Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergo Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo 4 stars

Piazza San Marco 1107, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#235 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3181 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    unforgettable best memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    at first I wasn't satisfied the bathtub was blocked but the staff were very friendly and fixed it quickly and very helpful, really enjoyed our trip here

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Perfect Location, Great BreKfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, great location, great Breakfast. Minutes for San Marks Square . Central to everything . Service amazing and Beautiful room. Gondola pulls up straight to the hotel. Able to get private water taxi to airport from hotel or water taxis available at the square

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is located at a Gondola service. Although pretty, it is very noisey of a morning as they start early. Windows not sound proof. Also a boat was draining something at 6.15 which was very noisey. Not a good stay noise wise.

    Location was good. Old style hotel with charm but maybe a little to outdated the decor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location with great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not that friendly, bit old! Breakfast room small.

    Location, our room had a canal view. Good sized room, colourful too, ample wardrobe space. Breakfast nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.3
    Totally central location. Fabulous decor, but staff were stuck up and not friendly at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk and restaurant staff were unfriendly, over-stressed and acted annoyed or bossy with any request we made. I complained and they said they would tell the manager but nothing happened.

    The location was fabulous, just yards from St. Mark's Square. The decor was old fashioned opulence. But the room was tiny and the front desk and restaurant staff were snappy and unfriendly. Mixed feelings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When travelling to Venice this hotel offers you the opportunity to experience authentic Venetian accomodation with all the modern conveniences available . Located behind St Marc’s Square overlooking a canal with gondolas literally at your doorstep it is not only easy to find when you arrive, an easy 5 minute walk with luggage from public ferry wharf or you can take a private water taxi directly to door if in your budget. Traditional Venetian hospitality at its finest....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Great location and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I just felt the breakfast was average. We have stayed in less ranking hotels through Italy and Germany and their breakfasts were much better.

    A great hotel for Venice. The reception staff are excellent. Because it was my 70 birthday, they up graded us to a room with a view for the second night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Great location (close to everything you could want to do),...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little difficult to find upon arrival because the people at the ferry station told us to get off at Rialto. Much closer and easily accessible from the San Marco stop. Not the hotels fault though.

    Great location (close to everything you could want to do), staff very friendly and helpful. Complimentary boat taxi to Murano. Great view of the canal. Enjoyed sitting on the balcony while eating breakfast and watching the gondolas prepare for the day. Room was very nice with a very spacious bathroom. We truly enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Place was nice!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed 1 night and we choose this hotel for the location 3 minute walk to Piazza San Marco.Breakfast was good specially for Europe! Also were able to print our boarding passes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed out stay. The room was clean. The bathroom was very updated. Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact there was no iron available but in many other European countries there has not been, apparently it is a law....???

    We loved the location and the bar below. Someone was always available for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.0
    The staff were very helpful and were available whatever time we needed to make enquires
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door didn’t completely open and the bathroom was not easy for a person with a disability

    The room looked much better on the booking site than what it really was The breakfast was okay, the selection was comprehensive the fruit was fresh

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Amazing location - less than a minute to San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Amazing location - less than a minute to San Marco. Staff spoke excellent English, were very friendly and always willing to help. Breakfast had a large selection of food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    I hope for another stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My friend's room on other side of hall did not have my wonderful view ( I had a single room). It was tight but worth it for the view.

    FANTASTIC position. so close to St Marks square, LOVED the view of the gondolas from my room ( both parked at night and getting organised in the morning). Could also watch them from breakfast room, or tiny balcony outside reception. Hotel has its own landing for taxis.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    This is a beautiful hotel with the perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked our hotel room as a double. The room had two single beds put together. My daughter and I were traveling together so this worked fine for us but if I had been with my husband I would have wanted another room.

    The location of this hotel cant be beat! It is so close to everything and the little patios on the canal are beautiful! The breakfast was great and the staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location next to San Marco's Plaza
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room Space is very limited for the price I Paid.

    It is a very nice hotel, excellent location, and very clean. It is expensive for the room space which is very small. A couple staying with 2 baggage is complicated. Everything else is fine, not space

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Despite the negatives listed, we would definately stay at the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staff seemed a little unfriendly, and could have lightened up a little. The bar prices were extremely expensive. Just being off of St Marks Square and in a 4 star hotel, you expect to pay a little over the odds, but €9 for a coffee (which they took out of the breakfast room drinks machine) is a little excessive, and €15 for a local Spritz, which cost €3.50 - €5 in the street bars, was a bit of a rip off. We did not eat or drink in the hotel in the evenings, due to that reason.

    The position of the hotel is fantastic, just a short walk to everything you want to see. The bedroom was very comfortable, and the breakfast was super.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    I will definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was right behind San Marco Square! The international breakfast was included, and it was bountiful! The bathroom was very modern and exceeded our expectations. The view from my room of the gondolas was a great way to wake up each morning. The staff was very friendly, and I couldn't believe the time and effort that went into cleaning our room each day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse attitude from straff. From the very first minute. Old property, dated, small spaces. Definitely, not worth what you pay fot it.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was a little small. It doesn't have Bidet. The breakfast could be better. Actually, I expect more from a 4-star hotel.

    The location was great. Right next to San Marco square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Good enough to make a return booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was very crammed in making it awkward to enjoy a leisurely breakfast. I would move the WiFi facilities into a corner of the bar/lounge area so the eating area could be extended.

    The view from our bedroom over the gondola station was superb. The location of the hotel was right in the heart of Venice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.4
    The room was very small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small Very few facilities Shower very small The room needed painted As patched of paint rubbed off The location of the hotel was excellent behind st Marco square

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.8
    Centrally located but noisy and poor disclosure of possible problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not tell us that there was a big remodeling job right off our window. They were aware of this and at 4 am we had called the front desk and complained about this but they said that the workers had a permit to work this late. What a bad set up for guests of the hotel. That morning after sleeping only a couple of hours, when they stopped the noise, the hotel manager offered us a new room and said that they will not work on Saturday so we had the option to stay or change rooms. The option was a tiny room with almost no outside light. Not an option. Breakfast was limited and typical of most low budget hotels.

    The location was good if you like the busy and frantic pace of a tourist destination. We liked that it was close to the the ferries.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Unforgettable Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Great location and very friendly staff.

    Sandro made our stay feel like home, giving us good advice and helping us in true MacGyver style😉 I defnitely recommend taking a water taxi straight from the hotel to the Airport (€130). The hotels location is perfect. A few steps from San Marco square. The friendly, professional staff working there made our visit 5 star!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    It was a lovely hotel, and our stay in general to Venice was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat dated, could have done with an upgrade re decoration Above our room it was a windy night and the shutters kept banging constantly, kept us awake until early hours. We rang down but tho' sympthetic, staff appeared unable to do very much. Ideally if shutters meant to be kept open, then provision of fasteners to wall would be a good investment.

    Location of the hotel was very good,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    As expected, the location of the hotel is very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the photos rooms look larger.

    Location - in the middle of the city, easy to get to the hotel and possibility easy come back when wandering the city. Сroissants are delicious. Views from windows are spectacular.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor. Only omlet from hot food and no vegetables at all (tomatos only) pastrys not fresh either.

    Location is great. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    Convenient local, can be noisy, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was unexpectedly hot and humid during our mid-April stay in Venice. The hotel policy is to not turn on the AC system until June and it is again shut off in October. We were very uncomfortable at night and leaving the windows open was our only option, but it was noisy late into the night and then again at around 5 a.m. with the cafe behind the hotel unstacking furniture for the day ahead, plus had a pigeon problem in that they were "nesting" on the awning under our window. The view from our room was awful (photos attached). I did not like that you have to keep turning your key in to the front desk and asking for it every time you you need it. I'd rather have a key card.

    I like the location of the hotel in terms of access to shops, tourist attractions, and restaurants. It was easy to stop back at the hotel to put away packages and freshen up. The room we were given was not the room pictured. It was small, but adequate for our 3 night stay. The bathroom was nice and felt new. The breakfast in the morning had quite a few options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    A well located property with character, charm and a welcoming, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast and the breakfast room should and could be much better. The breakfast produce was a bit dull and not very appetising, with poor selection and little or no variation or change, over our four day visit.

    I liked the situation, the staff were friendly, kind and helpful. The property has charm and character, but needs a little TLC here and there. overall we were very pleased and enjoyed our stay very much, and would happily go back to the same room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    3.3
    Upon arrival and booking i made a request for the invoice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival and booking i made a request for the invoice. It is never happened. My request was ignored. More than that, the person who made us check out were rude. Horrible service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    3.8
    Rooms are dated and falling apart wall sockets fell off in my hands really poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated and falling apart (cupboard doors and wall sockets fell apart) very bad value for price. Room Aldo full of bugs really not clean.

    Not much other than location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    4.6
    It was okay , can't afford stay more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    People in the hotel, and very noisey because the room facing the street!

    It was expensive ! But only one night. Breakfast was fantastic with price we paid for . Staff were not very nice, kind of snotty !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is ideally situated, just behind the St Marc place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was overheated and very noisy because right across from the Hard Rock Cafe and a gondola parking ... ask for a back room if you want to sleep! Our room was very small, but according to the floor plan it was the smallest

    The hotel is ideally situated, just behind the St Marc place... it was even flooded by the aqua Alta when we got there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice Venetian style experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was slightly old (but maybe it was just ‘the style’) and our room was very very noisy from around 6 am.

    The location is of course out of any questions! Best location ever! The room was super clean and we got a very nice baby cot. Also, the breakfast was very decent for an Italian hotel🙂

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    Clean, good location, but NOT a 4 star hotel. 2/3 star facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk staff were cold and unfriendly (except one older gentleman who we saw once). We struggled through the entrance doors with a staff member standing right by and not offering to hold the doors even though they could see we had numerous bags and I am pregnant. Safe keys had to be obtained by a 20euro deposit (not 4 star hotel), toiletries were extremely basic, and there was no tea/coffee in the room. When I requested a kettle to make some tea, I was informed that it would not be possible as all the kettles were 'out' already. No other options were given, as apparently the bar was also already closed. After 20 minutes, someone knocked on the door, and a kettle was produced. This just is nowhere near 4 star hotel level. TV was very outdated, room was overcrowded and stuffy. Our room was very hot as the sun comes to that side of the hotel all day. When we asked for AC, the service person told us that there is heating only. We had to sleep with the windows open, even on the day it rained. Breakfast was very poor. Sliced bread for toast was stuck together (not fresh, possibly previously frozen), croissants and pastries were not fresh either and fruit was mostly tinned. I did enjoy the muesli and the view from the breakfast room is nice, but, overall, a very poor breakfast (have had better in lower rated hotels). We did not go back. The location is a plus due to it being central, however that leads to difficulty with finding nice places to eat. Most restaurants nearby are tourist traps and rated 2 stars on various reviews. We experienced one of our worst meals ever in this hotel's sister hotel, Hotel Royal San Marco, in the restaurant Ai Do Dai. You must do a lot of research to eat nice food in the nearby area.

    Location of the hotel was excellent, being right behind St Mark's Square. View from our room was onto the water with a small balcony. Room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced! Outdated decor. Shower leaked all over the bathroom floor and into the bedroom. No break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced! Outdated decor. Shower leaked all over the bathroom floor and into the bedroom. No breakfast included. Definitely not a 4 star hotel.

    The location. That’s it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price-value not the same our room was 10sqm we paid 93 euros per night without breakfast and our feet from the bed in the night was out 10 inches.bad experience

    The view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall, value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small double bedroom was a bit cramped for two people, more suited to one person maybe.

    The view is lovely. The staff is friendly and the place is super clean!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    When on holiday you want to feel loved, felt no love from this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were checking out at 7am and tried to get a coffee at 6:45 and the breakfast room wasn’t open and the staff refused to help but pointed me to the end of the street to purchase one, the air con didn’t work, location was really good but just found the hotel really lacking

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    Lovely stay, if returning to Venice not sure I would return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although rooms are authentic the chandelier & windows in room constantly rattled! It’s the price you pay for an old building.

    Staff where really helpful & it was such a great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Too Noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy hotel and of course the Church!!! Bad bed og No view at the room. Toilet was out of order. The gigolo did not show us to the room, because of the stairs.

    Nice cleaning lady. Nice view at the restaurant and breakfast ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location 1 min from San Marco square , very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in room , bar closed so couldn't make a drink if getting in late .

    Excellent location 1 min from San Marco square , very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location. Short walk to Vaporretto, Alilaguna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was quite small.

    Excellent location just off San Marco square. Very good breakfast. Staff very helpful about restaurants, directions, transportation, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast very limited, no tea/coffee making facilities in room. Other than that all else was fine. Had to upgrade a superior room. Superior rooms are NOT superior they have concrete walls immediately outside the windows. You must ask for a canal view which will cost you extra.

    Very central

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Full of Venetian charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. The coffee machine at the breakfast room makes everything except a good espresso, which is a normal thing in every hotel. Furthermore the barman sold us an expensive bottle of prosecco. It was too much but totally worth it. They should moderate their alcohol prices at the bar if they Want the barman to continue having a job.

    Location! It's a typical Venetian hotel with its charm. Everything was great:breakfast, room, comfort. Would definitely come back again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Best situated hotel in Venice, could not be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was VERY hot when I arrived, like a sauna. Opened window and closed heating helped for the night.

    Best situated hotel in Venice, could not be better Nice view from room with condolas

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great value for money our room had a canal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, great value for money our room had a canal view over looking where the Gondola are docked. Hotels less than a minutes walk from San Marco square. The staff are very helpfull we came in from the snow freezing George from front desk offered us hot drinks and open the bar especially for us made us feel very valued.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay in the centre
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it was all good.

    I quite like the location of the hotel, it was really in the centre, only 2 minutes away from San Marco. The room was small but very comfortable, clean and neat. Even though it was very cold outside, it was cosy all the time inside. The breakfast was conventional and good. All in all, I can recommend the hotel to everyone...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    A comfortable, centrally located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was a little on the snug size, but we managed. We are not big people, but anyone larger than us would have struggled in the shower cubicle!! The gondoliers make quite a noise in the mornings.

    The location really couldn't have been better - literally a few paces off St Mark's Square. Our room overlooked one of the canals. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small, bathroom was new but not equipped for a woman's toilettries. I had to keep all my stuff in the bidet. Noise from within the hotel. One morning I was awakened at 6 am by someone taking shower next door. It sounded like a machine gun. Another morning water started running in the toilet. I think that somehow the plumbing must be linked

    Excellent location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Decent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stones are softer than pillows in the hotel Russia Today not subscribed

    Decent breakfast Warm personnel Perfect location Quite room Good bathroom Safe and minibar in the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, but tiny cramped room was disappointing. The balcony made up for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the adjacent old lift was very loud and rather annoying plus the rain I’m was tiny. The bed about fitted it with tiny space down the side

    Balcony was great! And unexpected

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy hotel. Too hot in the rooms. No way of controlling temperature other than having window open but then it was so noisy with people shouting in the street below all night. Breakfast was nothing special. Not much choice. Staff were ok but not v welcoming. Rooms were clean but dated.

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Too hot/ no room service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot more then a sauna even though we requested they turn off the heat since it is not controllable from the room. There were no kettles and no room service so every time I had to go down to the lobby to get some hot water for my medicine.

    The proximity to St Marco’s piazza.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    3.8
    I would not recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are a number of things: - payment - I stayed one night and chose the pay on arrival option. However, I was charged for my one night before arriving and again when checking out. The hotel kept my money for almost 2 weeks before finally paying me back. - Staff - Not welcoming and generally not friendly! - Room - Very small (there was no picture of such a small room on the booking.com site). Furniture was old and broken. NO CURTAINS and the building opposite had bright lights that were on all night. Noise - not the hotels fault but the Hardrock cafe opposite is very noisy until very late! The gondola parking is also very noisy from 5am in the morning with motor boats. Sleeping is a big problem! All in all I think the hotel is more 2 star than 4 star. The persion carpets and leather seats downstairs don't make it a 4 star hotel in my opinion. I would not book again.

    The only good thing about the hotel is its location with regards to the main square - less than a 1 minute walk. The breakfast was not bad.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms were far too warm and it was very difficult to control the temperature. The beds and the pillows were very hard

    Location, location, location and the breakfast!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    An excellent weekend experiencing Italian cuisine and history in a unique place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no apparently active bar where you could sit and share a nightcap with your fellow guests. A bar existed but it wasn't used. There were dozens close by though and that may explain the bar's lack of use.

    The breakfasts were excellent with a wide choice. The double bed was enormous. The position in Venice couldn't be faulted as it was almost part of St Mark's Square. It was carnival time and the gondolier's parade up the Grand Canal started a couple of hundred yards from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    excellent. would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee from the machine is not excellent

    Beautiful room with canal view. Very good breakfast and extremely nice staff. A special mention to Stefano who helped us book a trip to murano and was very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay in Venice. Staff were extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location to St Marks, water taxis' and tourist attractions; everything was within walking distance of the hotel. Staff were extremely helpful. Hotel arranged a complimentary boat trip to Murano.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Very good, will recomend this hotel to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit hot for comfort.

    Breakfast was excelent with great selection.Signore Carlo at reception was very helpfull and welcoming,his advise was always correct.Bed was really confortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location and clean and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish our room had looked out over the gondolas - we were next to the street and it was noisy on occasion

    Really traditional hotel in a fantastic location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.0
    Overall 5 points from 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hot shower I expect at least a full refund of one night because of the problem, but will not argue with someone at reception saying I don't agree with they are offering , I mention for the sir at the front desk "if you purchase a bottle of wine you will receive the full bottle or half bottle?" ...they kept looking at me saying they don't know what to do ....if they don't ..who should know right ?

    Its clean Its very good located

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable a great time of year to go to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor of rooms . Rooms very warm. One of the concierge a bit aloof and not very helpful . Explained things very matter of fact and not get pleasant

    Location was perfect. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one complaint: the rooms were so hot and it wasn't clear how to turn the heating down so we didn't sleep very well, and again, the breakfast room was also boiling hot!

    The location was excellent, right off St Marks Square and with great views of gondolas. The staff were friendly and helped us to book taxis/gave us advice on how to get to different places. All round lovely hotel with beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    Generous breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room a tiny box up various twists and turns, very small windows. Thank God no fire! TV almost all Italian, only 1 English channel (CNN!), only 2 in German one of which sport. Overpriced!! Plastic coffee from machine. Next time will find hotel self.

    Generous breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.3
    A wonderful experince in Florence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only negative not to do with the hotel per se was the major works being carried out on the square directly in front of the Hotel

    The Hotel and Staff were excellent. The dining room on the top floor was superb and the roof terrace had a wonderful view and would be superb in summer. I look forward to returning in summer to further enjoy this space.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    4.6
    Average stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View is not great from the room provided. Not much of a options for Breakfast.

    The hotel was located right in front of HRC Venice and also the Venice Square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Long standing wish to visit Venice fulfilled on style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to leave (they didn't throw me out - it was the end of my stay).

    Very nice Venetian style decoration of the room, superb view of gondola station from window, huge continental style breakfast, could reach Saint Marks Square without hurrying in under a minute. This is a major tourist destination and the hotel must have hundreds of guests but I was made to feel welcome as an individual. Windows not sealed, so I could open them at will.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    3.3
    Loved Venice, hated the hotel it should be 3 stars maximum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor old smelly room given to us for 773 Euro for 5 nights when I made the booking on booking.com By the time we got there you could have it for 499 Euro I complained to the manager and given a canal view room last 2 nights Very poor breakfast

    The location is pretty central

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    The hotel is perfectly located in the center of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. The hotel is amazing. They gave me canal view which is awesome.

    I like everything about this hotel. Except that I have to walk from the train station all the way to the hotel because its my first time and have no knowledge of the water taxi during mignight or late night hours. I guess it has nothing to do with the hotel and I will definitely be staying here when I come back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception was very rude upon arrival. A particular older grey hair gentleman, who I will not name, was rude and talking down to me and my mother. Once we got past that, the concierge who carried did nothing but show use how to use the elevator and open the door to the room, DID NOT TOUCH A LUGGAGE BAG AT ALL,stood at the door as if expecting a tip. He did not get one.

    The location is great. Walking distance to everything!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    3.8
    the hotel perches to me one room for 3 bed
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    in this hotel i loose my money 2000 uro

    the hotel perches to me one room for 3 bed but it isnt it is one room for two persent and one bed extra very bad and i pay 100 uro for this and very cold

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    Mayia972
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean hotel. Perfect location. Breakfast excellent. Restaurant staff very efficient. Reception good early breakfast possible. Room clean and comfortable. Generally perfect stay. Thank you. Will recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    This is just a great location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When in Venice it is location, location, location. This just cannot be beat. We found great shopping and great food very near so didn't waste time looking any further. We sat on the hotel's balcony where the water taxis pick up and deliver guests for hours just soaking in the ambiance. The breakfast was very good and the American coffee was great. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    All the family being together three from England & three from New Zealand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a thing.

    the hotel was great with the gondolas parked at the door food good good staff at the bar and he arranged to make hot chocolate to have before going to bed felt really spoilt with that service no problems we were close to the square and enjoyed our transport from the airport a water taxi at speed great way to start the holiday and booked it to take us back to the airport very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location, professional staff at the reception desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell in the coridors, poorly washed dishes, especially teaspoons

    Excellent location, professional staff at the reception desk, fresh and juicy fruit for the breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albergo Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: