Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Centauro Hotel 3 stars

San Marco, Campo Manin 4297/a, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#196 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2040 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.5
    I would go there again, and recommend friends to do the same.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to complain about.

    This is a delightful family-run small hotel right in the heart of Venice. Travelling by myself, I had a very comfortable single room with a well-equipped bathroom, and breakfast (the only meal provided) was a splendid buffet served in a gracious room overlooking one of the canals. There were trattoria and restaurants everywhere, so food was no problem. I went out to a concert one evening, operatic arias and the singers were all in eighteenth-century dress. Venice is one big theatre, and totally amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel.helpful staff. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger bathroom and shower.

    Very nice hotel,with comfortable rooms and helpful staff. Small bathroom. Good breakfast. Conveniently located. Easy to walk about and explore Venice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    A very good location near historic sites, water taxis, supermarket and Gondolas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to find due to a very small sign on side of building and small alleyway entrance even though specific directions are given on website and using google map. Look for a black winged lion statue in plaza as a landmark. No elevator A very small t.v for size of room. Hard to see from the bed. No view from window except other building - (did not request one when booked) Older building (16th century) and can hear water discharged from room above in the wall in bedroom rather bathroom

    A very good location between Rialto bridge and St. Mark's Square- a 5 min walk either way, small supermarket near Easy check in/out Room as described on website - very nice decor air conditioned room with plenty of space Hotel staff efficient in resolving non-functioning air conditioner - ( blown fuse ) Breakfast staff friendly Close to Gondola departure point

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Quirky hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware if you have mobility issues that there are many steps and they have a definite slope. (Typical Venitian) Gentleman at front counter carried my bag. Hairdryer just a hose on wall with hot air. Does not style. At checkout I was told that they have one at counter if you ask. I don't like to complain so didn't mention until I was leaving. Curtains do not shut properly and light woke me at 4.30am. Again at checkout I was told there were shutters. Never saw them. This could be written in compendium in room or explained on checkin. Decor bit tired, holes in light fittings etc. Terrace need good clean. Wifi iffy in room but worked in hallway.

    Room with terrace. (3rd floor.) Very pretty but tiny room with very good sized bathroom. Comfy bed. Air con. Clean. GREAT location. 5 min from Rialto bus station and St Marks Square. Quiet area. Sitting room at end of hall.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Good location and breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not working properly. There is no elevator, but this can be obvious due to the location. It is a 18th century building so elevator could not be considered a must.

    Perfect location near to Rialto bridge. The breakfast was really good, diverse types of cheese, ham, fruit juice, coffee, cereals, fruit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did find any problems at all.

    This is a great hotel. It is clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful. The best thing about the hotel is it’s location. It is literally a five minute walk to the Rialto bridge and a ten minute walk to the San Marco square. It is literally in the heart of Venice. The other neat thing about it, it is it is located right on one of the main canals so if you are lucky enough to get a room with a balcony facing the canal as we were, you can watch the gondolas go by with the other tourists. Sometime the gondoliers sing. It’s great. You can’t get more immersed in Venice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    perfect location,room small but spotless and breakfast lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE STAIRS are hard work but its worth it for location.Maybe try not to stay on 3rd floor.....last few steps were the killer!!! !...maybe a bigger sign on the square or back of building as we got a fright when google maps said we were there and we were looking into a locked up building!!!

    IT IS right in the middle of everything,perfect location. perfect for seeing Venice in a couple of days.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Great central location, basic but clean accommodation, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was on the top floor, near the roof, and had to climb a steep staircase to get my room every day. I knew there was no lift, but didn't realise I'd be right up in the gods! No-one to help carry luggage either, unfortunately. Suggest you request a room on a lower floor, if you can.

    The location was excellent - close to St Mark's Square, everywhere was easy to walk to. The room was air conditioned, which I could control, and so I was able to sleep at night. The fridge in my room was handy for chilling bottled water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    Good location hotel in an amazing city room could have been better .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was on the 3rd floor of a very steep staircase and the view from the window in room 30 was of an air conditioning unit

    The location was good as central to all places we visited

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is strategically located near Rialto bridge which is the center of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The bathroom is extremely tiny, the shower is so tiny in which I (5"10) could not even bend over and pick up a soap. - The furnitures are dated. - No air conditioning, the air conditioning was broken. - No elevator so carrying luggages to the room is very challenging. - Breakfast is just OK

    Hotel cleanliness, convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.2
    Good location... but not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are way too small. Both the bathroom and the bedroom are so small that you can barely move around. If you bring any luggage, you wouldn't be able to move at all. The shower is so small that you can barely shower and there is no room to even put the soap. There was a wall in front of the window, that gave it a "jail" like feeling.

    The location and the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect. Everything is very close and way to walk to. The room, the staff and everything was just what I was looking for. I wanted to immerse ourselves in Venice and we did just that. Would come and stay again anytime and would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Perfect Location for your stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff and in excellent location just few mins walk to Rialto Bridge waterbus stop. Station is just 5 min away. Large supermarket few min walk. You will not be disappointed with Centauro. Gondolas pass by hotel gable. Beautiful en suite room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    This hotel met my needs for my short 1 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was tiny.

    The staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The location was a bit hard to find but still very central. It was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place. Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was actually two singles that move apart during the night. I was expecting a letter but it was not brought to my attention until checkout the next day which was too late.

    Quiet hotel in great location. Gorgeous Venetian decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    Proximity to the Canal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom shower was terrible. Shower door was broke and they hung a curtain between the two. Water would get all over the floor of a very small bathroom. Mgt put us through hell before they allowed us to get out of last two nights.

    Proximity to the Canal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Like a dream
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a really good hotel, the staff is very friendly and willing to help at any time. They even let us leave our luggage a few hours after check out. I recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    3.8
    Staff is unfriendly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.. . Myself an arthritis patient had to climb 3rd floor with suitcases. Nobody to help when I checked in at midnight.. No room service.. If you looking for comfort then this is not the right hotel.

    Only the terrace

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel at the heart of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet in the room was extremely poor. I dont know what was the reason for this, because the signal itself was good enough (we suffered from the same problem on several different devices, so it wasn't a device configuration problem neither). On the other hand, when we were at the reception hall or eating our breakfest in the dining room, the intetnet was just fine.

    Very nice hotel. Location: Found almost at the center of the old town. Very close to the Rialto bridge, from/to which you can take a ferry to the railway station or the airport. Stuff: Very friendly stuff. The reception works 24 hours a day. We were allowed to leave our luggage after the check-out, so we enjoyed extra half a day in venice. Cleaning: The cleaning was done on a daily basis. The room was very clean when we entered it, especially the facilities in the bathroom. Breakfast: Pretty reach European breakfast was served. One could find there everything he prefer (flakes & milk, granola, yogurt, pancake, few sort s of cheeses and salami, bread & butter, some fruits, and of course hot tea & coffee). The room itself: Very big room with lovely venecian design. It has a very high ceiling. Despite the "old" design, the bathroom facilities were pretty new. There is a safe locker in the room, which was a huge bonus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unexpected local tax which was not advertised or advised of when booking with Booking.com only payable on cash. Payiung this used a great deal of our cash currency on arrival.

    Full of character typically Venetian. Charming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    2.5
    Horrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no elevator and the entire building felt like it was falling. We had to walk up 6 flights of stairs with huge lugggages and not one person offered to help. The staff also kept bickering in front of us. It was awkward to say the least. The bathroom was even worse TINY!!! Every time we left the room we wer required to turn in our hotel keys which was even more odd to us. No air conditioning.. we brought drinks so we asked for ice, and to our surprise they’re hotel doesn’t have ice.. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Literally not one thing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, friendly staff, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location in heart of Venice, 5 min walk from Rialto Bridge and 8-10 min walk from San Marko Square. Friendly staff. From Airport take the shared boat taxi service (runs every few minutes) to Rialto Stop and then walk 5-7 min to the hotel. Spacious room. There is a Kebab and Pizza place 1 min from the hotel and it is open late (at least till 2am).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    We had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea making facilities in your room.( But on reflection there was non stated when booking)

    There was nothing to fault with this hotel.All staff were very helpful & informative. Linen changed daily on our 3 night stay. There was a mini fridge provided in the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Great old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue we experienced was when they found out our son had decided to join us (he is attending school in Germany) as a third person. They had a fit. We were fine fitting the three of us in the room we reserved, but they were quite upset that we didn’t call ahead of time and completely re-arrange our reservation. Finally, they insisted on billing us a huge up-charge for the additional person. I thought the entire episode was unnecessary.

    The hotel was nice and had plenty of old world charm. Breakfast was wonderful. Just a short walk from the Rialto boat station. Plenty to see and do, obviously.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    Quiet convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet in our room was placed very tightly in the corner of the bathroom. Some people might find it too tight.

    Loved the breakfast and freshly cut fruit every morning. Coffee was nice too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Recommended !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Less rooms with Balcony and hotel is located at the corner of small street.

    Right in the middle 3 - 5 minutes walk to San Marco Couple of minutes walk from shops Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed ourselves no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was on the third floor and no elevator. Sometimes there seemed like a lot of stairs. But my wife and I are not young! The room & shower room were not large.

    The hotel was close to the Rialto Bridge for the boat journey to & from the airport and also to St Marks Square etc. Breakfast was good - cold continental buffet not Cooked breakfast. The room & bathroom were very clean. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.9
    Venice is an amazing place helped by a comfortable stay and an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    That there was no tea and coffee facilities in the hotel during the day which would have been nice. The hotel was quite difficult to find late evening. There was a lot of banging about one night that kept us awake. The female member of staff on reception needs to learn how to smile, a lesson in customer service or get a different job!

    The location was exceptional. The breakfast was very good it was very warm in the room and hotel as it was cold while we were there. The room was always cleaned with fresh towels every day. The hotel was good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location, great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was almost nonexistent!

    Great location, great price. The staff was very helpful. Except one blond girl. She was more into studying than saying hello.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Well maintained and clean hotel. Good for Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was old and the room and toilet were small. It was very difficult for my me and my wife to locate the hotel after every outing.

    The hotel was clean and well maintained. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was close to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location. Hotel meets most needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got soaked as Venice was flooded at high tide and there was no laundry option to clean our soaked and mucky clothing. But not an overly big deal if you have enough spare clothing and footwear I suppose.

    Great location, about five minutes from the Rialto water bus stop. . Good value for money. Reception staff were reasonably friendly. Breakfast was very good; fresh fruit, cold meats yoghurt, boiled eggs all as a buffet option. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    We had a great time in your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first it was hard to find. We passed it the first time because the entree is in a little lane but it was as well our fault because we had no map. We found it only by chance. The shower wasn’t that big. It was absolutely no problem for us, but I can imagine that bigger people could have problems. There is no lift, so we had to climb stairs until the 3th floor but the stairs are lovely decorated.

    We had a great time in your hotel. The personnel was very friendly and obligingly. The room was not that big but beautiful and clean. We totally loved the breakfast room. The room is cute furnished and we liked the view. The location is perfect. Only a few steps from the famos Rialto bridge and as well close to the shopping street. Also the San Marco place is close, so that you can reach it by foot. All in all the hotel is lovely and we would recommend it. Thank you for our great stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Everything was fine. On my next visit to Venice, I will stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Small pretty hotel in the old house, center of Venice. Staff is so frendly! Good breacfast. Historical interior - walls covered with fabric. To Rialto - 3 minutes, to San-Marko - 10 minutes. Magnificent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    The members of staff are very helpful and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The members of staff are very helpful and professional. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return next year. The dining room is very elegant and the breakfast choices are varied. This hotel is in an excellent location close to the Rialto Bridge and the market. There are some very good restaurants close by the market It is a very short walk from the hotel to St Marks Square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Location was excellent, room was very clean
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi connection was very poor, no tea/coffee making facilities in room, hair dryer was very awkward to use

    Location was excellent, room was very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    The location and the size of the room are great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    unfortunately, there was no brown spelt bread or fresh vegetables like tomatoes etc. At the breakfast buffet.

    The location and the size of the room are great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Pleasent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed on 3rd floor and as the buildings are old if it is someone with joint and back problems then it would be difficult. There was no kettle in the room, however they put it to wooden building and safety issues.

    Room was clean and so were the bathrooms. Mattress was comfortable. Breakfast was good and there was a wide choice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff and perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, we would recommend!

    There were plenty of spaces for us to help ourselves to a table in the breakfast room, and the food wasn't short when ever we helped ourselves. Plenty of rolls, hard boiled eggs, fruit juice, milk, cereal & coffee.. not to mention sweet treats! The location was perfect for us, leaving our key at the desk was fine and the doors were open 24/7. it was great that we could leave our suitcases there also as we had an evening flight. The hotel is down a little side alley/road but we found it very easily with Google maps.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Simone is a great host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simone is a great host. Very polite and intelligent. The room had a fabulous view on the hills. There was also a small private sauna inside the room. I really like it :) The stay was perfect, I highly recommend this B&B

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice original Venice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we stayed in February the weather was cold outside but our hotel room was very cold and did not warm us up at all , it felt really cold all night in bed, no way of additionally warming the room

    Location was great,breakfast choices brilliant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was on the attic, very conjusted, bathroom extremely small, hardly one person can stand. No porter available to carry our luggage to the room on third floor.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Easy and delightful.Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Quaint and easy. Fun location off main streets of St Marks's Square. Breakfast: absolutely fantastic in the most beautiful breakfast room ever! Staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. This is a "come back to" for sure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which could be improved: it would be more convenient if the breakfast started a bit earlier, at 7:00 or 7:30, not at 8:00. But that was a minor inconvenience. All the rest was above all our expectations.

    Wonderful hotel, great value for money. The location is marvelous: 5 minutes walk from the Rialto, 7 minutes from San Marko Square. We had a very nice room with a small, but great bathroom. We visited Venice in February, but in the room it was quiet warm, thanks to good heating system. Breakfasts are simple, but nice and tasty: ham, cheese, bread, jam, honey, boiled eggs, cereals with milk (including rice and soya milk), fruit, juice and very good coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    It was a very good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very good stay. It’s central location was the best. Good rooms and a great breakfast, maybe add some veggies to the table and it would be excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    We have been in this hotel for the carnival weekend and for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower small and needs some upgrade.

    We have been in this hotel for the carnival weekend and for the price we paid we were extremly satisfied. At first we couldnt find the hotel as the GPS rarly works in Venice. One tip is to ask for Piazza Manin, once you arrive there the hotel is in one of the side streets. Just 5 mins away from San Marco and very close to rialto. So every time you are lost ask for these 2 places then for Manin and you are safe :) The staff were very helpful and they also let us use their umbrella since it was raining for the whole weekend. The breakfast was amazing (especially for a hotel in italy which they usually serve very poor breakfast) and the view from this room is spectacular. One drawback is that the shower is extremly small, we had no particular issue with this but for a person which is of a big size they may find problems to fit in. If we were to return to beautiful venice we will for sure use this hotel again. Thanks and keep up the good work.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was comfortable, in a very good location and reasonable value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately, the hotel does not have a lift and our room was on the third floor, which was especially difficult with luggage. It would have been useful to have tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    The location of the hotel was excellent, within walking distance of St Marks square and the Academia. The breakfast was also great, especially the pancakes and a variety of cakes! We were fortunate to be upgraded to a room with a canal view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Good value for a city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea and coffee facility would have been a welcome addition. The only really bad thing was that the temperature of the water in the shower was very difficult to control and if adjusted even the slightest bit wrong SCALDING water was the result

    Room was expertly cleaned and serviced. Great view of the canal three floors below. Location great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    Small room perfect 4 those on budget who just need a bed. Big breakfast. Peaceful location.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet in the room was slow and kept cutting out but it's fine for casual use, but not great if you need to do any work/business away from home. The room very tiny with a view of a brick wall which is I guess what you get for the lower price so not a big deal but the the room being so tiny was a bit claustrophobic for the two of us. We had to move out of the way for the other one to walk past the bed to get to the toilet haha. Shower/bathroom was very tiny so not great for larger or taller people. I am only 5'4 and 58kg and I struggled a bit with it. Not a room I would want to be in for much more than sleeping. Bedding was a bit weird. Under the thin bed cover cover just two woollen blankets and a sheet that kept falling down so we had to rearrange it to be more comfortable. I'm used to one thicker bed cover, so just what you're used to I guess. There was no fresh fruit as shown in their promotional photos such as bananas and apples but there was a bowl of fruit salad. Not sure how fresh it was but better than nothing. Lots of very sweet pastries and pancakes so that's nice if you're into that. The woman in the breakfast room didn't look so happy to be there which was quite different to the other hotel staff but no big deal either. She just let you do your thing.

    The blonde woman at the front desk was thorough and helpful and the cleaning staff were polite. The location was peaceful, very quiet and easy to find and there was a big breakfast offered including rice/soy milk for people not eating dairy. It was great to have a fridge in the room to store food/drinks. Was also very good to be able to leave the bags after check out so we could walk around. Overall, a good price for those who will be out most of the time and just need a bed to sleep in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.0
    The location of this hotel is really good, close to Plaza...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is located on a convenient are between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco square. Its a shame that there is no bags service to the room and the stairs are uneven. There is also no elevator like in a lot of the old buildings that are now hotels in the city. Now the room was small but cute and clean, but the bathroom was another story. The shower doors are broken, and instead of fixing them or putting us in a different room they just put half a shower curtain tied with zip tie and the bathroom mirror was also broken. The customer service is not as good as in other hotels that we stayed during the trip... for example they never gave us the wifi code and when we call and asked for it they tell us we had to go all the way to the first floor to get it... They did not provided good information about the city either

    The location of this hotel is really good, close to Plaza San Marco and to the Rialto bridge.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small problem was no ironing facility for clothes. Like I say small problem but just for future visitors to either bring an iron or be aware of it.

    Location was brilliant and staff we’re fantastic. Very helpful and seemed to be located in the centre of everything but never caught in noise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.0
    Location and breakfast are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely small room and bathroom, difficult to move around and furnishings are old.

    Breakfast is good, furnishings are old and room is very small especially the bathroom. In general, staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was fantastic, The room was very plush and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was kept clean and tidy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely 2 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing . Stairs might be a bit difficult for some people as there are no lifts .

    Hotel had a lot of character and room was lovely . Excellent shower with good water pressure. Staff friendly and helpful . Close to good restaurants and easy walk to all attractions , yet was still in a pleasantly quiet location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    It is a classic theme room hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a classic theme room hotel. Clean, comfort, but lil bit too far from pier, need lil hard to bring your luggage from pier to the hotel which is many stairs also.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Good location. The internet is so poor. No elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have elevator. My room was in 3rd flor so it was hard to climb up with heavy luggages. But i think it is common for hotel in the central of venice One thing was so bad that is the internet didnt work in my room. I had to go to lobby to connect to.

    Good location, friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is cozy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.0
    An inadequate hotel without any double beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are major problems with this hotel. 1. It does not have any rooms with double beds, at least that is what I was told by the staff. I booked a room with a double bed, and this was confirmed in the booking as "1 large double bed". The bed in my room was composed of two single beds pushed together. They were of slightly different heights and moved apart when I sat or laid down on them. I complained to the desk staff who told me there were no double beds in the hotel, that double beds are not popular in Italy, and that anyway I was travelling alone so didn't need a double bed. All ridiculous things to say, and when I protested the staff pretended not to understand. It was like a scene from Fawlty Towers. This is a serious issue: I was mis-sold a room at this hotel; I would not have booked it had I known double beds were not available there. 2. The room was cold. The heating failed on my second night. Although it was fixed the following day, I spent a night shivering on a single bed hoping not to fall off it. Needless to say, I didn't sleep well. 3. Some of the staff were brusque and unhelpful, particularly the breakfast room staff who basically ignored the guests. Fresh coffee was not offered, although there was an espresso machine behind a screen. When I went to ask for coffee I was greeted with a frosty look and a dismissive comment (in Italian) and made to feel unwelcome. Altogether, not a pleasant experience. I certainly will not stay there again and I recommend you avoid this hotel if you want to sleep well, have a pleasant breakfast and be treated with politeness and respect.

    The hotel is centrally located, near the major sights and a vaporetto stop. Adequate breakfast (food not coffee). Clean room and mostly quiet and comfortable - except for the bed and heating*see above.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Excellent location with comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wifi was poor as we were located at 3rd floor.

    Excellent location with comfortable room. Very clean and helpful staff. Fabulous breakfast with plenty of variety.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.1
    Room was large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find. Floor above toilet & shower drain went through our room - rather noisy and not pleasant.

    Room was large. Shower was hot. Breakfast was edible.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was very small and tunnel-like, window overlooking a grey wall (no flowers, nothing to soften this negative impact), smell in hotel

    location, dining room + views from its balcony + very tasty breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    2.5
    no good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have the highest floor (3-4 floors) ,be careful if you are old or have heavy bags. We have got the room that have no view and tiny bathroom , carrying bags upstairs was a pain. Price is 180/night not worth it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.8
    conveniënt location but only a place to have a bed. Not spend any minute more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price was good for the centre of Venice so therefore maybe you could not expect too much. But the room was really very, very small and although all looked clean yet it all seemed a bit run down.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Quite good Value for money in Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no lift and the stairs to the 4th floor would be tough for older people. Wifi in room 1 doesn't work very well, works well on the 4th floor

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    A very clean and comfortable hotel in a good part of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no lift in the hotel.

    We liked the bathroom and the size of the room. The hotel was quite central and easy to get to all the attractions we wanted to see.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location, needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very rundown, head board and walls very stained and dirty looking. Shower very awkward to get into. Overall hotel needs a major renovation. If you have lots of bags, beware there is no elevator.

    Location, nice staff, decent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Old World Venice Charm....with modern conveniences....clean and welcoming!!! Loved It!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked everything...

    Great location in the San Marco Area of Venezia!! Very clean with character and atmosphere of Old Venezia! Good buffet breakfast with hot food offered. We will definitely tell friends and family to book here, and we will definitely stay at Hotel Centauro next time we visit!! Thanks everyone at Centauro for making our Venice trip so memorable!! Roberto & Erin, Canada

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    The roomwas comfortable, clean, quiet, and a short walk to everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little dark and we had trouble finding it.

    The room was comfortable and close to everything. We were close to the canal, but in spite of all the activity, the room was very quiet. Desk clerk was helpful when we wanted recommendations on how to catch the train early in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location, friendly staff....but mosquitos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was covered with mosquitos. I got at least 20 bug bits on my arms and face, anythingthat was exposed at night. I saw mosquitos on the walls and killed one on my bed. It really put a damper on the trip as I was very uncomfortable through out the day with itchiness.

    The staff was extremely friendly! Great location to everything! These were the most comfortable beds we stayed in during our Italy trip!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    It was a cute place and good locripn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could use some revamping but redoing Anything in Venice is pricy! Nice buffet breakfastandnear tester taxi. We had asked roI check around 1pm and booking.com requested that and hotel said it was fine, But when we got the at 1 they DIA not Until 2... but it was ok...stored our luggage .

    The staff was very friendly and helpful it was tucked away on quiet side Street but right on a smaaa canal...ask for a canal view! Nice lunens. Good Size room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Okay place to stay. Had both positive and negative aspects to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult climb up 4 flights of stairs every time we left the hotel. I didn't appreciate receptionist doing an eye roll when I enquired about the weather report for the day. Quite difficult finding the hotel.

    The Murano chandelier in our room. Listening to the gondolier singing below our window. Very nice breakfast in the morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift so tricky with cases - but what else would you expect from a beautiful old building?

    Excellent location and the hotel arranged a porter for our cases to be taken to the water taxi for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.4
    We had an excellent stay in Venice but would be looking for different accommodation if we return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift so you need to carry your luggage up the stairs, there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, the walls are very thin so it is hard to sleep if those in the next room are talking. Also they say the reception is open 24 hours but when we checked out early in the morning there was no-one there

    The location is fantastic and the breakfast provided was excellent with fresh fruit, pastries and a selection of cheese and meat and eggs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Well situated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tes or coffee making facilities in room, no elevator, which we knew about but became tiresome after a couple of days

    Nice breakfasts, good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.1
    Adequate Hotel for Venice - which is always expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Private Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator. Air conditioning was adequate but it was not really hot during our stay. We were on the "3rd" floor which was actually like US 4.5 floor. Lots of steps with baggage.

    Breakfast was excellent. Location was adequate but hidden. Very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Our stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Very close to Rialto boat station and no bridges to climb over with luggage. Close to San Marco as well 10 mins walk. Staff were very helpful and luggage storage is available as well. Free breakfast was available and had variety.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to the hotel - it can be difficult to find since it is down an alley. There is a small sign up high to show You where to turn down.

    Breakfast was very good. Room was on the 3rd floor and lovely- Walk is Actually 6 flights of stairs for 3rd floor. We were asked If we Wanted first floor but didn't realize 3rd floor involves So many stairs. Very charming place Regardless And had very helpful porter to help with luggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Centauro Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: