Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel del Centro 3 stars

Via Roma 72, La Kalsa, 90133 Palermo, Italy

#42 of 72 hotels in Palermo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 965 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Overall rating a 8(1-10) due the friendly and helpful staff, location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom outdated

    We booked a family room for 4 with balcony but got an interior room. The furniture was old(not nice old)and bed mattres were outdated. Bathroom within limits but overall feeling of staying in an old hospital room. The Hotel in general, reception, hallway and breakfast area very nice decorated and well maintained. Again, rooms a disappointment and urgently needs a facelift.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    We would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more shelves and hangers in bathroom.

    Good position, good breakfast, friendly helpful staff. Good sized room and a bonus having a lift to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Best value for complete experience of Palermo and surrounding rural attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locality to all transport routes and historical sites was all within 300 meters. Breakfast was superb. Stefania and Giovanni at reception were superb, with their local knowledge, language fluency and useful help we could not have done without. Leticia was a great breakfast host.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was as a location nearby to the hotel but a short walk was needed. It was also quite expensive. There were stairs up to some of the rooms and no lift to get to them.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and tidy. There was a good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major given the price and location

    Great location and staff Good value for money Felt secure with 24 hour front desk and locked front door after hours

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    very well located, elegant small hotel with very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the shower was supertiny, hardly could get in/out, and impossible to bend over (room 15)

    very well located, elegant small hotel with very friendly staff and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Delightful accommodation in a central area of Palermo within ten minutes walk of the station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two cups of coffee allowed at breakfast.

    Very comfy beds. Good buffet breakfast. The receptionist on the morning of our departure was so helpful and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location and a staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room rock is not secure, close to be broken, better to be fixed.

    A night staff is very kind to give us city information, access and timetable etc. He knows what we want.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a street front room which was a bit noisy - but only for one night

    Proximity to city and train station and airport bus stop Staff were very good Good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Location and breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cabin was extremely small: 0.65 x 0.65. No bottle of water in the room. The bed need to be changed, hard, old and is falling into pieces.

    Location and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    For us, perfect for overnight stay prior to early morning flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only criticism would be the cleanliness of the shower, the mildew was taking over, not disgusting just distracting.

    Good location for Palermo city centre, and excellent location for transport links to airport and other Sicilian towns and cities. This was just a bed for the night so that we could easily get to the airport early in the morning and it fulfilled this need adequately. We left too early for breakfast so cannot comment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Challenging
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room faced onto a light well, was small and depressing. The hotel is close to the train station which is why I chose it, but Via Roma is always noisy and filthy.

    Good breakfasts but no eggs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it looks like B&B not hotel. Reception is on the 2. floor in apartment building. Rooms are on the 3. floor and there is no lift connection between reception and rooms. Hotel needs renovation. Don't come there by car! there are no parking places near hotel, streets are extremly crowded,

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    Close to communications but poor interest in the customer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would not give us anything for breakfast when we had to leave early to catch a train. We had sent a mail about this but still they couldnt fix something. It was included in the room price but no money back and not a single bread.

    Location close to train and airport busses.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    The staff from reception to the breakfast staff to the lady...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff from reception to the breakfast staff to the lady cleaner all very friendly an it’s location about 5 mins walk to the train/ bus station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.4
    Adequate for a short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because I was travelling alone I was allocated a small single room, which is fair enough but the bed was extremely narrow and I don’t think the mattress had been turned in months because it sloped away from the wall. Also an aircon unit ran non-stop just outside my room and it was quite noisy. My room was up a narrow staircase.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Very, very nice and unforgotten
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent Staff: so helpfull and pleasant. Super place to visit the town and travel. Beautiful old building and finally: I haven't met so positive, helpfull and kind people, especially Madame Letizia! Thank you for making our day so nice preparing the best cappuccino !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    An agreeable hotel close to Palermo center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A modernization of the hotel is in place. The room has missed electrical outlets - nowadays when each person comes with his phone and PC, you need more outlets in a room for charging and operating the various devices.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was close to many attractions in Palermo. The breakfast was good but the coffee supply is limited to two cups per person.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    The receptionists were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise coming from the street was at times too loud, especially ambulances. They should install soundproof windows and doors. We also had to remind the reception every day to switch on the boiler for hot water in the bathroom. No fridge.

    The receptionists were very helpful and friendly. The location is excellent, as there is a bus stop just outside and the central station is only a 5 minute walk. I liked the decor being very in line with the old city. Large bathroom!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    2.5
    The room was like a prison.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was like a prison. When I opened the window, I saw the window of the room opposite. It was only 1m away. The rooms on the same floor were similar in size, but I spent three nights as a prisoner in the place where little children and I could not get in. White dust rolled under the desk. Every time I brush my teeth, the drain plug of the wash basin keeps coming off. It was disgusting. There were eighteen rooms with balconies on the same floor, about fifteen rooms, and only two rooms with ordinary windows that we could not guarantee a view at all. There was no fruit at breakfast. Moreover, there was no tomato. The coffee that was delivered directly from the coffee machine was rather uncomfortable. It is very close to the centrale station. But it did not know is that makes vulnerable the security of the hotel. It was only 50 meters away from the hotel and I was robbed when I walked with my children. I have been to the police office at night and the police in Sicily are very unfriendly. The next day my family came to pick me up and there was a big street blocked in front of the hotel. The police were bombing the bag with bomb reports. The mall near the hotel is in close proximity to the hotel and it is only 500-600m away from the tourist area, but the atmosphere is very different. I booked a hotel near the centrale station because of the move from Palermo to another city, and I regret it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    Good value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty close both to the historical center and central train station. Helpful stuff, simple but nice and quiet room with a bit of antique feeling. There are restaurants and shops around the hotel. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    I loved it,and if I ever return to Palermo would definitely use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a safe in the room,but that didn't spoil my pleasure of room.

    The location is ideal,but for me it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one criticism the shower was a little temperamental.

    The location was great,very close to main railway station. Staff were excellent and very helpful. Breakfast had a variety of choices of excellent quality. Room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't any carpet on the floor so the tile was pretty cold in Januar.

    The hotel is good location.. the staff is very kind.. room was clean.. price value is good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, pleasant staff. Better explanation of how to get in hotel if arriving in the eveninG
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel was difficult. It looked closed when we eventually found it but once we contacted reception by phone all went well.

    Helpful staff. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    2.5
    Don't stay here under pain of death.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    3 out of 4 Plug Sockets didn't work. Aircon broken and only blowing hot air. No air con remote. Dirty room. Uncomfortable beds. Worst breakfast ever. Run down. Charged 4 Euros if you wanted your sheets changed! The pits.

    Absolutely nothing. I have traveled to over 100 countries so stayed in lots of hotels. This is one of the worst.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.1
    rooms are decent size, some are really large!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast. a lot of sweet stuff, only cheese and ham( 1 type) , no warm stuff like eggs or saussage, only 2 cups of tea or coffee.

    rooms are decent size, some are really large! location. Convenient to get to all sights and to the station. friendly staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    We had a grand time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water was a bit lacking.

    Wifi was strong throughout. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location in the historic center of the city was a big plus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    6.7
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Expensive airport transfer. Long way from station. We caught shuttle bus from airport , but still over 4km from station to hotel. Airport taxi wanted over €100.

    Good B&B Hotel in central location . Ideal for exploring this beautiful city. Lovely bed and clean sheets & towels. Great breakfast. Even had a minibar in room. Warm bedroom in December.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Good Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony seems never seen any cleaning product since grand opening.

    Lidl supermarket is infront of the hotel, train station and old town within few minutes walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Quality accommodation, excellent value, ideal location. Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming on arrival, charming and courteous owners on-site, excellent breakfast, delightful interior decoration. A quiet, spacious bedroom and bathroom with all facilities, both kept immaculately clean throughout our stay. Hotel Del Centro is in an excellent location for easy walking to local restaurants and bars and the main tourist sites.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    We actually extended to 2 nights so as to see a bit more of Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of coffee/tea making facilites in the room.. after many hours travelling, a sit down and cuppa would have been nice

    Very good breakfast, easy walk to main station approx 400m, central and easy walking around CBD, close to airport shuttle service (at the main station), great eateries nearby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    The hotel was very easy to find;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was very easy to find; five minutes walk from where the shuttle bus dropped us. It is situated in a lovely old building, very typical of the area. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was as you would expect in Sicily or Southern Italy, with plenty of choice. The hotel is situated within a few minutes walk of all the main attractions, markets and restaurants. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner mistook my towel and my face towel. The face towel was on top of my towel and the pattern is different. So, obviously both did not belong to the hotel. I have to continue my trip using the accommodation's towel in which it disgusted me because I only use my own towel. I did not inform the hotel because there's no point - my towels are definitely mixed with others and I do not want to use it even if I wash it. Not a big deal and it's my habit. I hope that the cleaner wouldn't repeat the same mistake again.

    Great location. Easy to find. Grocery store just right in front of the hotel. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    Value for money, receptions in 2nd floor, very old style
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rm 28 is quiet but balcony is facing the backyard of other houses closely. Facilities are old. Style is super old. No reception is ground floor

    Value for money, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Great boutique hotel close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the name implies, the hotel is in a great location. Close to the station and on the main street of Palermo. Lovely old world building with decor to match. Bed comfy and room spacious. Ask for a room away from the main street for peaceful night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    Very central, close to the station,Cuatro Kanti, palatine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired shower. No excuse for tinned peaches for breakfast when the fruit markets are 5 minutes away.

    Very central, close to the station,Cuatro Kanti, palatine chapel and Piazza Marina with its restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location. Comfortable rooms, great breakfast and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a choice between upstairs and downstairs rooms. We chose upstairs but the elevator doesn't run there.

    Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was great. Hotel was run very efficiently.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay for three nights whilst sight seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Occasionally there was a bad smell of drains in the reception area.

    It was good to stay where there was a lift. The location on via Roma is just a ten minute walk away from central bus and train station. All the historical sights are virtually on the doorstep and there is a number of bars and restaurants to choose from. The buffet breakfast is very good with a good variety of food.If eating out or just getting a drink or snack try to make sure you go to a place where there is a price list so you know what you are paying for! The rooms were a good size though the furniture a bit old fashioned. Reception staff very helpful and spoke good english.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    The staff and premise were nice but the location is not for familys or single girls traveling alone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of prostitutes outside at night. I know it is not the hotels fault. The second visit I was put into room 25. There was a loud buzz all night along with other machine noises. I believe it was next ro the boiler room and it was very hard to sleep.

    Nice location for the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, very good value. Large room with balcony. Amazing place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a three star hotel is was very good.

    The Hotel was very central and the staff very helpful and spoke good English, breakfast good, bedroom large, with requested balcony, shower good. Many interesting places to visit in Palermo, many restaurants, amazing food. Would return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent staff friendly and helpful good location close to train station and main bus station where you catch the airport bus. Easy walk from either to the hotel. Close to restaurants and uneasy walk to the harbour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.0
    An excellent position that could save a modest hotel
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom has a very small shower. The quality of cosmetics was modest. You can eat the breakfast only after 7.30 am, so in case of you have to travel you will lose this meal.The wardrobe was blocked, so I had to use the chairs to put part of my clothes.

    The hotel is very close by the train station, the bus station and many terraces/restaurants and bars where you can dine or drink something in a very pleasant atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Decent, with some minor annoyances.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No refrigerator, and when someone went to the restroom (which was on either side of my room) I could definitely smell it. If you don't like stairs, there is a small elevator, but I didn't mind the second floor location of the front desk. The one thing I didn't like was that I couldn't come/go as I pleased. I had to check in my key in to the front desk. I understand it was for security purposes, but that was one aspect I could have done without. Also, with the old fashioned skeleton keys...really difficult to work, at least mine was. That needs to be upgraded. Again, a bother, but not a deal breaker because of the location.

    Staff was friendly. I don't know any Italian - and I didn't expect them to speak English - so it was a little tough. The room was clean, and the location is close to bus/train station, attractions, and grocery store. The breakfast was great - the cappuccino outstanding! Please don't let people smoke near the breakfast room, though!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Extra friendly , helpful staff in this hotel added to our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice friendly hotel, close to station, buses, old centre of Palermo. It has its own character, and a lovely sunny breakfast room with balconies. It was a pleasure to sit on the balcony in the morning, enjoying a freshly made coffee!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    Good for 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I hated room door, especially the 'key' which is like the one you use to open wardrobe. And space between door is so big, you can see light from the corridor whole night. Very bad sound isolation (you have door to next room in wall of your room, so practicaly no sound proofing), which makes you hear ever signle word being spoken by your neighbours. Forget about sleeping well there.

    Fantastic coffee, relatively nice choice of different stuff for breakfast. Cleannes of the room. Walking distance to historical city center. I liked that main gate were closed after 9pm. so strangers could not get in. Staff was polite and helpfull (recommended us good parking), however like in most of places in Palermo, they don't smile back to you.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    - the room had air conditioning (a must in Sicily in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - we were there only for 1 night, in preparation for an early morning flight. Our room had no balcony, and the window was overlooking an internal small yard. It's ok for 1 night but for more nights might feel a bit problematic - the beds were a bit soft - we couldn't find any remote to turn off the air conditioning at some point, we had to climb to it and turn it off by the button :)

    - the room had air conditioning (a must in Sicily in summer) - triple room in fact had 2 single beds and 1 double, so plenty of space to sleep

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff of the hotel is great! We felt very welcome and they supported us the whole time. You get first class coffee in the morning!We were pleasantly surprised that Lidl is infront of our hotel. This was great because in Palermo you can find difficult a good market. If you rent a car, you have to pay about 15 Euros per day. The staff of the hotel helped us finding a parking. Our recommendation is not to rent a car if you wanna stay just in the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice hotel
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The remote control of air condition wasn't at room so i had to turn on/off it manually.

    Location of the hotel is perfect. It is very close to central train station, airport shuttle bus station and via Maqueda.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    2.9
    Just my opinion-Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a booking for 5 nights but left after 2, it was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in! I have never left a hotel in disgust before, we usually laugh and make the best of it. However the male older man on reception was extremely rude and aggressive when we enquired about parking and made it very uncomfortable for us entering & leaving the hotel. The room we stayed in was in a state of disrepair and not particularly clean ( see photos) The bathroom was so small it was difficult to sit on the toilet because the sink was in the way. There were pipes running into our room I assume from other rooms, very loud and noise went on most of the night. Although the hotel is situated in a good location for the sites, it was unnerving that the local supermarket across the road had armed guards in it & on the entrance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    basic hotel to base your visit to Palermo-walk to most eerything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    uninviting entrance up dirty flights of steps to small foyer of hotel reception. basic rooms with little amenities, but safe and clean

    great breakfast, excellent barista made us the best cappuccinos and hot chocolates

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    GO THERE AND YOU'LL SEE....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellently located hotel in the central area, an ancient building and a starting point for everything you need - attractions, train station, busses, shops and markets. LIDL is right against you. The staff is extremely courteous and conforms to your wishes. Beautiful retro furnished rooms. You feel nice and comfortable. The breakfast is rich and pleasant. You could enjoy a 20 percent discount from recommended restaurants with delicious specialties. I would certainly choose ONLY this place for a second stay, because of the bargain price and all the amenities I said.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Good value for the money - Central location - Art Deco Building
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit dull, no view from the window, very functional. At the breakfast, a little bit of fruit and/ or vegetable (a few cut tomatoes or cucumber) would have greatly enhanced quality and choice.

    It was a nice, cozy hotel in a central location, walkable from the train station. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. I especially liked the breakfast served on the little tables on the tiny balconies of the Art Deco style house. The coffee was excellent and prepared personally by the bar lady.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    A warm, friendly welcome awaits you in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soap and 'shower shampoo' were OK but not fantastic. There were no hooks for clothes in the bathroom. Breakfasts had lots of sugary things but not a lot in terms of fruit and fibre.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. In fact, nothing was too much trouble for them and they made us feel very welcome. The hotel has a lot of charm; entering from the street is like stepping back a few decades. We loved the elevator - which certainly belongs to a bygone era. Comfortable room. Good wi-fi. The hotel is very conveniently situated for the train station, airport transfers, buses to other towns etc. There is also a large branch of Lidl opposite.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    More protein would have been appreciated.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Showers were impossibly small. Breakfast room tiny.

    More protein would have been appreciated. The coffee was excellent, but some boiled eggs or more fruit would have been good instead of mainly croissants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.8
    Good place to stay in Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in our room (#18) was noisy all night and kept us awake.

    The bed was firm and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The location was convenient to the train station, bus to the airport, and to the old part of the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    easy access to station, good bar nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Arrival by night is a nightmare , The place is closed down, you need to ring a bell to be let in, but there are no instructions and no light, the road is noisy so cannot hear door release buzzer. ps bell is in the double column of bells to the right of the door. the bell you want is second down on the right hand column

    easy access to station, good bar nearby

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked some fresh fruit with breakast - continental only. Air conditioning only had fan available. About 6 steps at main entrance before getting into a small lift so not disability friendly. Hair dryer ineffective. City tax extra charge per person per night added onto hotel room bill was unexpected and disappointing. More brochures on activities would also have been helpful.

    Location within short walk of bus and train station. Large room with reasonable sized ensuite. Pastries for breakfast with fresh coffee. Security is good with locked front door downstairs after 8pm. 24hr concierge.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay at Hotel Centro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel was very convenient for the railway station at just 5 minute's walk and as we were planning several day trips by train it was perfect for us. The hotel is part of a large 19th century building so has lots of character and high ceilings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Great staff, central location, excellent price/quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel needs some renovation and the cleaning could be improved

    The staff is super friendly, always meeting our requests. The location is very central, ideal to visit Palermo. The ratio price/quality is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No fridge in the room!

    The location is great, in the heart of city. The staff was the best....very professional, friendly and willingness to suggestions and assistance for outdoor activities, restaurants, parking etc. The room was nice and clean. Very rich and delicious breakfast! Best brioches in all Italy!!!!! Great place to stay!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast, friendly staff, excellent location. Superb value for money. My room and bathroom was very spacious and the hotel in general looks very nice inside.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need signs telling travelers which floor the hotel is on. I asked three different people before I found the right floor. Very confusing.

    Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.9
    Close to railway station and walking distance to main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of noisy plumbing in our room but as we were only there on night we put up with it only allowed 2 coffees with breakfast

    Close to railway station and walking distance to main attractions

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    5.4
    Only the location in the direct center explains the high price I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not good - just sweet things that I do not normally eat. They should have some diverse food to choose from - more ham, cheese and vegetables like tomatoes and cucumbers. Door to the room is really non sound proof. The whole hotel is like a big apatment split into little rooms so there is no surprise that you can hear every word your neighbour says.

    Service - People working there are very polite and smile a lot. They are very helpful. Big plus for them!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    6.3
    Beware Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking agency. I asked for 1 (one) room for 2 people and was assigned 1(one) person for two rooms and charged for two rooms. The hotel agent told me essentially "tough luck, can't do anything about it). We had to change rooms since we had no key to get back to our room when we went out. I would not give the experience a "pleasant" rating since the "dislikes were very serious.

    Convenience to the train station

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    4.2
    Tired hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel looked very tired. Breakfast was ok except for croissants which were uncooked and the restriction to 2 cups of coffee or tea, something in all my years of travel I have never come across

    Handy for the railway station

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    2.9
    Good price for a hotel in this location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee making facilities in the room.But everything else was good .Stairs up to the second floor could cause a problem for people with mobilitity problems.

    The location was good. The room was very clean.The reception staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice old bulding, close to train station and good to start sightseeing trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to train station and not far away from many beautiful churches and old buildings. Walking distance to yacht harbour and lots of nice restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    5.4
    Has character but lacks comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was dull with a disgusting bathroom with dirty grout on the tiles. The shower itself was small and the shower head was dirty. The bed was really uncomfortable with springs poking through the mattress. There was no safe in the room and the doors have normal key locks. The hotel is pretty secure though as it is based in a huge building quite high up. Be careful when booking a single room. My Mum was in a room which was no more than 9 metres squared including the bathroom. There was a partition wall next to the bed that was covered in dust. The man on reception was kind enough to move her to a nicer room. We all found our two night stay rather depressing!

    Location and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    10
    Charming, friendly and convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed at Hotel del Centro several times... it is great for the location, the beautiful old palazzo, friendly, helpful staff, charming breakfast room and spacious rooms and comfortable beds. Really a charming place and good price. I will stay there again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Enjoyed both the city and the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues whatsoever.

    Just four blocks from Palermo Central train station and three blocks from the old towm. And across the street from a supermarket open seven days a week until late in the evening. You couldn't ask for more. Room was quite and comfortable. I forgot my sun glasses on the room when checking out and the cleaning lady brought it to me just before I left. Small details that make a difference.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.8
    Very unhappy with hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small and too hot. Indifferent staff.

    Its location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Location was excellent, the centre of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, the centre of the city. A beach called Mondello was 15 minutes by bus, number 806. Ticket was 1.40€. Hotel was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    We'll run but very tired hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dingy with very out dated decor.

    The reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel del Centro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: