Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Catania City Center Apartments

Via Naumachia 103, 95121 Catania, Italy

#261 of 503 Holiday rentals in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 189 apartment reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    7.1
    Ok for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Further from bus or train station than I had first thought. Quite a long walk with luggage to office and then apartment. Showers could do with a makeover.

    Large apartment. Value for money. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.0
    Nice for low budget travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The guests that stayed in the appartement before must have been very heavy smokers since the whole room smelled like an ashtree. Disgusting!

    It was very unexpensive and since we stayed only for one night it was very ok. The appartement was spacious, the beds were fine, the balcony was very nice with a nice view. The area is a little run down, but very close to the center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    The place is located on a small and quiet street that is 10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is located on a small and quiet street that is 10 minutes from the Duomo and about 7 minutes from Castello Ursino. Very spacious room with feather-fill duvet covers and I really liked the interior. The communication with staff was easy and they are very helpful. We even used their services (Etna Experience) to organise a guided tour to Etna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    I would be somewhat wary in recommending apartment to family or friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv set worked only occasionally. Some info how to operate cooker should be available. Host did not sound happy when i called to ask - granted, it was ca 1030 at night , but we had just arrived and needed to have tea. A neighbour actually came to ask for assistance because they had the same difficulty.

    The excellent location. Flat very clean. Apartment too confined and definitely not big enough for 4 persons ( 4 beds in room). The only wardrobe available hardly enough for 2 pax. The kitchenette is miniscule.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    2.5
    Unpleasant surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is really sketchy. Had to walk miles from bus stop to find it and then back to the office to meet very unhelpful and unfriendly people. First time I’ve ever been this surprised booking through this site.

    Nothing to like about this place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    2.5
    Don't bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from location to cleanliness and value. I would not recommend

    Not much. Access to keys was easy with key safe and clear instructions. Good for a late arrival

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    It was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom windows could not be locked. Also, i have been robbed 400 euro from my luggage in the room ( although there was no sign of breaking in, and i found the door locked)

    It was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    We spent just one night in Catania City Apartments and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent just one night in Catania City Apartments and didn't meet owners in person but the stay met our expactations. The process of paying, check-in and getting our keys was made easy and comfortable for us (everything done through e-mail, we got our keys following easy instructions etc.) as we came very late in the evening and left in the early morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    I wish i had stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not much to dislike. This apartment would not be good for someone who has a problem with stairs.

    The interior design was fabulous. The company that manages the property is very professional and the staff are helpful and lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    5.0
    Smelly, weird, scary place...... but owners are nice and helpful ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area is awful, we were almost running while coming back to the apartment every single time. The area is dirty, very, verrrrrrry old buildings which look scary. We even heard that criminals live there :( The room that we got... well, I don't even know what to say, because I've never seen anything like that. We all were surprised. The room is very dark - it's not only about one bulb that is in the light, but the room has no windows, only a small balcony. It must be a very old building, because the smell is so awful that we could barely breath. We were afraid to turn on the air-conditioning because it smelt bad (we know what a clean and good air-conditioning should smell like, because we have one at home and we travel a lot and surely it cannot smell like mold or dust because it is toxic) - so we didn't use it because we were afraid. We also couldn't open the balcony at night to get some fresh air because it was very loud all the time - some men were shouting, singing, we didn't feel safe at all. And the room - again - well, I have no idea who would like this "Style" - we had some room with knights on strings.... - I don't know how to comment on that, they were scary ;( Other walls were "decorated" with some photos, one with men carrying a coffin. The name of the room was "folklor" but even if it is some theme - it should be nice and clean and maybe minimal, not stuffed absolutely everywhere, that you cannot rest or relax, because something is watching you all the time (like the knights on the strings on the wall......) No comment again. The "kitchen" was supplied, that is true, but we couldn't open the window because the "view" was on pigeons' "house" I guess - full of pigeons' faeces - what is extremely toxic for people so we were really afraid to cook anything there, and you can imagine - eating there made us feel sick. The smell of the room was awful.

    The e-mail contact via booking.com was great the whole time - before we even came to Catania they were helpful, speaking good English, giving information with details. Whenever something was wrong - they were reacting. another plus - flat tv. one more - fully supplied "kitchen". The location is good - 10 minutes walk from Piazza Duomo, so it's like almost in the center. But.....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    Plumbing issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet had very little water pressure. Had to flush 2 or 3 times before everything flushed completely ( while waiting for tank to fill each time) Shower drain clogged so we were ankle deep in shower scum while showering Filthy sidewalks on our street including dog poop directly beside front door for first 24 hours :( No lift. We had heavy bags to schlep up 3 flights of stairs

    Spacious and clean apt. Kitchen facilities Receptionists welcoming Booked Etna tour through office Ease of entry on arrival

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Do not hesitate to book it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pity there is no breakfast option available.

    Well equipped (fridge, plates, cultery, wine opener, scissors), comfortable room with bathroom and small kitchen. Good localization - 10 minutes from the main square by foot, small balcony, very helpfull and pleasant personel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.8
    Bad location, good place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thing that puts me off for another time are the surroundings of the B & B. The location is terrible, though we never had any problems. Hated to see clothes hanging in the street opposite to where we were.

    Cleanliness was great here. Room was very comfortable. The best thing about the place are the girls Graziana and Angela. They go out of their way to help you in every thing you might need to know. Well done !

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Great value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for the money. Nice decour

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Location and how cosy, colourful and interestingly decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and how cosy, colourful and interestingly decorated the apartment was.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    All you need to explore catania
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    stylish room, small kitchen ready to prepare pasta big room with table and chairs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location and big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and big room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.6
    Extremely friendly staff, in Sicily we forgot the camera in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely friendly staff, in Sicily we forgot the camera in our rented car and the staff from b%b Catania city center send it to us by post. We are realy grateful to them. Peter and Suzana, Slovenija

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    10
    We loved the way we were looked after - the Cappuccinos, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved everything!!!

    We loved the way we were looked after - the Cappuccinos, the yummy breakfasts - everything!!! Walking to the Town Square, looking at all the little shops - can't wait to go back

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    8.8
    The amability of the staff, the breakfast area in the annex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The amability of the staff, the breakfast area in the annex. The BB is close to the city center. The staff very responsive to suggest good restaurants and spoke good english. I will come back and will recomand this property

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    8.3
    The place was lovely, clean and central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was somewhat uncomfortable. The area looks a bit shady at night.

    The place was lovely, clean and central. The staff extremely helpful and always there.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    6.7
    good location, nice standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    there was no bread at 9:30 despite the fact breakfast is between 9:00-10:30, non-functional bathroom, leaking water from the balcony to our room while raining, no extra toilet paper in the toilet, tv was out of order, smelly towels

    good location, nice standard

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    7.5
    The room (with annex) was really nice and clean and had some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room with annex is in a separate building, located on the corner of the street. Unforunately it was very loud at night, you could have hear all the noises from the street. We were informed by many local people that location wasn't very safe, but we didn't feel it.

    The room (with annex) was really nice and clean and had some basic equippment. The staff was very nice and helpful, they gave us a map and some recommendations of places worth to see and where to eat.The breakfast was also good. The company which organizes Etna excursions is located in the same building.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.8
    We loved the position of the B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't like the fact that the double bed was actually made by two single beds. It is kind of uncomfortable for a couple.

    We loved the position of the B&B. Really close to the city centre. The staff was very nice and welcoming. We loved staying in there. :)

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly, they gave us a map and told...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is near the centre but local streets can be not safe at night. We asked for a private parking and the staff redirected us to a garage 1 km away saying it will cost 5 Eu for one night (10pm-9am) and 1Eu for every extra hour. We came to the garage at 9pm and were ready to take it back at 10am and to pay 7Eu (5 + 2 extra hours) but the garage owner took 10Eu for whole night because it was 9pm and not 10pm, so he took the fee as for 24hrs. Be aware of that and come at 10pm if you do not want to overpay and be ready to leave the keys for the owner.

    The staff was very friendly, they gave us a map and told every detail we need to see in Catania, also gave good advices about seeing Etna the next day, the WiFi really works, nice breakfast, also they give a special offer for a dinner in the center.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    Eventhough reseption closes 8 pm,manager organised...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wheather was so hot and humidy.Then we had to carry our luggages to second floor without lift.

    Eventhough reseption closes 8 pm,manager organised everything when we arrived late. She send many emails to be sure everything was alright.We found in the box what we needed. Breakfast was amazing.City center is so close by walking.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.1
    nice place - but TV & aircon didn't work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV & aircon didn't work. it's a little far from centre square and bus station. Catania isn't the cleanest city in the world! room round the back so not much natural light - but good reason to leave the room!

    nice place - but TV & aircon didn't work. Comfy bed, clean room and bathroom. kitchen /breakfast was nice too. it's a little far from centre square and bus station. next door for Etna Experience tour which is the only reason to go there really!

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    6.3
    Obliging and efficient reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed in the annexe. Room furnishing so-so, bathroom better. Breakfast a disaster: some fresh bread arrived at 8.45, before that some old cellphone-wrapped items and bits of meat and cheese in fridge, hardly any fruit

    Obliging and efficient reception

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    5.4
    The staff at this B&B were unfortunately the best part...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have to agree with others, this neighbourhood didn't feel particularly safe. Especially for me as a solo female traveller. It was quite dirty and run down. I was put in the apartments around the corner from the bed and breakfast and unfortunately the first room I was put in was not good at all. It was dark and dirty, the light in the bathroom did not work properly and the mattress had stains on it. The ladies were kind enough to allow me to switch to a room that was brighter and seemed a lot cleaner. On my last night I was unable to use my bathroom as there were a few large cockroaches inside!! As for the breakfast, it was very basic...cereal and bread and other packaged cakes.

    The staff at this B&B were unfortunately the best part of my stay. They were extremely helpful and supportive when I arrived after finding out my luggage had been lost in transit. The wifi also had good connection and fresh espresso in the morning was great.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    5.4
    The staff was really very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was a nightmare!! The problem is not that its incredibly small. But the size of the shower is unbelievably big compared to the space. There is no way you could save your hair or just check the water temperature while standing inside. Why put such an enormous shower instead of a simple hand shower is strange! The towels were the roughest ones ever. Also the area is scary. Parking is a challenge.

    The staff was really very nice. The room had a character with high ceiling and spaciousness. Also the balcony was charming, although the view itself was not worth. Considering the surrounding area, we didn't expect such a good room.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    9.6
    The staff were friendly and helpful and made our stopover in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were friendly and helpful and made our stopover in Catania as comfortable and easy as possible. We wanted to see Sicily and this helped us get the feel of the island, and what to expect while we were there. B&B was located in a typical street for a Sicilian city. It was just outside the main tourist part of town, which made it easy to get to everything such as the restaurants, the bus and train station and of course all of the historic sights.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The B&B was very close to the centre, about 5 minutes walk. However, the area wasn't very nice as it was in one of the side roads.

    The staff were very helpful and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was simple but included some of everything. I would definitely recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    2.9
    The staff seems to try to be gentle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is awfully dirty, the laundry smells bad, natural light doesn't creep through the window, there is dust all over the place, the toillet is uncleaned, there was probleme with both cold and hot water - we didn't have hot water for shower 3 night from 6 and in the last 2 days either cold water... Very poor and insalubre...

    The staff seems to try to be gentle

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    6.3
    Staff were friendly, breakfast was good and they provided a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We stayed in the 3 bed apartment across the road. The room was very dusty, from day one there was dust under the bed and I didn't walk around bare foot. It was dark even with all the lights on so applying make up was tricky. The disappointing thing was the lack of replenished towels (or toilet rolls unless we asked) for the duration of our stay - 5 days. It left the room smelling very damp.

    Staff were friendly, breakfast was good and they provided a great selection for my friend that has coeliac disease and eats gluten free food. Wifi connection was good.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    8.3
    The design of Volcanic room is pretty cool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is quite far from Central Train Station although there is a bus going there Difficult to find the place without GPS

    The design of Volcanic room is pretty cool. Can take breakfast early (at 7 a.m.) Value for money Friendly and helpful staff. She can speak English.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    10
    Very nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The towel were smelling weird, but probably because of the water.

    Very nice and friendly staff. Very good locatian and value for money. Totally recommend this accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    8.8
    Nice location, the staff was very pleasant and helped us to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    internet connection was unstable and we failed to connect the next morning, we did not find hairdryer in the room

    Nice location, the staff was very pleasant and helped us to book a taxi and gave usefull information about the city

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    7.9
    Room decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was simple. Although location was quite central, it was very difficult to find at night. Both drains of the shower and the basin did not work well.

    Room decoration. Wifi was fast. The staff was very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    6.3
    Quite a fair price and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Too near church bells from 7am onwards, ok if you're an early riser. Communal breakfast table - 6 places. Wi-fi signal a bit feeble.

    Quite a fair price and friendly staff. "Etna Experience", reasonable tour operator has office on ground floor of the same building.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    9.6
    very friendly and helpful staff, good location, nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very friendly and helpful staff, good location, nice rooms

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    10
    Staff is incredibly nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was cold in the room.

    Staff is incredibly nice. Very good location.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    8.8
    Great location nice rooms good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location nice rooms good breakfast. We went for the feast of St Agata and were only 7 mins from the Church. Next time I know were to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2015

    8.8
    Fantastic staff, very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fantastic staff, very friendly and helpful. Good room, excellent value.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    Great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great service. Kitchen is open all day long for coffee, fruits and other food.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    Staff very friendly polite helpful and spoke good English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very friendly polite helpful and spoke good English

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.9
    Apartment with kitchen and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little dirty street.

    Apartment with kitchen and bathroom. Nice breakfast. Nice location to city centar. Friendly hosts.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff was very kind and help us with that we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    it would be nice if the breakfast place was a litle more bigger.

    The staff was very kind and help us with that we needed.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.9
    Staff realy helpful,good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noise when sleeping with open balcony (ac available but better the air),russian tourists that eat your breakfast

    Staff realy helpful,good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Lovely staff, great location and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely staff, great location and spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.1
    The people attending us very communicative informative and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Thr smelly toilet

    The people attending us very communicative informative and service minded

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Value for money

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.1
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately during our stay there were very nose guests during the night.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Everything was super
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was super

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.8
    Kind staff, cute decorated rooms, close to center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Far from bus station

    Kind staff, cute decorated rooms, close to center

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.3
    - kitchen with fridge and cookingplate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    walls are thin

    - kitchen with fridge and cookingplate - cofortable bed and balkony

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    5.4
    close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dirty bathroom

    close to the centre

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    4.6
    Suffered from outside noise due to lax door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Suffered from outside noise due to lax door. Breakfast was not good.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    9.6
    close to major places, good accessibility, kind personnel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    close to major places, good accessibility, kind personnel, fairly well equipped, etc.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Browse Catania City Center Apartments traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: