Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello Di Petroia

Località Petroia, 06024 Mengara, Italy

#2 of 9 hotels in Mengara

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 80 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing , everything was good .... just a slight problem paying with my credit card which was resolved.

    The location was good to visit Gubbio & around , the staff were friendly & helpful . The ristorante was good and I had a delicious Sea Bass which was unusual around this location . Gubbio is a fab place to visit & plenty to see & walk around.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our navigator did not find the place and no longitude/ latitude coördinates were on our confirmatiom form, so it took us some driving around before we were there. The bed mattrass clearly needed a replacement.

    The castle, dating from the XII century, is located amidst the beatiful nature of the Marche area. Rooms have antique furniture and small windows. There is enough space to sit quietly on the terrace and by the pool. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. The staf was very friendly and helpful. In spite of the rain, we thouroughly enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not at same level as dinner but perhaps that's unrealistic. Slightly more pricey than other similar level options, but also more unique

    Outstanding historic castle in great location. Gubbio is really close, but Assisi and other beautiful Umbria destinations are easy to reach. Tasteful decor and beautiful rooms. Cuisine at castle's restaurant is Michelin level and yet very local, served in extraordinary setting - a must try. Great staff, owner is present and available, but very discreet. Pool area with great views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    unique historic property in beautiful setting excellent food interesting history near many interesting towns Assisi, Gubbio,Perugia, Lake Trasimino,Fabriano.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is such a apecial place . Being inside the walls of the castle with a cobbled road separating the buildings . The atmosphere is so comfortable ....you just get such a good feeling . This time we were lucky to be able to eat our dinner outside , it was unseasonably hot . The staff are charming and the food whether it be dinner or breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not quite enough variety in dinner menu, and most options quite heavy (over-large quantities)

    Elegant, quiet, charming staff, beautiful countryside and excellent walks

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of a single negative.

    What a wonderful surprise to find ourselves in a 15th century castle surrounded by gorgeous Umbrian hills, vineyards and olive groves. A stay in a historic castle is exciting alone, but the level of service provided by the incredible staff (especially Lucia, our hostess) was constantly astounding. We were greeted by name as we walked in. The waiter at the restaurant knew us as well ("We're a small hotel," he said) and gave us an extra measure of service though all we ordered was wine. Lucia gave us a tour of the castle with all its history and helped us find trails on the property for a fabulous hike seeing glorious wild flowers and their own herd of cows. I commented on a great view of the castle nestled among the clouds that was displayed in the check-in area. Lucia said she'd send me the file. (She did!) Breakfast was a feast in a beautifully furnished historic room. It was an unforgettable stay in a fascinating area near one of our favorite cities, Gubbio. One of the top hotels we've ever experienced!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing--the hotel fulfilled--even exceeded--our expectations

    very efficient and friendly staff with a welcoming owner who took an interest in our 4 day stay at his property.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner very rude .sat opposite us throughout dinner and spoke at lengh with other guests but totally ignored us .not even an acknowledgement .i can only speculate for reason as my wife asian but its like going to party and host blanks you out .shower kept on switching from cold to hot to cold .no thermo fitted .other staff very friendly .location very remote and have to risk a puncture to get there as long rough access rd

    Lovely castle setting and large room together with very good restaurant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two lights were broken and in spite of reporting them they were not fixed during our stay. The fridge was dirty with spilt drinks. No bar or food during the day apart from room service, though there was a lovely terrace which would have been perfect for afternoon tea or aperitivo.

    This ancient castle is beautiful. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room had a high bed and a great bath. The pool and the walking trails were excellent. No mention was made of the truffle hunter and his dog as advertised on their website. The restaurant was a bit stuffy but the food was excellent. Lovely countryside setting, close to Gubbio.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last turn on the road into the castle was a wee bit tricky!

    Very relaxing place to stay with good facilities. Really helpful staff. Food excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the whole experience. Beautiful & peaceful setting, nothing too much trouble for the staff, food in the restaurant was excellent, room was comfortable. Would happily go again for longer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not experience any negativities.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Made us feel at home. The atmosphere of the castle gives a feel of peace and quiet. Most enjoyable stay. Will go back on next visit to Italy. Very central to visit beautiful cities, towns and places in Umbria.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beautiful charming and quite location. Very friendly and helpful staff. This is a perfect place to sit back and relax as well as for visiting the near by towns of Perugia, Gubbio, Assisi etc. The restaurant serves excellent local dishes with a fine selection of local wines.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great to have a duvet on the bed instead of a bedspread

    Wonderful experience. The food was excellent and the service outstanding

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Wonderful property, helpful staff, excellent restaurant. A "total" experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None!

    Fantastic place where we had a very romantic and enjoyable time! Not a place for families, but highly recommended for couple's!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No big discomforts if you love staying at places filled with history!

    Historic property, beautiful location, great people, amazing food!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was amazing.Waiter was superb, friendly yet very professional

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location history Tracking course - unrealistically beautiful Service Swimming pool Terrace Restaurant Price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a beautiful place, you feel like your have on back in time, The staff are awesome and helpful

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A change of menu would have been good. The walks seemed to be mostly too difficult or closed with barbed wire.

    Had a brilliant room, or rather, suite. The bed was large but very bouncy! Every time my husband turned over I woke up. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. As was the owner. The weather was cold, unusually so for this time of year, but our room was lovely and warm. Beautiful old castle with amazing pictures and artefacts. We had perfect wi-fi in our room. Food was delicious although the menu didn't change in the five days we were there. Room was super clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In March weather was ok but bitterly cold winds

    Staff are amazing very attentive, stayed in medieval suite very romantic, wife loved it Excellent food and wine

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing welcoming location. Wonderfull staff and amazing food! Dinner and breakfast to die for! Wonderful fall walk of the grounds with a Neighbours little dog as company. Breathtaking views... A stay to remember! We will go back for longer stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was somewhat dark (OK, I get it, it's a medieval castle).

    You are staying in a medieval castle in a beautiful location and setting. We hiked several of the 10 km of trails on the property. Room 14 had both a shower and a tub, a spacious sitting room, and generously sized bedroom. They serve dinner in a romantic setting and the food is better than average.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the view was gorgeous. A very atmospheric and ancient building with lots of character. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little hard to find but worth it....dinner menu same every night

    Love the tower, Internet not so hot but walls are just too thick....beautiful and romantic, nothing else to be done

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We missed wifi in our room and a spa and wellness would be worthwhile investing in to make it perfect.

    Magnificent place and location. All kept in style. Restaurant is epic in style, food very good with fairly good wine selection. Staff is absolutely brilliant, all very friendly and helpful. This is the ultimate place for relaxation.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have visited many Italian 'hilltop' castle hotels and I have to say that both for my wife and I, having seen the previous reviews, were disappointed with our stay. Yes, I know the location is a large part of the visit, but it needs to be more than just this. Although the hotel is set on a small hilltop site, many of the views around are blocked by trees surrounding the hotel. What it lacked was a warmth from staff being attentive to you. On our first evening we sat (alone) pre-dinner, on the very large terrace thinking someone would at least come to see if we needed a drink etc. No. I had to root out a staff member from the front desk to do this. Very polite staff yes, but I had to track them down. One other example was when there was brief rain shower. Staff came out and took in some cushions from the terrace seats but these were never replaced during the rest of our stay leaving hard metal seating. No one seemed to take ownership of liaising with guests re such things, possibly as there was no continuity of staff you spoke to. Good room but some dark mould at base of shower which there shouldn't be. To access the pool you have to walk down from the castle gate(no problem with that, you can't have a pool in a castle!), and walk through the car park area and down to the flatter areas. Again no staff ever came near the pool. There were just 2 low quality parasols at the pool with cheap plastic bases which were not heavy enough and in fact the parasols fell on our heads before we decided to not bother. A few weeds on the pool edge which showed lack of attention to detail. The hotel promotes walks around the site. Be warned they are not easy. We intended to do the easy ones but didn't as staff advised they needed proper walking footwear (indeed one chap had injured himself falling the previous week). No wifi in rooms, only entrance and dining areas. Was told it was available on terraces but it wasn't.

    The good parts of our visit were the food which was excellent and a fair price (some of the cheapest hotel wines we have seen), large clean room with a good view and being in an old historic location.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing.

    We had booked a night in just a standard room but when we got there they upgraded us to the tower room for free since it was my birthday! Best birthday present ever! We ate at the restaurant that night and the food was top notch. The free breakfast in the morning is excellent too. I highly recommend this place!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to complain about

    I loved it as it a small castle. Our dinner was fabulous. The scenery was awesome

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Niente.

    Location stupenda, personale incredibilmente cortese.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Special thanks to Lucia she was extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far away from store

    Away from crowds

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, the staff and the food were excellent. It is a really special place.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely experience

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Incredibly helpful and friendly staff. Very romantic place. Dinner was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Absolute fairytale. The staff were so lovely and the food was incredible. We fell in love with this place.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the unusual and old building, the location and the dinner and breakfast

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Browse Castello Di Petroia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: