Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Centrale Europa 2 stars

Via Vittorio Emanuele Ii° N° 167, 95124 Catania, Italy

#31 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 724 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is at the main square where live music bands and tourists are there 24/7. So it’s really loud, I wouldn’t recommend this place to people that travel with kids, if you want to have a good sleep. The room is small, and smells detergent all over.

    It’s next to the fish market and right at the heart of downtown Catania. Location is the best, can’t beat it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite noisy because of all the excitement going on in the piazza, but I had earplugs with me.

    The room and everything in it were excellent, the staff were also very helpful and friendly. Breakfast at the cafe nearby was also very decent (choice of 1 drink and 1 pastry).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite old and could be renovated. No lift. The design is not my style but I got used to it after a while.

    The staff were very nice, and the location absolutely central, with the view of Piazza Duomo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel reception staff were all great, and one in particular who was there in daytime was wonderful. He was very helpful and friendly and went out of his way to accomodate. Location and views over the Duomo couldn't be better! I would definitely recommend others to stay here and am looking forward to returning again soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel could do with a little sprucing up but still good value for what it offered.

    Good size rooms. Excellent location right opposite the cathedral on the main square in the centre of Catania within easy reach of tourist sites, shops, restaurants etc. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator, or assistance with luggage, so travel light or do your weight training in advance. There is no food or coffee service in the hotel, but the bars in the piazza are open from very early in the morning, if you are in need of a coffee and pastry before an early flight.

    The room was large and comfortable, the wifi worked well, the shower took a while to heat up was fine eventually. The best feature by far was the balcony overlooking the duomo and piazza, just like the photos. The location was great!.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise, extreme noise: music until early morning, garbage trucks around 4 am... bring your earplugs if you want to sleep. Otherwise it was OK for us. We managed to sleep 2 nights out of the 4 :)

    Perfect location (which you pay for by dealing with the noise during the nights...), nice view from balcony. The breakfast was served in a bar nearby where you could choose from a few bakery products and coffee while enjoying the vibes of Piazza Duomo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things didn’t work eg sometimes had to give the toilet a bang to get the cistern to refill

    Location great but very noisy until 3 am on the Saturday night as my room faced Piazza Duomo. View fantastic. Large room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parkıng you can use street for parkıng .

    if you want to stay in catania heart there is your place .old but okey ...open your window and see cathadral....closer to every poınt ın cıty .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise. The price we need to pay for the location .

    Good breakfast. Location is absolutely amazing. Clean and daily cleaning. Good room and bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small hotel so had to get included breakfast at nearby cafe. Noisy if windows open.

    Marvellous location overlooking main square. Ideal for catching tourist buses, near information offices. Good soundproofing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was disappointing about it. Great location and very comfortable room with a balcony.

    Location was right opposite the magnificent Cathedral. Only stayed there for a night to catch a flight out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to park in public car park, e13 per day. Apparently we could have booked private car park.

    Location was superb. Enjoyed breakfast in street Cafe

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff does not speak english very good and our room was with a view to the emergency staircase and had bad smell when someone was cooking.

    The best location you can get in Catania.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy area. The balcony door absolutely lacking any sound proof system. Could not sleep well any night because of that.

    Excelent central position. Very friendly and helpfull staff (thank You, Simone)! Nice decorated room. New bathroom amenities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for a quiet room with a balcony and got the room with big window overseeing the inside of the building. The noise from the restaurant on the first floor was till 3 am of the morning!!! impossible to sleep! moreover, the men at the reception that stays there during the day was absolutely arrogant and impolite. Will never go back!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like everything.

    The room looks like old Italian movies. A little bit dark, but with small balcony. The bed is comfortable, fresh towels every day. Breakfast coffe and croisant in the near by cafeteria, you can sit by the table with a beatiful view to the Piazza Duomo.It is possible to leave luggage for some hours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, all OK.

    The young man on reception was exceptionally helpful, especially as regards public transport details, very important for us. The location is right in the middle of Catania and our room overlooked the Piazza del Duomo, where a lot of people congregate. Despite this, with windows and shutters closed, the room was very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like that there was actually no wifi. I understand these things happen sometimes but as I really needed internet, for me they should have fixed it right away. Would have appreciated if there would have been at least hand soap.

    The hotel had a great location - next to the Duomo. The hotel worker was helpful and because their internet did not work, they offered me to pay the next day. Also helped me carry my suitcase up the stairs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was just a croissant and coffee not even a toast was available. The bathrooms needs refurbishing and also some cracks in the wall plaster.

    The hotel has a good location very central

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 18. Airconditon very noisy, can't heat the room, big stein on the bathroom wall, very old and "tired". But after all it is 2* hotel. Mayby much convinient for summer. 😎

    Location, location, location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little tired

    Best position but a little tired. Great value and as we were just in town for one night and catching a very early flight it suited us perfectly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at the hotel for two nights. If you aim for luxury, this is not the place. Although the room was spacious with two balconies (I had booked a double room), everything looks rather old,dark and run down (specially, the shower). The beds were pretty bad, more likely to be found in a hostel. They are unstable and squeak if you move. WiFi is awful too and breakfast is everything they say in previous reviews: some coffee and a croissant. The location, facing the main square of the city is it's main strength. Also, during my stay they were doing some fixing in the building so there was some annoying noice due to that. But, as the price is relatively low, I can put up with all that. However, there was an old man at the reception (white hair, there were others though who weren't that rude) who behaved impolitely constantly. Also, when he "welcomes" you he doesn't give you important information you're likely to be given when arrived at a hotel (WiFi password, breakfast time, etc.) He just gives you the key with unpleasant and unsmiling face (and don't even hope he speaks other language than Italian, getting upset when you make any attempt to communicate in English). He didn't even give me the remote control of the air conditioner! Therefore, I thought it didn't work and felt cold the first night. And I've also seen him treat Italian-speaker locals like that, so it's not specifically against foreigners, it's against anyone.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfest out of property and not keeping prescribed menu.

    Right in the centre. Good "old fashioned" hotel with windows to main square. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Young scruffbag on reception. T-shirt and torn jeans doesn't represent this place well. No lift, although I did see the aforementioned lugging somebody's heavy case up 3 flights of stairs for them.

    The view of the piazza, if you have a front room, which I believe most are. The room decor is nice, and should you have an issue with outside noise, the double-double glazing will surely solve it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift,bathroom very small.Breakfast is served a round corner waste of time waited 30 the minute for coffee and a croissant,voucher said two choices, only got one.

    Good location, nice big room, balcony stay in Room 20.very Clean.ask for a kettle and two cups was no a problem Excellent staff,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The best location in Catania! no elevater , but staff was ready to help, breakfast- italian- in wonderfull bar around the coner, excelent coffe+ local sweet of Your choise. Bed in the singl room was little bit small (but that could be the standart).Simone is very helpful and very well informed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find. Breakfast very good but @ a nearby cafe who's staff were not helpful & did not explain breakfast options to us & made us feel uncomfortable

    Extremely helpful & pleasant staff who helped us to find parking. Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom was bit old but clean so we didn't mind

    we arrived in the middle of the night so it was great to have a 24hrs opened reception. Our room was big and nicely furnished with an amazing view to Piazza Duomo! We totally loved the view and the location! Very nice receptionist, there was no lift but he helped us with our luggage. We will defenitely stay here next time in Catania!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a group of friends sharing a quadruple room and especially liked the location and the friendly, accommodating staff. We had a super room with a great view of the main square. Although the balcony overlooked a very busy area, the door and shutters made it soundproof so you could get a good nights sleep on very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff gave me incorrect instructions on the wifi password. They had the password printed out but they told me to add an extra zero. (why then did they not have printouts of the correct password). Also adding the extra zero only worked in the lobby. I tried without the extra zero in my room and it worked. I CANNOT have been the first guest with this issue. In this respect the staff was not helpful.

    Location was the best thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a misunderstood with the petition for our room the first day, so we had to stay in a room we did not ask and paid for (highest floor tiny window), we were redirected to a proper room the next day. The staff still did their best to help us.

    Outstanding views from any room, the attention to the customer was fantastic. Very well equipped, rooms well decorated, air conditioning, wonderful balconies, SUPERB location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is an old world charm to this hotel, but a makeover, particularly the bathroom, is in order. If you are larger than normal person, the shower could be a problem; very small and old.

    Location, location, location. If you want to stay in the heart of Catania, Hotel Centrale Europa is it! Although if is quite an old hotel, the staff keeps it very clean. We chose a room overlooking the Piazza Domo (room #16) which was enjoyable to open the door and step out onto the Juliette balcony. If your choose to include breakfast in your reservation, vouchers are issued to the passticeria down on the piazza for coffee and pastry. You are also steps away from the La Pesheria, the fish market. Though not about this hotel, the traveler must consume as many "granita" (Limone and mondorla my favorites!) as one can stand, along with delicious brioche! Both found in the eateries in the Piazza Duomo below the hotel. I would definitely stay Hotel Centrale Europa again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This was a Cool Old Hotel with a Fantastic Location and Great Value for the Money, it just couldn't be beat. I paid just 51 Euro and had a huge room with a Balcony overlooking the main Piazza of Catania : Piazza del Duomo .. Staff was great, friendly and very accomadating. I HIGHLY RECCOMEND staying here, reat location in the heart of Catania Historic district, and great Value for money, it's a WINNER. Thanks Guys !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Large room with simple but clean bathroom, super quiet, super clean and vintage,fantastic location,great price and friendly staff.All of this right in the Duomo Square,near everything. And the breakfast,what can i say about the breakfast...who guive you a ticket to take breakfast in a coffee shop just in the Duomo square,with an amazing view,and with croissants and capuccino?!Amazing!I couldn't believe!So nice this detail!Thank you for running a place with so nice atmosphere!Couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom equipment kind of old. The little carpet on the room is not necessary.

    The room has an antique like furnitures, which is lovely. Comfortable bed. Just at the center of the city. Great location Towels, bed sheets were clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was OK, not top notch, but serviceable.

    Perfect location, beautiful view from the windows of an old hotel on the main square with a cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very easy to find a parking place nearby.

    Big and confortable room for a good price, with excellent view and the best location in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I cannot imagine that anything could have been better except perhaps the installation of a lift. But this is structurally impossible and the view of the beautiful Piazza del Elefante we had from the room balcony amply compensates for this.

    The croissants were good and the bed was always clean and comfortable. The staff was extraordinarily friendly helpful and informative. We enjoyed our stay in this classic and central hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I speak Italian so it was ok but if you didn't speak Italian it might be a bit hard to communicate with some of the staff

    View was abasolutely fantastic!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor and staff weren't overly friendly or interactive. Also there were a lot of stairs to get to our room and we were not offered help to get our luggage to our room.

    Location was great very central, lovely views of the square. For the price we were able to have a comfortable enough sleep and be within walking distance of shops/restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door didn't shut. Couldn't find the fridge. Had heaps of TV channels but none in English. No glasses for drink or coffee making facilities. Staff were helpful what they could explain. Felt safe and rooms cleaned daily.

    No breakfast didn't know much about it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place has got no lift; but at least we succeeded in getting a room at first floor level, with (only) 24 steps to ascend!

    Everything that was promised in booking was in fact given. Room was good and clean; view from balcony was superlative. Staff was helpful. would highly recommend!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't really fault anything, for the money it is exceptional value.

    Hotel is right on the main square but is still quiet inside. the staff were great, helpful and diligent. Breakfast is served at the cafe round the corner so we were sitting in the square drinking fresh orange and biting into delicious pastries. The architecture around the square is amazing and almost all of the 'sites' are very close by. Would highly recommend this hotel, great value for money...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know why we couldn't have at least a glass of water there and for every thing which were connected to eating we had to go out and spend a lot of money

    The location was awesome and we could reach every where that we wanted.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Three of the bulb lights did not work or were missing. I had to change them. One of the lamps did not have a plug on the wall, just decoration. The curtains were missing. Being in a first floor looking the piazza was not so good.

    Location was great, view to the main piazza

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    tobacco smell permeating the blankets and bedding.Drain like odour in one of the corridors.

    welcoming staff. Enjoyed breakfast in the Duomo square.Taxi rank for airport at the door.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    Very friendly and professional welcome. Ideal location and parking. Very clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Waling distance from old city center and beach.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is a little gem in the heart of the old city. On the day of our check in we were greeted by Simone, the desk clerk and he was very helpful in choosing our room. He was also very helpful and patient throughout the week with our questions. I highly recommend this hotel !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    According to info on Booking, it said check in was anytime after 12:30pm (without using Genius benefit, which would've been even earlier) and we showed up shortly after 1:00pm. Room was not ready until after 2:00pm. So this is typical of Italy (we live here), and I would recommend not showing up before 2pm or calling ahead. Then the next morning we were reminded to be out by 11am (which is the listed checkout time), so just something to think about. Overall, it was fine for a one night stay for us.

    The best thing about this place is location, it is located in Elephant Square facing the duomo. Gorgeous view. We stayed for New Year's Eve and enjoyed the free concert in the square from our room. Hotel staff was kind and helpful, assisted us with overnight parking (15 euro). Room was fine, just dated. Wifi worked well. Breakfast was in Cafe(Bar) around the corner facing the duomo.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Washroom had issues, the sink had plumbing problem the toilet seat was cracked. We stayed in winter so the room was chilled even with heating on. The bar serving breakfast was not giving us the breakfast advertised in room

    Very nice staff, clean and perfect location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The older man of the breakfast facility , next to the hotel, was unpleasant and didn't serve the promised breakfast. ( it seemed not the first time). Problem was solved by intervention of Simone of the hotel.

    The staff, especially in person of Simone, was outstanding! He was extremely helpfull, informative and willing to solve problems immediatly! Beautifull old hotel in the center of Catania.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, but staff will help you with bags Cleanliness wasn't great. Pillowcase and towel had stains, shower very old and drain had green stuff on it. I booked a room with a king bed and also requested a view of the square. They didn't tell me I couldn't have both requests until I got there. So I ended up in a twin room with a view. This was fine though I guess.

    Breakfast was at the cafe next door. You get a nice croissant, cappuccino and juice. Not extravagant but it was nice to sit outside in the square with lovely views. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Great wifi. Location is the best thing about this hotel. Located right on the Piazza Duomo, you are within walking distance of multiple tourist attractions including the Bellini gardens and Greek amphitheatre. Avoid hop on hop off bus as the reviews are terrible.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great, thanks to Simone, who helped us bringing our luggage upstairs and told us everything we needed to know about Catania. Me and my friend enjoyed it!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no lifts in the hotel and the rooms are basic, the mattress was uncomfortable and the bathroom needed a complete makeover.

    The position of the hotel is right on the Piazza Duomo. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    It is a small basic city hotel. Fit for this purpose. If you are looking for more in house facilities as in a resort then may not be suitable

    Great location with fabulous view onto the main square. Good access for transport and main attractions. Great staff went out of their way to help us get information on organising trips and visits while we were there. We used the hotel as our main base and travelled to other parts of Sicily during our time there. This is an authentic small basic boutique hotel. Good for specific visit to city and onward travel to airport etc. Ideal for us given we were on the move and active throughout our time there. Great for access to Mount Etna ,boat trips, visits along the coast, events like the opera and shopping, restaurants and cafes- good for general sightseeing and much more.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is bit noisy, but that should be expected when you book a room at main square.

    Central location, beautiful view from windows and balcony to a lively square. Italian breakfast is served in a nice cafe around the corner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Access by stairs only. Lack of English menu for breakfast. No hotel info book.

    The view over the square. Ambiance. The shower was great. Helpfulness of staff although English was minimal. Breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mildew in the shower. Stained sheets, towels. Noisily dripping air conditioner. Room without balcony.

    Nice location with great view. Cold water as a gift on arrival in a hot noon.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I didn't like,it's a lovely hotel

    The whole hotel experience was lovely,great room,friendly staff,lovely breakfast and view is fantastic,overall I enjoyed the whole hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only minor things: The Italian breakfasts are to sweet, unfortunately. The restaurant on the piazza where we were served breakfast gave us a very good treatment, though... :-). But they opened late, so we didn't get breakfast one morning when we headed for Etna and left early. There were no elevator, but we got help to carry the luggage. The shower was very small. No glasses in the room.

    We were very satisfied with this stay. We got a huge and nice looking room with a balcony overlooking the piazza outside. The information and help from the staff was good and valuable. This is definitely the most price worthy hotel I have stayed in and I will for sure stay here again if I come back to Catania.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cafe very poor service and not all options promised were available. A shame really as the actual hotel staff were very helpful

    Location and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea/coffee making facilities in the room Bed/pillows very hard

    Wonderful situation right on the main square. Staff friendly and helpful. Room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was two single beds put together so there was a gap in the middle of the bed and the bed frames were broken so the bed creaked whenever you rolled over. The springs could be felt in both mattresses so they were extremely uncomfortable. Not really any other facilities available (if there were any the host didn't bother to inform me of them).

    Wi-fi speed was reasonable. The host was accommodating in terms of storing luggage after checking out but didn't really explain any details when I checked in i.e. where to get the free breakfast from. Room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con wasn't working so moved us to the third floor, no elevator! Bed hard, bathroom grubby, towels had holes and breakfast was a ticket for a croissant and coffee around the corner, very basic

    The man on the front desk helped take up a bag, very central location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy outside, old windows, very hard mattress ( sicilian speciality). Earplugs are necessary.

    The view is the best I've ever experienced. Location is perfect: close to the buses, fish market, shopping. Hotel is clean just needs a bit of renovation.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, only worthy of a slight mention, We had to leave at 7.30am for our flight so missed breakfast which didn't start until 8am but not a problem.

    The location was amazing! The room was ol skool but comfortable and had enough room for the 4 of us. Wish we had longer than just one night to explore Catania.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was my second time in Albergo Centrale Europa in Catania. I am very pleased with this hotel. It is all about the location and the view. It is perfect for couples, but it is also good for family stay. We got perfect treatment as Simone is one of a kind receptionist. He is really the reason we chose the hotel again. Thank you Simone for putting us in number 18! :) Grazie per tutti

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi was hit and miss most of the time.

    The location couldn't have been better

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No nearby parking

    Location! And comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic with peeling plaster.

    The location was excellent, in the heart of the city. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absence of lift (age 78!)

    Small but good continental breakfast in a bar round the corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was swift, fast and easy It's a walk in the park.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Centrale Europa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: