Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello Di Petrata 4 stars

Via Petrata 25, 06081 Assisi, Italy

#13 of 55 hotels in Assisi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 262 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I tend to get bitten on nature walks. I did this time. I’ll use Deet next time we go!

    Truly an amazing experience; it was like waking up in a Renoir painting? The room was magical, clean well ventilated: restaurant was incredible! Staff was superb! Service was impeccable! Will come back for sure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in a Junior Suite, which had a bit more space than a regular room. The shower was disappointing as the bath was squeezed under the pitch of a roof, so very little room to stand up properly, and the shower head itself wasn't great. That was really the only downside to an otherwise lovely hotel.

    The setting is really beautiful - I hadn't quite appreciated how beautiful the surroundings and the hotel's grounds were until we arrive. Sadly for us we were only there for one day/night, and it rained - so didn't get to use the beautiful gardens and pool. But in nice weather it would be an absolute oasis. The hotel staff were very welcoming and friendly. And we ate in the restaurant. The standard really was very good - and lovely attentive service from the staff. If you're there in May listen out for the frogs' almost constant (and quite funny) mating calls!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was a little spotty, especially in our room. It was fine for one night but would have been frustrating if we stayed longer.

    This was exactly what we were looking for - a nice converted castle that had been impeccably updated. I was desperately hoping for a bathtub (after several days of walking) and they upgraded us, which I really appreciated. Comfortable bed, great space and a really nice dinner in the restaurant below (especially their wine cave). We would have loved more time to walk around the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the shower is in a separate booth, hence much colder than the bathroom. The toilet door didn't close poperly unless you shut it with force.

    The view is amazing and the morning staff has big extra smiles for everyone

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though a bit out-of-the-way--opposite hill from Assisi, about 15 minutes from the town-- the hotel was worth the drive. The grounds of Castello di Petrata were absolutely lovely. There is no lift, but the staff was most helpful with our luggage, as well as suggestions for sight-seeing and dinner. Though the rooms were a bit dated, they were clean and comfortable, having an old fashion charm which fit the environment. My husband and I only wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems hot tubs were out of season (we were there in October). Most bike tires were flat but we managed to find 2 for a short ride.

    The location was incredible - with fantastic views over Assisi and the valley. Castle was incredibly beautiful. Room and attached bath were spacious. Dinner was fantastic as well. Restaurant ambiance is romantic and quaint. Bikes available for a spin. Ate breakfast outside overlooking the valley. Easy parking on site (loop road).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cool room and cold bathroom. On the second evening there was no water and the morning after just a few drops. Checked out looking forward to a hot shower in another hotel.

    Great location and fantastic views. Most staff very service minded and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Attention to details (doors in both bathrooms were not fixed) Breakfast - could be a better choice and no consistency, some days were better than others

    The location is fabulous, tranquility and beauty of this place cannot be underestimated. Attentive staff, breathtaking views and a very special ambiance Beautiful building (old castle) and a charming restaurant with a good choice of local cuisine

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal service a little slow and staff disposing of glass bottles late at night perhaps forget that guests windows are open above ......other than that no complaints :)

    Friendly staff , property full of rustic character with lovely countryside views and manicured gardens .Inhouse restaurant .La signora in charge of the buffet breakfast is delightful. Peaceful country escape ( when not being used as a wedding venue ) 20 min drive from Assisi town . Simple bikes available but local roads pretty rough and hilly to get the great views.Nice country walks and twinkly view of Assisi and plains by night .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower above the bath was a little inadequate

    Staff were great - in particular accommodating an early breakfast. Food - dinner and breakfast - were excellent! Situation above Assisi and view of the town were superlative.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room would have been more comfortable with air conditioning- it was particularly hot during our stay and room did get quite warm

    The location and view and very helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only mistake was that we didn't stay longer.

    Everything was perfect. The evening meal was excellent, don't miss it if you stay. The pool was great as it was quite hot, the room was huge and the ensuite generous with a great shower. The staff were very accomodating and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    no airco (even in so called 'junior suite'), only fans 1 little shower gel for 2 persons, 6 days removal of the little key switches off power in the room completely (no refrigerator, no fan, no charging of devices ...) dinner food quality sometimes poor

    beautiful place on a hill slope well maintained big garden nice swimming pool eays accessible and lot of parking space friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was an issue.

    The castle is beautiful and the landscaping was lovely. Unfortunately it was pouring rain when we arrived at the same time as wedding guests were arriving for a reception. There was no parking available and had to park in a field on the property. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The dinner in the restaurant was unbelievable. We enjoyed it very much. The buffet breakfast was included and excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a busy little place with parties and weddings their main priority but staff was congenial and helpful.

    Great location above Assisi about 5 miles but with great view and nice rooms and great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    The silence was something unbelievable, best rest we had since years. The view was astonishing, from our window we could see a beautiful landscape. Breakfast is really good and the handmade cakes are delicious. We cannot recommend any place better than the Castello di Petrata.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are two roads that lead here. One is a very poorly maintained road, that may give you the thrill of your life (especially at night). And the other road is pretty direct and feels safe. By night, I'd recommend the more direct road. =]

    The room and hotel was amazing. It is really like a castle! The view from the hilltop is absolutely beautiful, not to mention the gardens around the hotel. Additionally, the in-hotel restaurant was superb, with impeccable service as well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chargeable wifi in the rooms is very unusual in a location of this quality. Free in the public areas, but...!

    The sommelier was wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable. The building, room and grounds were gorgeous. The Winery and food were a delight, and the views were amazing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in our room was extremely poor. It was almost impossible to read in the room

    Grounds and views were amazing!!! Staff tried very hard to please v

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor details like not enough running water at certain times, the bathroom door didn't shut.

    Excellent location, beautiful views, great food and service minded and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We attended a family wedding at the Castello and spent three glorious nights. We enjoyed their breath taking views, fine cuisine, and fine wines. Their staff is extremely courteous and responsive. Our suite was spacious, rustic and charming.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    DISASTER. Arriving in a Relais du SILENCE hotel at 2pm in the middle of a wedding party inclusive of a loud orchestra and 2 singers until 7.30pm. Room without an airco under the roof, so that it was impossible to have a good night sleep. A cleaning lady was kind enough to give us a fan, but this was only on the third night. No one else seemed to care. The area around the swimming-pool was claustrophobic.Incredible, when there's so much room. There are wonderful terraces with chairs and tables, but the suggestion is that they are only there for the next wedding party. Don't go there for a room with a view, but if possible only for a dinner with a view!

    Having a great dinner outside with the breathtaking view of Assisi and the wonderful lavender around you. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is no air condition when its almost 40 degrees outside, in the evening the room is very hot and there is no air at all, we hardly slept in the night, the stuff is not so open to hear comments and not so welcome as they should

    dinner is very good and also the breakfast, the view is amazing and the location is great for stay, close to Annecy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the view is a winner 10/10

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The position, character and views from the property were really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not get warm and had no pressure. Badly managed place.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing castle, clean, quite, well maintained. Dinner was amazing, great view... this place is a 10

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very pleasant hotel, common area and room itself, perfect for who is looking a hotel out of city and to appreciate the country environment

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little difficult to use

    Dinner menu was outstanding

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not sound proofed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    the view is extraordinary and the staffs are very caring.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms have really small showers.

    The service and attitude are excellent! Beautiful setting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room was quite small

    The garden was excellent with wonderful views. The restaurant food was very good but expensive

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unbelievable views and comfort . THIS IS A TOP RATE HOTEL? and the experience we had was of the highest calibre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    The Spa, restaurant, very helpful staff and a great sommelier

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great panorma and great restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hand held showers in bath, gravel road to location needs re-graded

    Ambience, views, history

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, grounds and beautifully decorated rooms were perfect!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great friendly staff, they did everything possible to help and provide what we asked for, wonderful views and surrounding, great location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms hot and noisy party outside until late

    Lovely location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't fault the place

    What a amazing place to stay the views the ambience. Huge room comfortable bed two bathrooms. Breakfast a treat and dinner first class

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I wasn't prepared for how far it w as outside of Assisi. 23 minutes up a winding narrow road. It was still a good choice, but we had been planning to have dinner in Assisi. Once we arrived at the hotel, we realized it was too far to go back. Also, when we arrived, they seemed to be short staffed.

    Lots of space, beautiful room, dinner menu was excellent. A comfortable sitting room. The view is amazing! I wish we had more than one night here.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful castle 6 km outside of Assisi. When the taxi driver pulled up into the hotel grounds we both said simultaneously. "Beautiful!". My room was so gorgeous, with lovely antique furniture, everything clean and nice. I ordered room service because I loved my room so much. The food was great. There is a fruit orchard on the grounds- you can pick fresh figs off the trees and eat them. The family who run this place are so kind and hardworking. When I left both of the sisters came out to give me a hug and wish me well. A couple held their wedding here there last night I was there. It looked like a dream wedding.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only problem is that There's NO WI-fi and very weak internet connection

    Just about everything - location and view of the valley and nearby Assisi, enchanting garden, lovely room & bathroom, the food (including dinner) and of course the lovely and much helpful staff. Bravo!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you want to enjoy the peaceful location, stay away from this place at weekends. We had one wedding on saturday evening/night and two weddings on the following sunday!

    The beautiful location on a hillside near Assisi.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Double bed was two singles pushed together. Breakfast was ok but not great. We stayed mid week so not a problem for us, but weekends could be busy with weddings and their guests.

    Beautiful grounds and location. Lovely facilities including pool and tennis court. Restaurant for evening meal very nice. Very peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Especially in the weekend this 'castello' is also used a very popular stop for marriages... This is extremely enjoying for the other guests...: noise until later at night, a mass of cars around, staff mainly occupied with the marriage rather than the people staying over (or otherwise there was clearly a lack of staff). Moreover, breakfast was disappointing, as most stuff was not longer available one hour before the end of the breakfast period, staff was friendly but extremely slow. Finally we had one dinner in the castello, which was a real disappointment: delicious but very small potions, contrary to what we were used in all the other italian restaurants (which were moreover much cheaper, even in Assisi itself)... to avoid! All in all a wonderful castello, that is not paying proper attention to its guests and therefore should not be rated 4* (e.g. used PLASTIC glasses in the rooms were not renewed during the stay). Marriages clearly are financially more interesting, but then they should make a clear choice between both activities, especially in the weekends.

    Situated on a hill with a splendid view. The typical building was a real joy to admire, and there were cosy corners created in the marvelous garden.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This site is used to host local functions (weddings, christenings). Over the weekend there were weddings Friday & Saturday, and a christening Sunday. These functions tend to take over the property, taking away the peacefulness of the location. We had to complain about noise Saturday night, no one seemed to be monitoring the rowdy people. Sunday, guests from the christening took over the pool, kids swimming in their underwear. We loved the place, but the owners need to find a better way to manage these functions so they are not disruptive to their paying guests. They need to be contained and supervised and maybe limited to one event over a weekend.

    View and secluded location.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not bad really, just niggles - noisy frogs at night due to pond outside window, evening meals a bit average; would like to see chopped fresh fruit at breakfast - not tinned. plastic sun loungers by pool with very thin covers are not very comfortable. but none of this spoiled our stay - lovely place.

    we enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere, the willingness of the staff, the lovely views, comfortable beds and immaculate linen.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the hotels fault but our gps took us along the longest way from Assisi to the hotel along an unmade pot holed country road. A shorter 15 minute drive from Assisi exists which we learned about from the hotel staff after we arrived.

    Quiet location with spectacular views of Assisi, the comfort of room, breakfasts on the patio with a view of the valley below and tea making facility in the room. Hotel staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Cold bedrooms and garden needs a much more naturalistic and stylish approach with such an amazing setting.

    Wonderful Italian farmhouse, 15minute drive from Assisi.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked it all

    The setting was beautiful & the staff were incredibly kind & helpful

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good at dinner could be a better standard

    Beautifully restored building, lovely spacious room overlooking the Umbrian countryside, easy pace of life

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    bed hard 1 euro for pool towel

    Location breakfast staff parking dining room rooms tennis rackets-free

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    shower

    view and food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The best hotel ever in Italy

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Castello Di Petrata traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: