Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello di Velona Resort Thermal SPA & Winery 5 stars

Località Velona - Castelnuovo dell'Abate, 53024 Montalcino, Italy

#7 of 11 hotels in Montalcino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 377 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.8
    Location exceeded estimates - staff service ruined the overall value of the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of service wasn’t up to mark, especially if you compare it to the Rosewood. The staff was extremely lax and had to be asked ultimate times for assistance whether it came to booking spa appointments or other requests.

    View and location were excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful place with amazing views over Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's overrated for the price you are paying. The food is ok but nothing special, could be much better. The rooms are musty and old - not luxurious at all.

    Beautiful place with amazing views over Tuscany.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Amazing location, but let down by the sub-par service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible service throughout the hotel. Very overpriced bar and restaurant. Very poor overall for the star rating - the service is more indicative to a 2* hotel.

    Amazing location and views. The site of the hotel cannot be beaten. Lovely pool area and spa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Frustrating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are charged extortionate prices for every tiny thing. A sense of money grabbing at every point. No full length mirror Jacuzzi didn’t work, we had to fight to get a discount on a €600 room , no one wanted to apologise or offer the discount, the staff are not empowered to make decisions to improve your stay, they are trained to upsell only. But they try to be lovely, it is the management at fault. We moved rooms, and they thought that was the solution.- no recognition of first bad night, nor moving upheaval!

    Rooms/views/ food was all beautiful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the pool with the sommelier who did not serve us right cause we wanted only water Also that at the restaurant you have almost to pay the double of the price of their own wine bottle and 20€ by the glass for a Rosso wine 🤦🏽‍♂️

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location, fantastic views and lots of wineries...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, fantastic views and lots of wineries around for tastings. The wineries are definitely worth the time. The food and drink at the hotel is very expensive...we are happy to spend money on quality but the food and drinks were not worth the price tags here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Truly wonderful -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived before their season had actually kicked into full gear. Consequently, for evening dining there was only the gourmet restaurant available. It would have been nice to have had an alternative.

    My husband and I have traveled a lot. This has to be in the top 5 of most exquisite locations we have seen. You simply have to see it to understand it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Stay was nice the spa was lovely the service and staff are mediocre the food again was awful and som
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was AWFUL THE SERVICE OF FOOD WAS EXTREMELY AWFUL TJEY DONT WVEN SEEVE SINPLE FRIES ONLY GORMET FOOD AND NOT AT MUCH CHOICE COMPLETELY A DIWNFALL

    The view and the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful view but it will cost you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We definitely didn’t like being charged and overcharged for almost everything. Coffee in your room was limited and you would be charged greatly for more than a total of two cups. Even the Hampton inn gives you unlimited coffee. Water was 5 and 10 euros per bottle and even a tiny snack bar was 5 euros. A bottle of Dom Perignon that they push you to buy was over 350 euro...when it costs 125 at the store. They charge 25 euro for parking. Just too much nickel and diming when you are paying more than $1000/night for a room. Very few people wanted to eat in the restaurant because the prices were too high.

    The views are spectacularly stunning. The pool and thermal spa rooms are fabulous. The rooms themselves are fine but not decorated very well and have two much furniture making it tight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Disrepair and Mgmt Doesn't Care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally various things in disrepair. Our A/C was broken and despite requesting fix for 3 days it was never repaired which made sleeping difficult. Bathroom smelt like smoke. Food was expensive and not great (we like everything but wouldn't order there again). Not enough chairs by pool so people camped out all day. Waiters are lovely people but too busy so forget orders etc.

    The thermal spa was nice. Views were pretty incredible. Rooms spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Splendid relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No consistency in some of the food. I ordered the same salad two days in a row and were different both times. I would have liked to have more food options. The food at the restaurant was super fancy and I love it but I would have been nice to have food more suited to the pool area and to have other options. Even the room service menus didn’t have many options.

    The room, the views and the service were excellent. Also breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Superb location, spa facilities, reception staff very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some disorganisation at breakfast, with coffees taking too long, being taken to wrong tables, waiting times to get seated

    Superb location, spa facilities, reception staff very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.6
    Ridiculous management. A Tourist trap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor food at indecent prices; This is not a expensive restaurant, but an indecent management, you can not sell a 20 euro wine at 140!!! ... 7 times the price it’s really a joke, possible only thanks to a wine list consisting of only a few anonymous labels... a tourist trap. All this in a restaurant that poses as a luxury restaurant and then offers a 50% discount to outsiders, for the same exact menu. Ridiculous and offensive for the hotels guests!

    Nice and well maintained Spa. Nice outdoor and indoor pools.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel and location, stunning views in one of the most beautiful locations in Italy. Rooms are very comfortable and nice. The large SPA is well-structured. Skilled staff very friendly and gentle. After all, a wonderful and peaceful place to rest.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    The castle was beautiful, the room comfortable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very expensive to eat in the restaurant and the food was not that impressive On the final day after eating the pigeon we both got a severe case of gastroenteritis

    The castle was beautiful, the room comfortable and the thermal pools were a plus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Fab hotel, which we may go back to in years to come, you wont be disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    20 Euro charge for room-service hurt a bit, and there are not any options around nearby to grab a quick bite without going to a restaurant to eat, which you can only get to by car, but that was ok for us.

    The hotel is a good 2.5 hour drive from Pisa airport, but is an enjoyable drive nonetheless. The last 20 minutes are the most exciting as you wind your way through the Tuscan landscape and all becomes stunningly beautiful. The hotel itself is simply superb, although pricey (for us), its worth it, the spa is amazing, as is the indoor and outdoor pools, overlooking the vastness of green.....Comfy beds, and the BATH!! Wow. Staff are all really friendly and helpful and the restaurant is very good although pricey again. But it was my husbands 40th, so it was special.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    A stupendous location and an astounding castle/hotel. Luxurious facilities and fantastic food and one of the best views imaginable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.2
    Too much money for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly, no value for money. Everything is 150% more expensive than it should be. Pool had a lot of green mould (see pictures). This is what an overwater villa in Maldives costs and we initially got a claustrophobic room with a small window that was labelled a "suite" (see bathroom picture).

    The view from the pool is the reason we booked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Romantic and calm hotel, gorgeous view but overpriced everything within the hotel....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Patio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When you go to a hotel like this, you barely want to leave the property. You just want to stay there and sun bathe the whole day, have breakfast, lunch and dinner and the property. The problem is that everything at the property was insanely expensive, and the price didn't match the quality. For example, the hotel itself with breakfast included is about $600-$800 a day, you would expect that during breakfast you could at least order 2 eggs sunny side up or eggs benedict. No, for any type of egg that isn't scrambled (served at the buffet), the charged like 14-20 euros.... The room service menu is tiny, they charged like 22 euros for a bruschetta, or mozzarella and tomatoes. ITS INSANE!! Lets just say that they forced you to leave the hotel because they didn't have small pool snacks to nibble on, and either way, the cheapest of all was still expensive considering that it was like a pasta bolognese. I had read plenty of other reviews that said the same, the hotel structure is amazing, but the service and cost benefit of food is definitely not worth it. Super super over priced!

    The property itself is quite amazing, the thermal pools, the room, and the view!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place but they need to work on the food and customer experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived during Ferragosto - the Italian holiday for the Assumption of Mary and the peak of high season in August. They were clearly suffering as there were very under staffed. One waiter ONLY was working at breakfast so long waits for coffee and we felt very sorry for him as all the guests were complaining. The food at the hotel was also a massive disappointment and very, very expensive. The main restaurant was good but for the price it should have been much better. The other more relaxed restaurant, on the night we dined there, the food was terrible and very expensive. Lots of people were complaining and sending food back. We did raise this on check out and the manager was very apologetic and offered us some free wine. As the location is so stunning and isolated the hotel really have you captured. As a warning - as you are so isolated - water was eight euros a bottle and there was no complimentary water left in the rooms.

    The location is AMAZING and the facilities also out of this world. The rooms were comfortable and the views were stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location, stunning views, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We've stayed multiple times at Castello di Velona and like it a lot - however, two things I noticed this time were that 1) the restaurant has become far too expensive given the decent but far from exceptional quality of the food (easily an 100% price premium over comparable restaurants in the area) and 2) the bathrooms in the old part of the castle need some refurbishing (black mold in the shower, no cold water from the faucet)

    Great location, stunning views, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    I also
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner service and Lobby Restaurant quite poor and Menu uninspiring. High prices but no value. Room (Suite) has few places to place or open luggage.

    Property and location in general quite nice, pool excellent, breakfast very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.0
    We won't be back! Rip-off prices; hotel in meltdown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in crisis. No sensible management. Broken loo in room; staff hoovering in main areas at prime time; hotel under reconstruction during day and evening; signing in an already confusing layout wrong. When I highlighted these issues, the GM promised to have them fixed but nothing happened. We did get a free bottle of fizz and the promise of a voucher for our next visit (we won't be back). The prices are extortionate and totally unjustified by service and overall quality.

    The view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    4.6
    Fantastic location with great potential and extramelly poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty and dark room. Black mold in a toilet, sinks and shower. Spider Web in Flash lamp with Spider. We have a sunset room in new pary of hotel with terrace with sunbeds and table. Unforumatelly they were horribly dirty by bird droppings. We asked reception for cleaning but it did not help. We also asked for the sun umbrella for my husband, but it has never come. First evening we had a dinner in hotel restaurant. Dinner was not tasty, very overpriced, gnocchi were overcooked and was not worth that money. Waiters service was terrible and nobody knows why so stressed, which did not affect the atmosphere of the romantic dinner. We decided to have the next dinners in nearby beautifull towns in the pleasant atmosphere of eating delicious Italian food. The lack of management and staff lidership.

    Location with very nice view close to all wineries. Beautifull swimming pools. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Great hotel but poor restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was dreadful. Dinner at their fine dining restaurant left a lot to be desired given the price: odd menu that confused every table, unattentive staff, bland food

    Location and panoramic view is exceptional; the spa is nice and well equipped.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    I like the location, beautiful view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overpriced restaurant, not so tasty food. As I am food expert lived in 12 countries and enjoyed only gastronomy, I can tell you food is really appalling!

    I like the location, beautiful view! Exceptional wine. Good Stuff! Sommelier is the BEST!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel, great staff, great pool, great view... but be selective on choosing the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel offers old rooms and modern ones... Unfortunatelly the air conditioning sistem of the old rooms did not work well... and the bathroom at the old rooms were not as nice as the modern ones. Having said so, I definetely recomend you this hotel but I would demand to stay at one of the modern rooms!!

    - Location/View/Pool/Spa/Restaurant; - Regarding People: Loretta (from the front desk) and Manoella (wine sommelier) were great!! They will stay forever in our memories!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Peace, relaxing with a fantastic view of Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing. Only a bit expensive.

    Wonderful place. Quite, awesome view of montains, birds, fantastic infrastructure, steam room, jacuzzi, spa, great customer service. We had a dinner with a wine tasting with Emanoella, which was unforgettable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room we booked was in the old part of the castle. it was spacious, the view was wonderful, but it would require some upgrades. The windows were somehow scratched. The idea is that through them you did not see well outside. You had to open them for enjoying the view.

    location, property, surroundings, pool and spa area, stuff, food, everything was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Absolute luxury from the moment you arrive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Leaving - I wish we could have stayed longer

    Everything about this place was superb. From the attentive, friendly staff to the hedonistic outdoor pools and thermal baths and the superb restaurants. All this coupled with stunning views from a beautifully restored castle. If you want a treat this place delivers!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    An incredible and most memorable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Incredible service with a smile. Amazing rooms with gorgeous views. The pools and daybeds were dreamy, the food was sensational, the location is second to none and it feels as though everyone there is truly concerned with your wellbeing. They treat you like you are a VIP! Loved, loved, loved it!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    couldn't be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no charging facility for EVs, but the staff provided a power cord so I could recharge. Some details in decoration were not in perfect shape

    location, landscape, food and beverage, swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Magnificent Views at Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food requires improvement. Breakfasts could be deifinately better. With respect to the dinners - its price does not correspond to the quality.

    View from our room and from the hotel in general was indeed magnificent. Location was also nice, a lot of small cute cities around. The hotel at the time of our staying was not overcrowded and the personnel was extremely nice and helpful. Rooms are always clean. Water facilities, swimming pools and sauna, etc. were nice, however closed quite early - at 7:30 pm. In general, the hotel leaves very good impression and I would definitely advise to come there for a couple of days, if you are ok with the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Extraordinary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is so fantastic that I lack words. One of the most beautiful places I've ever been, and the hotel itself exceeded all expectations. Everything is perfect at Castello di Velona.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    If you want to be pampered go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i was there the kitchen was not working the dinner was late

    When you arrive there you feel like a princess in a real castle. All amenities can be found service is perfectly managed, you are reAlly pampered

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    Honeymooners in Tuscany!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant is SUPER OVERPRICED for tiny tiny tiny portions and the food is just sub-par; however the location is SO far away from anything that you kind of get stuck eating dinner there---our room was a junior sweet and didn't have a deck and the view was on the wrong side of the hill--would have preferred a room facing the west side!! Also the location although beautiful is quasi remote--must drive to visit other wineries or restaurants!

    We LOVED watching the sunset from the spa; the castello is located on a hill top with the most spectacular views!!! The staff was friendly and arranged for wine tasting and bike rentals!! The breakfast had the MOST BEAUTIFUL display of delicious foods :) Amazing coffee!!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic view over the valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free mineral water, coffee and tea in room. No water heater. Price is a bit high.

    Fantastic view over the valley. Beautiful place in a well-maintained ancient building. Breakfast is great. Staff are very friendly. The room is spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.9
    Relaxing moments in the top of the hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - a litttle bit to poor for a 5 star hotel Stuff- walking around but doesn't pay a big attencion of what you asking, I had the impression they runing a lot but not on the right direction,and the only thing they do to much is asking: " everything ok, Madame?" Room " guests"- during our 4 days stay in this hotel I killed around 7 small Insekts walking on the bad or table :)

    Location- totally out of the word and relaxing Spa - nice combination of treatment + welness zona

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    Magical and idyllic Tuscan castle is a dream!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A minor irritation was the drain in our 2nd bathroom's shower didn't work well and although we asked staff two or three times to have a look, during our 4 day stay it was not fixed nor mentioned to us why. The bed, pillows and quilt could have been more luxe rather than merely comfortable for such a high end hotel. Being used to top-notch 5 star service living in a world class resort municipality (Whistler, Canada), the restaurant service was very good but not 5 star - I am being picky here. Staff was lovely and visibly trying, but too obviously so, while just missing the mark. This would probably only be picked up on by people accustomed to 5 star service - I am spoilt living where I do! I assume it would be difficult to both recruit and maintain highly skilled wait-staff in that part of Italy. Overall this did not at all lower my appreciation of the restaurants but is merely an observation of where improvements could be made.

    The decor of the castle is tasteful and elegant yet comfortable - love the old with the new. The location and views are absolutely stunning! Relaxing in the pool and lounging on the patio was idyllic with the magical views of the Tuscan hills and valleys - especially at sunset. The staff were very attentive, friendly and full of good recommendations of places to go or things to do etc (especially Antonio in the restaurant). I especially appreciate a very local wine and food selection when I travel in an area known for such and the Castello did not disappoint. The food was absolutely delicious, local and beautifully presented. My two favourite dishes were a fresh and simple pool side rocket salad with pear, walnut and parmigano and the potato cream with leek and porcini in the upper restaurant lounge.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    8.3
    Bed is very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is not great, food could be better. They charge us city tax, again. Booking stated that it is included in our total price. It looks that we had paid it twice.

    Bed is very comfortable. Pool is great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic place and very kind staff ( reception second to none)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow service at the restaurants

    Fantastic place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Restaurant ruined the beautiful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant ruined the beautiful experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    2.9
    Very unhappy
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Was the worst hotel I’ve ever stayed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    definately relaxing, good experience, definately will come again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.6
    Very good spa hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced lunches and dinners

    Spa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    This has been the second visit to the castle. I would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very romantic and a wonderful place to relax.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine tasting!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Awesome stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location couldn’t be any better. The heated swimming pool is awesome!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Great view, overpriced restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is overpriced by a long shot. Avoid it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    great location with dissatisfying restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    for the price the service/food was not inline. It did not match at all.

    beautiful location , perfect view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool could use a little better cleaning.

    Breakfast was great! Location was also amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.6
    Tourist trap. They are after ripping you off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A complete rip off for food and drink vs a restaurant that is just average. Run away from it.

    Good location near key attractions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    Romantic wellness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced restaurant

    Amazing place Luxury wellness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    EXCELLENT!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Fabio and other staff members many thanks for the wonderful days!! Excellent service!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    Extra small room in a great castel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small

    View and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous castle and romantic gateway in Tuscany!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price a little too steep

    Superb views, very charming XI century castle, great service, great in-castle suite

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.6
    It was a real disappointment, staff were terrible and there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a real disappointment, staff were terrible and there was no gym facility.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Very nice view of the tuscany country side!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the redtsurants is slow at dinner time

    Very nice view of the tuscany country side!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    views ---wonderful staff and host/owner, outstanding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    views ---wonderful staff and host/owner, outstanding breakfasts, quiet

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Romantic place on beautiful Toscana hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Normally this level hotels offer champain for breakfast for free))

    beautiful place with fantastic views and very romantic atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    vale a pena
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Demora no check out

    Piscina termal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Great Tuscany Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Kids playing the in thermal pool.

    Breakfast was wonderful, setting was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.8
    Lame amenities in the best location ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff were jerks Gym was a joke Spa staff was clueless

    Great location and front desk staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    10
    Everything from the beautiful drive up to the property to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing. This is the best hotel we've ever stayed in.

    Everything from the beautiful drive up to the property to the friendly and welcoming staff to the breakfast in the morning, the gorgeous and relaxing pool, spa and restaurant were absolutely incredible. Best hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff was so accommodating and learned your name and how you took your coffee after only a day. The property is incredibly well groomed and the views from almost anywhere on the property are breathtaking. It's as if you are looking at a painting. The restaurant downstairs can be a bit desolate during the beginning part of the season but the food is always delicious and beautifully prepared. Our room was also very nice. Quite big and decorated tastefully in a Tuscan style. If you're looking for a quintessential Tuscan experience this is it. You can't beat it.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    5.0
    Amazing location, but very bad servuce except the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and the quality of the food at the diner.

    Amazing location, but very bad servuce except the restaurant ( cooking and service excellent). Cleaness very poor when it was done!! The terrace of the suite was dirty, very dangerous and with almost no view in comparison to standard room. Nothing to hang towels in the bathroom. Very cheap furniture for the price. Impossible to get an ironfir 5 mn in the room. So disapointing, not at all at the level of the price !!!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    The staff and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The "gourmet restaurant". The food took a long to be served. On arrival one of our parties food was cold the seabass. One dish was great the sole. Two dishes were inedible lamb with eucalyptus and piglet with timut peppercorns. The chef did not understand how to use the ingredients.

    The staff and view

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.5
    Beautifully renovated historical hilltop castello.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The remote location means that you need a car to get around. Don't rely on transfer services offered by the hotel -- way overpriced.

    Beautifully renovated historical hilltop castello. The staff are very forthcoming and helpful. The spa area incl outdoor pool is top notch.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    4.6
    The only reason to visit this place is location and views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's very far from luxury as service in total, so hotel itself. I can't say that it's clean (for ex. in our bathroom was mildew - not good surprise), pool wasn't clean and private pool at our terrace wasn't clean also, we prefer not use it after we saw it. it's unacceptable if hotel want to be simply good even not luxury. Room Service is under lowest expectation - firstly, you will try to order while nobody answer, but then you will finally wait at least hour even you ask for something simple as coffee. Most staff (except just few persons who were really nice) is not welcoming or helpful: first answer at any your question will be "no".

    The only reason to visit this place is location and views (wonderful magic sunsets). Castle looks very interesting from outside. But that's all.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    Looooved the how close it is to one of my favorite towns in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Looooved the how close it is to one of my favorite towns in Tuscany... Montalcino. Just a short drive from the town and your literally in this castle in the clouds. Beautiful!!

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    Staff are perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just nothing.

    Staff are perfect. The hotel is located on the hilltop offering spectacular views of Val d'Ocia. The sunset room is a must which offer a front garden of your own. The outdoor warm water swimming pool is also perfect. Don't want to leave the hotel. Very heartwarming service too.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    The pool is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would improve the web site, Velona Castel is much better on site. I would also improve the cusine, which is good but not excellent.

    The pool is amazing. The dramatic view on the valley. The Italian courtesy of the staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    9.6
    Castello is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Castello is amazing. Staff unbelievably accomodating..one staff member was kind enough to bring in her laptop charger so my daughter's computer could be used. The facility is drop dead gorgeous and if the weather is bad, there is no shortage of things to do on the premises...thermal pools, massages, wine tastings etc. We could not recommend it more highly.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    THE VIEW!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    THE VIEW!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    10
    The best hotel that i ever visited
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything is amazing

    The best hotel that i ever visited Incredible

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: