Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Caveoso Hotel 3 stars

Piazza San Pietro Caveoso, 75100 Matera, Italy

#33 of 34 hotels in Matera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 951 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    The receptionist was very nice, explained some tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the paid price, there was only one soap for the whole family and probably the parking service should have been included (as I understood when I made the reservation. I had the parking filter activated).

    The receptionist was very nice, explained some tourist information, made some good recommendations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    No cave room!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we would sleep in a Cave (See pictures from Hotel). That is not the case!! And a big minus point to Joseph, the morning elderly receptionist. We had very seldom such a disagreeable welcome. Very disappointed

    Breakfast was good and It s taken in the Cave which is top.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    We loved our stay here and the overall experience exceeded our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find negatives however the bed was very soft and the noise from the shared courtyard area was disruptive at night.

    Location, facilities, staff and cleanliness were fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    The hotel met our needs for a one-night stopover visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were offered a choice of two rooms, one with a view and a steep and narrow staircase, which was not easy to negotiate with baggage; and one without a view or a staircase.. we chose the former opting for the view! The furnishings in general could do with an upgrade. The parking arrangement provided by the hotel could be better explained on booking.com to indicate parking is not available near the hotel, but cars are taken and returned to you on arrival and departure at a cost.

    The hotel is characteristic of the area and is located in the centre of the Sassi, making it very convenient to tour the whole area on foot. Restaurants are also in close proximity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    This was one of the most memorable & enjoyable hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was one of the most memorable & enjoyable hotel stays that I have enjoyed in recent years. The location is excellent and my suite was very comfortable and had a lovely view out over the old town of Matera. The breakfast was excellent also.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Excellent room, nice sunny terrace (room nr 5).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent room, nice sunny terrace (room nr 5). But don't forget it is always a cave and have a little bit humidity . Very good situated in the centre of Matera around good restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    We enjoyed our few days using the hotel as a base for exploring the Sassi and capturing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't any warning that we had to carry our suitcases up steep steps both outside and inside the hotel and then park the car right up in the town.

    It is located at the very centre of the Sassi so that exploring on foot is very easy. There are also eating options on the doorstep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.6
    construction work right outside the room which woke us up in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    construction work right outside the room which woke us up in the morning. we wish we were told about that during check-in: it would make us decide for an other room or hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Central location, very clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not near location it's about a 10 minute walk which we don't mind but they do advertise parking just be prepared to walk, staff were fine maybe a little abrupt

    Central location, very clean and comfortable. Unique experience cave room was nice not as great as we had hoped walking distance to best places beds were very comfortable after a long day perfect for a night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for a short stay in Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been little warmer but they were fine.

    Great location. Room was spacious and pleasant with a nice balcony . Staff friendliness varied greatly. The pastries and coffee at breakfast were lovely. Good wifi and the shower was good too. Very helpful that they had valet parking available as it is hard to park in Matera.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Living in a cave is more luxurious than you think. The town is unique and the best we visited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The access to the hotel and rooms was up steps so not really suitable for disabled people.

    Fabulous view from our first floor window, although not all rooms had this. The breakfast was very good with proper coffee made to order.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    Centrally located. More than adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. I just think this was not the stay that we had hoped. The hotel however is more than adequate.

    Location is great. We did want the experience of staying in a genuine Matera cave but I suspect it wasn't. Apart from that the room is a good size, bathroom is big and everything was fine. Breakfast was very basic continental. Parking is about 400 metres from the hotel but not difficult to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Matera was a joy and the hotel location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected to be emersed in a cave rather than a constructed vault. The bit of cave in our room would have been great if a mattress or pad was in there for us to enjoy the cave atmosphere. Directions into the dristrict would be helpful. We asked a bunch of helpful locals.

    The location was great. The breakfast was a treat. The mattress was heaven. The initial staff was vvery helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Matera was a joy and the hotel location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected to be emersed in a cave rather than a constructed vault. The bit of cave in our room would have been great if a mattress or pad was in there for us to enjoy the cave atmosphere. Directions into the dristrict would be helpful. We asked a bunch of helpful locals.

    The location was great. The breakfast was a treat. The mattress was heaven. The initial staff was vvery helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Ideal location for Sassi experience, exploring & views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved entire experience. NOTE: Take taxi to hotel - it's a long walk with many, many uneven steps & stairs!

    Loved the location, view, breakfast, room with cave & helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    In a good location in the Sassi Caveoso. Will be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the room are ver steep and narrow, so would not be suitable for anyone who was a bit infirm.

    We were in room 10b was very spacious and comfortable. It is not a cave room, but is very nice and has a good view. The breakfast was very good and the staff were all very nice and helpful. Matera is easy to get to by train from Bari Centrale station. Just one and a half hours and 4.90 euros. Within 4.5hrs from leaving the UK you can be there. The atmosphere in this the town is lovely. It must be seen, both by day and in the evening when the tour groups have all gone. Lots of restaurants and bars. The local breads and orchetti pasta are delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice cave hotel in historic center of Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    During our stay staff was not too friendly, just showed room. There is a a lot of humidity inside cave. Had to empty dehumidifyer ~3-4 times over stay.

    Great surrounding area, but it took a while to find hotel. Nice room (cave) and terrace view. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location in Matera - recommended especially its an experience to sleep in a cave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were restoration works in some of the rooms of the hotel. Although the staff tried their best to minimize the inconvenience, if we were late risers this would have affected us.

    Excellent location in the center of Matera.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Location was excellent, property nice, beds comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not all Caves, so disappointed in that I thought I booked a cave room & stayed in a modified hotel room so a bit expensive considering...fridge was broken, but fixed the next day.

    Location was excellent, property nice, beds comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Easy to find, well located, quiet with very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Easy to find, well located, quiet with very helpful staff! Also breakfast good & breakfast room charming. Good in English & of course Italian. Air conditioning very good as weather was VERY HOT EVERY DAY!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.3
    Sitting on the balcony watching the birds overhead was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very difficult to find the hotel. The bath was dirty and needs a deep clean.

    Sitting on the balcony watching the birds overhead was wonderful and the view was gorgeous. The location was fabulous, lots to do and see within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Atmosphere suited a town with an extraordinary story.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was difficult. You have to park in the main square, leave car to get directions at hotel and them drive around the block a few times to find public carpark.

    Atmosphere suited a town with an extraordinary story.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.3
    Matera is well worth a visit. The Caveoso hotel is adequate value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in our room was poor. It failed to keep the room cool, despite informing staff of the fact. Avoid room 10B

    Matera was a magical place and the property location was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.7
    Matera is stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con weak in one room. A very steep & narrow (2 ft at most) staircase to access the room with heavy cases.

    Rooms were adequate - as we were 2 couples, we booked 2 rooms. However, one was good and one not so good, which was odd as they were the same price. Avoid room 10B for 2 reasons -it is accessed by a VERY narrow staircase and the air conditioning cannot cope - it was sweltering in there, partly due to the much publicised heatwave. Yet the other booked room, below,maws very cool. Staff were initially very welcoming but a problem arose because we had booked 2 nights (consecutive but in separate bookings due to a change in our itinerary). The complicated and muddled handling of this was unnecessary - we had to explain the second booking several times to different staff but there was no record of people sorting it so we had to explain it again and show confirmation as each staff member was unable to find the second booking. We were told to leave the rooms we were in as we would be in different ones for the second night (but we were assured that the hotel was not full). However, you can guess which room one of us was allocated -yes, 10B. On complaining that the air con in this room was inadequate, the hotel was suddenly full and the previous pleasant attitude became rather negative. Once again, the second room was very cool so the air con worked well in some rooms. A pity because the hotel is both good value and in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    Amazing setting with unique rooms, highly recommend Matera in cooler months
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know Italy was suffering a heat wave when we were there so I'm not sure if the air conditioning was unable to cope with the heat or it was because it was outdated. Our rooms were so hot.

    Lovely surroundings, unique accommodation staying in a cave. Staff very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Stunning rooms in a must visit location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking was a public car park 10mins walk away which you had to pay for

    very unusual hotel. Our room was a suite in cave which was huge, beautifully designed with the most amazing shower I've ever been in. Loved it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Go see it now!! I hired Michele Zasa 39-342-0395499. Great guide!!! Architect & archeologists!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking-directions were a little difficult. Even when you get to the square which is right there in front, there is no further signage. After going up stairscase after staircase I found it. In a few years this whole town is going to be outstanding & probably over - run like Dubrovnik (and Venice)

    Room was perfect. AC great. Breakfast adequate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Heart of Sassi di Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good apart breakfast which was a bit poor. When the stuff were finished nobody replace them.

    The place is amazing , in the heart of sassi di Matera , walking distance to everywhere Typical room of Sassi house and amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Good location, but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it's a waste of money. We paid 150 euros for a triple room (a 2-bedroom apartment close by was 70 euros), expecting to live in a cave and, basically, paying for that. However, first room we were offered at the hotel was just a small regular room with white walls, not a single indicator of a cave. We were not very happy with that, so at the end we were suggested a room from the photo at the website, however it was not looking like cave that much. But at least it was looking more like what you see at the photo. At the end we checked out the website and found out that junior suite was available with a discount for that night, thus we asked whether they could offer it to us. They did (and thanks for that, that was very nice from the part of the staff), it was looking more like a cave. But definitely not worth 150 euros. Breakfast was not good. Even coffee was not tasty. And croissants provided me with an impression they are not fresh. Also, there were just 2 towels in a triple room.

    The hotel is located in the city center, thee is a nice view and you leave a hotel and find yourself in the middle of Sassi area. Also, the staff was very nice and very accomodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Property with Abundance of Character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, air conditioning could have been better.

    Located in a beautiful setting of the main historic neighborhood, very unique property with plenty of character reflected of the UNESCO area. Breakfast was very good and generous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.8
    Location is ideal and the extended staff (maids and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What should have been a nice stay in a reasonable hotel was marred by the absence of a civil welcome from the older gentlemen on the reception desk after our long car journey. The photos on the website were very misleading. Though we booked and expected a "standard room" not a "cave suite" we didn't expect to be housed outside the main hotel and as such our room was only accessible via a very narrow and awkward staircase and had a very low ceiling - a bit likè a loft conversion. Nor was there a roof-top bar as the photos suggested. Breakfast was reasonable -as long as you like bread. Shower wasn't great either and the air con wasnt that effective.

    Location is ideal and the extended staff (maids and breakfast waitress) were very polite, friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.3
    Good location to climb up to the main town/ sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    man in reception unhelpful / seemed not to care about the clients. Conversely the girls/women bar staff were excellent

    Property quite old / poor or no air conditioning only a cooling ventilator

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Hotel just off the main square of this historic area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel just off the main square of this historic area. Room part of original caves. Great location and very nice breakfast served. Would be happy to stay there again. Matera should be on everyone's itinerary.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    4.6
    There was an ants nest in our room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an ants nest in our room. My girlfriend's bag (which did not contain any food) was full of ants when we left. Even after only one night, so we suspect the nest must have been there already before we arrived. Very disappointed... Without that incident, it would have been OK.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was in a great spot but there was NO signage to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was in a great spot but there was NO signage to get to it so it was a bit of a problem to find it. Also it is in a restricted traffic zone so getting there posed a problem . Parking was supposed to be nearby but was non existant so they offered to park the car for $20 Euros!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    6.3
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms felt a bit cold. Considering that the hotel is located right in the caves, should provide a kettle for boiling water.

    Location was fantastic right in the midst of the caves

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    Unique spot, enchanting atmosphere, tranquillity and silence in a magic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was below expectations.

    The size and the brightness of the room, thanks to the french window and the two windows, the lovely terrace looking onto the S. Pietro Caveoso and Santa Maria de Idris churches and the Sassi area around them.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.5
    Great find in exclusive area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all

    Location fantastic.... my husband took ill and they helped to get taxi to hospital .. we had to extend our stay but they had no accommodation so organized a move for us .. wonderful staff....

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    10
    Great stay in the Sassi
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location is great The room view is amazing and the bed is so comfortable The staff so helpful and nice Cleaning lady is very nice Great value of money 💰

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.5
    Wonderful area in Sassi, good restaurants nearby.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    restricted parking (transit) area that limits the usability of a car. The main parking is like 10-15 min away but it is possible to drop luggage in parking 50m from hotel. May be hard to communicate in English with part of the staff The ceiling was low (~1.90 - 2 m) in the bedroom (and some rooms are only accessible via steep stairs). WiFi may be unavailable in part of the room.

    Wonderful area in Sassi, good restaurants nearby. Friendly staff. Heater, fridge and AC in room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.3
    Nice for a romantic weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets were dirty. And there is no parking means we needed to find a free parking far away from the hotel, even paid parking is 500m away.

    Good location and comfort with polite staff. each room with independent entrance. In the heart of the Sassi, good for a romantic weekend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.4
    Overrated hotel in Matera
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    overrated hotel unpleasant staff rooms need to be renewed! equipments in the bathrooms were not clean

    location is OK troglodyts room (as the rest of the city)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no one at reception, Sky advertised but did not work, staff unfriendly, which is unusual, breakfast not as good comparatively for the price paid

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.9
    Location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out by member of staff believed to be hotel owner/manager was not a positive experience with no eye contact, smile or positive interaction. It seemed almost a bother for him. Poor interpersonal skills ... Even no language to communicate a smile and friendly attitude goes a long way!

    Location was very good. Upstairs room (#10) having to climb a very narrow and steeper staircase was a big challenge manoeuvring a large and heavy suitcase. The room was very comfortable and clean . Breakfast was quite good and plentiful. Welcome to the hotel by hostess was lovely and friendly. 1 would stay here again but would stipulate a different room with easier access .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    5.4
    The man in reception was not very nice at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they used false advertising.

    The man in reception was not very nice at all. they do not organise parking as they say they do. parking is a good 40min walk away and there is also no laundry facilities that they had said they had. the room/cave was humid and the pillows and sheets were very damp. also difficult to find and insects were rife. make sure you take aeroguard

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    6.7
    Good location but beware no car parking on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast the pot of tea was cold, I asked for a new pot and that was cold too. Upstairs room was a bit run down. We booked a car park but on arrival was told no parking and we had to drive into the town and leave our car in a public car park at our on expense for the length of our stay which meant walking 1kilo with bags.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.1
    Perfect base to view the cave dwellings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no indication on the hotel website about parking or arrival instruction. It is not possible to bring a car to the hotel and parking is at least 10 minute walk down a steep hill to reach the hotel. The hotel should provide detailed instruction as for a first time visitor it is a very frustrating and time consuming experience. Also, some of the rooms are without windows. Request a room with a window if this is a problem for you.

    Matera is so full of history and as it is a UNESCO protected site and attracts many many groups during the day even in the Autumn. Staying in the heart of Matera was beautiful in the evenings as all the groups had dispersed and the buildings were beautifully lit. Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    Good quality in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More information on finding the hotel on the initial booking sheet would have helped.

    The location is superb, being in the centre of the historic sassi town. The room and breakfast room had the character of the cave dwellings. The breakfast was unusual and plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.8
    A quite unique experience, well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Caves are naturally damp, and the the dehumifidier necessary to reduce the humidity was very noisy. But I am a light sleeper, and it probably wouldn't be a problem for most people.

    Surprisingly easy to locate, with good drop-off arrangements when arriving by car. Ample, good quality, Italian style breakfast. Our room (no.14, a junior suite) really was a converted cave, so a very novel experience! Very spacious and well appointed. Pleasant staff, although occasionally a bit chaotic!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    5.4
    Could have been so much better, expect cave room to feel damp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities poor, supposed to be junior suite but no toletries, v thin cotton towels, mini bar consisted of one beer and a bottle of water. No shower curtain.

    Located in old part of Matera. Atmospheric room in a cave. Good varied breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic location!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a dehumidifier in the room and when it filled the room became damp!

    Fantastic location right by the gorge! lovely room set in a cave. Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    3.8
    Grotto? No, just grotty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning unit ineffective so room hot and stuffy all the time. Bed hard - must have been bought second-hand from a prison. Bathroom horrible with broken tiles, shower head did not reach hook to hold it high for showering, wall damp so bits of it fell into bath every time you showered, broken wall tiles. Towels were like large tea towels so, again, no comfort factor. Furniture old and tired looking. Only one wall was cave and that was in bathroom. We had no sleep and were very uncomfortable the whole stay so checked out a day early with, of corse, no refund!

    Breakfast was enjoyable. Nice coffee and croissants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    2.5
    Humid environment, bad bed, poor wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Humid environment, bad bed, poor wifi. The staff speaks poor English. No one is helping for luggages. No obvious sign for direction. Dead rat and bird body outside the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    4.2
    Not a good choice for Matera!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was awful and dismissive of requests. No help with luggage or information about the area. The room was humid due to the cave environment. There was a dehumidifier in the room but it had to be emptied three times during the night. Because of the humidity all the bed sheets and towels were damp. No bathroom amenities, glasses, or slippers were provided. Wifi didn't work either.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    5.8
    The location was good, and the lady who did the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chap on reception was like the grim reaper and the room was very expensive for what it was.

    The location was good, and the lady who did the breakfast was pleasant. We've read about complaints that the hotel was difficult to get to, but to be honest, do a little research on the place, and if you're not prepared to walk, don't go... the place is thousands of years old and wasn't set out for cars.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good. Staff were mostly very good although one older man who was on duty in the morning was less welcoming and friendly.

    Lovely room snd view, very spacious (room 2). Situated in a lovely place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    cave experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location in the heart of the historic Sasso Caveoso district, wonderful view - we liked the unusual experience of staying in a "stylish cave"

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    8.3
    Cave Rooms in a Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most rooms were in caves, but ours, 10A, was not. Also, we looked onto construction. We did book last minute so I understand that we got what was left. I'm not complaining,but just want other travelers to be aware that not all rooms are cave rooms. Air conditioning was great in the main bedroom but the single bed in the off-shoot room stayed very warm.

    Great location! Loved eating in an actual cave!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.9
    Location and view of Matera was perfect, located in the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and view of Matera was perfect, located in the old town; the best place to be! Breakfast included was a nice bonus and the staff were very helpful with transport questions

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful town; extraordinary history. Walks; restaurants; views all near the hotel. Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    signage to hotel (but that’s Italy!)

    Location Convenience Valet Parking

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    Awesome place to stay if you want a unique experience in the heart of the cave district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not a negative just something to be aware of. The staff speaks no English.

    Great view!!! Unique place to stay. Definitely memorable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Matera is a beautiful place to enjoy especially when the other tourist have gone home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a tea/coffee station.

    Enjoyed our two night stay. Hotel perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location and room and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was completely broken. I had to sleep in the middle of it so I didn’t fall through.

    Great location and room and view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    brakfast

    place, personal, cafe

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    magic place , i suggest at all people , wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    magic place , i suggest at all people , wonderful !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    5.4
    La location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    arredamento datato

    La location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a hassle

    Large room. Beautiful view. Right in the middle of the Sasai

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Thanks to Cavoso for a very comfortable stay. We would recomend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very basic.

    We Loved the views from our room and the cleanliness of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Novel staying in an old cave. Really helpful staff. Wonderful for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideally situated in the heart of the World Heritage site. Room was in one of the old caves and superbly renovated. Great place for a short visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    2.9
    Basically the location - that is about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner and staff were extremely rude - Not helpful, terrible breakfast. Rooms had mold in the showers -

    Basically the location - that is about it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Location
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    A perfect location for exploring the Sassi of Matera. Stay 2 nights for a full experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. Location. Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but there were mainly sweets. the choice of cheese and cured meat could be widened

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Everything outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything outstanding! Francesco & staff super friendly & accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    A night in a cave
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Cave
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it's a cave it's a little humid and the AC doesn't really keep up.

    Uniqueness, it's a cave. Pretty cool

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Caveoso Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: