Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Castello 3 stars

Campo SS. Filippo e Giacomo - Castello 4365, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#231 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1845 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Castello is wonderfully located and a good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most of the staff were very friendly and everyone was helpful but some of the folks at the front desk were friendlier than others.

    I booked this hotel based on location and reviews but my family was a little dubious when we headed down a side alley to a small doorway and again when they first saw the room decor. However, the hotel turned out to be great, is in a great location only four minutes walk to the water buses to the other islands like Murano and Burano and the grand canal, water taxis to the airport and San Marco Square, and the Venetian decor had its own charm. The breakfast was lovely and the breakfast staff very friendly and helpful. My sister has a lot of food allergies and they brought her out special items. Each room had air conditioning, its own bathroom with shower and a safe. There were great restaurants, banks, pharmacy, and stores nearby. It was in a touristy area but we found that was a very convenient location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    I loved the location of the hotel, but it is overrated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesnt have a porter service, you have to carry your bags to the third floor since they arent any elevator. The bed was not comfortable at all and the breakfast range is very poor.

    I liked the staff, they are very friendly. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel overpriced but good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was in need of updating,, not enough day light and lacked sockets, breakfast was basic and they couldn't produce a hot drink, no kettle in room and coffee not available in the evening

    Location, bed was comfortable and air con good, staff were fine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    The location was fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit firmer than what we’re use to.

    The location was fantastic!!! A couple of minutes away from St. Mark’s Square and from where our Vaporetto dropped us off to the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Perfect for 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a small room but we could not expect more for this location in Venice

    Very convenient location once you find it. We did our homework before and had no difficulty in locating it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location. hidden behind St Marks, very short walk, plenty of dinning options just steps away. No canal bridges between this hotel and the S. Zaccaria water taxi stop which is great for those who insist on larger luggage. We had 7 rooms, all of them had nice tub / shower combo generous size by Italian standards.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    If you stay for max 2 nights- it is a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi was too slow or wasnt at all. Grabing the bags on third floor with no elevator is not make happy. Working stuff that doest speak english at all. Poor breakfast.

    Great location to the center. Feelings that you live in 18 century house. I liked that

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Would happily recommend it to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t much view from the room but everything else makes up for it

    The hotel was in a great place, very peaceful in the room, and the bed was very comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    The location is great, just 5 minutes from San Marco Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment is older, like many in Venice. There is 5 floors and no elevator, so make sure to ask to be put on first or second floor if climbing stairs is not easy for you.

    The location is great, just 5 minutes from San Marco Square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    If you can forego luxury and high price per room for location, this is a great option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms and the staff.

    The pictures versus the real life version of the property were misleading. I do agree that the location was good, but overall it was a bad choice for the last two nights of our honeymoon. We were on the 3rd floor, walk up. No elevator, staff is unpleasant. The rooms have walls covered in fabric, it's like they've done nothing to improve their property in the last 30-40 years.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.0
    Great location comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to hand out key in and get it back everytime we went anywhere.Difficult to get hot water for drinks.

    The location was great.very close to everything.A reasonable breakfast.Comfortable clean room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Average hotel, charging high price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel photographs are taken with a very wide angle lense, that then shows the rooms and facilities to be much larger than they are! Room was small and crammed. The breakfast was very poor quality food, and again hotel photographs made it look amazing! All in all, over priced for what was supplied. Only saving grace was location.

    Fantastic location, very central. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Convenient and good value but not quite what it promises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff could be a little more welcoming and friendly but no issues with check in or check out. The beds are very hard (in my opinion), the walls are very thin and you can hear the people next to you (but quiet when everyone is asleep) and if you want a hot shower it is best to have it at night or not in the morning peak hour times! Not a criticism but they should update their Booking.com description as there is no bar, despite it saying there is and having a photo of it; and the rooftop terrace that looks so nice in the photos is currently a storage area for spare mattresses! No lift so you need to carry bags up lots if stairs but there is help if you need it.

    Hotel Castello is very close and convenient to St Marks Square and the surrounding areas. It is easy to walk to from San Zaccaria ferry stop. The hotel is very clean and the breakfast is great, as are lovely ladies who serve you! It is good value for money in Venice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    For a short stay it was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the breakfast wasn't great and fruit juices tasted like a mix. Shame you couldn't order an egg (hard broiled, scrambled or fried) as there were lots of sweet cakes and tarts offered on the buffet as I am not a person who eats sweet things in the morning.

    We enjoyed our 2 night stay in Hotel Castello. Room was adequate and very clean. Location was excellent and having 24 hr check-in was good as we arrived at the hotel near 12:00 midnight. Yes I would recommend to friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely traditional Venetian hotel in a perfect location within 2 minute walk to st Marc’s square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like to single beds put together for double bed. Feel that I have got some bites since staying at the hotel.

    Breakfast was lovely and location was brilliant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Warm, comfortable and perfect for a few nights in central Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first person behind the desk (potentially the manager) was not very friendly when we first arrived. I didn’t like the fact we had to hand over our passports for our entire stay and every time we left the hotel during our stay we had to hand our room key in.

    Most of the staff were really lovely and friendly and the rooms were warm even in the freezing conditions outside! Breakfasts were simple but tasted good. The location is perfect for great access to all areas of the city!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Very good and quite location in the centre of Venice, few...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I missed fresh fruits for breakfast. Our room didn't have any window view. In spite the winter time, it was a pity that the hotel teracce was closed.

    Very good and quite location in the centre of Venice, few minutes from Vaporetto station and San Marco square. We like a nice room and domestic atmosphere (with friendly black cat sleeping in front of our room ) in old Venetian house . Good breakfast and coffee!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Charming and close to San Marco :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather old furniture. I am aware they want to keep the Venezian style but the owners could try to invest more into that.

    The hotel was well situated at 4 min from Piazza San Marco. The room is a bit kitschy-old but charming. For a short stay, it is perfect. The staff was helpful and I would definitely stay again in this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    3.8
    WORST breakfast in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WORST Breakfast in Italy. I stay all over the world and go to Italy at least 6x a year and this hotel has terrible breakfast. From all the available meats and cheeses in Italy, they have chosen the cheapest and worst processed meats and cheese. I don't expect much from Italian breakfast, but this takes a biscuit. Tinned fruit and days old cake....

    Rooms were reasonably clean, but corridors and stairs were not cleaned at all. When we poited this out to managment, they shrugged it of as, so what.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Good, but not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard, small toilet, the page on booking said the room had a bathtub but it hasn't.

    The location is the best thing in this property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, worth for what you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too limited, but love the coffew they have for breakfast. I cant close the second layer curtain...

    Friendly and helpful staffs and the is really authentic...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    This hotel was a pleasant surprise on out trip. Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could be better, it was a bit stiff.

    We arrived earlier and it was not an issue, we were ready to leave out bags and come back later but they gladly guided us to out bedroom. Breakfast was really good, staff very nice and polite. Location was absolutely perfect, room super silent, I liked everything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.4
    Good location but staff morale and service was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It may be winter but this should not impact on the service being offered. We stayed 3 nights and no clothes washing facilities were on offer due to 1 house cleaner on duty. Small request to heat a coissant was shrugged off with ‘sorry I’m cooking’.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Location is perfect, close to all main atraction in Venice...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms are very hot, you cant regulate heat in room. When we ask for little bit of more bread for breakfast they say they dont have it more.

    Location is perfect, close to all main atraction in Venice and close to boat stop. Stuff is frendly and helpfoul. Breakfast was good. I recomended to everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Very nice, we recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was at the third floor and after a day walking around it was not cool to go to the room walking a lot of stairs

    Well located, nice bed and breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Great place, clean room, everything was close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub size and no shower curtain. Walls were paperthin, could hear next door talking. Breakfast had no warm food.

    Great place, clean room, everything was close. Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location was brilliant! The room was wonderfully Venitian, some great tradition & inexpensive places to eat nearby, and the breakfast was very good! The roof top terrace was a bonus!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice accommodation at 3 minutes from Piazza San Marco with breakfast included!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst, to say something, would be the breakfast, is quite poor, but is included in the price so it's better not to complain. Also de bed wasn't very confortable, enough for two nights.

    The best of this hotel is the ubication and its cleaness, the relationship quality/ price is very good and I would come back if I go to venice again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    in December it's cheap and great choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location within a few steps to the main square in Venice - San Marco. Room is decorated in Venetian style. Not so spacious, but I'm sure that's because of the old buildings architecture. Nice breakfast with a great coffee, a large selection of snack, toasts, flakes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preffered fluffier pillows, but we found another set and made it double.

    The breakfast was very good. Many sweet things, but there were also some cheese and ham. The room had a good size with nice furniture, venetian style and quite well isolated. Bathroom was decent size, clean and provided shampoo and shower gel. Towels were also changed daily. Vapporeto stop is at 5 min distance and san marco square also 5 min. Many shops and restaurants around. Staff was really nice and gave us a map and some suggestions. Checkin and checkout was fast and smooth. I would strongly recommend this property, because of its location and facilities. In december even the price is extremely good, 250 euro for 4 nights. Bonus, they have a cute black cat that loved to be cuddled each evening

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Would more than happy use this accommodation again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower temperature went from your chosen temperature to freezing cold to boiling hot

    Very comfortable breakfast was included coffee was amazing and the location is perfect literally 2 minute walk for water taxis and st marks square

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Perfect and quiet location, clean, comfortable, well served...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all administrators could speak English. They do everything to help, but it still feels uncomfortable, for example, I could not understand why heating-system was not turned on 1st december in the room

    Perfect and quiet location, clean, comfortable, well served breakfast, positive and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.1
    location, very close to center and the major attractions of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was very small and they couldn't refound for the last night (we have stay only 2 nights instead 3)

    location, very close to center and the major attractions of the city (piazza san marco...)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Good choice in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The double bad was with two single mattresses. It was meant to be double. -Mattresses were very old and uncomfortable.

    -Location -Breakfast -Very clean -Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    Lovely romantic hotel near centre of city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lot of stairs, but room was quite and silent Just small details in bathroom

    Very nice and space room Comfort bed with lot of pillows Excelent breakfast (especially hot chocolate) Very nice and helpfull reception Location close to San Marco square and boat stop

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Location is brilliant, and very easy to get to from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is brilliant, and very easy to get to from the train station (water vaporetto, and a short 5-8min walk). Breakfast was included and always well stocked - very friendly staff too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.0
    Expensive for what it was but you are paying for its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the property was down a dirty alley and a little difficult to find. The bathroom was old and in need for renovation and we had issues with the toilet seat staying attached to the toilet. The beds were very uncomfortable and were the worst we had slep on for our entire Italy trip.

    Location, it was close to San Marco Square and everything else Venice has to offer Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was spacious for Venice and we had a slight view of San Marco Tower. Our room was very quiet. The breakfast were average and typical for most of our hotels in Itlay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect romantic city break in the ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms view was rubbish - but it really didn’t matter as the view after a few minutes walk to either St Mark’s square or the grand canal was breathe taking!

    Staff were really friendly. Room is basic and Venetian but ideally located that everything was with a few minutes walk or the water bus. Breakfast is ok and although doesn’t look a lot does fill you up. Cost was good and would recommend to anyone staying and wanting to be near St Mark’s square

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location near St. Mark's Square, Doge's Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entrance was off main street (in alleyway) and therefore difficult to reach; noisy "street" below room outside (people and cart traffic). Water taxi to hotel route given via online location of property was difficult due to necessary bridge (on main route given by property) requiring carrying luggage up/down approximately 10 bridge steps. Found alternate route not requiring traversing bridge to water taxi upon checkout. Room adequate, but not modern; no refrigerator or ice available. No a/c in October - left windows open for air- cooler in evening). No lift/staff assistance for luggage.

    Location excellent. Continental breakfast good and available early. Luggage storage good until checkin/after checkout. Helpful staff giving information. Staff provided European electrical converter.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    OK for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fridge in room gave unwanted heat. Three electric points but only one usable.

    Hotel staff pleasant. Good breakfast. Clean towels daily. Good location near San Zaccaria boat stop, St Marks and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.4
    I don't think I would return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are extremely dark and there are no screens or blinds on the windows. Mosquitoes buzz around during the night. In addition, my partner used a pillow from the closet and the next morning he had bites all over his arm. In addition, the hotel personnel did not have any vouchers which would have qualified for a 10%discount in the Trachetto parking garage. The other hotel that we stayed in a block away gladly offered one to us.

    the waitresses were friendly and the coffee was okay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    We will return. Loved the city and loved the hotel for its proximity and welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The decor is unusual and a bit antiquated but I would not say we didn't like it.

    Breakfast was excellent for a day sightseeing. Locations is the best thing as it is so close to everything in the centre of the city. Friendly and helpful staff. everything you need and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    2.9
    Not pleased with staff or hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel staff found to be rude, facilities were old and outdated, hotel needs a revamp. The room was small and the bathroom facilities could have been better.

    Not much about the hotel was liked other then the fact that it was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    After 6 days we felt part of the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The design of the showers. Hooks at the back of bathroom doors or in the bathroom. Some of the evening reception staff were not particularly friendly.

    Most of the staff, some of whom have worked at the hotel for many years, couldn't have been more helpful. When, as a result of slight handicap, we found the shower in our allocated room difficult to get in and out of, we were offered a change of room immediately. Reception staff were happy to recommend restaurants and make the booking for us.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.8
    Could have never found it at night without help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have never found it at night without help. Very dark alley, sign very hard to see in the dark. Breakfast offerings were minimal and blah. Teeny tiny bathtub, perhaps made for small children. Room was 4 flights of stairs up; no elevator. Very difficult getting luggage up there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    We would stay at Hotel Castello again.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There really wasn't anything to complain about. Everyone was nice, and the accommodations were good.

    Location was great with easy access from the vaporetto. Breakfast was really good and fortified us well for the day. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel is quiet on a narrow Calle.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.2
    Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman at the front desk was of no help at all, he would not have moved a muscle to help you. We asked if there was a patio we could sit on, he just pointed up. That was his answer and yes, he spoke English. If you look at their website the terrace looks quite nice, well that picture is WAY over done. It leaves little to be desired. The bed was absolutely awful, hard as a rock. We will never stay here again nor recommend it for anyone else. Miserable place.

    The location of the hotel was fantastic, but that's about it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location, room airconditioned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location, its just briliant...wifi connection no problem, breakfest - bread, butter, some salami, cheese, no vegetable (in whole Italy :-) ), croassant, coffee, tee, juices restaurants in close area, briliant to get lost airconditioning TV comfortable bed (finally)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    Not terrible but not as nice as it looked in the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room leaves a lot to be desired. Very dated and gloomy. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. Venice is overpriced. It's hard to find decent accommodations on a budget. It was passable but we only spent one night there.

    Lovely breakfast buffet. Really great! Location very close to St Marks.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.3
    Very nice comfortable room and good bathroom , but old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Old hotel, simple breakfast with no eggs for example. The terrace on the roof is poor and dirty. The cat is everywhere.

    Very nice comfortable room and good bathroom , but old fornitures and old carpet . Location is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    I absolutely enjoyed staying in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I absolutely enjoyed staying in this hotel. Big, comfortable rooms, gentle and polite staff together with great location close to popular tourist attractions - what can be better than this?

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    Ok for a night stay on budget considering Venice room costs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hospitality, breakfast, building, room.

    Good location near to the San Marco Square and to the Boat/Water Bus stop S.Zaccaria. We could pull our luggages with wheels without difficulties. Its a old hotel although our accommodation was given in a different building which is a few buildings away on the same small lane. The building was very old and not in a good shape from outside although the interiors are maintained with nostalgic old red carpet. The room does not have any views although the room was clean with an A/C and clean bathroom with a bidet and hot water. The breakfast was OK without eggs although they had a kitchen. The staff's behaviour was ok and not too great. The building does not have an elevator and the staff was not very happy when I asked him to carry up the second luggage although he did it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very centrally located. Getting to it from airport involves taxi to P.Romale and then water taxi. Very short walk from water taxi station. Good sized clean rooms. Excellent shower and bathroom. No smell in the rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location, clean room but that's about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron or conditioner. We were placed in another building which had two long flights of dark red stairs...annoying going up and down them in such heat.

    Clean, simple but nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    3.8
    Creepy, dirty place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creepy staff, dirty smell, stiff mattress, mosquitos in room, tiny bath with no curtain, a lot of stairs and no help with luggage. He tried keeping our passports at the front desk. Lots of creepy vibes.

    Location was the only good thing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.8
    Great location and the hotel was clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was broken and not very comfortable. On our day of departure I asked the guy on reception to assist with organizing us a taxi to the airport. He was rude and refused to help me. He insisted I go online and do it myself. I the end friends of ours organised it with their hotel where they were staying.

    Great location and the hotel was clean and tidy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was pretty small so we had to wait for about 15minutes for someone to finish their meal. Also it is quite far away so we were walking with all the bags for 40min to reach the hotel.

    Nice staff, beautiful room with a well functioning airconditioner in very hot days was also great. Nicely furnished room,everything perfectly clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.6
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was stinking. Asked for a king double bed and got two single beds put together. Air conditioning was tucked behind the screens. certainly not value for money.

    Centrally located.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.4
    Average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is very old hotel, not renovated I believe. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable that I could not sleep despite the fact that I was very tired. As it was in an old building, the ceiling was very low, the room was not very spacious. The TV did not work. There were not enough electricity outlets in the room, we had to charge our phones in the bathroom. The bathroom was very small.

    It is on a street very very close to San Marco and the shore. Easy to walk from where you get on/off vaporetto. The staff were nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location - but a final disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no lift. We also suffered a final disappointment. My wife left a jacket hanging in the wardrobe. After several phone calls to the hotel, we were told that it had not been found. Someone must have found it! It is a pity that that someone did not hand it in ...

    The location is good, in a very quiet back street near St Mark's Square, and close to the San Zaccaria waterbus landing. The hotel has seen better days, but the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the towels changed every day. The breakfast is generous in a pleasant dining room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.4
    Good location but rooms need attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were put in an annexe room along an alley. There was a very steep flight of steps up to the room. The room had a very musty smell.

    The location of the hotel was very good. It was easy to get to the water bus station and a lot of the main attractions. Breakfast was a good bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel ,perfect location would definately recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    The hotel and facilities were excellent , will be booking again in the near future, please let me know if there are any current offers inclusive of flights, would highly recommend this hotel excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Good stay, nice rooftop and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs although I wa helped with my luggage. Coffee wasn't that nice but didn't matter as it's only €2 a short walk away.

    Liked the location. Quiet street. Just five mins from St Mark's. The rooftop terrace was lovely. Staff friendly. Breakfast typical continental selection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.1
    conveniently located Hotel in central Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small shower stall in the bathroom.Not much views from the windows

    Its location is just 5 minutes walk from S Zachariah jetty ,St Marks cathedral and the Doge's Palace.Restaurants and bars are abundant around the property.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    4.6
    No lift in hotel and 64 steps to our room on top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift in hotel and 64 steps to our room on top floor. Mosquitoes in room at night made sleeping impossible. No bath or shower just a very small half bath.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint is that we would have loved coffee in our room! The coffee in the dining room was good but we are night owls ..... Coffee early morning and late at night would have been awesome!!!!!!!! Overall stay is recommended and the hotel being very close to St Marco square and St Zaggaria is definitely a bonus. Thanks it was great!

    Very friendly, English speaking and accommodating staff! Good and tasty breakfast. Close to transport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    We shall be back - it was super cool!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that our room was on the 4rd floor and there is no lift made it difficult with the suitcases!!!!!!!

    The excellent location, nice breakfast and friendly staff made our stay worth every cent!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    3.8
    Theo Pt goodparts of this hotel were a medium level...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Theo Pt goodparts of this hotel were a medium level breakfast with nice wait staff and a clean bathroom. The room smelled d felt dirty. The beds were uncomfortable and the room was dark small and hot. Only one electrical outlet. One of the guest staff was rude to us when we inquired about improving the temperature of the room. Don't go to this hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.8
    The quiet hidden hotel location suited us just fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit more variety in the "continental" breakfast was just croissants, bread rolls and few cereals. Tea & coffee and juices was fine. Bathroom was a little cramped.

    The quiet hidden hotel location suited us just fine. Decor was old and original.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    4.6
    Smelly and dirty but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got eaten alive by mosquitoes, previously squashed and bloody mosquitoes on wall.and it STUNK!

    Location was brilliant a couple of streets down from st marks square

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.3
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room and bathroom. Double bed is just two single beds pushed together and there is no extra matress cover so you feel that gap between beds.

    Great location, good breakfast with coffee. Room cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    3.8
    Box room not clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Covered in bites after a stay here, the cleanliness of the toilet brush was non existent and could be seen from afar! Had to sit down to shower in what was like a small tin bath! Hotel smelt as you entered although this was something you did get used too. Location was good but I would not stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    7.9
    The room was nicely warm, softer pillows were ready in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nicely warm, softer pillows were ready in the closet. The best thing was the hotel cat ;) Breakfast until 11am, great in a city like Venice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Great stay in Castellón de la Plana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a fantastic hotel, right in the center of Castellón de la Plana. The room was fantastic, clean and spacious. The receptionists were really polite, gave us a map and explained how to get around. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.6
    Very good value for money we had a lovely time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The double bed was two single mattresses pushed together.

    Perfect location and all staff were professional and helpful but particularly the breakfast waitresses who were cheery and a bright. Loved breakfast just right for a good start. Really good mixture of restaurants close by if you just want to fall in to bed afterwards.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Castello traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: