Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Castello di Selvole

Località Selvole - Frazione Vagliagli, Pievasciata, 53019 Vagliagli, Italy

#7 of 11 hotels in Vagliagli

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 87 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 16

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not enough kettle.

    beautiful place ! the views are stunning. as pictures. beautiful pool, we really wanted to swim and it was all great !!! there you can live even in the courtyard in the air. and this will also be fine. Of course the rooms are not a five-star hotel. It's an old building and it's your chance to get close to the right life in nature. and it's fine. all the amenities in the bathroom and the cleanliness of the linen at the proper level. There was not enough kettle. definitely recommend. I would dream to live there for a month!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn’t very welcoming and was very hard to reach when needed. One night, we came back to no power and we couldn’t get a hold of anyone to fix it. Also, the restaurant wasn’t open during the duration of our visit (3 nights), yet they opened it for the people right after us. When checking out, they didn’t even ask how our stay was, nor did they compensate for the lost power. My recommendation would be to stay at the vineyard down the road. I say this with dismay, as the property itself is gorgeous. Customer service would change this place dramatically!

    Location was perfect, and though the accommodations were modest, they fit the basic needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much was up and running because we came the beginning of the season. Restaurant wasn't open and pool wasn't clean but they did offer to make us some food especially

    Beautiful location and scenery and very vintage comfortable rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scenery here is stunning and we loved the peaceful and quiet surroundings. The staff were friendly and welcoming and our host Salvatore was excellent. Breakfast was wonderful and always ready when the agreed upon time arrived. We loved our time here!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light above the sink would be helpful.

    Rustic,gracious,wonderful hidden gem in the middle of Tuscany! Good wine and excellent meals. Best value can find.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place to spend holidays: fantastic view of the vineyards and hills, big and clean swimming pool, lots of space for kids, delicious wine and nice and helpful host Salvadore. Apartments are clean, simply equipped (but there is everything you need), in the real Tuscan style. Easy to reach the beautiful medieval towns of Tuscany.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a kitchen so you could cook, there is not much material as we are used at home. But we managed to cook several times :)

    Staff was very friendly!! Always available, giving information when needed. The pool is clean, they put a lot of work in it. Breakfast en dinner are delicous! We got a free processo en limoncello at dinner. When we left, he gave us a bottle of wine. Location is good. Rooms are clean en big enough. It was nice to have a terrace. They also brought us a candle light when they saw we sat outside at the evenings. The view is amazing. As Well as in the garden as at the pool. We had a very good holiday over there and would go there again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is NOT quaint. It is totally run-down, from the terrible pot-filled dirt road that we had to travel down, to the horrible beds( all of the furniture was pathetic and totally uncomfortable, to the only source of heat being a scary stove that we had to add pellets to all during the night. We are not picky demanding people, so when I say this was bad, believe me, it was terrible. On the third day, the water well broke and was off until the middle of the night. We had no water! We all know what the consequences of having no water entails The only reason we stayed was because we had no reservations for anywhere else, and Salvatore tried so hard to make things better. The place simply needs a total overhaul and then it can be better. I've stayed in simple, quaint places and that's what I expected. But, this was like nothing I've ever experienced. We never felt safe for many reasons.. the electrical outlets and lines were completely not within code. The heater we had to feed pellets, gave out an odd odor and the flames were so erratic, that we worried it was going to explode. There was about an 8" opening between the boards in the ceiling above our uncomfortable bed, that we worried a rat or squirrel would crawl through. Also, since it's so old and in such ill repair, that we honestly worried that the large beam would fall on us during the night. On the day we checked in, another couple was on the same shock as we were. I think they stayed one night of the four they booked. We should have stayed no nights. I'm contacting my credit card, about getting a full refund.

    The only thing my husband and I liked was the property manager, Salvatore.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very hard to find don't try it at night! The restaurant is not open off season, make sure you know that and bring food! It is 20-25 minutes to a good size market. The road is rough and dirt getting to the apartment.

    The people treat you like family. The location is so beautiful one of the best places we have ever seen. The facility is a bit primitive like camping There are no couches or chairs just a dining table. The rooms are very clean and the beds are nice! We would return! It is driving distance to some great historic sites! It is original Tuscan buildings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A rustic, traditional Italian Farmhouse. A super warm welcome. Very peaceful. Lots of farm tracks and paths to wander around with the dogs. The kitchenette was well equipped for simple meals.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good restautant la Botte. Accomodation clean, quiet surroundings, beautiful swimming pool, little bar by pool. Very nice people

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Frantastic views, lovely pool, paradise Salvatore and Laura are great hosts. Laura is a great cook as well!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean apartments, friendly and helpful staff, amazing surroundings, perfect location to visit Chianti area, VERY good food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice calm location surrounded by wineyards.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great view, even from the water pool. The pool is very comfortable, big enough, and has two depths. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool bar was closed.

    Great location. Beautiful pool with great view. Good beds. Super nice hosts.

    Stayed in July 2016

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 16