Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Britannia 3 stars

Via Balbi, 38, 16126 Genoa, Italy

#49 of 92 hotels in Genoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3631 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Great Location 5 min walk to train, coach and hop on hop off bus. Very central to all landmarks staff were very helpful and friendly . Breakfast was included and was varied . Very reasonable restaurants and shops on the same street .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    This property is SO convenient to Piazza Principe rail...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property is SO convenient to Piazza Principe rail station (and to the airport bus). The bus 35 and others take you into the center frequently and easily. A Carrefour Express supermarket is a few blocks down the street. The hallways are a bit unremarkable, but the room was big and pleasant and comfortable. I had a direct view to the street, Via Balbi, but noise was never an issue - -in fact the views out on the street life were stimulating. The fridge was really nice. The A/C made an odd (but not obnoxious) whirring sound, and wasn't powerful, but was wholly adequate for 80's temperatures. Outside there are plenty cafe's and shops. Nice neighborhood, actually. Reception was attentive and responsive. I don't eat breakfast unless it is compelling, and here it didn't compel. Put the 'Do Not Disturb' sign out for the 3-night stay and was never pestered. VERY nice stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Close by the train station/bus station and a great stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels a bit dated.

    Close by the train station/bus station and a great stop over for your continued journey. Breakfast was great and room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    The room was pleasant and the location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mistakenly booked a double room for 1 person instead of 2. I was charged an extra 30 euros and so paid 98 for a one night stay. If I’d have realised, I would have cancelled and booked somewhere else just as nice but cheaper.

    The room was pleasant and the location excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Wow such a big space with the beds upstairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was only meant to be closed on Sunday but was closed on the Thursday night. When we asked staff if it was open on the Friday night they said it was closed again but it was clearly open when we went out.

    Wow such a big space with the beds upstairs. It was more like an apartment without a kitchen. Short walk from the Piazza Principle Station. Easy walk to get everywhere, location is great. Breakfast was good, no hot food but plenty of other food to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.0
    Comfort bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noice street . All night drunken young man louded under the windows of the hotels till 4 a.m. I ask kindly the staff for quiet view of my room, the day i've booked they promise that, and when i arrived , was impossible for them. The air condition is inside of the room and was highly noisy. Therible experience.

    Comfort bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly, clean and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps breakfast could run until 11am?

    Extremely helpful staff, the room and bed combinations were exactly as requested ( all singles). Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Lovely to have visited my grandparents place of birth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant fault it.

    Location straight ahead of Piazza Principe train station. Clean. Comfortable, modern. Good breakfast. Very local within walking distance to Historic Centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of natural light in our bedroom

    Twin beds a good size and very comfortable. we had a quiet room as requested but it was very dark. The staff were excellent as was the hotel location, with easy access to the Rail Station, City Tour Bus and Volabus for transfers to and from the Airport, very happy with our choice!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Location in the heart of the city, big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast had very little choice and was the same on both days. It would have been really worthwhile to have got a good breakfast after paying so much money for the stay,

    The Location was perfect. It was 2 min walk from the train station, right in the city centre. All the attractions were mostly walking distance from the property. The rooms were really big in comparison to the other hotels that we have stayed in, in Europe in the last 10 years. The beds were comfortable and clean. First hotel I have seen to have provided a feminine hygiene wash!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Genoa - handy hotel for getting about.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel right near Principe Station and near some cafes and restaurants. Easy to walk into centre and to marina area. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Printed out train timetable for us Bar in hotel. Good choice of drinks. Our room very large. Had sofa and table as well as double bed and en suite. Very clean and bed comfy. We were in Genoa for 2 nights. Good place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    Great location, staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bedroom was very small. It would have done with a makeover ! The heater didn't work. The carpet had seen better days Poor really.

    Great location, staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    The room was good with a big comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The TV was tiny with only Italian channels. Our room was at the 1st floor looking at the main road and there was a lot of noise even late at night. I couldn't locate the air condition (if there was any). The breakfast was pure there were no eggs no fruits the only good thing was the croissant.

    The room was good with a big comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent croissants for breakfast, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking not provided, rooms decor could easily be improved, one air con didn’t work, not exactly cheap, conspicuous characters roaming the area

    Excellent croissants for breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose a split level quad room for 1couple+1 adult. The top level with the double bed was very warm so we had the air-conditioning on all night. Headroom was cramped due to sloped ceiling (we're both tall). OK for 1 night.

    Excellent value (€120 B&B for 3 people). Room spacious on lower level. Beds comfortable. Bathroom small but clean+modern. Close to station (2mins walk), Basilica and a few low key restaurants. City airport shuttle bus nearby (we took taxi which cost €20; shuttle bus would've been about €8 each)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Very convenient location for those travelling by train
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pretty awful and some staff were rude but they had large tour groups to deal with.

    Very convenient location for those travelling by train

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Easy to find, clean with big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough spare plugs next to the bed.

    Easy to find, clean with big rooms. Very close to one of the main streets which has a lot of attractions and food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to demand another room as the single beds we asked for were pushed together and couldn't be seperated more than 20cm. Also the breakfast lacked fresh fruit, good bread which Italy is famous for and a decent cup of tea.

    How close it was to the station and old part of the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street during the day, but quieter at night. Get to breakfast on time. At exactly 10 food was taken away.

    Great location. Very close to the train station. Nice breakfast. Also bathroom very nice. Clean room. Good room for the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    Basic and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs some updating. Bed was very uncomfortable - I had requested a double bed and it was 2 singles pushed together but there was a large gap in the middle, did not sleep well. Pillows were terrible.

    Location was good although not sure it was in the best area when we walked to and from the port and the main part of Genoa. We had a room at the back so it was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Very clean and spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite noisy refrigerator in the room. No eggs and fresh fruits for breakfast. Extra pay for gluten free breakfast. Lackadaisical breakfast staff. Not attractive lounge area.

    Very clean and spacious room. Friendly and helpfull reception staff. One minute walk to the railway station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Great location - central street close to railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is only cold cuts, etc - no eggs. Did not receive early check-in as booking.com genius perk - they said they did not confirm it so this seems like not existing

    Great location - central street close to railway station. Good room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    2.9
    覺得像是被人可憐, 讓個地方留宿.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed here for three nights. In my room, it just had one cheap plastic cup for my couple brush teeth. I asked the staff to give one more for us. The staff told me came down to the canteen to pick one. This was the 1st time I had never met before. I can say it just an expensive hostel (no qualification to be a hotel) and very low-level services. Not recommended.

    X X X

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Location great, facilities on site, not so great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchenette had a cooktop that didnt work.... At all. There was also no cups, plates, cutlery or cookware. There was no bin in the room, and a very limited availability of powerpoints. The lighting was inconvieniently located and turned all on or off from one switch. What was really inconvienient though was that they had advertised having a laundry, but only offered a send out 'price per piece' laundry service that was not cheap. The breakfast selection was good, but the room that it was set in often had a wait for a table.

    The location is excellent, and it was nice to have a kitchenette. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.3
    Poor value for money and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were filthy in our room. Both floors seemed to have stains in multiple places. All beds were very uncomfortable. Breakfast was poor, no service whatsoever, lack of tables. Poor option on continently breakfast and everyone we went down there were a lot of empty items. Waiters refused to clear our table before we finally did get a table. Fitness, sauna areas were not working. Our safe was not in use. Doors to our balcony were on the verge of falling off and didn't feel it was secure from a safety point of view. Lots of noise on our floor. Whole hotel needs a decor, our room was very basic. It's a 2 star at its best. Really not happy with value for money aspect of this purchase. Also lack of room service.

    Reception staff were friendly. Helpful when booking taxis.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Good but there is room for much improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower door too narrow. I am an average built person but could hardly pass in or out of the shower door!! Also dining leaves much to be desired. Very restricted menu.

    Decent breakfast though choice very restricted.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    Stay was very satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lackadaisical attitude of staff in breakfast room. On Thurs morning 26/4, the buffet and crockery were not replenished as from 9:30, resulting in a lack of variety in the food offered and few utensils

    Cleanliness and location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    A bit expensive for what we got but would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too many bready and cakey things for breakfast. A scrambled egg option would have been nice. Restaurant staff in the mornings seemed fed up and didn't raise a smile. Didn't keep abreast of demand for dishes and food offer. When we asked for a couple of beers in the evening (9pm) after time in the city, I was greeted with a frown.

    The croissants were excellent. Reception staff pleasant and helpful. The housekeeping staff did a thorough job. Clean throughout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    Location is perfect, near train station and city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast disappointed us. Bad coffee, bad choice, fruit drink instead of juice, too many people in a small room.

    Location is perfect, near train station and city center. The room was quite big and clean. A street under windows is not too noisy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    Uncomfortable and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and my room at least hasn’t been renovated in a long time. The shutters on the window let in no natural light. The shower struggled to maintain lukewarm. The cold water tap in the bathroom sink didn’t work at all. The fridge sounds like a lawnmower and kept me awake the first night. The lack of any soundproofing between rooms kept me awake the last night with a group of small school children yelling and jumping around like baby elephants until 11pm and from 6am the next morning. Not many even half decent restaurants nearby.

    The staff are very friendly . It is close to the railway station and a good size

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice helpful staff, room was comfy enough and large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt rather stale, old hotel needs a spruce. Elevators do whatever they please sometimes.

    Nice helpful staff, room was comfy enough and large. Close to train station and warf.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value in a very convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit basic.

    The staff were extremely helpful. The location could not have been more convenient for transfer from railway station to onward travel by sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little bit cool in the room.

    We had a very big split room with the kids, they enjoy it. The view and the heating were poor. The location was perfect. The receptionist was nice and helpful. The breakfast included in the price was very nice. The parking offered was affordable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant enough short stay. Excellent location for rail travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was particularly cold so the hotel’s heating system was working hard. Unfortunately the fan assisted heating units were noisy, so much so that we had to request an alternative room where the unit wasn’t so loud. Even so, we chose to turn the heater off overnight because of the constant whirr of the fan.

    Good choice at buffet breakfast. Pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    An enjoyable stay, compared with purpose of trip and expectations.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charging an extra-price for breakfast is not usually expected, although it may happen. But not a big deal. I had breakfast at a nearby bar and enjoyed the brioscia genovese.

    Price/quality ratio and proximity to central station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Good, solid accommodation, close to the station, with a very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing in particular -- no view, but we didn't expect that.

    The staff and the breakfast were excellent. The room was good in terms of cleanliness and size -- our son had a separate room (no door) which he was very happy with!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.1
    Really good location, in general u got what u paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast... to much sweet things, only sugarstuff, nothing healthy except youghurt - but loads of cakes and chocolatecroissant. But worse: the fitness-room(pics on the booking,com site) was now a storage for beds!!

    Quite place, you really felt private. Big room. Some of the personell was attentative and nice others just stared and talked to eachother the whole time(Lucky them I'm not the owner of this hotel...)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Good spot to see the city if you are coming from rail station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much atmosphere but facilities and location make up for this.

    Was large room with updated bathroom. Close to RR station. Very handy to walk the city. Easy to catch the bus from/to the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    Close to train station, clean excellent breakfast, great breakfast and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They allowed pets at the hotel. While we love pets, it was very off putting having loudly yapping dogs in the restaurant while we were trying to have breakfast and dinner. The shower had a hanging plastic curtain which needed taming a little. We booked a room with double bed and had 2 singles pushed together which didn't quite match up in height.

    Clean, reasonably comfortable, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast. A bonus having the restaurant at night. Great menu. Fantastic location, close to most tourist sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Staff was helpful and friendly upon check-in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light was not working in the room but it was fixed straight away Bathroom draining system needs maintaining.

    Staff was helpful and friendly upon check-in Location is perfect and close to train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    We like the Hotel Brittania. The room decor could be upgraded but value for money - good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea and coffee making facilities in our room.

    Our second visit in 8 days. Better room, all facilities except tea and coffee making facilities. I would recommend the hotel provide these. Receptionist - always helpful.. Very good breakfast. Highly recommended - value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps going into hotel. We are both 65 and had to lug suitcases up stairs to get to reception.

    Location was great. Bus stop across the road. Train station 10 minutes by bus. Beach prominard only 5 minutes away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money. Great location. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was tired - old rusty fridge, no tea, coffee making faclities The beds were hard and my pillow of compressed kapok - very hard. The beam above one bed had no warning re "don't sit up suddenly"

    WIFI availability, good breakfast, proximity to Railway Station. Helpful staff. Our room had a luxurious bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    The hotel position, within sight of the station, made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked more protein eg. boiled eggs, and more fresh fruit available for breakfast. Shower recess needed a soap holder. Room needed more horizontal surfaces to put things; a (folding) stand for the suitcase would have been good. More coat hangers would have been useful as well.

    The hotel position, within sight of the station, made travelling to and from CIT Britannia very easy. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.0
    A comfortable stay, but, given the price of the room I don't think it was appropriate to low quality
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very basic and although sufficient space, the second bedroom was accessed using rather steep and awkward steps. Very little extras, for example 1 small tv in the main bedroom, nothing else in the rest of the living areas, bathroom had a hairdryer which was difficult to use.

    Hotel very conveniently placed and staff very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Large and clean room, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large and clean room, good breakfast. Close to train station, walking distance to the city center and the port. Friendly and helpful staff. An excellent restaurant next to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    I would be happy to book this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee machine at breakfast.

    Good selection of cake and croissants at breakfast. Evening meal was reasonably priced . My room was very quiet and comfortable with a distant sight of the port and sea. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    Badest bed i ever have expirienced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The badest bed i ever have expirienced. The matress was old, flat, hard and bulky. They tried to put a table under the matress, but it did not help. Because the matress is too old and worn out. They did not wakuum kleen the carpet while i was there. And the interior seemed very old. So i left one day sooner, could not sleep ther.

    The room got safe and a freedge. Seemed cleen.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The color of the room was very irritating because it was light blue. The bed was uncomfortable and one of the bed stands was broken so whenever I turn the bed was swaying.

    We have stayed for 1 night as 3 people and the room was big and comfortable. Also it is very close to the train station. If you are traveling by train you can easily walk to the station in 5-6 min and catch your trains. The breakfast was also good. Another great feature of the room was there were Van Gogh paintings in the room :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money hotel in a lovely city :)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't complain really. Great value the money.

    Nice, relatively modern and cosy room. Good location only minutes from principe station. Nice staff and decent breakfast. Good AC and wifi. Nice warm shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very good. Close to the public transport and the market and pharmacy. The staff were friendly. The breakfast was good enough to start the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Very good location for my short stay to get the most of this beautiful town of Genoa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not super quiet before 11:00pm in Summer when the room is located on via Balbi. Make sure to have cash: Some restaurants (serving very good sea food!) are not always accepting card payment. The nearest ATM (200meters) was out of order. The second nearest ATM is at the station.

    Great location to visit the city in half a day. Very good cakes (home baked) for breakfast. Restaurants around are serving traditional plates of seafood for a very good price. Swordfish pomodori and fried calamari, insulata del mare. The funiculare to Carbonara is a solution to have a nice view over the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value and close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallway has a strange smell. Breakfast staff was not friendly.

    Room is nicely refurbished and modern.Amazing shower. Staff at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Hotel is in a good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    We only stayed one night as we were travelling on to Cinque...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We only stayed one night as we were travelling on to Cinque Terre. The room size for a family of 5 was great! 2 rooms, kids had a nice big room. Behind the wardrobe was a small kitchen with bench space and cook top. Very clean, comfortable beds, good air conditioning, breakfast good and 1 minute walk to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    The room was large, though a little dark and the decor was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was large, though a little dark and the decor was a bit tired. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Parking is not at the hotel, but our car was collected, parked overnight and brought back for €20. Good pizzas right next door and a lovely cafe a few metres away. Close to the aquarium (well worth a visit) and the station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel, terrible coffee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and "juice" at breakfast were grim.

    Room was large and clean. Location good for exploring the old town and port. Staff nice Parking Columbia about 150 metres up the hill opposite was good value and secure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast unfortunately too late for me, though only because I was travelling early. Main light switch seemed to control the TV too.

    Great location, friendly staff, clean. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    2.5
    Leaky ac, electrical fire hazard, broken beds and disgusting carpet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was with a leaking air conditioning so they moved my partner and I into a another rooms with single beds because hat's all that was available. Into the new room the beds were broken, the shower was broken and this place is disgusting with nasty stains on the carpet. The whole place is wired incorrectly with extension cords at outlets, it's one big fire hazard and is not intelligently designed at all.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    The hotel staff were friendly and did not mind that we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been good to have a kettle in the room and facilities for making tea and coffee.

    The hotel staff were friendly and did not mind that we arrived very late, the room had a large balcony with interesting views of the local area, the shower was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel rooms and nicest staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC unit is placed in the lower sitting area of the room. In the hot July days, not much cold air reaches the beds area. The staff were quick to send me a fan. That was a temporary solution (and a noisy one) .

    The staff were excellent, friendly and professional. The hotel location is superb just a few meters from the train station. The breakfast was fine. The room was large with a nice triplex design.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Good option in Genova
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toiletries were not replaced during the stay and the price is a little bit high for the quality.

    Very big room, clean and comfy. Good buffet breakfast and wifi service. The location is great, on the main street and one minute walking from the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Just OK for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family with lots of luggage for an overnight stay. No parking for the hotel and was suggested to pay €21 for overnight for local car park. Bedroom are needing a refresh. Breakfast was poor as it's mainly pastries and cakes and don't cater for allergies with fruits from the tin if you have a gluten or dairy intolerance. Even the coffee was poor as you would think in Italy you would get a decent cup of coffee but instead we got it for a push button machine and it was below par. Overall, it did the job for an overnight stopover but wouldn't recommend it for any longer stay. We stayed in a 3 bedroom with mezzanine that looked different than the picture in terms of freshness and deco. At least the staff was friendly and hospitable.

    The beds were the best part of the trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Stop over in Genoa - Nice to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy to wheel carry-on bags from train station to hotel - very close. Breakfast provided with room. Liked the setup of the room with small table and chairs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    A clean and friendly hotel next to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mediocre breakfast

    Good location (1 min to Piazza Principe station, 15 min to city center, 5 min to the port and old city), friendly staff, nice rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little options for any protein at breakfast. Wait staff gruff and felt our backpacks were in the way despite telling us to put them there. Would have been helpful to know to not bring them to breakfast

    Check innstaff very helpful. Proximity to train station unbeatable and restaurants close by. Easy walk to water and attractions

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice family room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very poor. The parking outside the hotel was not existing.

    We liked the big family room. Nice to have a small kitchen in the room. The Wifi was OK.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Great for a stopover- great brekky !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty and a little smelly The safe was not secure and you could just pick it up and walk out the door. Was a little uncomfortable- needs an update

    Close to the train station Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.4
    Budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 5 nights

    With the exception of breakfast officials, the others are always very grumpy. The second floor of the double room is very hot, the air does not cool.

    I liked the fact that the hotel has a pool (for rainy days) and gym, but upon arriving at the hotel I discovered that I should pay 25 euros a day to use them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the room was quite clean there were stains in the carpet floor that does not give a good vibe (apart from the fact that we do not like carpet floors). The door to the shower was quite small for me to fit in without squeezing in and out and it needed some renovation. The plugs for the power did not work for a macbook air to charge, but it was good for our phones. We did not try the breakfast so no comments there.

    I did not expect much when i booked the hotel, just to sleep after a day walking in genova. The front desk was really nice and kind with us. The room was surprisingly spacious and the design was quite nice. Sitting on the 5th floor overlooking a courtyeard made the room really quiet and gave us a good night sleep. The wifi was good and fast. We particularly enjoyed the location (next to the train station and within walking distance to the waterfroant).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    6.3
    CIT Hotel Britannia, good service, great prices, but room did not deliver.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was VERY DARK. View into a wall, and you saw a small portion of the street below when leaning over. Very dated interior. Scary yellow color. Striking black furniture and clinical lighting. Made it very uncomfortable to have lights turned on.

    Very good bed. Room was spacious Good wifi, but you had to log in daily (irritating). Good working airconditioning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    good to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not much attractive places to visit nearby

    you cannot complain anything of the location (near to the Genova P.P. train station) a bit far to the old town but it is acceptable, especially you can stay away from the old narrow street

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Okay accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was dark and the carpet was dirty. The double bed was short and very uncomfortable.

    Good wifi, big rooms and nice italian breakfast. Good and peaceful location near the train station, old town and many sights. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    It was close to our cruise ship MSC-we could take our luggage with us to the short walk to the ship-
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night

    the taxi was $40 from the airport-would have liked more info on the bus if it ran that late at night or what times it came to the airport

    the mattresses were comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit poor, not really much choice for vegans.

    The design of the hotel is pretty cool. The location is also convenient. The staff is friendly and the rooms are well maintained.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    Close to the train and bus station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrbile coffee during breakfast! For God's sake we are in ITALY! Fortunately a nice bar accross the streat!

    Close to the train and bus station. Extremaly easy access from the airport. Walking distance to the port and other turist atractions!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Britannia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: