Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Baia Del Capitano 4 stars

Loc. Mazzaforno, 90015 Cefalù, Italy

#15 of 24 hotels in Cefalù

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 252 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel also has a lounge/party / ballroom next to the rooms- there was a party up until 1 am and the noise was disturbing Air conditioning is automated on all rooms, you have to ask at the reception if you want it off, otherwise it is always on and you can’t control anything from the room

    Nice green area in the center of the buildings

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner in the restaurant is over-priced does not compare in quality to cheaper alternatives in the city. (Though sufficient if you arrive late at the hotel and don't want to go into the city)

    Very good breakfast; could offer more vegan options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's technically not located in Cefalu, at least, not withing walking distance of everything you'd like to visit when in this city. It's a short, 10 minute drive, but if you drive in with a group and want some independence to roam the city, you should keep this in mind. We particularly loved this, because it meant it was a very quiet place!

    This hotel is really good. Love the room, the beds were really comfortable, and everything was spot-clean. The pool looked great, though we walked some 500mts to the beach. To keep in mind, however, there's a set of stairs- doable, but some 30 steps or so- but completely worth it. Access to the beach, at least for us, was included with the rooms, which mean we got a sunbed, a beach-umbrella and towels, all very useful! Breakfast, however, was the best part of the place!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's only one, quite fancy, restaurant on site. I'd have liked to have a more 'low key' option as well, just a pizza or bruschetta for example. Or simple snacks at the pool bar!

    Very friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms and relaxing pool area!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    In some rooms there is only one very small wimdow - so, because of it is dark. So try to book a room with big window in advance.

    Breakfast is relativley good, also everything in the room is very clear, staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the price of the bar close to the swimming pool, as I have paid €4 euros per 1 small glass of orange juice and it was not so good as the breakfast one.

    I loved the breakfast, fresh orange juice, prosciutto and croissant. Very good parking and lovely staff highlighting the breakfast team. The bedroom very comfortable, quiet and clean. Good location. There is a small beach very close, you can go on foot. Very close to Cefalù city centre by car. I do recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room 202 was noisy and we could here the adjacent rooms bathroom, the flushing being loud enough to wake you in the night. We could also here the lift working. The hotels description lists a hot tub, but there was not one. The pool and snack bar were also closed throughout our stay and therefore with the hotels strict no outside food/drink policy caused conflict. You need a car. The shuttle service is only by prior request and finishes at 6pm. As Sicilians eat late, this meant having to drive into Cefalu each night.

    The staff were helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like most beds in Italy, hard

    Excellent breakfast!! Bacon!!! Yum Going on the off season was amazing! So peaceful and quiet and we had beautiful rooms overlooking the pool and had the top floor to ourselves. Our dog was very welcome and we appreciated that they let us bring him!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we thought the dinner in the hotel was poor value for money, actually we thought the food poor in comparison to places outside.

    Lovely hotel in a great location with pool and close to a nice beach with a cafe which was very good value. close to ancient lovely Cefalu Breakfast very satisfactory

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to find as we arrived when it was dark, navigator indicated the hotel on the right so we did not see the pale sign on the left. Rooms look like from 90ties and the room we got was very small.

    Breakfast was ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice rooms with nice terrace! Great swimming pool! Great breakfast, possible to eat in the garden! The food in the restaurant is really good! You get free chairs on the beach!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's decor, its staff, the bedroom, the pool, the bar, facilities in general very poor.

    Rated as a 4star hotel!! Not sure who rated it at that but definitely over rated, was not value for money, as I have the bonuses from booking.com I was very disappointed to be recommended this. Will definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Not good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were less impressed by the staff in the restaurant. They would forget us and our orders, and in general seemed less forthcoming and helpful than staff in the reception and the pool bar.

    We enjoyed the location with walking distance to the beach and relative short drive to Cefalu town. On the premises, we liked the pool area a lot as well as the garden used for lunch. We played tennis a bit and also went down to the stone beach, which is really beautiful but you need plastic shoes for getting in there. The view from there on Cefalu is amazing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located a 10 minute drive from Cefalu, Baia deal Capitano is a quiet hotel that has everything you need. They offer a free shuttle Siva to Cefalu (remember to book in advance), which was very convenient. Nice pool and the food served in the restaurant is delicious. The room was. really small.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed mattress too hard for our comfort But that's about all on the negative front

    Great hotel , friendly helpful staff, super breakfast beach excellent Perfect break

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    camera layout, wifi

    location, common facilities , breakfast, cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed, tea, coffee,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner overpriced and not very good.

    Quiet and Comfortable and Clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Quiet and hidden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent helpful staff. Beautiful private beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff was very helpful and kind. Nice and clean rooms. Playground for kinds. Room service was on high level. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like the location close to Cefalu, where you take a train easily to palermo & the rock beach, however it is away from tourist crowds

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and cheerful staff. Thoughtful as put a mosquito plug for use in room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    GPS showed different place.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In-room refrigerator was not working properly.

    Convenient location outside Cefalu.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea is far from the hotel and we get the little house not a room in the hotel and we didn't about it before arrived.

    It was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i would have preferred a room with a terrace and air-conditioner wasn't working very well.

    nice and very clean hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not on the beach directly

    Good food for dinner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bathrooms, no water pressure

    Service, Staff, Food, beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zaten in een dependance

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room small and no windows, gave a feeling of being closed in.

    Very nice grounds and pool area. Good breakfast,.shuttle to town, lovely private beach very close.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too far out of Cefalu, the free shuttle was often full and could not be booked. Our room was not in the main hotel and was very clean but had no window, only a glass door so a bit dark. Shower very small.

    Clean attractive hotel, great breakfast if a little repetitive.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool was nice and not crowded. Nice to have a pool bar. Having our room cleaned everyday. A shuttle service to town was very handy. Access to a private beach.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast could have had slightly more to offer for the English breakfast lovers as it only consisted of bacon and scrambled egg.

    The overall weekend was lovely, relaxing and very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very noisy being in a room close to the pool area and adjacent to external doorway but management were very understanding and shifted us to another room on the first floor that was very quiet.

    Swimming pool, beaches, on-site parking is a big plus.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, situated among private villas, very close to the shore although not much of a strand in walking distance, convenient to get to Cefalu. Good dining, nice swimming pool, at home feeling.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    More staff required for breakfast when tour groups are present.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beach

    Service at restaurants

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mosquito at Pool site Don't order pina colada _ cotails are poor

    Excellent kitchen

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool very small, Wifi not working properly, beach is a 15mins walk

    Quiet and clean

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool was a bit warm

    Staff were great, organising the shuttle in to and back from town at night, even on a Sunday!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quite far out from Cefalu however shuttles are provided.

    Staff were fantastic, nothing was too much for them. Pool area was very well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The extra costs....beach towels The free shuttle was barely available Too far from town if you didn't have a car

    The private beach was ideal

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were NOT very friendly!

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    walk to the beach

    Spacious and comfortable would definitely stay again

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a bit far from downtown cefalu but nice walkable distance to the beach.

    nice clean rooms,nice pool area, excellent breakfast

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Hotel Baia Del Capitano traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: