Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello Di Tavolara 3 stars

Via Tavolara 2, 07020 Porto San Paolo, Italy

#6 of 19 hotels in Porto San Paolo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 257 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious with a view to the sea. The hotel was very clean. Breakfast was simple but nice. Coffee was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Unwanted extra bed had to be moved out of our room and a desk moved in. No table on the balcony. Hotel refused to provide it..

    Good coffee. Room kept spotless.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They promised us a welcome drink at online booking! We received no welcome drink!

    Great Breakfast (excellent italian coffee, etc.) Very quiet Very friendly Location is top!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing negative to report.

    Small friendly hotel, very clean. All staff were welcoming and looked after us very well. Located in a small town with beaches just a few minutes walk away. Nice restaurants where the staff were also very welcoming - food was excellent at all eateries.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old lady that owned the place would watch while you picked breakfast to make sure you didn't take too much. Staff got upset if you asked for second coffee. Front exit blocked with wooden battons at night so couldn't get in or out the hotel - no 24hr front desk which it states in booking.com it has, we were locked in and found front desk girl in PJ's snoring away in a hidden back room.

    The Cleaner was great as were the two young lads that worked there - very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is quite small and the breakfast could be more varied.

    The hotel is located near the beach, it is not far from the airport. The room was nice and clean. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath/shower was a plastic ensemble with fierce jacuzzi jets, a shower head that kept falling down and temperature variations from freezing to very hot. A normal walk-in shower would be a great improvement.... sometimes less is more!

    Delightful family hotel, modern but built in traditional style offering all the extra facilities without going corporate. Room had cool marble floor, excellent air conditioning, fridge and safe. Breakfast on the terrace watching the village come to life was a delightful experience, and the breakfast was excellent as well. Above all the personnel were kind and did everything to enhance one's stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go home afterwards!! We will definitely go back

    Lovely staff remembered previous coffee orders etc. Good beaches very nearby. Safe area. Good central location for all facilities. Easy to hire bikes and scooters next door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really; though the 1st day we asked the reception to book us a table in that fancy beach restaurant and then reminded again during the day; however, the table was not booked. Not sure what happened there.

    I was choosing among several hotels and locations on Sardinia and finally was fully happy with this choice. Main pros for me: - location: very close to the beach / sea, I wanted a hotel where I can take a morning / pre-breakfast swim and it was an absolute delight - great breakfast - very good choice, excellent coffee and very attentive and friendly service - Tavolara - there is a boat 2 min from hotel going to this magical island. It is like paradise - amazing sea, great beach, much more quiet than beaches on Sardinia itself (note - if you plan to go multiple times there is 50% discount for tickets) - eating options - there is an amazing restaurant very near to hotel, super high quality and great view; and there were a couple of more simple but also good places in the village. - each access to airport (local bus or taxi) Additional pluses: - helpful and friendly staff - beach towels and umbrellas provided - strong wi-fi (someone complained but it was probably improved) - airy rooms and comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Lack of public transport (not the hotel's fault!)

    The staff were super helpful, and there were free parasols to take to the beach! And Eva, the wonderdog.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were very hard, surely it would be very simple to provide a memory foam topper, which would make a stay so much more comfortable and memorable. Also the wifi was non existent on the second floor and not good anywhere other that the reception area and there was no swimming pool.

    The hotel was close to the beach and the staff were very helpful, in reception they provided free parasols to take to the beach, which were appreciated as the weather was particularly hot while we were there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now

    Dear travelers! I advise everyone to come and live in this cozy hotel. A combination of price and quality. Ubrka and clean towels every day. Havtraki is completely for 3 stars. The most pleasant is communication with the staff. Very cute and friendly all, from the administrator and finishing with the maid. Close location from the sea. Exist parking place. Near the airport of Albi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! All great!

    Wonderful staff, friendly family atmosphere. Nice cafe area with very reasonably priced snacks and drinks for the area. Ivan & Matteo couldn't do enough for us. Lovely, big, clean room. Nice balcony looking over to Tavolara Island, thankful for air con! Literally steps from the beach!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing hot for breakfast other than the occasional fried egg, which you'd need to be up early to catch. No fresh toast, just packets of dried toast. Shower screen was missing which meant we couldn't use the impulse shower. Jacuzzi bath flooded the bathroom floor, I assume there's a leaky pipe under the bath. Balcony? Ha ha, a table and two chairs, the balcony was so small that you could only just sit at the table if you were squeezed up tight in the chairs. Suspended ceiling panel missing. Wi-fi painfully slow - less than 1Mbps. They tried to charge me again for the room, despite pre-paying via Booking.com 5 months ago!

    Liked the price and the location, but that's about all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach was small and okay (not much sand). Best to hire a car so you can explore better beaches

    The staff were very helpful and clean and comfortable hotel with nice breakfast. Town has a great restaurant and gelateria

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found the staff to be very helpful, friendly and welcoming, particularly Mateo. The hotel is in a great location. The room and bathroom we both very clean and a nice size. We liked the atmosphere in Porto San Paolo so much that we spent the last afternoon of our holiday there.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel gave me everything I needed at the time which was a convenient location from which to visit the beautiful island of Tavolara.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wonderful staff, fantastic central location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were good, breakfast too

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very thin walls, tile floors which are nice but one hears every move.

    Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Breakfast was OK

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff, super clean, quiet, pleasant , enjoyed it tremendously

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Options for cooked breakfast would have been good

    Friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff, Silvia and Andreas were excellent, nothing reqired was ever too much trouble. All the dining staff at breakfast were the same.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only get new towels if pay extra!

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel near beach and lovely walks.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location near beaches.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not good, very complicated system to log in, limited for only 10 hours

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough room for two suitcases open.

    The balcony and the view and close to a very good restaurant. Near the airport.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was tricky to access.

    Staff were friendly, bed comfortable, shower efficient. Parking easy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dated but adequate

    The breakfast was very nice, eggs and ham was a winner The power shower was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price and bit old fashion structure

    The location and the breakfast! the comfy room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    friendly receptionist

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed one night after flight from Olbia. Hotel was in good location within Porto San Paolo and we were made very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    bed could be softer

    Great location 100m from beach, clean and nice staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff made the holiday - nothing too much trouble they were great.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All was excellent!

    This was an absolutely amazing stay! The hotel itself is very nice and cosy family business, the atmosphere tgeee is great and many time we felt as a part of their family :) Marco - the owner was so nice and funny and made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable! Mateo - the receptionist guy was just great as Marco! He was so friendly and helped us a lot every day with what rver we needed (nice places, directions, restaurants, places to visit etc). He never looked annoyed with any of iur questions and you can see that he really likes his job! The hotel itself is very nice, it has the character and the rooms are nice and clean with good A/C. The breakfast was very good too, all you need to start a day with, when u finished your coffee they offered you another one straight away or ut was already on the table :)) Overral feeling was absokutely great, i would definitellyveecommend to stay in castello for thise looking for a rekaxing, memorable stay, with a great care from people they don't think about just the business, but they really want you to feel good there and have a nice holudays! Thank you so much for all your care, will definitelly return

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    Excellent location. Clean, comfortable room. Extremely welcoming, friendly and efficient staff. Ample breakfast. Private parking close by. Beach umbrellas to borrow.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work due to provider issues in the establishment.

    Nice hotel with good Italian breakfast. The beach is 1 min far walking. Air conditioning. New hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi very poor. Breakfast is ok and it was included in the room rate :) but eating lunch or dinner not an option.

    Good location, 3 minutes walking distance from the beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room is clean every morning and mini bar refilled every day. Good price. Nice, peaceful and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The helpful attitude and actions of the owners. We had to pick a car up from the airport, we asked the best way of getting there - no problem - the owner took us in his car. The room was compact and clean. The buffet breakfast was fine

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There are no negatives.

    A wonderful warm welcome awaits you at Castello Di Tavolara. The rooms are spacious and very clean and have everything you need. I would not hesitate to stay here again. the location is brilliant just 5 minutes from the beach and minutes away from restaurants and shops. Porto San Paolo is such a lovely resort and a boat trip to Isola Tavolara is a must.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We spent there a few days with my husband. The place is well located and the staff was nice, helpful. The price is including breakfast which was delicoius :) Highly recommended :)

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing. All good.

    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The owners/ staff were very easy going and friendly. Always smiling and easy with our toddler who loved them all. Special thanks to Ivan, Marko and Iliana for the friendly service and great recommendations. The location was great. Close to several lovely beaches. Theres a beach a few minutes away from the hotel and a childrens park as well which was great as we were with our 2.6 year old daughter and she loved it. One thing to note...you need a car to really explore Sardinia. Parking is very easy here and free too. We will be back

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sea view.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely loved the staff!!! Best part of the experience. They were super attentive. Breakfast was wonderful too. I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be more varied and would benefit from more choices of cheese and breads

    Easy access to airport , beaches and lovely coastal walks

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi internet connection was very poor

    Everything was very good, staff very friendly , it was a pleasure to stay here

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the wifi reception was okay, but the speed was very slow

    Staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts tasty and plenty.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel. very clean. Run by very caring and attentive family. Great location

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The service is outstanding.the staff friendliness is above any expectation

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Your hospitality and friendliness were extraordinary. We appreciated the stay very much. Thanks a lot! Dina and Marianne

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location. Spotless. Marco and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Relaxed atmosphere! Will definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very friendly and relaxing hotel. Pleasant environment to holiday in, lovely room with balcony.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: