Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello Orsini Hotel 5 stars

Via Aldo Bigelli snc, 00017 Nerola, Italy

#1 of 3 hotels in Nerola

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 869 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    We didn't expect it to be THAT amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing not to like about sleeping in a medieval castle with a fantastic view! Nothing to complain about really!

    Amazing historic buildings with a lot of details and a stunning view all around. We were floored when we stepped outside in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.0
    Don’t bother or if you do stay for one or two nights and don’t eat or drink at the castle.
    • Solo traveller
    • French Style Single Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool didn’t actually open until 11am and the hot tub was only clean and usable one day of the entire week- the other days it was actually repulsive, filthy and smelt terrible. Upon my arrival after travelling 8 hours from Abu Dhabi and taking a train and a bus I was told there wasn’t anywhere I could get even small refreshments, a sandwich, coffee or water. They were too busy with a wedding but they said I could book a table for dinner which opened at 7.30pm. The food was terrible and literally thrown down without even a smile or small conversation, as a female travelling alone I was extremely uncomfortable. I had 2 glasses of mediocre red wine and a salad. Upon checkout I was told the below average meal had cost me 42 euros. I did offer feedback and explained about my experience but not even an apology was offered. The following day I actually suffered with food poisoning. I actually left a day early because I couldn’t take the place any longer. Thank goodness for the cafe and bar at the bottom of the hill, cheap cheerful and very friendly. The restaurant had excellent quality seafood and the wine was only 3 euros for a carafe and it was excellent. I was extremely disappointed with my stay- despite being high season and such beautiful views on offer I imagined they would have a bar or restaurant outside. Instead it was in a dingy basement, very small and no atmosphere, it was so quiet I asked was there not even any background music- they had forgotten to turn it on. Breakfast was great so long as you are persistent with what you would like- personally I don’t eat cakes or cereal for breakfast. When I asked if eggs were available they originally pointed me to a huge disgusting vat of scrambled eggs. When I asked if anything else was available she said no and walked off. Thankfully the older gentleman offered me fried eggs. It’s really the small things that matter and it’s such a shame. I put it down to bad management and unhappy staff.

    The views in the castle were amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    A nice hotel but be careful with the choice of a room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Classic Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was not comfortable. The locks of the bathroom door and the window were broken. The door of the bathroom could not be closed. Water was flowing in the bathroom all the time and it was very noisy.

    Staff was very polite. Breakfast was tasty. Beautiful area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    very unique hotel.... highly recommend if your in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    check to see when the hot tub and pool opens for the year. It was 30 degrees out and the pool didn't open for 3 more weeks

    unique experience...dinner and wine was very good. walk down the hill to the small town and had a beer with the locals and watched the kids play soccer. castle was amazing to walk the grounds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    It's a castle! Nice for a weekend getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Tower North
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since there was a wedding that evening, the restaurant was closed. We didn't find that out until after the reservation was confirmed with a no-refund window. I really wanted to schedule a private dining on one of the turrets but wasn't able to move the reservation for another weekend. The bedroom could use an updating of the bedcovers.

    They've done an excellent job converting it to meet the needs of banquets, parties or just a quiet retreat while maintaining the integrity of the castle itself. The views are fantastic and the breakfast was great - one of the best buffets we've had. They make their own salamis. Very relaxing! Nice pool and sunning area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    What a great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Tower East
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You're in a castle.. what's not to like ?

    Awesome building. Loved it. Took the misus away for a dirty weekend and had amazing sex outside in my own private tower. I felt like gandolf waving a magic wand around. We booked the suit and very glad I did. Me and wife fell out on last day but that didn't matter cos I had another bed downstairs ready for me. Tip top. Don't expect modern. This is a castle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    The real castle for romantic trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can not recommend for more than two nights. Yet as a tourist attraction - it's a couple of hours for an inspection. And the road to other sights is not close. WiFi worked very differently, places a good signal, in some places it did not work at all 50/50. Crawling on the ladder after a hard day is hard. There is a slight misunderstanding with the numbers there was some confusion. We booked 3 rooms: 2 Suite Split Level, and 1 Single Room (all in the main building). One of the suites quite corresponded to the description and photos on the site. The second number (which we were given instead of the Suite) was also a two-tiered one, but 3 times less (!), There are no photos on the site - as it is actually called I do not know. And instead of Single Room we were given the Standart Double / Twin Room - there the difference is not great. In general, everything is roughly the same.

    It's certainly a real castle :) I think children will be interested. Yes, and adults are impressive! But much has been written about this - I will not repeat it. You can sit on the terrace on the wall or down by the pool. You can spend an evening at the real fireplace with a glass of wine. Romantic. We were at the beginning of May, practically alone (except for me and friends in the castle, there were only 3 more guests). Probably, in a season when there will be more lodgers, such romantic will not be any more. On the other hand, the pool will work in the summer and the hotel will be even more attractive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    I would recommend Castello Orsini to friends...particularly couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ancient buildings tend to come with quirks. No hot water 2 mornings in a row was one of them. I suspect guests travelling alone get the short straw in terms of room standard.

    Hard not to be impressed by the location and the building itself. My rate in mid-May was reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Magical place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Classic Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room equipment was rather poor, small bathroom, 10 minutes waiting for hot water, insufficient lighting. Breakfast quite basic, definitely not at 5-star standard, totally missing vegetables.

    Beautiful medieval castle turned into a 5* hotel. Friendly staff, great views, nice garden and swimming pool. The rooms are rather 3/4-star, but staying at such a stunning place makes you forgive all those little details.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Tower North
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! This is such a cool castle. The inexpensive room was definitely not as nice. The upgraded room was great. The castle and area are incredible! Breakfast was also lovely!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Magical stay in a castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would recommend making sure you stay in the actual castle building rather than outside it - you can see when you are booking which you choose. When we booked unfortunately it was the only available room left, but it was still more than worth staying there to get to have our aperitivo, dinner and breakfast in a castle!

    Although we were staying outside the castle, in a different building, we could wander freely round the castle which was superb. The staff were fantastic, really friendly and helpful. Good dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    An amazing place with the beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Captain's Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is built into the wall. It’s not flexible or ajustable. So when you come into the shower the water just starts pouring over your head.

    An amazing place with the beautiful view. Everything is aimed at keeping the authentic interiors of the medieval castle, very lovely. The restaurant in the castle is also nice, we liked the cuisine. But if you still want some pizza you can go to the central square of the town, there’s a nice little restaurant. The personnel is very helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Nathali who helped to get back the stuff I left in the room leaving the hotel:)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Amazing views. Rustic accomodations, as one would expect. Food over-priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Stable Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was good but pricey for what is was. Wine selection could have been better.

    Amazing view, this place should be in a museum. We had the dinner in the prison which was fun.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Unexpected experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next time I will book this hotel at least for two night.

    Castello Orsini is the place where you can feel as the king living in 1000 year old Castle. Thanks the staff for well preserved this nice place and welcome atmosphere in the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Trip of a lifetime!! Amazing location, staff, food and service! Bellissimo!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • French Style Single Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The whole experience rates 10/10.

    Out of this world!! We stayed here for a friend’s wedding and it was the most beautiful venue and location. Our room was in an annexe only yards from the castle walls, it was a lovely and intimate room full of character and history. We loved soaking up the incredible scenery and the wedding itself was fantastic. The food was simply superb, from the buffet after the ceremony, to the 4 course wedding breakfast and more-ish desserts! Delightful! The Castle arranged fireworks for the bride and groom which topped off an incredible day. Breakfast was also plentiful and catered for everyone, cereal, pastries, meats, tea etc etc. I loved every second of my time here and will definitely return. The hotel also arranged a taxi to and from the nearest train station (Fara Sabina) as we arrived from Rome via train. Filiberto was extremely helpful and his communication through email and telephone was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Best medieval castle getaway in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets are tiny but you will find everything you need. They can be modernized slightly without losing too much of the medieval castle feel. Nothing else, this is still a 10+ rating hotel.

    Perfect location for a vacation away from the city. It's an authentic castle and you will probably be amazed how beautifully they have maintained this place. The restaurant in the prison is beautiful. The breakfast was delicious and probably tasted the best coffee here. Definitely the best get away in Italy at a very reasonable price. This hotel has many common rooms/chambers to relax and connect with people. There's a piano and a pool table. The best part is the service and staff. They are super friendly and amazing. Will definitely visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Amazing Hotel well worth the vist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Classic Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the showers.

    The location was amazing with the most spectacular views. I would like to give te hotel a realistic review so you know what to expect. If arriving at the hotel by car, go to the 1st gate at the top of the hill, press the buzzer. We booked a Clasic room, it is a tad on the small side, but fine, my only real problem was the shower size. When I go back I will book a larger room. The furnishings are appropriate for the setting. Everything was not perfect, but remember we are in a 12th century castle, you are there to experience the history around you. We had dinner in the dining room and the food was amazing. the 2nd night order a pasta cabonara, (not on the menu) this and the scramble eggs were to me the best i have had.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    one of the best expiriences if my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    to be rated a 5 star would mean no room for improvement,and the bed and linens were like 2 star quality.

    this is as authentic of a castle as possible.absolutely recommend to anyone.service was excellent,food was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Well we could pinpoint some things that we didn't like.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well we could pinpoint some things that we didn't like... But not sufficient to spoil the other things! The view is marvellous, the castle looks stunning, rooms are clean and you can have a great sleep. Food is good. Indeed is 5 star because of the setting. But it's a privilege to enjoy such a treat of a place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    A bit like visiting a slightly run-down theme park.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Stable Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Driving through Nerola and finding the property is tricky: very narrow roads and poor signage. The property seems geared for weddings, and feels a little tacky, almost like a theme park. Although booked for two, there was only one set of towels in the room. There was a bath, but we were not allowed to use it because of leaking pipes, which we found very frustrating. The staff responded to our concerns and (when requested to do so) gave us a complementary cocktail.

    The best thing about this property is its history and architecture. It is fun and somewhat unusual to stay in a medieval castle. The evening meal was excellent, and the breakfast provided a lot of choice. Great views from the battlements.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Generally, the management seems not to care enough: Heating was not working the first night, I complained in the morning and they said it will be fixed. When we checked again on the second evening, it was still not working and only then they sent someone to fix it. The bathroom was stocked with just 1 piece of shower gel for 2 persons for 2 nights, I had to ask for more. Dinner at the restaurant was a disaster, small portions of mediocre quality. And you pay at check-out somewhat different rates for wine and desserts. The pool was under maintenance and unusable during our stay. This "hotel" has undergone 5* qualification which they do not comply with all the time. I've been to many 4* hotels of much better quality!

    Interesting place to sleep over, nice views, there is this special feeling that you actually inhabit a real castle. Easy accessible by car from Rome and its airports. Breakfast was excellent quality, quantity and variety, opposing the dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Stable Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a truly unique place to stay. Everything a medieval castle should be suit's of armour & swords so if you are looking for something different the castle is for you. If you want glitz and glamour forget it. The staff are truly amazing and nothing was to much trouble. It is a very peaceful place with mountains at the rear and very picturesque. Will hopefully visit again next year.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    It is the life expereince to stay in a mid-evil castle with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too many dislikes about the room and comfortness. It's worse than 30Euro guest house with it's broken toilet. We took our bath in another room for the first night. The owner just not maintain it properly. What a shame!

    It is the life expereince to stay in a mid-evil castle with an acceptable price, but that's the only good side of it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Most amazing time we had there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most amazing time we had there. The view from our room wasn't a lot understandable as the money we were paying. However the view from the castle was absolutely breathtaking. We were sitting in the Jacuzzi drinking the wine watching the mountain. You could easily fall in love with anyone sitting next to you in that romantic environment 😂😂. Highly recommend it to couples who madly in love. We are planning to go there again next year and get a more expensive room. Every penny you spend there totally worth it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location on the top of a hill with excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi and plumbing were a bit dodgy, but probably just as a result of the difficulty in installing such things in a medieval castle and entirely forgivable given how spectacular the place is.

    Fantastic location on the top of a hill with excellent views. Authentic medieval castle - an unusually brilliant hotel building. Food was tasty, staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay in a beautiful castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good but it would be perfect if pool were open longer. The pool is open 11-19.

    Wonderful stay in a beautiful castle. Delicious breakfast and coffee. Very kind staff and beautiful oldstyle rooms. The rooms were spacious and very nice bathroom. Beautiful views and lovely pool. Many places to rest in the castle. So sorry to left

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Beatufil place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would expect higher level of cleaness in bathroom. The room looked a bit untidy. Wifi out of range.

    Beatufil place. Worth visiting. Very gentle and professional staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    3.3
    bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    this is not at all 5 stars hotel, it's 3 stars hotel maximum... the hotel gave us a terrible room with wetness, it was not possible to stay even 10 minutes in the room, and the location was bad. the swimming poor was dirty at not ready for swimming for all days of staying... WI-FI didn't worked, some strange water noise from the toilet room.

    the pizza restaurant near the hotel was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    2.9
    Absolute rubbish in every respect!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing 5* about this hotel. It was difficult to find. Even when we got to the hotel there were no clear instructions to reception and no one to help with our luggage. The de luxe room was nothing of the kind. Inadequate space for clothing. A fridge that didn't work. A disgusting bathroom with mouldy shower cubicle, brown sanitary ware and hardly room to turn around. Although we were assured there was Wifi this only worked in the reception area. The food was poor with a limited choice of menu but still expensive. Restaurant staff were indifferent. On our second day, returning from a day in Rome, a large trolley of left over food was sitting outside the lift door to reception. Disgusting!! I was concerned that the room rate for this hotel seemed low for an establishment rated as 5*. My concerns were justified.

    There was nothing likeable about this property

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Place and Fantastic Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom, one English tv channel, wifi didn't work in most areas, unchanging menu. Difficult to get anywhere

    The castle itself, the room, the staff were excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    if you want to live for a night in Middle Ages
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    wardrobe inside the room not comfortable, noisy air conditioning, shower not comfortable, internet not properly working

    wonderful castle atmosphere, fantastic position, room in style, view from the room, restaurant inside with well prepared people and delicious food, good breakfast, garden and swimming pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    a rare experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Stable Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    so much atmosphere, the location and hotel is very special. when i first arrived i thought it was not a hotel but a tourist attraction. because it is actually a 10th century castle it is quirky in its vast complicated layout - once you know where you are going its fine. staff are extraordinarily helpful and friendly - i had a really big bag and i am grateful to their was someone to assist with it up all the steps and stairways

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    Il posto è meraviglioso, da sogno, soprattutto per un gruppo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Le (pochissime) pecche di questa struttura, secondo me, risiedono nella trascuratezza di alcuni dettagli tipo un paio di buchi sul rivestimento del divano o i buchi degli stop sulle mattonelle del bagno o ancora, il phon infilato alla bell'e meglio sul porta asciugamani, oltre a qualcosa di più macroscopico come il vecchio frigo e il vecchio condizionatore che sono veramente antiestetici per un 5 stelle, mentre i sanitari del bagno (color marrone) danno un'idea di sporco pur essendo puliti. Sia chiaro, io ci tornerei anche domani se mi fosse possibile, tanto mi sono trovata bene. Se le cose che ho esposto venissero sistemate e rimodernate, secondo me sarebbe semplicemente perfetto.

    Il posto è meraviglioso, da sogno, soprattutto per un gruppo di nerd come noi che desideravano da tempo di poter trascorrere una giornata in un vero castello. Lo staff è gentilissimo e professionale; il castello è talmente bello che si potrebbe passare il tempo nella sala da ballo ad ascoltare musica senza fare altro. L'atmosfera è veramente di altri tempi, senza però rinunciare al comfort. Ottima anche la cena nel ristorante interno, prezzi adeguati ad un cinque stelle. Squisita pure la colazione. Noi avevamo la suite e c'erano: due televisori, il frigo bar, il condizionatore e il wi-fi. Ampio spazio interno per il parcheggio.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    You feel like a real princess or knight in this impressive castle with Beautiful surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In summertime often weddings (garden and bar reserved)

    Beautiful castle Views are wonderfull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Loved it and a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place to stay unbelievable building and situation loved it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Spacious rooms, great service and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room (outer castle)

    Spacious rooms, great service and food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    The medieval atmosphere, possibility to exolore the castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Classic Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The medieval atmosphere, possibility to exolore the castle

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Exellent value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WIFI

    The castle is excellent , the rooms are outstanding , the views are gorgeous but wifi didn't work

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    The restaurant and food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Superior Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being 83 found the bedroom rather difficult - bathroom being on different floor to bed.

    The restaurant and food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Stable Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service from all members of staff. Lovely pool Outstanding location with panaromic views.Relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Very unique property.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Tower North
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Very unique property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great location at the top of a mountain, 1 hour from Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location at the top of a mountain, 1 hour from Rome. Castle is incredible! Breakfast and Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic historical place- “ Living in museum”.
    • Couple
    • Captain's Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic historical place- “ Living in museum”. Candle light dinner was absolute romantic..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    We love everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We love everything! It was an amazing experience. Great place, great stuff and great food!!! Will highly recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.0
    The castle is magnificent and the breakfast is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Stable Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are not 5*

    The castle is magnificent and the breakfast is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    The castle itself is magnificent, the breakfast is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are not 5* definitely

    The castle itself is magnificent, the breakfast is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Castle is real 😊
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Castle Classic Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Castle is real 😊 Very rare accomodation. Awesome place👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    That small Pets are not allowed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Tower East
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That small Pets are not allowed. Water in the outside pool was very cold.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    The breakfast buffet was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Borghetto Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast buffet was fabulous!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice staff and beautiful castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff and beautiful castle

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Great castle stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Castle Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints !!!

    All the of it. Great staff, outstanding food. Real medieval castle...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Really nice people over there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice people over there. Nice view. Good service. We will come back to stay there. When we have baby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Must visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Stable Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and the surrounding are amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Must visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Castle Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom

    The location is amazing with a breathtaking view. The breakfast was excellent with various food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    The view, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Borghetto Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat was not clean.

    The view, breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    1st yeae wedding anniverasary
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Borghetto Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting with beautiful views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Romantic night in a castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Tower North
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice stay in genuine castle with great restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    One in a lifetime experience in a truly magnificent medival castle in lovely area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Magical experience. Best value for money. Affordable prices. Recommend staying in the main castle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Historical site
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from city of Rome, 1 hour driving.

    Historical site

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    Interesting place, if you are a pilgrim it's a climb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Annoying noises in the room

    Staff and food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    paradiso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    niente

    wonderfull place...to try one time in the life...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Figo
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Stable Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff splendido

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.0
    Fairytale
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Amazing location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful place, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location and atmosphere was super. Breakfast/Dinner was great and the staff was very nice. Very nice bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    A beautifull night in the castle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • French Style Single Room - Borghetto Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extraordinary location, very nice personal, good food, a lot of history inside. I will come back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Great Castle accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great suite in a very impressive 10th century castle

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    La location suggestiva
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double/Twin Room - Villino Salimei Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La location suggestiva

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.1
    Real castle, a bit of an uplift of the room is needed to meet 5star expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Castle Classic Double/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    broken bathrooms and shower nizzles

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Castel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • French Style Single Room - Borghetto Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    i think the bathroon is lillte closet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    10
    Location affascinante
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location meravigliosa, affascinante

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    I'd recommend this hotel in a heartbeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The castle is amazing and the staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.0
    Wonderful location, views, and fabulous old castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very poor tiny bedroom with tiny window and small uncomfortable bathroom. Good food but slow service

    Wonderful location, views, and fabulous old castle

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Castello Orsini Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: