the leaf blower still going at 12.35 pm. I know that people need to ‘do their jobs’ but please think about the guests & train your reception staff to do the same. On balance, given the expense, I wouldn’t return & this saddens me.

    The castle is very interesting; the bed was soft.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay again if coming to Perugia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point but I didn’t like their milk. It tasted like long life milk rather than fresh milk. Consequently I didn’t like their milk coffees.

    Wonderful and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    View looking out over valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View looking out over valley. Staff helped make taxi arrangements. Dinners were great. Loved having after dinner drinks in a wonderful room with fireplace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    An excellent place to stay within easy reach of Perugia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great food in the restaurant beautifully presented. Lovely little sitting room with a roaring log fire - great for the cool beginning of April. Not far from Perugia with great views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Do it. Worth the little extra for a novel and special experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The “tiramisu” - it was a bowl full of whipped cream over a spoonful of cereal flakes, dusted with chocolate. ???? Couldn’t quite grasp this as the restaurant was usually stellar.

    Never stayed in an old castle before. It was fascinating! I really got a sense of what it might have been like in the 13th century in a castle (although the elevator and modern amenities were appreciated!) Views of the countryside, castle rooms, and lovely castle grounds were stunning. All furnishings were quality. Great wifi. All Staff were helpful and friendly. The bed, bathroom and restaurant were perfect. (Try the wild pork dish - its delicious!) Breakfast buffet included scrambled eggs and bacon, which was a treat in Italy. Many thanks to gracious Claudia at the front desk, and friendly Tomas in the restaurant. Your help was extra special.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.5
    We liked that it was very private and was just 7 minutes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friends had challenges with the heater in the room but was reseloved with a portable heater. 😀

    We liked that it was very private and was just 7 minutes from the town. We also appreciated the fact that the employees can speak English.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    I’d go to Perugia just to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    It really was a castle, sensitively repurposed as a hotel, filled with surprises and every amenity one could hope for. It’s beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    A jewel in perugia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful stay there. We decided to stay there right before the flight and it was a perfect chice. Special and must place to stay in perugia. Great hospitality!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful property with fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like. It was great

    Beautiful property with fantastic views. Great location for exploring Perugia and Assisi. The gardens of the hotel were wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    The perfect country retreat near Perugia and Assisi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing disappointed us at this luxury hotel set in an ancient castle.

    If you are looking for a country retreat near Perugia or Assisi look no further than Castelo di Monterone, an authentic XI century castle that features beautiful bedrooms, interesting and well furnished public rooms, and an outstanding restaurant featuring seasonal Umbrian cooking. Breakfast buffet was superb with a chef on duty for special orders. The staff was especially helpful directing us to convenient parking on the outskirts of historic Perugia and helped us plan a day walk through Perugia's interesting streets and piazzas.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful Relaxation in the Umbrian Countryside!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were slightly disappointed in the ambiance of the hotel restaurant....we had envisioned elegance to complement the castle itself, but the restaurant had the feel of a pizzeria or beer pub. We were hoping for a more "upscale" feel. If it could have been warm enough to eat on the terrace, I probably would have enjoyed our dinner more, since the surrounding countryside is ambiance and atmosphere enough! The breakfast buffet was adequate, but not exceptional...offerings such as eggs, bacon, and croissants were not replenished in a timely manner-or at all during the hour that we were eating. The cappuccino was very good, however...there was plenty of fruit, meat, and cheese.

    The location was awesome--high on a hill overlooking Perugia a short distance away. The castle has been meticulously restored and is very elegantly furnished... The staff is very efficient and friendly..I especially enjoyed interacting with Anna at the front desk. She helped with suggestions on winery visits and with restaurants in the nearby town of Ponte di San Giovanni.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    True castle stay with beautiful views!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner food. Bed pillows

    Immaculate & charming- truly felt like we were staying in a castle. The only complaint I have is the pillows were awful- flat like a newspaper. Restaurant fair to poor- sent my dinner back as it was highly salted. Breakfast was good, grounds are beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed. Great Value and Location. Very Intimate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything fantastic!!!!!

    Wow, wow, wow. One of the best places I have ever stayed. Everything including the location is fantastic. I wish I could live there. It is very close to Perugia and so many other great hill top towns and lakes to explore. The staff is wonderful, they gave us all kinds of information on good sites to see around the area. The breakfast was incredible. We ate twice for dinner in the restaurant and the food was great and very reasonable. It is such a beautiful and intimate castle to stay at. I also have to give them a big thank you. My husband's wallet must have fell out of his pocket when he was down by the pool. He discovered it missing when we were out and about site seeing. When we got back they brought it to us and said one of the workers had found it. It had quite a bit of money and credit cards and everything was still there. When we got home they had even left a message on our phone that they had found it, just in case they did not connect with us at the hotel. Wow, that is a trustworthy staff. They made our holiday a success. I would pay twice what we paid at this hotel to stay there again. You get such a great value for the cost. Best hotel we stayed on our two week trip and one of the best we have ever stayed in and we travel at least twice a year. I would recommend planning a vacation around staying at the hotel. We will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Fabulous luxury hotel with gourmet food and great staff, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A great converted castle, luxury bedrooms and lovely public areas to sit and relax, including a small libary and swimming pool. The food was gourmet and the all of the staff was kind and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Just simply stunning, especially if you love the person your staying with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave.

    We stayed on 1 night but took over 200 photos so I guess that explains how beautiful the hotel and surroundings are. It was the highlight of our 30 day, 16 hotel holiday. if your looking for action then this is not for you. If you want the most romantic, lazy rest itś perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Perfect experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was much Probably laundry downstairs to wash and dry cloths

    Great experience staying in castle Views were unbelievable Breakfast was one of the best

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Monterone Castle in Perugia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An authentic experience in a castle with links to the Templar Knights. The property has been beautifully restored and contains many interesting pieces of artwork. The breakfasts were outstanding and the staff very attentive. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at breakfast were utterly appalling. Tables not laid out except with a knife and fork. Had to ask for everything - miserable waiter and waitress. Fruit was hard that was laid out. Bacon was good. Overall very poor breakfast. Thought 1 night was a lot of money for what we got - very disappointed.

    Staff on reception were very nice. Pool was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    This was an incredible experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If only we had stayed longer.

    It was a magical experience to stay at Castello di Monterone. The grounds are just beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous night at the castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to add

    The Castle is phenomenal refurbished national history monument where conversion into hotel is done with attention to the detail. Ambience, atmosphere, enthusiastic staff and super tasty food at inhouse restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Intimate and magical castle with a stunning view of Perugia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A magical romantic castle with stunning views of Perugia which made the perfect retreat at the end of a day's sightseeing. The staff were warm and helpful. There were plenty of small spaces to sit and enjoy the view in the early evening. The restaurant is pricey, but the food is good and the view makes the price worth paying!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Perfect place to visit nearby Perugia, as long as room chosen carefully
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dark, very little natural light - bit dungeon like - one small curtained window too high up to see out, hence no views. The bathroom door badly creaked very loudly to add to the oppressive atmosphere! No window in bathroom either.

    Stayed one night only. Attractive setting with beautiful well kept gardens and stunning views up to Perugia with easy access there by car. We ate on the restaurant terrace on a lovely warm evening. The food and wine was excellent and compared well with upmarket pubs in UK.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    What a place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room- CAMERA ROMANTIC
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything. Location, the beauty of the surrounding areas, views from the hotel room, friendly and helpful staff, quiet and relaxing environment, excellent food at their restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely amazing..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been better, little to no service and minimal topping up of food items once initial portions consumed.

    Amazing place, superb views, convenient location short distance to the Old Town. Beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Romantic setting, abundance of good food and wine, one word sums up our stay " perfection."
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Absolutely everything bonus was sitting by the pool watching the amazing red sky sunsets. We left early before the Resturant was open and the staff organised our breakfast in a private breakfast room, staff all were so happy and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Definitely worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the castle (coming from the highway side) was steep and narrow, not the easiest drive. Wifi was weak in the rooms, probalpbly due to the thick stone walls.

    A finely restored historic castle on a hill facing ancient Perugia - the view from the restaurant terrace is breath-taking. Nice rooms with character (bed a little hard). Amazing common partd and gardens, quite and athmospheric. The restaurant is excellent too. Isolated but this is a part of thz charm.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Very, very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View - CAMERA PANORAMIC
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some rooms in a building adjacent to the castle would lack views..

    An impeccable castle with nooks and crannies to explore, with great views from most rooms and maintained to a very high standard It is the best overall hotel package that we have found in 10 years of Umbria summers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Clean well appointed modern rooms in renovated medieval castle with great view of Perugia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a little small, and breakfast is a little understaffed (e.g., the excellent orange juice runs out quickly)

    Imaginative architecture, well appointed rooms, great view of Perugia, and very helpful staff with good English fluency

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    Architecture of the castle, hotel grounds and views were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast and bar/pool snack needs improving. Food in general can be improved.

    Architecture of the castle, hotel grounds and views were amazing. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    idyllic castle stay in Perugia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the swimming pool is small for the property.

    beds super comfortable and huge. very clean. very modern. buffet breakfast delicious and views to die for!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Great opportunity to stay in a castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the baby crying through the walls but well managed by mum

    Was wonderful to stay in the castle. Very clean and comfortable The pool was clean great supply of towels and loungers Staff helpful during checkin and showed us to our rooms explaining axcess Etc Breakfast was good. Staff not baristas but understandable could only make cappuccino no flat whites Etc We used the restaurant to do some work after breakfast for an hour or so. Close to the walled town of pirugia

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    I wanted to keep this secret...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trip would of been even more special if we stayed longer, at least 2 more nights, to continue exploring. 2 days/nights was not enough! But that only means I will definitely be coming back!! Absolutely loved it!!

    Everything about Castello di Monterone was wonderful! The grounds are kept exceptionally clean and super beautiful, flowers were in full bloom and everything was green. The breakfast was delicious as well as dinner, Simon made the best espresso & cappuccino! Amazing views from our room. Loved it all!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Good, but not brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was nothing special. No good fresh fruit (kiwi's that were too ripe), bread not very nice. Staff absolutely not interested in the guests. Cappuccino cold (6x). Staff during dinner wasn't very friendly either and staff behind the reception gave wrong info on good restaurants in the area. Owner NEEDS to train the staff better.

    Dinner was great, view over Perugia fantastic. Swimming pool very nice. Drinks at the swimming pool bit expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Very relaxed, wonderful restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is excellent, the location is quite remote though. But that is why we choose Castello Di Monterone. The restaurant serves one of the best dishes we had during a month in Europe. Breakfast is great as well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    MUST STAY WHEN IN PERUGIA
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was horrible!

    The place is absolutely amazing the experience from Driving to the castle with the nicest welcome to waking up to this gorgeous view. It's mesmerizing and to die for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    The property is exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is exceptional. The restaurant is beyond great. 5 star mannered staff. Besides the location in a 13th century-think Templars-the maintenance, view, every detail is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    What's not to love about an 11th century castle,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What's not to love about an 11th century castle, expanded in the 17th century and restored meticulously with modern conveniences and comfort?!?! The room and shower were very small, but the grounds, breakfast, amenities and service were wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    perfect view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff is not very friendly, specially the restaurant one we've requested via booking a ground floor room with terrace and they said they don't have, but they have!

    the view is perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.8
    Great for short stays to use as a base for travel...not for a week at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited facilities, pool is small, limited menu (we were there for 7 days), €13 every journey to and from Perugia in a cab so dining out became expensive.

    Staff were great, beautiful setting, good quality food, Perugia is very pretty, tranquil location, very relaxing place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    We fell in love with this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    EVERYTHING was perfect. The most special hotel we've ever stayed in (& we've stayed in some great places!) A beautiful castle hotel with every detail thought about. A true artist has created this place & it's maintained with love & true efficiency. The castle itself is unique and every design detail is sympathetic to the history and style. The gardens surprised and impressed us; what a bonus to have such beauty surrounding you. The staff were all lovely. Dinner in the restaurant can't be faulted. Expect "Masterchef" style impressive dishes with a favourable price tag. Breakfast was good; buffet style. We stayed in De Angiellio room (twin) which was, like everything else, bursting with character and quality, plus we had our own terrace area. My mum and I totally fell in love with the place (that may be obvious with this review!)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at rooms from corridor:( If You walk from city - uncomfortable and even sometimes dangerous road.

    Nice hotel. Really old castle, good valley and city view, fantastic garden. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Very charming hotel, wonderful accomodions, but plan to eat elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exclusive Double Room- CAMERA ROMANTIC
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not up to par for a small luxury hotel like this. Given the luxury rooms and charming accommodations we expected the food would be similar but it was not. Dining room/restaurant was modestly decorated. No charm, especially compared with the rest of the hotel. We had breakfast there, and the food options were just OK. We had one dinner there and were really disappointed. No table closths, candles or other things to help make a really enjoyable dinner. Food prices were moderate 18-28 Euros for an average entree, but the food was pretty bad.

    Very charming castle. Intimate and cozy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    A unique hotel for Perugia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact we were unable to book the restaurant for the second night stay, as the restaurant was pre-booked.

    The location - the view towards Perugia was outstanding. Assisi and Peruguia were just a short drive away. The rooms were comfortable and the grounds fantastic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    We loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows could have been more comfortable.

    We loved this place! Probably the coolest hotel I have ever been to. An extra plus that they had prosecco on the breakfast buffet :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    10
    Felt like a princess in this castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying in a castle on top of a hill in Umbria. . .priceless. It was such a treat. The facilities and the grounds can't be beat. You really feel you are getting away from it all in such a beautiful, historic place. The view from our windows was stunning. This place keeps its historic charm with all modern amenities. We were super happy that we chose it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Clean, with an incredible view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing--this is a wonderful hotel. The view from the terrace is remarkable. Great place to stay if you are in Umbria.

    Excellent breakfast with tasty sweets, cheese, meats, eggs, and juice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff, lovely old castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    First of all, I want to express great gratitude to a reception staff, Claudia. We encountered a trouble with our car, and she helped us out to solve all problems and enjoy our stay in Umbria. Definitely, she showed the best hospitality I have ever seen. Hotel itself is located in very lovely and well renovated old castle. All room has different furnishing and names. The room 'Etrusco' was lovely enough to enjoy view toward courtyard and very close from rooftop terrace, where you can enjoy panoramic view. Bed was very comfortable and the quality of toiletteries was good. Restaurant's food was good. Try boar ragu papadelle.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Lovely accommodation very close to Perugia with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gym would be great! Quality of food in restaurant was very high but ambience could improve with better decoration.

    Very friendly and helpful staff especially Claudia on reception and Steve from Peru in the breakfast area/restaurant. Close to Perugia but nice to be outside the city with lovely views.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    A bucket list location for Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    We felt totally relaxed from the moment we arrived. Great service, wonderful food and fabulous views. Evening wine in front of a log fire made it even better.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was perfect, staff very friendly and useful concerning trips and places to eat. Breakfast was excellent. Hotel location very convenient to explore Umbria, there are wonderful views from the hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Awesome building, nice rooms and great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome building, nice rooms and great views!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Really outstanding surprise, so was Perugia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely superb location, accommodation and service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    I would die to go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View - CAMERA PANORAMIC
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving so soon

    Beautiful setting and incredible hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find when driving. Recommend obtaining instructions beforehand !

    Very high standards throughout, and difficult to fault.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful castle, gardens and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful castle, gardens and grounds. Staff was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    The breakfast was desapointing:
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was desapointing: - small diversity of choice - bad and diluted orange juice. - some fruit weren’t fresh.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Just wow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just wow. Staying in this castle was a dream, a really special time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Part 2 of a driving holiday in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little basic & next time I would definitely upgrade.

    Amazingly unique & beautiful property in a superb setting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Garden, beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dark, small window.

    Garden, beautiful location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Stunning castle in beautiful surroundings with amazing staff and food . We highly recommend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room - CAMERA STANDARD
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Variety and quality of food

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Castello Di Monterone traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: