Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA 4 stars

Via San Marco 40, 95011 Calatabiano, Italy

#3 of 15 hotels in Calatabiano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 284 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress and pillows were really hard and uncomfortable.

    Beatiful place, very well maintained gardens and pool. Staff were attentive and friendly. Breakfast was ok, would have preferred more fresh juices considering the great variety of Sicilian fruit and vegetables. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners store room was next to our room (115) and staff arrived about 7am making a noise and talking and waking us sorting out their equipment. Could hear bottles being smashed in waste containers up to 11pm close by.

    Beautiful pool and gardens, bedroom suite spacious with outdoor sitting area. Secure parking on site. Pool area stunning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lady at the reception was slow and not friendly when we checked in, all other staff members were very kind.

    Beautiful complex, lots of grass, luscious trees all in bloom, lovely pool, nice room and fantastic food in the restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm finding it hard to be critical here, but if pushed I'd say 'dim the lights a little in the restaurant'.

    Very peaceful, just the sounds of birds. The staff were very professional, I must mention Cecilia, she really is an asset to this hotel, very attentive and a great knowledge of the history of Sicily. The food and wine at the restaurant is exquisite. I simple can't wait to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room and the breakfast area all looked rather old, like they have not been renovated in ~10 years - as a result it did not feel very clean in the bathroom, more like a public swimming pool shower (because tiles etc were so old) Breakfast quality was not the best, relatively cheap products (fruits / yogurts) and mediocre bread The bungalow rooms are not elevated, so all windows are on ground level and you cannot open you window blinds if you do not want other people to stare into your room and we had no windows to the back. The private hotel beach was not open yet, apparently only opens end of June - so careful if you travel off season. We had to pay €12/day to a beach next door for two beach chairs and an umbrella Slow wifi, not suitable for Netflix & Co and kept cutting out so we had to use our cell phone 4G On two days/nights (Sat & Sun) the hotel rented out a big tent and part of the outside area for events (2 weddings) so there were lots of wedding guests and it was loud until midnight

    Big and comfortable rooms Very nice big garden and resort area with a big swimming pool Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 120 was infested with mosquitos . The same problem was not experienced by our friends in other rooms. My husband has an acute allergy to insect bites and the staff response was poor. Although it was obvious that there were empty rooms, the staff refused to move us and were slow to deal with the issue. We got v little sleep during our three night stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach access was not open yet, which we understood because it was in the middle of May afterall. But it would have been nice if they added in their welcome email. The service could have been slightly better. When we arrived, the receptionist was not as helpful when we asked a few questions about getting to Taormina or Isola Bella. We didn’t know what Isola Bella was or how to get there (we only heard of it and didn’t know we can actually walk to the island). That one receptionist was irresponsive of tourist-y questions, so she came off a bit rude. But at the final day of our stay, the receptionist that was taking care of us was so lovely, she made it very comfortable of us.

    It was a beautiful place. The hotel was actually a historic mansion, which was really great. It felt like a resort because of its size. Most of the people were really nice there, which was comforting for us. The food was amazing at the restaurant. We got to taste great wine and local food! The room, was more than what we expected. It was very big for a normal room size and we loved the bathroom. It felt like an Italian home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A truly Stunning and amazing hotel, extremely clean and peaceful. The staff were incredibly friendly and overall one of the best experiences we have ever had, a special thank you to Flavia who have made our stay even more special. Room upgraded to deluxe suite with a bottle of champagne for my bf s b day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no A/C or radiator in the bathroom, so the temperature was a bit too cold in that room. I'd suggest to put radiators for the off-season. As said, the room could do with some furniture update. And, even though I could park every day, I had the impression that the car park was too small for the amount of villas and guests.

    If luxury and sophistication is your thing, and you are willing to pay the price, this is your accomodation in Eastern Sicily! This castle is not very far away from Taormina (around 15 minutes driving), so very convenient for day trips there, and it's also a perfect base to visit Etna (unmissable, by the way). The main building, the castle itself, it's gorgeous, with its two twin round towers and central staircase. But, obviously, the main building is for the family who owns the place; the guests are hosted in classic villas spreaded over the massive plot of land. The villa was huge in side for just a couple and it was decorated in a very classic although, perhaps, a bit outdated way. Even though all the furniture was top-notch quality, we thought that some renovation would help to bring a fresher look to the rooms. The main room was a bit dark but very spacious and spotless clean. The bathroom was my favourite room, as it had lovely floors and other beautiful details. There were two sunlounges and a wooden table in the porch, to enjoy the sunny days. The communal areas highlights were the tennis court and the large swimming pool. There is a beach just across the road, although the sea temperature was too cold in April for my taste; and it's not a sandy beach but a pebble beach. The buffet breakfast was absolutely amazing, as everything was very tasty and well presented. I liked the decoration of the breakfast room a lot, with mosaics, pupi, etc. The staff were very kind, and the dog that was with them all the time was very funny.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed a little off season so the private beach wasnt set up and not all the eating facilities were open. Make sure you check dates when in full functionality.

    Grounds were beautiful to walk around and the pool area was a lovely setting. Staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very wonderful place in historic amenities. Quite, very nice staff, close to the beach & nice pool area. Amazing restaurant to dine, wonderful creations of local food! Very nicely done. My husband still speaks about your steak.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing normal Italian spread very pot by international standards and for cost of Hotel. Really need to improve the only negative thing about the stay

    Beautiful location unique hotel. Family welcome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely hotel with amazing gardens that you can get lost in. Despite its size, it's split into several discrete seating areas in the grounds which give you plenty of scope for privacy, and gives the hotel a really special feel. We went in October when it was probably a little quieter than in summer, and a couple of the lunch and evening bars were shut, but there was still a good pool bar for lunch and a wine bar and restaurant open for the evening. The nearby beach is a mix of rock and sand and is huge, with a cheap pizza place for alternative dinners. Good base for travelling to Taormina (10-15 mins drive). A perfect relaxing visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Comfort of beds... hard mattress

    Very friendly staff, wonderful garden, excellent breakfast, great location for tours, not far from sea, view from pool area to Etna

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spa and the treatments were not good. What is more when we complained to the front desk they told the masseuse who then saw us and confronted us in a very unprofessional way. Also we had to leave at 5 am and were told the night before nobody could help with the luggage that we had to do it ourselves. Even thou breakfasts were included and open until 10 we got there one of the days at 9:15 and almost everything was gone. They replenished some of it.

    The dinners were fantastic as well as the staff. It is also a very beautiful place except it is very isolated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We checked in to the hotel with some sandy shoes. Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and the sands never went away/cleaned up... I think their housekeeping can do a bit better. The family suite is spacious enough but looks tired. It contains only a bedroom and a sitting area. They put an extra bed at the corner of the sitting area for our child, which makes up the number of beds but not ideal.

    Beautiful grounds and gardens. Lovely outdoor pool (not heated) and poolside bars. The surroundings are very charming indeed. Restaurant and wine bar are lovely. Staff are attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many tourists in T-shirt and with bad manners for this elegant place. Bad information from concierge regarding excursion to vulcano etna - so we could not climb the top. The wine card could be better as well as the restaurant staff better skilled.

    Wonderful garden and pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just amazing place! Very quiet and relax area, the bedrooms are big and clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very tasty, a lot to choose but the dinners were wonderful, jumiiiii. Definitely I will come back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property was glorious, the buildings beautifully restored and the pool a wonderful place to unwind. The lunch on the terrace was fantastic as was breakfast and dinners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little remote if you don't have a car. I also didn't like having to leave and go back to work. Italians are so cool and stylish AND good at football. Damn English players!!!

    Ground amazing and very well looked after. ALL staff very friendly. Great ambience. Amazing pool. Short walk to beach. Great choice of food at breakfast. Beautiful building. Suites very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool was FREEZING COLD, and although beautiful therefore basically unusable. The room backed onto what seemed to be some staff area so we could hear a lot of chatter, radio noise etc. The bathroom had no fan, a small window that provided little airflow, and therefore smelt terrible. The bed and pillows were hard and uncomfortable The air-conditioning was noisy and unattractive The breakfast was below average standard, a disappointment considering other meals are so good. Service at lunch was very poor.

    The hotel is attractive from the outside, at least the main building (though this could be improved upon, for example by hiding the hideous air-conditioning units from the outside) The evening dinner food is of a high standard with good waitressing, and generally staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel couldn't organise an excursion we wanted. They seemed to have little or no influence over the local tour company (4x4 jeep tour of Etna), even though they portrayed themselves as a top hotel in the Etna area.

    Excellent staff throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks like design is the only positive thing here, service is absolutely missing. 1) the lux room with the access to garden is nowhere near to the one shown on photoes - we ended up staying in dark room with 2 stores with beds for 4 people (why? As we were making the booking for 2!) with smallest windows I have ever seen, no fresh air apart from conditioner so that you can not breath at night and wake up with headache 2) food at the grill bar is awful, we have ordered Seabus which was supposed to be present as Catch of the day, without notification of a young waitress we were given some local food and in respect of the question 'where is the seabus' she said 'it is good, try it!', the fish appeared to be raw and we had to return it back, no excuses received 3) wine Bar has the poorest selection of wines so nobody is visiting it 4) you are not allowed to bring your food and beverages in the hotel, so you have to enjoy what you have 5) after 16-00 and before the dinner sandwiches is your only food option 6) staff at the reception is quote arrogant and is not providing any useful info about where to go around 7) during the breakfast we tried to ask for plain omelette without any sidings - it always came over cooked with tones of oil and with cheese which is fat, although we specifically asked NO CHEESE PLEASE!!! 8) in most of the cases your rest will be distracted by wedding ceremonies which happen there almost every day, not just during weekend and seems that it is much more profitable business for the owner so majority of attention is given to these customers

    The hotel is being run by a family which is also being constantly present in the hotel as well. The castle is really impressive as well as the territory around, good access to the beach outside hotel where sun beds are specifically reserved for the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive though

    Everything is Perfect. It's a beautiful retreat where you forget about time.... it's so amazing I can't describe it. Beach and sea are flawless. Swimming pool is great. Breakfast is delicious. Staff is super polite. Parking on site and is free. Everything is comfortable. I'm dying to go back there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a car or taxis if you wish to travel to towns in the area or to eat out somewhere other than the hotel restaurant. The food in the hotel was fantastic but if you wanted three or four courses each evening, it would be a little pricey. The hotel is quiet and possibly not suitable for children unless, again, you have a car.

    We liked absolutely everything. It is an amazing hotel in superb grounds. The pool, service, cleanliness, food were all first class.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If you expect that having paid €500 per night for the room Lux-Grand in this pathos hotel, you will get to the respectable place where you receive the most comfortable conditions and stuff will be respectful to you... you are strongly mistaken. Every second day... from 19:00 and till midnight under your windows will celebrate weddings for hundreds of guests... the leader will shout in the microphone, and cheerful guests will sing songs... at this time, by the way, access to a fine garden, and to the pool is prohibited to you... Wedding business is the first priority here... If you leave for the period of a lunch the things together with towels at the sunbeds with expectation to find them in the same place - be not under a delusion... Sergio, the pool-boy will come, will remove your things and your sun-beds will give to other guests as in hotel deficit of sun-beds and umbrellas... and will accuse you of a lie - "yours did not lie here"... If you decided to swim for a while in the pool till 10:00 or to remain after 18:00 - were lost in day-dreams... Sergio works exactly 8 hours. Minutes more administration will not allow to use the pool... If in a fit of temper you go to the beach, you will be asked to pay for 6.5 euros from the person... I will remind, it over €500 a day which you already paid... If you expect to taste various breakfasts... were lost in day-dreams. The menu is approved at Dionysius times and is not subject to changes... and not every day in July (!!!) will offer you ripe tomatoes or watermelons Well and eventually if nevertheless on the 7th circle of explanations for the serious signora on a reception that such quality of service does not correspond to the price, you achieve apologies and can be champagne... that will hardly want to drink it. We did not want - returned to that senhora... Compensation of inconveniences managed to be achieved only after communication with Booking.com - Thanks!

    Красивый замок

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Hello, I do not want to complain of anything. Everything meet up to our entire expectations. However, I have professionel experience in facilities for up to 1000 of daily guests for 45 years. If the owner of the hotel Castello di san Marco would like to have my opinion about things which might be of interest. Needless to say; I may see and experience things which, "normal" guests do not think of. Just let me know if there is any interest. I am my partner stayed at the hotel from June 20- June 30th. Regards, Hans

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only that it wasn't a sandy beach!

    The staff were extraordinary, from checking in to every other request we had. Alberto, Flavia, Cinzia all wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a private beach but they charge guests (€30) a daily rate. I would expect that this is complementary for hotel guests.

    Lovely setting, garden is well tended and restaraunt is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch menu by the pool, more variety needed.

    The grounds of the hotel are amazing. Staff are excellent and polite. Rooms are great. Breakfast and evening menus are fantastic. Pool area doesn't get any better. And it's so peaceful. Loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would need a bit of refurbushing. No nice views in restaurant or in the bar. Very noisy (guests party + anyone walking in the main alley would wake you up)

    Nice staff, individual bengalows nicely decorated. Nice bathroon

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was expensive and we felt not as tasty as it might have been, but maybe we chose poorly. But really kind staff.

    Flavia and Alberto on reception were wonderful. The pool is world class. Overall the gardens and ambiance is remarkable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bed and pillows really hard and also not a full sized mirror in the room !

    Very well kept and nice sized rooms. We loved the pool area and gardens

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing come to mind but maybe a bath !!! but now i know which rooms have one can book that !

    grounds, pool, gardens,rooms,food was brilliant, everything even the weather was nice i cannot fault it at all, staff helpfull and spoke english lovely stay will be back

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather(not the hotels fault but the time of year!)

    The grounds were stunning, the staff were exceptionally helpful and attentive, the location (to get to local towns and etna), the food/wine and the breakfast. One of the best hotels we stayed at all holiday and we were on our honeymoon. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a tad small for my wife and I. It was also more firm then I am normally used to. This is more a preference of mine than anything.

    We stayed in the 3 person suite and it was magnificent. The staff treated us like family and showered my daughter with attention. They were so patient with her as well as our attempts to speak Italian with them. The room was super comfortable and the staff was attentive without being overbearing or intrusive. The food some of the best food I have ever had. How this place doesn't have a Michelin rating I don't know.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Paying the extra for the beach beds seemed a little steep and the pool needed a bit more of clean but these were only small things! We absolutely loved the place and wish we would've stayed longer!

    The facilities were amazing, such a beautiful location, the staff were helpful and very friendly (even with our little spoken Italian), the appartment was clean and cool (which was needed in the 30 degree heat). The restaurant was some of the best food we ate all holiday and the choice of local wine was great.The option for having spa treatments was a lovely idea.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    One drawback; There were several wedding parties in the evening, and depending where your room is, you can hear the music that at time continued after midnight. Our kids had separate suits in the garden and couldn't hear much, but we were nearer to the castle and pool area and could hear the music or the wedding guests talking. During the weekends, depending on the wind direction, you could also hear music from some beach bars nearby.

    ;Fantastic property with beautiful gardens and a large, quiet pool. Next to a private beach. ( Need to cross a quiet road to get there, less than 100 meters) The rooms are not in the castle, but in buildings next to it. The atmosphere is sophisticated and a bit quirky with many interesting statues and other decorations that fit with the castle. The staff is absolutely top. Very kind, but in an authentic way. This was true for all; The restaurant and bar staff, but also the pool and beach staff as well as the gardeners, the maintenance people and last but not least, the reception staff. Outstanding hospitality and genuine Sicilian kindness. Restaurant was also very good. Great breakfast buffet. Rooms were nice. Nothing exorbitant, but luxurious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Given how stunning and large / sumptuous the rooms were the ONLY negative of pushed was to say that the beds were only average in terms of size and comfort.

    Attention to detail from staff was amazing, my fiancée is lactose intolerant and we had mentioned this at time of booking (forgot when we got there that i had) and then the first time we met the staff and they asked what room we were in they instantly knew and told us that they had dairy free milk and menus prepared. This was his an indicator of what was to follow - service was spot on, 4 acres of grounds made it feel very private but spacious and the pool area and rooms were beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't find anything...

    A beautiful venue, beautiful people, beautiful location surrounded by an amazing garden!Very good Wi-Fi connection, Reception staff especially very helpful. Taormina quite close by driving if you want to visit. Lots to do for someone who prefers an active schedule or perfect to just enjoy relaxing time or shopping, if you're into Italian quality leather items, gold, clothes, etc. We're definitely going back for a longer stay!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect!

    Everything! We had a lovely suite within the grounds, the pool area was never overcrowded, the food at the pool snack bar, evening fine dining restaurant & wine cellar nibbles were all fantastic! Staff friendly! Beach within walking distance. A couple of beach restaurants - all serving great food & very reasonable. Not much else within walking distance so would recommend hiring a car.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was a little firm so we put the extra duvet on it to soften it - should've asked the hotel, as the next day the maid had put a memory foam topper on instead. Nice touch. - There was a wedding celebration at that weekend and I could hear some music into the evening but it was live, good quality and added to the ambience. - I'm struggling to criticise anything.

    I had mentioned the trip was to celebrate a big anniversary & they surprised us with special decorations on our dinner table, as well as candles. The other tables didn't have this. The pool had plenty of sun beds & supply of pool towels. The pool was comfortably warm and clean. The pool bar club sandwich was excellent. The areas within the hotel were kept spotlessly clean. My wife had one of the massages that I'd booked as a surprise and enjoyed it. We used the separate exit from the gardens out to the beach once in our 4 day stay - the beach was busy at the weekend but the hotel has a separate piece. The pizza restaurant overlooking the sea was good. The hotel food was excellent. The separate entrance to the private car park at the rear of the hotel was slightly obscured from the road but once found, no issue with the key getting in & good to know the rental car was safely stored. I know the hotel was full and so we only managed to get a space under the covered (by solar panels...very good!) area for 2 nights as we drove out late one evening to explore. Our later flight back on Monday meant I asked about extending checkout - they accommodated this request. I'm already thinking I would like to go back next year & will start saving. Quality comes at a slight price premium but when your wife describes the hotel to a work colleague as "gorgeous" then pricing isn't that relevant !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You need a car to go around but the hotel provides free parking.

    Huge but boutique:) it really is. The room was comfortable, pool area is relaxing. Beach is around 100 steps from the rooms. The gardens in the hotel are beautiful and oh the sound of the birds. Will go again.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location is great. Also the garden is full of flowers and birds singing around. The access to the beach and its facilities are well organized. Breakfast superb.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    evening menu wasn't changed in 9 days so more variety would be good and possibly do outside bar b que's. Also paying for the beach that belonged to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an exceptional historical property maintained to a very high standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good restaurant at the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was amazing! the garden and the pool very beautiful. the food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Grounds and structure are amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very quiet and peaceful hotel. Comfortable own beach. Quiet swimming pool with bar. Rich American- Italy breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Children had to be quite in the swimming pool!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room

    Restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Z

    Great pool area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A dream of a Hotel and a facility like heaven.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff and facilities were magnificent. The room was wonderfully decorated and very comfortable. Wi-Fi was strong

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden,swimming pool,spa,restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got some insect bites due to lovely gardens-bring spray!

    Location was beautiful, quiet in November. Restaurant was lovely and food was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Leaving the hotel Sicilian driving but that's not the hotels fault!!

    We had an early flight and they arranged an early breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Too many weddings, to loud music.

    Wonderful place, very beautiful parc, outstanding service people.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff so friendly!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, rustic.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, lovely private beach, swimming pool was FAB

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing place, smiling staff, quiet holidays, cooking more delicious, very friendly place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really beautiful property. The staff is extremely friendly. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fantastic hotel set in an idyllic setting with a beautiful room first class food!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were claustrophobic

    Polol and beautiful grounds

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds & pillows were really hard

    Staff were very warm friendly, helpful and very accommodating. Lovely hotel and setting. Cot for the Baby was perfect. Our suite was spacious. We had a fridge in our room which was great.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need a hire car if you like to explore outside the property, it's in a very quiet area.

    Beautiful property, great rooms, extremely friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant very expensive with no alternative without driving

    Lovely setting. Beautiful grounds. Facilities and staff excellent. Lovely view of Mr Etba. Pool very clean an in an idyllic setting

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds and pillows a little hard

    The gardens were beautiful and the place was very peaceful. It felt like we had the place to ourselves but there were people around. Breakfast was superb, staff couldn't do enough to help.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I wish that the bar didn't close early. But there is a restaurant/bar right outside of the property where you can have a late drink.

    The staff was very accommodating. They treated us very well from the time we arrived. The facilities were very nice and clean. The location is amazing & everything you need is located on site.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food could be more tasty and prepared with a passion , so we went out every dinner even we were tired , just wanted to enjoy every moment

    Nice Location, pleasant people, good management, atmosphere, design , perfect everything except food, next time I would also stay here

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - shower water temperature and pressure a bit unstable - slightly funny smell of the old carpets in our room - sound insulation, we could hear our loud Italian neighbors - Flavia could have been more accommodating with our check-out requests after one week stay

    - unique property that is very well taken care of - very good wifi connectivity across the property - excellent and clean pool area - private beach - friendly staff - very good breakfast with local and home-made stuff

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived by car and were collected and shown around the grounds on a golf buggy! The staff could not do enough for us and we were made to feel very special.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Surrounding area Rooms are not in the main building, but are in effect chalets, but good chalets. Weddings held regularly, with little disruption but added an element of discomfort

    Garden, swimming pool

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: