Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Catalani e Madrid 2 stars

Via Alfredo Catalani 71, Città Studi, 20131 Milan, Italy

#399 of 424 hotels in Milan

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1078 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fan... which didn't work properly... was 30 degrees in Milan and it was just a fan... Shower... not working properly either... you could just wash your hair with it... forget about the feet...

    To be honest nothing....

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    The shower was broken, it was really hard to take a shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower was broken, it was really hard to take a shower. In our room we had earwigs, it was on my pillow. The table was one step from breaking, chair as well. One of receptionist was really rude to us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice place, good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not big expectations, but in the beginning of August without air conditioning is a big mistake even if the price is low. The room was with bed smell of smoking.

    Nice place, good price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot inside, it was only a little fan in the room and we had problems with mosquitoes because the window didn’t had any protection against mosquitoes.

    Metro is 5-10 min away, in 20 m you can be at duomo square and in 10 min at the main train station. I expected an Italian breakfast with only coffee and some croissants but it was a lot of food, I really liked it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The subway station is a little bit far. They don’t accept credit card.

    The hotel is very nice and clean, the staff is friendly, they helped me with all the information I needed. Althougt it is not a very modern property, it was a pleasant experience. Clean towels everyday, confortable bed, tv, fan on the ceiling, a park nearby, traditional restaurants around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Good deal for a budget accommodation. So do not expect some luxuary, and not a even a fresh breakfas
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. I could have spent extra coins for having better breakfast outside.

    The staff was pretty professional and kind. Also must note that the room is well maintained. Good for a budget stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Good Hotel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the receptionist was quite rude. When we said that we had a reservation he automatically said no because there were apparently too many of us. We explained that we were split into 3 bedrooms, he double check and confirmed that we were right. There are no lifts so just bear that in mind. We had cabin luggage so we were fine carrying our stuff. The metro is quite far away.

    The room itself is good and comfortable. They are clean as well. The fan in the room starts out quite hot and feels as though it’s not even working but it just takes its time but it does get cold after a while. The hotel is good. It’s close to many food places such as pizza place, kebab, dominos and supermarkets. So you will never ran out of food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall it was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    N/A

    I didn't have a breakfast in my reservation and I didn't use the parking so I can't comment on those. What I can say is that the staff were really helpful and professional and very friendly to boot. The hotel itself is in Citta Studi, meaning that it's very easy to get from there to the station and the city center. The neighbourhood itself has great (and affordable!) bars and restaurants. Overall, it's a place I can recommend and come back to!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.6
    Poor maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures from hotel are deceiving, no AC as advertised and front desk admitted for that to be a lie, shower extremely uncomfortable and clogged. Broken window frames-patched with tape.

    Location is great, just a few steps from bus stop and walking distance from Metro. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Near the metro, very nice neighborhood people there was very...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We changed room because the first one was dirty. The shower - shampoo wasn't enough. Finally, the shower was uncomfortable.

    Near the metro, very nice neighborhood people there was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean rooms, friendly staff, quiet neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Low wi-fi in rooms from second floor. Breakfast should contain more nutritional food: eggs, ham, cheese, vegetables etc.

    Clean rooms, friendly staff, quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.4
    3 nights-no sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and especially the bathroom wasnt clean enough for me, but OK. But the worst thing was loud. There were really thin walls so we cant sleep at night. There were a lot of noise there. It was really annoying. We definitelly wont come back.

    The location was good. Near to the metro station and the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    All front desk staff was speaking English so there were no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a problem with the noises - if someone is speaking/watching TV loudly in the night it is hard to fall asleep. Same thing when it's morning and some movement inside the hotel is starting.

    All front desk staff was speaking English so there were no problems with communication (even with the check-in at 6a.m.). Breakfasts were quite good, hot tea/coffe, toasts, jams, cereals, croissants etc (it isn't very complex but it's enough to start a day well). Eating place is a bit tight though so it's better to come earlier. Our room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Good location - approx 10 minutes walk to the metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was a little bit hit and miss Very thin walls - could hear other guests in rooms, walking up/down corridors and stairs

    Good location - approx 10 minutes walk to the metro station Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    4.2
    Not bad for ONE NIGHT STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was temperamental, the room smelled like cigarettes even though it was a non smokers room, the bathroom was not properly clean, the room was cold even with the heater on and the wifi connection didn't work well. They only let us leave our baggage until 3pm the day we made the check out and they would charge us more if we left it longer.

    Save place, reception is open 24/7.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    2.5
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant receptionists, rude unpolite owner, 97% of breakfast was sweet pastry. It was forbiden for our friends to visit us in our room. Also hotel counted higher city taxes then we were supposed to pay. Was keeping us to wait till 2pm to get the room

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.3
    Old hotel but warm and clean, and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is an unreliable lift but still you have to go up stairs to rooms. The staff helped me with my large case. As the road is quiet I was a little worried walking from Loretto at night but it seemed very safe.

    Considering the area the hotel was cheap so I was a little apprehensive but although old and shabby it was clean, comfortable and WARM (often not the case in Milan). The bed was very comfortable, there was a balcony and the breakfast was a little above standard. I liked having the coffee/tea maker as it meant you could refill as much as you want. The bathroom was old but very clean and everything worked well. It was in a quiet zone and I found the rooms quiet, I slept very well there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    A good place to stay for a night - great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed when requested double (noting that this was just a preference)

    Check-in straightforward, easy to find - convenient location for centrale station. Room clean. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.3
    Location and price were reasonable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was cigarette smoke during whole stay despite the fact that it was no-smoking hotel and also the others guests were very loudly.

    Location and price were reasonable. About 45 min walk to the city center the metro stop is 7 min. There is also carrefour and a few restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    The hotel was very clean with daily cleaning, the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was very clean with daily cleaning, the room was nice. I liked breakfasts, also coffee was really good. Location is about 7-10 mins from Loreto metro station. I stayed there for 5 nights in January and everything was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Great breakfast and comfortable bed! Very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great breakfast!!! Bed was so comfortable that I could sleep all day on it. Location is very good beacuse you are near 2 metro stations. Stuff was very helpful and kind. It was very clean, they changed towels every day. Bathroom is very large with shower cabin. If we come again to Milan we would definitly choose this accommodation. :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    4.6
    First time, but certainly the last time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - very unfriendly staff - terrible wi-fi - unpleasant odor in the room - asked for late check-out, as genius customer, they refused our request saying that if we stay later than 12:00 we have to pay an extra night

    - breakfast ok - beds ok - quiet neighborhood

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.3
    One night at this hotel
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are not renewed, they were dirty plus the shower was not cleaned enough. Shower quality 3.5/10

    Breakfast, english speakers at reception, low prices

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.3
    Hot water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls need repainting It could have been warmer Limited options regarding breackfast Not being able to pay with my credit card at the reception. Cash only

    Hot water Clean sheets Confortable matress

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect hotel near to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests in hotel were young people, they were very noisy!!! Every night!!! Hotel is not inappropriate for child and for people who want to relax and sleep in the night!

    The room was clean, warm, cozy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    A night stay in Milano
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved, some fruit and options like ham or better juice offer.

    The Night Auditor was a very helpfull man, the facilities is what you expect from a hotel of this categorie, not great but still very ok for the price that you pay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Fantastic location with basic comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed we had was broken and the shower was in fairly poor condition.

    The location was perfect. Close to public transport and close to the main Milan station that was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.0
    Average Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is small and the water pressure of the shower head is really BAD. Need calcium cleaning. No hot breakfast. It's in the area full of graffiti.

    The bathroom is big. The bed is a bit comfortable. Big size room. Has elevator and breakfast is included.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    PPleasant enough stay,value for money. For a single room it worked out around 35 euros per night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some of the decor a little tired. Had to pay an extra 3 euros per night for the rooms safe.

    The room was satisfactory for a budget hotel.Location reasonably quiet and within 10 or so minutes from the nearest metro. Around a 30 min walk from the central station.Good choice of cafes and reasonable priced restaurants around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Good place for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There weren't enough sockets inside the room, rooms are a bit small, but it's fine for 2 stars. The breakfast is poor, but ok if you want just a quick snack (a croissant and a coffee/juice).

    It is a regular 2 star hotel, a bit old, but the cleanliness was great. A fair deal for the money, not far from 2 metro stations. Good place to stay a few days in Milano. It has a big bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    It's ok if you just want to sleep.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charged me 10 euros to get the WiFi password - I just paid because I really needed it. The rooms are old, but at least they were clean.

    The rooms were clean, the receptionist was friendly. The breakfast was ok (at least it had it).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.2
    The hotel is really cheap thats it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is in a quite troubled neighbourhood. It's not for everyone who wants to enjoy their stay. The walls are really thin and you can hear every other guest. The bathroom was'nt really clean and the bedsheets were a bit dirty. I would only recommend this hotel if you have absolutely no money and even then I would advise you to look somewhere else.

    We got fresh towels every day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    croissant, coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking place requested in time of booking (and thought free and/or included in the hotel price) finally charged by 18 EUR, also Internet connection charged 3 EUR/per day/per device. I was misled and let without possibility to cancel booking free of charge.

    croissant, coffee

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    If you plan not to be there much it's good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan did work when they said they had AC. Had to buy own fan. Said wifi was free then charged €3 per device a day. Shower was temperamental. Have to give in key at reception which makes you feel nervous about leaving stuff in the room

    Good location to Milano Centrale and the metro stations. We travelled out across Italy everyday due to this fact. £263 plus €42 city tax for two people and 7 nights

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was a bit rude and unfriendly. Fan speed was too slow, and therefore a bit warm in the room. The room lights were installed just above the fan on the ceiling, so there was a constant flickering of the lights because of the fan motion. Annoyed us, and gave headache. Location is 10 minutes walk from either of the metro stations.

    Breakfast was good. Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.0
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because of lack of basic facilities and also the staff was very rude.

    There was lack of basic facilities like internet (if available but very very weak) and also no fridge in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    4.2
    Very poor hotel, would definitely not recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is lots of mosquitos in the hotel and room, we had lots of mosquito bites, no net on the window the ceiling fan is very old and not working properly it goes off when the light is switched off. I couldn't sleep at all as i had to stay awake killing mosquito so that my children don't get bitten but they still end up with bites, room is unclean, half smoked cigarettes left in the balcony. Breakfast is rubbish very unhealthy. Couldn't wait to check out.

    There is nothing to like about the hotel, would definitely not go back there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    2.9
    Avoid this hotel like the plague. Added extras don't make it cheap as it seems. Horrible dirty hole!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff Dirty, old rooms with small bathrooms No lift to top floors No air conditioning Breakfast was inadequate, no hot food and no English tea. 3 single beds instead of double bed that was booked. £15 euros per day parking Mould in rooms, smashed mirror in rooms Lots of contractors/ workers staying.

    Location was ok.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    2.5
    The worst hotel ever. a toilet is cleaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was very dirty, they looks as a toilet on a gas station. there was blod on the wall. All the walls was with craks. the shower was with mold. the matress of the bad was with urins and blod. the stuff was unfriendly. i have visited 5 room's,to choose the better one, and the one on the pictures was the better one of them,you can imagine the other room. the parking was just a place in a old court between two buildings. the breakfast was served on a old terrace and there was only caffe and some cookies purchased from the supermarket.better stay under a bridge . i have reserved for one week. when arrived, i have cancelled the reservation but they told me that they will not give the money back.better loose the money than staying there. I advise everyone to not book this hotel.i will try to upload pictures because the one in internet are 20 years old.

    nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    bussiness trip in milano
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast - in Italian style.....a lot of sweet, veeery sweet croassants, a lot of jams, and sweets....but ok, breakfast were included in the accomodation....but do not expect any ham and cheese or vegetables...Also internet was paid and very bad, slow. For 3eur/day you have access only for 1 equipment. For another you have to pay another 3e/day. Payment by credit/debit card is not possible...only cash.

    nice place, rooms were cleaned everyday, the towells were also changed everyday, few minutes from Metro stop, 1 minutes from bus stop...very comfortable beds. Room was nice, big - spaceous, clean with ventilation. Also bathroom was big with bidet. Easy to reach.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    5.4
    Nice but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is fine, but if you arrive night is a little scary to go by foot to the location from the rail station, I DONT LIKE THE POLICY TO LEAVE THE KEY when you go to enjoy outside. WIFI is too expensive and should be free !

    I like the breakfast, was really good and a lot of things to choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    5.0
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dissapointed with the difference between the services we thought we will get and what we actually got when we arrived there . The description makes you think that you have more services included , we had to pay many extra fees at the arrival and we had to wait in the lobby while we sorted things out , even though I called a day earlier to ask about what else was there left to pay at the arrival especially in order to evoid that situation , and I was told that all I have to pay was the other 50% of the total amount (the first 50% was already payed for sience we've booked ) ..that was not true

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.0
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very unnice. We arrived latem as I had warm in an email, and the man who check us in was very rude. Firstlt, he sad we didn't have reservations, which was pretty scarry at 23pm. Then, when I insisted, he was very rude chechink us in.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.5
    Quite okay hotel for affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was quite noisy. Also the wifi was not free and it was very slow in the room.

    The location of the hotel was good, a short walk away from metro station. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.8
    good breakfast, room with tv
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not very far for the center by transport but 10 minutes walk till the metro station. Check-in at 2 o' clock so if you arrive earlier it is not so easy to go and return to the center of town. Paid wi-fi (unusual for hotels). Not always politeness at the reception

    good breakfast, room with tv

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    3.8
    Staffs were impolite, and unhelpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Staffs were impolite, and unhelpful. Rooms were so cold without the ability to turning on the heating inside the rooms. internet connection was awful!!! In general, never going back to this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    5.8
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Far from metro. Cold at night. Poor breakfast. No quilt cover, only a sheet under the blanket.

    Arrived at night and had no problem to check in. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Cheap.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    8.8
    Good one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit small bathrooms :)

    Good location and friendly staff!!!! :) for a 2 star hotel - perfect! nearest metro station - Piola - is in 10-15 min walk and only couple stops to Milano Centrale :) by the way, towels are changed every single day, super lovely suprise for a 2 star hotel :))) if the purpose of your journey is sightseeing and travelling... and hotel for you is a place to sleep comfortable and pay less, deffinetely suggest this one in Milano! :) Ciao!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    5.8
    pls update the room details on Booking
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cold at night (for an Asian). I have to put ALL my clothes on the quilt to keep warm. Also, according to the website, they do not offer the towels or the basic showering stuff, but actually they do offer these. I hope the info could be updated so that no one in the future will have to carry all the heavy stuff like I did. The distance to the nearest subway is 9 minutes' walk.

    The staff is willing to help. Breakfast is offered until 10 in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    2.5
    This is very pathetic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is very pathetic hotel. Management is very bad. They don't care for guest only care how to grand money from clients. About facility. Heater r not working rooms r very cold if u complaint dey ll say not it's warm. U can not have bath as there is not hot water. Their boiler is even out of order on new year night. Wifi connection is also bad. Bed room is not carpeted. Washroom or bathroom is toooo contested. Only one thing about this hotel BAd BaD baD. Any one stat here will get sick from cold. Booking.com will lose its credibility for promoting this property.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    5.8
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff's English is quite rough. One day cleaning lady cleaned the room and them left the door open for the rest of the day. The good thing was that nothing has been stolen... Overall - budget hotel, with some drawbacks.

    Very good coffee, good location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    3.3
    Fotos and reality didn´t fit, better to pay a little bit more..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was full of mould, the fan too load to speak with each other, soap exists only the first two days. The mattress was ok, but the blankets partly dirty (though under a clean cover) and very thin; the bedspread had a hole. The breakfast was full of plastic-food, but non seperated sousage etc. (for everyone!), the coffey tasted weird...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    4.2
    Cheap...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi does not work well and you have to pay for it, which is totally incomprehensible today. You have to pay for everything, even for leaving the luggage in the hotel the day of checking out. The breakfast is all made with bad quality bakery and pastries. On 19th of December we had a shower with COLD WATER because the hotel didn't have hot water... That was absolutely horrible! The sheets were clean but the blankets were full of hair from other guests.

    The bed was comfortable. For 18€ per night, the hotel is ok.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    6.3
    Mmmmmmokay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not equipped . . . The breakfast was very poor also . . . Wifi is not free and not sharable. They keep your luggage after the checkout, but charge you for it ! I'm sure they will change this policy soon.

    The bathroom was huge ! It's not in the city center but not too far from public transportation.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    6.3
    It was okay but not during winter!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was freezing cold, the shower was cold until we complained so they fixed it. The breakfast was not very nice...

    When there was an issue, the staff were quick to help. Clean with new towels every day. + TV in room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    6.7
    Budget accommodation with at least some breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast till 10 a.m, but croissants end at 9 a.m., no meat and no vegetables at all. Someone else`s bag with eggs in the closet. Wi-fi cost is 5 euro per day.

    Delicious croissants for the breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    4.2
    Never Again for me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The Staff acted unprofessional regarding an issue which was they fault. They acted rude and disrespectful. They didn't search for an option which help the customer instead they are shouting at you. - The wall was very thin, so you was able to hear the people on the other room and also if they doing some love moment. Our Child need to put the earpods on and listen to music at that moment. - The breakfast has't much variety

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    3.8
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well, our room was dirty, smelled bad, the bedspread was stained (I don't even want to imagine what that was), there were a LOT of hair in the bathroom (on the floor, in the shower, on the walls!!), it was disgusting! The shower was mouldy and a nightmare to use. Walls are paperthin, and you can hear other people watching TV and talking through the ventilating system like they're in the room with you! Oh , and you get an old, dirty, holey blanket to sleep with, no bed linen whatsoever. I didn't feel comfortable at all. There were no meat, fruits or vegetables for breakfast. And 5 euros for internet per day PER DEVICE? What year is it? Definitely not staying here again.

    Not much...Location was okay, breakfast wasn't entirely horrible, coffee was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast was fine, nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Both of us have some kind of allergy in the room, either there was an animal before (as I have allergy on animal skin) or some special cleaner was used or anything else, so we felt quite uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was fine, nice place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    5.0
    No comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt like the location. It was 12 minutes from the nearist metro station. You should walk a lot to reach the property. The room is very very simple and the bathroom aspirator makes a terrible noise that you cant stand it. No bars and shops near the property, just one restaurant. If again in Milano, wouldnt take the same hotel as per the same amount of money would have a better location in another property.

    Breakfast was good and enough but no salted food.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    6.3
    Location is good with a couple of bus stations and a metro...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi is too expensive, walls are paperthin and you can hear people talking or flushing the toilet all night. Room was reeking of cigarettes and bathroom was full of cigarette ashes, specifically over the toilet paper.

    Location is good with a couple of bus stations and a metro station nearby. The room was ample enough and they have an ok vending machine at reception. The TV was nice. It's a good place to stay for one night

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed is uncomfortable. You have to pay for wirelles 5 euro one day per one person,not per room and it doesn't work well.

    It is ok for a few days and the price is reasonable. I liked the breakfast. I liked that the hotel is placed near a metro station and at 15 min on walk from central station. The bathroom is very big.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    4.2
    The hotel was nearby a busstation which stopped by a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was old en dusty (dated). At 9 o'clock there wasn't much left for breakfast. Luggagedeposit after 15 o'clock paid.

    The hotel was nearby a busstation which stopped by a metrostation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    2.5
    Don't go to that hotel if you want to have a nice holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The receptionist of the night is rude and doesn't know anything about customer service. He just give you the key and said the floor of your room but he don't go with you and if you have any problem or complain he invited to go to another hotel.

    Nothing! it was the most dirty place I have been. The pictures there're a lie, the breakfast was disgusting, the rooms smelled very bad and the furniture was old and poor cleaned.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.0
    Good for 1night sleep if u arrive late like I did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel...

    Good for 1night sleep if u arrive late like I did...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    2 star hotel, that’s what you get! Wouldn’t stay there again as no privacy in room as walls paper
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls paper thin ... could hear every word in room next door and you would think snorer was in our bed!

    Location, comfy bed and clean room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location, quiet place and overall nice accomodations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, quiet place and overall nice accomodations. Definite value for the price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Clean room located close to the center of Milan.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner!!!

    Clean room located close to the center of Milan. The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to early flight breakfast was served before 6 am while they normally start at 7. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast very small too many people for such small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very small too many people for such small breakfast, hunt for ham .. other things okey.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Everything was fine. This is good offer for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, 5 min walking from metro. Nice and clean room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Our expectations were not satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should ask for a room close to the reception otherwise you will have a really poor wifi. Shower was not clean enough.

    Staff was so helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.5
    Perfect personal and good location near the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thin walls.

    Perfect personal and good location near the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.2
    - the breakfast was announced to be buffet one, but turned...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the breakfast was announced to be buffet one, but turned out the continental one - cleaning staff is VERY noisy; - smell in the room was awful

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Catalani e Madrid traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: