Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Cinquantatre 3 stars

Via Di San Basilio 53, Trevi, 00187 Rome, Italy

#719 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have liked a tea and coffee making facilities in the room , but other than this was perfect

    What a great find . Lovely staff , Great location , room was great and bed very comfortable . Shower was powerfull . Couldnt fault this hotel , its a budget type hotel but it suited our needs perfectly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room but comfortable

    The elevator had problem when we arrived and we had to go on foot to the 3th floor with our luggage. The receptionist help us with our luggage and they managed to fix the elevator next morning. The breakfast was satisfying and the location was pretty nice. 2 mins on foot away from battistini station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Out of the six other accommodations we had on our fortnight stay, this one was the last – and our favourite! The neighbourhood was very central yet quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the free breakfast with a fantastic view and the adorable balcony. Our waitress/barista was awesome and the sweetest Italian lady! Everyone at this hotel was so helpful and pleasant!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maybe a larger television because it is too small. Breakfast may includes some more selection.

    Hotel Room was nicely decorated and cosy but most of all it was always clean. Staff was very helpful. Bathroom replenished everyday with clean towels and health care products. Wifi free in room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of room, size of balcony. Breakfast was average. Noisey water system throughout hotel. This would waken us up .Leaking bathroom and very dated decor. Wifi also poor. Did not resemble the online photographs on booking.com.

    Location and polite staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a little disappointing with very limited selection

    Location was excellent with very easy access to the heart of Rome. Room was traditional and nicely furnished with a large, clean bathroom. Staff were friendly and helpful. Recommended!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Door to the shower would not close. All the water would go on the floor of the bathroom. Impossible they don't know this. My friends staying in another room at the same issue! Had to fight to have my second reservation respected. I had a reservation for 3 nights and another one for 1 night. In the end, I needed 4 nights in total. Booking.com confirmed they received it and hotel pretended like they didn't. They wanted me to go for my last night somewhere "near", saying it was even better then there hotel for a better price. Meanwhile, my 2nd reservation for 1 night was on a weekend and, despite them saying the were overbooked and couldn't help me out - except for shipping me somewhere else, i could easily reserve a room at this hotel for double the price. I confronted them about it and finally was able to stay in my room. Happy they didn't cause me more issues, but honestly felt like it was all a question of money. I wouldn't be surprised if they didn't do this often, as this hotel seems to have deals to transfer customer nearby when they need. Was I unlucky? Am i right ? I don't know... But if other customer have the same problem, you should report like i did to booking.bom

    Not expensive. Very good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small lift for two people and luggage, no rooms safe, hard bed, small shower, no English tv, no toaster

    Large room, quiet, attractive breakfast terrace room, good coffee close to metro, Piazza Barbarini, restaurants, walking to many sites

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast varieties are very limited. The room is pretty congested in terms of space and movement for two persons.

    Not very central but close to Trevi.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken shower in our room. Curtains needed a wash.

    Very friendly staff, good location. I liked the fact that the facade of the building was composed by Adalberto Libera, famous architect of the 1930s. Breakfast on the terrace was very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    Very friendly staff room much larger than expected with a big bathroom. Standard continental breakfast but satisfying.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Location was very good with comfortable room and WC

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i have been there for 2 nights. the crew were very kind and nice. Located nere metro

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to to the mayor atracción Hugo was the best😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms. Smaller lift.

    Location. Polite staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful if driving to the hotel as it lies within the ZTL area which is active except on Sundays.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very hard bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but it surely needs an update

    I stayed for one night only, so I guess for that it was Ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast.

    Near centre. Quiet area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and location was so good .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too small and poor breakfast! Too too small elevator!

    the capuccinos!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant customer service, very welcoming and always smiling. Lovely hotel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paint peeling from ceiling in bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1ST night no power, so had to be moved to another hotel. Next 2 nights we wished we were in the other hotel as it was absolutely dreadful. Smelt of sewerage,the room and bedding was filthy. The staff did nothing to sort out the problem. Breakfast was very poor. Just warmed up pastries and uht milk coffee. Avoid this hotel at all costs!

    Sadly there is nothing good to say other than the square near the hotel is very nice.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slight pong from the shower room.

    Central location all major attractions on the doorstep, restaurants and coffee bars right next door to the hotel. Metro station two minuets walk away. Bed very comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The TV was the size of an iPad and the lift was tiny.

    A very clean, comfortable, budget hotel that was the perfect base. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, walking distance to all major sightseeings. Small but comfortable room. Breakfast - good enough w/ excellent espresso, on the roof terrace. Very friendly staff - advised us what to do, printed vouchers for us, made us feeling like at home :-)

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, easy walks to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and all other major sites within walking distance. The complimentary breakfast was fresh and overall delicious with a lovely selection, with the added bonus of being able to sit on the beautiful terrace. The rooms were a decent size with a good size bathroom with lovely clean towels every day. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even recommended a great restaurant with some of the best food we tasted during our trip. Our roms were at the back of the hotel, quiet with a view out on to the garden below. Clean and comfortable, great Wi-Fi, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are a bit small for two people for a longer stay. Furniture is starting to show its age and should be renovated or substituted in the future. TV channel selection could be broader.

    Very friendly and helful staff, who are eager to fulfill your needs. For example I have arrived hours earlier than normal check in time, but staff was able to solve this situation very quickly. Location is very convenient as most of the major tourist attractions are within walking distance. Wi-Fi connection is stable. While double room is somewhat small for two person for a longer stay, but nevertheless you will surely spend most of time wandering in the city, so I would recommend this hotel for all "touristy" people.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Had a trouble with some ants. It was not the Hotel was unclean it was just that these little beggers can show up anytime.

    The staff were very nice and helpful. It is location is good.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Handy location within walking distance of Spanish Steps and near an underground station. Located in a quiet narrow street. We enjoyed being able to have an evening tea and breakfast on the roof terrace.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Couple

    We would suggest performing some variations for the breakfast.

    We were at first time in Rome, and would stay there a year, and then in "53". The best location to explore the ancient city with the later developments. The staff was very kind The balcony on the top became our best place in the morning, and in late time, too

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    small room, basically fits one queen size bed. Had no hot water in the morning.

    clean room, good bed, decent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cold hair dryer

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very smelly room, caused by the stink coming from the bathroom ventilation

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very clean-very old furniture and destroyed the photos are misleading the room needs restoration the brekfast poor

    Location

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was a little on the small side but worked well.

    Great location. Very good value.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Traveling with my grown up daughter and we were given a double bed to share. Even though we had requested singles.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice balcony, and jacuzzi in the bathtub. Good airconditioning

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs had bedding on them which we had to climb over to get to breakfast !!

    Close to Metro

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit loud if you would like the window open at night

    Great location, friendly staff, lovely spot for breakfast on the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough facilities in the room. No fridge to keep the water cold

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ארוחת בוקר בסיסית ביותר (קונטיננטלית)

    צוות אדיב במיוחד שמסייע לכם בהכל חדרים נוחים מאוד וכמובן מחיר מאוד מאוד משתלם למיקום מרכזי מאוד.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Hotel Cinquantatre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: