Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Charming House DD724

Dorsoduro 724, Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy

#48 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 115 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Heavenly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeously appointed property, wonderful staff and breakfast was delightful. A wonderful location near the grand canal. Owner was on hand to make sure your enjoyed your stay. Really loved this sanctuary after a wonderful day sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful, relaxing night in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was located in the annex, which was perfectly fine by me. The room itself was so comfy and just perfect for what I needed for one night. I loved the robe and slippers, and it was the perfect place to relax after a lot of traveling. It was a nice quiet location, but easily accessible to the main streets-- I preferred the quiet streets so this was the perfect place for me! The hosts were very accommodating-- my room was ready early and because I had to leave early the next day they made breakfast early for me as well. Truly great service!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Cozy, romantic, home feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor wifi - the only minus - but I think, in Venice's small tight streets the signal cannot be so strong.

    Breakfast more than perfect. The beds so comfortable. What was amazing, was the fact that they were paying so much attention to the smallest detail. The personel more than helpful, they made us feel like home.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Location, staff helpfulness, great breakfast, hotel sophistication all made this a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was very helpful with excellent restaurant recommendations. Location was on the less crowded side of the Grand Canal with easy access to the Guggenheim museum. Breakfast was delightful and delicious. Small size of the hotel made it feel very homey yet at the same time it was very sophisticated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Really welcoming hotel that is willing to go the extra mile without hesitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to say something we didn't like. If I must, having a breakfast menu to see what fresh cooked options are available would be it.

    Great hotel with that personal feel you receive from a B&B. The check-in was awesome, we were recommended lots of nice local restaurants. The room was lovely, had a great view of the canals outside and very comfy bed to enjoy. The location is perfect too, off the tourist route situated in a more local feeling neighborhood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    We spent 2 nights in Charming house for our honeymoon.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small.

    We spent 2 nights in Charming house for our honeymoon. 1. We were quite late because of the delay train at the first night. The hotel reminded us of the time and showed us the right way to get there. 2. good location,just near the Guggenheim collection. 3. Unique hair shampoo and body lotion,smells good. 4. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Great experience of Venice, looking forward to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the moment that we did the booking, we received great service and all our correspondence with the hotel was immediately answered, no matter what day, and with great assistance on their part. We had to leave early for our flight before breakfast time, and they made sure that we would not leave without tasting their lovely breakfast buffet. We left with a promise to come back... Thank you to all the staff, your assistance was extremely appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable boutique hotel in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My husband and I spent 4 nights at Charming House in mid-September and we had a lovely stay. Transportation to the hotel: If you are coming from the train station, go to the water taxi stand and take a water taxi. We ended up having a porter walk our luggage all the way there, which was a decent trek, especially for the guy hauling the luggage on the cart. We intended to take a water taxi and got in the line, then the gentleman managing the taxis read the address and told us we should walk and that it wasn't far, well...I think he read it wrong or we have different understandings of far. Long story short, take a water taxi. The day of our departure, we had an extremely early flight, 6:15am. The front desk woman organized a water taxi for us the night before. That morning, the gentleman at the front desk brought us up two cappuccinos (which was so thoughtful and much needed) carried our luggage down from the room all the way to the water taxi. Top notch service!!! Upon arriving to the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly woman at the front desk. She spent a lot of time with us, giving us restaurant recommendations and showing us where to go. It was a lovely introduction to Venice and really showed that the hotel and staff care about their guests. Location: The location of this hotel is fantastic. It is located in the 'art district' and really feels like a neighborhood, as opposed to the crazy touristy areas near the Rialto bridge or the shopping district. It is a 15 minute walk to some of the main squares and the opera theatre. Don't me wrong, there is plenty to do right out the front steps of the hotel, restaurants, shopping, nightlife...it is just much less touristy and overall a little more quiet, which was lovely. Room: We reserved a junior suite; it was a spacious room with two large windows. The room itself was very well appointed and had everything we needed. I also loved that it has two closets, as we each had our own.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay in venice ... you won't be disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are a lot of steps to get to your room.

    This hotel was super. The location is very close to a vaporetto stop at the accademia bridge. The staff was great and was very helpful with everything from booking tours to restaurants and arranging a water taxi to pick us up at the airport.... thanks Silvia! The water taxi from the airport is not cheap ($130.00 euros for 4 of us) but to enter Venice on your private boat is amazing and worth the money. When we arrived we found that our beds were very firm, the staff changed the mattress and we were able to sleep great. When we were checking out we met the owner and she was interested in hearing how our stay was and were all of our needs met. She ask us for any suggestions of how to improve the hotel and thanks us for choosing her hotel. The service was excellent and we have traveled to Italy four times so we do have a feel of the hotels and how they are.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Arrival from CA
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first time to Europe. I wish I would have been told about opening the windows and closing the shutters to prevent daylight coming in. I wish we were at the main location. The main bed was extremely firm and the pillows. But I like more softness. For the cost to stay and especially the additional dollars for a 3rd person being a 13 year old I thought it was overpriced - I would stay in an Airbnb The AC didn't keep the room cool.

    My teen daughters thought the shower was great and the pullout couch was comfortable. The staff was pleasant. We loved our gal who made breakfast and Sara was helpful. Sara was great in setting up our private boat from airport to Charming House. More details on how to get to pier could have been helpful. We walked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    A 10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was gorgeous. Staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with eggs and bacon made to order. Location is excellent yet away from the crowds. Can't recommend enough!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.2
    Great small hotel in a quieter part of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great and the staff very friendly and helpful, they gave us lots of advice and information. We loved the location, Dorsoduro, it as quieter as its away from the hustle and bustle of St Marks Square. However everything us easily accessible and we love walking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.8
    Bellissima en Serrenissima
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the pillows were a bit hard

    The hotel staff were particularly charming and even gave our daughter a birthday present when they discovered it was her birthday during our stay. Rooms were spacious and well equipped

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Oh So Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was lovely, no negatives.

    This is a fabulous place. It is indeed charming, and feels like a townhouse rather than an impersonal hotel. Our room was restful and quiet, and breakfast was great...lovely pastries (how do Italians stay so thin?) and great coffee. They'll also cook up eggs and bacon for you. Dorsoduro is a really lovely neighbourhood, away from the madness of St Marks Square. The people at the front desk were very helpful, they're happy to make restaurant recommendations and book for you. We'll be back!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Truly is charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    stunning canal view! welcome champagne, delicious breakfast! superb front desk staff! Honest housekeeping staff! Definitely would stay again! conveniently located!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Location, staff and breakfast were all excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey and room was fine but the black decor perhaps made it feel a little grubby

    Location, staff and breakfast were all excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    The staff here are truly amazing. They have bent over backwards to help with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff here are truly amazing. They have bent over backwards to help with our stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Thoroughly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrific location and wonderful staff who went out of their way to help us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Delightful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff very helpful Perfect location in Dorsoduro. Nice breakfast although quite simple.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Been twice now and will stay again and again on our little trips away. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was lovely and a great room. Loved the bath! Just the best location in Venice 😘

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    quiet tranquil hotel , very comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quiet tranquil hotel , very comfortable lovely breakfast catered without any fuss for my dietary needs

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    very nice to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel enterance very small lobby breakfat variety

    room size very clean friendly and perfect staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Very friendly warm welcoming staff. We would return next time we visit Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was lovely. It was quiet but so close to major attractions

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    very classy and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi in two different places

    Fantastic breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    very classy and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi in two different places

    Fantastic breakfast and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Centrally situated and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great breakfasts with cooked eggs to order.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Extremely welcoming atmosphere, large well furnished room in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, going back as soon we can

    Great location- very friendly staff - nothing too much trouble. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.6
    a happy customer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my stay wasn't long enough.

    very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous boutique hotel in excellent location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too hard, bathroom was small, and no bar...

    Staff were amazing and breakfast was fabulous

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    Superb staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was amazing

    Superb staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    A delightful quiet and wonderfully located oasis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A delightful quiet and wonderfully located oasis.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely people at Charming house
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perhaps too much black decor

    Very friendly staff and very professional service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    10
    Superb boutique hotel that reflects the owners passionate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just improve the lighting a little on the stairs - I tripped a couple of times - otherwise nothing

    Superb boutique hotel that reflects the owners passionate love of all things good.. The room and its facilities go beyond the needs of the guest and has been so well thought out. Great welcome, attentive staff, stunning location, wonderful breakfast. Complimentary Coffee Pods and water. Great amenities along with gown.Faultless. Just sorry we were there for just one day.. Would highly recommend

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.2
    The staff were incredibly helpful and willing to offer help...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is quite pricey and unfortunately at the time I visited the building next door was being renovated so the builders made a fair bit of noise first thing in the morning, but that is not the fault of the hotel itself.

    The staff were incredibly helpful and willing to offer help and advice for travel arrangements. It is a small boutique hotel but that was its attraction...

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    10
    This boutique hotel is a true gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This boutique hotel is a true gem. Its tucked away in the artistic district of Dorsoduro and near to the Peggy Guggenheim collection. I stayed here two nights and should've added a third! Things to note about the hotel. Small locale with an extremely helpful staff. This is a private hotel, a bit of a city oasis to be more specific. You are greeted whenever you come in and the staff is available to suggest good food, important attractions, and / or transportation options. Upon arrival we were given a dinner suggestion (Ai Artisti) and I must admit it was amazing. The hotel offers television, a comfortable bathroom, and a good bed. Their shower products are very good too (soap, lotion, shampoo, etc had great fragrance). Simple things, such as room heat, water temperatures, bath robes, and even slippers were on point! There were zero discomforts which made the place feel like home. The most impressive thing about this place was the breakfast. The staff lays out a spread of cereals, yogurt, jams, pastries, candied fruits, cheese, juice, tea, and coffee. Id addition they prepare specialty coffees (latte, cappuccino, espresso), and eggs (to order) with bacon. This morning greeting really blew my mind. It was basically one of the best breakfasts I've had in a hotel. I truly recommend this hotel. I plan to return to Venice in the near future, and will continue to stay here as long as it is kept within the same management.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    10
    Beautiful room in a quiet neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was a bit small and had a bit of a dank smell from the drain.

    Beautiful room in a quiet neighborhood. It was exactly like the pictures on their website! The staff were friendly and helpful. We even met Chiara, the owner who is very hands on running the place. The breakfast which was included in the rate was delicious and always fresh!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Loved the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the staff. Super awesome and so helpful. I really can't say enough about them. The hotel is small and cute. I little removed from all the craziness, which we loved.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    The most charming chic hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The most charming chic hotel in a great location. Incredible staff went out of their way to help organize dinner reservations and site visits. Amazing breakfast with the best cappuccino, espresso and home cooked eggs

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.2
    - very clean room/bath/toilet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - very clean room/bath/toilet - very friendly staff - nice breakfast - very good wifi- and internet-connection - good connections for organizing almost everything in Venice

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    Felt completely taken care of - anything i needed was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Loved all!

    Felt completely taken care of - anything i needed was immediately done. Love this small hidden gem. The breakfast is excellent. Staff charming and totally capable.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    9.2
    What a way to experience Venice!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    What a way to experience Venice! Really makes the city your own. Exceedingly tasteful and comfortable property operated by unfailingly kind and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    Unusual art and design pieces, good sized rooms, attractive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Uncomfortable pillows - foam and hard. I asked for softer ones but they were unable to give me any.

    Unusual art and design pieces, good sized rooms, attractive warm surroundings, location and view

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    9.6
    Everything from start to finish, staff were so helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to pay for bottled water. This was quite an expensive hotel and I think water should have been complimentary

    Everything from start to finish, staff were so helpful, decor beautiful, perfect

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    5.8
    Nice at first glance, small, cozy, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amateurishly built, details look nice but can't stand hotel standards (normal doors with no noise protection). It is an appartment in a building occupied by people that live there and make noise, which is fine but for this chique advertised hotel no good. Beds were small, and Chinese hard. Small window, misguiding images. So all in all, great place for half the money.

    Nice at first glance, small, cozy, good location.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    6.7
    THE BREAKFAST WAS EXCELENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    THE LOCATION WAS BAD AND THE VALUE FOR THE SMALL ROOMS IS HIGH

    THE BREAKFAST WAS EXCELENT

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    Great breakfast, nice design on Peggy Guggenheim's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great breakfast, nice design on Peggy Guggenheim's doorstep

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    8.8
    The welcome, service and breakfast were all fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a little hard!

    The welcome, service and breakfast were all fab!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful staff, a lovely location and excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderful staff, a lovely location and excellent facilities.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.5
    The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lighting is too low making the place very dark. Felt very small and enclosed.

    The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    Perfect staff, location, service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect staff, location, service

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    6.3
    location, cute boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    front end staff were not warm or welcoming

    location, cute boutique hotel

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Very welcoming founder and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming founder and staff. We really loved our room as well!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Good hospitality and friendly and safe atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Good hospitality and friendly and safe atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    10
    Room, location, helpfulness of employees, very welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Better wi-fi, but not a major point

    Room, location, helpfulness of employees, very welcoming!

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    9.6
    Location is great, staff were fantastic, very cosy and homey...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is great, staff were fantastic, very cosy and homey, modern and unique

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    9.6
    The staff were wonderful, very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were wonderful, very helpful and friendly. Gorgeous room and fantastic location.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: