Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Centrale Amalfi 3 stars

Largo Duchi Piccolomini N.1, 84011 Amalfi, Italy

#21 of 29 hotels in Amalfi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 553 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled pee in the stairways coming up. The pics are really better then the reality. But one cute nice staff who tried to make it better for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower leaked and there was a light that was broken in the bathroom but it’s an old property so these things happen.

    Great location, friendly staff and nice breakfast. The staff went above and beyond to cater for my wife’s gluten intolerance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The A/C did not work. When we complained the front desk manager (Saif) lied and said the A/C was working for everyone else. We asked a few guests that we met and they also complained that the A/C did not work. We asked for a fan and the front desk manager (Saif) said they did not have a fan. When Saif was not working, we asked another front desk agent and he gave us a fan right away. Without the A/C we had to keep the windows open. However, the hotel is in the main square and it is loud late at night and early in the morning. Besides the A/C not working, the beds were very uncomfortable.

    The location was great. The housekeeping staff was great - the rooms were super clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath towels .Small bath towels razor hard could hardly use.Staff unwelcoming just not interested.You have to ask for air conditioning .They did not seem happy with that . Cash only why ? They had a credit card machine.Bed very hard .TV only Italian and small.Not a hotel but B & B

    Nice breakfast .Great view if you pay extra for front of pensione.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room had several issues. The shower head was broken and wouldn’t stay out. The shower leaked unavoidably, so every time I showered there was a big puddle of water on the floor. The air conditioning in my room also didn’t work, so I had to open the windows and was kept awake for hours by noise on the plaza outside my window. There was mold growing in the bathroom as well.

    Great location! Very central to everything and close to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given the wrong room (should have been cathedral facing) although they did recognise this on check out and reduce the cost slightly. No fault of the hotel but be aware that with a central location comes quite a bit of noise from the square below.

    Great location in the main square of Amalfi with clean, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location on the main square across from the cathedral and about five minutes walk from the ferry port/bus station. I took the ferry from Positano and the hotel was very easy to find. I did not reserve a room that fronted the square although I still had a balcony with a nice view of the neighborhood. The staff was very friendly. Had a good breakfast on the top floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was noisy but this was to be expected in the location.

    Location was brilliant for sightseeing! It's all in the name of the place! Right in the heart of the town.. everything at the doorstep.Terrace was beautiful on top to watch the square down below. Staff were super friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No frills or extra touches. A bit chilly (in March) and didn’t get control of the heating.

    Great view of the cathedral. Brilliant breakfast and breakfast room. Great location. Everything within easy walking distance

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did see a review here saying that sometimes the toilet does smell even when not used, it does happen, but if you open the window for a bit of time, it does go away. There was a lot of stairs, not for people with difficulty walking.

    Staff were helpful, and even if they were limited with english, you do see them really try to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Length off our stay to short.

    SPOTLESS large room &bathroom. Balcony with view to church. Building is worth a look to see the amazing tile work. Breakfast generous and good quality. YES steps BUT it is Amalfi! One must expect steps.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in a great location. The price was good compared to surrounding hotels. The receptionist was really nice and offered us free breakfast as their wasn't many guests in winter. Very basic room and facilities but that's okay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only downside was the absence of a lift ti carry your lugagge. We brought heavy suitcases (after all our shopping around) and it was hard to bring them up the stairs but I need to mention that the hotel staff helped us but this is not a reason for me for to come back; I will definitely will.

    Location!!! Our room had the view of the Duomo and Piazza.... I couldn’t ask for more. The hotel was wonderful and the staff very helpfull and kind. The room was rhe right size and clean. Breakfast was served on rhe roof top with amazing views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We liked everything: the location, the view, the breakfast, the cleaning lady came every day to clean our room. Saif was very friendly, he is well informed about the main attractions of Amalfi Coast; even he had a lot of things to do, he made time to explain us what to visit. We really appreciated his professionnal behavior. To resume, it's a pity that we don't find such dedicated emploees as he is.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff, location, and room with a great view over the piazza. Very large selection for breakfast - it was delicious. Advertised as 10 steps to the hotel, but there are another 30 to get to that area. Good exercise, but may be uncomfortable for people with walking issues. Would definitely recommend. We were also recommended an amazing restaurant across the piazza from the hotel - fantastic food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could’ve been softer, but everything else compensated for it.

    Everything about was wonderful. The breakfast, the view, the staff. We really had no issues. Great value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in an excellent location, rooms are generous and clean, and the manager was very obliging and kind. Breakfast was quite good considering we were there at a quiet time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Good location. Nice room with wonderful view. Staff was warm, friendly & provide superb service, the best we have received in Italy. Thanks, Saif.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Square in front of the hotel was very noise till midnight and workers and cars start to ride in early morning.

    Nice cozy room with a view to the square, very friendly staff and breakfast. Clean room. and it is in the center of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning wasn't much good and room was very warm, couldn't really keep windows open due to location. Breakfast selection was okay at best and when we asked for a late checkout we were only given an extra hour which wasn't much help! Also be warning a number of steps have to be taken to get to the entrance, then from the entrance to hotel reception.

    Great location right off the central square and roof top area for breakfast is stunning where looking over the square and Duomo.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    More time to spend in this central location.

    Breakfast overlooking the square with the church. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Had an amazing view of square from my room with a balcony. Even carried my bags down to the main level. Found this hotel very comforting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The church bells are ridiculous. The go off every 15 minutes from 7am-10pm. Don't think you're having a sleep in or a nap...they're so loud. There is also some sort of building work going on behind the hotel, so if you have a room at the back, it's quite noisy with sanders and drills during the day.

    This hotel is lovely. It's the perfect location to explore Amalfi, but also to get the boat and discover the rest of the coast. Amalfi is sweet and calm. We visited Position for a day and it was so busy and crazy, we were thrilled to come back to Amalfi. Our room had partial see view and a small balcony. It's not a luxury hotel, but if you're not spending loads of time in your room, it's perfect, comfortable and safe. Breakfast is served on the roof and it's lovely. Good selection and great view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is that the municipal street cleaners start at circa 05:00 so it does get noisy early.

    We had a great big room opposite the Duomo, the view was fantastic, superb breakfast, and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is 900 years old & in a UNESCO site but a few repairs to the rooms are needed

    This hotel overlooks the main piazza in Amalfi & is directly opposite the Duomo. From the balcony we watched 3 weddings & the bustle of life below in the square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are lots of upstairs but no elevator. You have to carry your baggage. Hotel is look like poor and needs to restoration and rooms are so small that we can not find anywhere to open baggages. Price is very high when compared with facilities.

    location is very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel. Clean and comfortable. Staff helped with cases and we're warm and friendly. Good size room. Bathroom large and clean. Breaky was lovely with a splendid view of the duomo. Highly recommend. Easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom amenities could've been better (clogged bathtub and there was a puddle on the floor most times), and the window leaked a bit when it rained.

    Staff was friendly, the location couldn't be more central, and our room had amazing views over the piazza. Breakfast roof is also lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive room for what i had in general. My bed was hard, i slept soso.

    Great staff, very helpful and nice! The view on the duomo and the piazza from the top terrasse was perfect! Amazing location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived, nobody was in the reception so I wasn't able to ask for help with my luggage as it was a steep climb up to the hotel. Opening the door with the key was not very easy as I had to try a couple of times and push hard before it works.

    My room didn't have a view but the view from the breakfast area was stunning. The breakfast selection was pretty standard but there was enough for everyone. Saif (receptionist) was really nice and was very helpful in giving directions about where to go in Ravello. He was also very warm and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not great beds, general cheap hotel. Great location if you can sleep through the noise of the busy square and the church bells. Some of the staff was friendly, but no one went out of their way to help us or be particularly accommodating. If you have luggage, be ready to drag it up a few flights of stairs, unless you hire a luggage porter down by the docks. If it's high season and it's the cheapest options it will suffice for a night or two. Other than that, stay elsewhere. There are some really lovely hotels a short walk from the town with views and some peace and quiet.

    Amalfi is amazing and this hotel is on the central square.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels very coarse.

    Location excellent. Breakfast and coffee great. Special mention to Saeed. Probably not spelt correct. Very helpful and a credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The had trouble connecting to the internet and it cut in and out , but guess I don't need internet on holiday

    Great location to base ourselves in Amalfi , close to beach , ferry & resturants . Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I couldn't stay more :-)

    The location is simply amazing: in the heart of Amalfi, very close to the pier. Super-friendly staff, the hotel is very clean, spacious rooms with everything needed for a long or short way, beautiful view from the top.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a quirky little hotel which we like. Only think is the steep stone stairs to get to the Hotel entrance which is around the back. Then there is stairs to your room. But got used to all that in Italy. It wouldn't be suitable for anyone with walking frames/sticks or bad legs. Great location straight opposite St. Andrews Crypt/Cathedral which is lovely. - Parking was at a 'local' car park around the corner a bit, but was easy to get back to the hotel with luggage, as we just walked through a covered tunnel and into the little paved streets, didn't take long at all. - Breakfast was amazing and the view from the top terrace was just gorgeous, so glad we picked a Central Hotel. Plenty of restaurants in the square just below the hotel and in the tiny streets. - Plenty of great shops for anything you desire. Souvenirs, wonderful arty pieces and nice clothes, bathers, food/wine etc. The highlight was seeing some donkeys helping with the clean-ups early hours of the morning. So clean there, the workers were collecting all the rubbish (all recycled), washing down the streets for the next busy day!! So much fun!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is bang in the middle of the town so it's excellent location for wondering the town or getting a bus, taxi or ferry from the terminal yards away to go exploring. The hotel is ideal for the price and does the job as never in the hotel given the weather and places to explore. The staff were some the best I have encountered on my trips. The roof top terrace of the hotel is amazing views down to the main square and beyond where we were treated to concerts that were going on below where we were allowed to drink or own drinks. Can't fault it ideal base. Breakfast was also good with it being 730-10am so if wanted could have a lie in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to climb upstaires to reach the entrance. It's not so easy with heavy luggage.

    Friendly stuff and great location - in the central square. Amazing view from the terrace during breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was wonderful, but as a reminder to those that don't read the full website (although it is listed) there will be stairs. You are in Amalfi after all!

    Location is perfect for transportation and all places of interest. The staff was VERY pleasant and available if needed. The breakfast on the wonderful terrace included eggs and yogurt in addition to rolls, cold cuts, sweets, fresh fruit and more. The breakfast staff was particularly good making EXCELLENT cappuccino, espresso, cafe americano etc. to order while keeping the food replenished and tables clean. Definitely got the guests day off to a good start! My husband and I used the terrace to have apertivo and to relax after our long days out and at the end of the night to relax with some wine. Cannot beat the location for people watching, the atmosphere and, of course, sipping while looking at the duomo. The rooms and public areas were impeccably clean. The AIR CONDITIONING was EXCELLENT! Hotel Centrale exceeded my husband's and my expectations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This boutique 30 odd room hotel was an absolute find. Could NOT get better location in Amalfi township. Centre of square we opened our windows and looked onto the cathedral steps and watched all of the action below. Clean comfortable. Friendly staff, helpful tips on local transport - we had come specifically to walk the Pathway of the Gods. The breakfast was unbelievably good, fresh croissant and pastries out of the oven etc. Best value for money on our month long tour of Italy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    The staff were super friendly, always happy to recommend things, help with anything as well as just have a general chat to. Breakfast was always great and the balcony on the roof was absolutely amazing. The location is the most central building in the town and everything is within walking distance. Would thoroughly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower drain played up a little and spilled water on the floor.

    Spacious room, bright and airy with windows on three sides. Cute balcony overlooking the duomo. Good breakfast on the terrace with sea view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. It was quite poor, I expected better. The coffee machine was very loud and our room was next to breakfast place, so it was instead of alarm clock. The shower glass were not closing enough. When showering all the bathroom floor was wet.

    The staff and the location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just two things - I traveled with my mom and she has a heart condition so the steps to the hotel were a bit of a challenge (they are not many but they are quite steep). And a piece of advice - make sure you bring earplugs with you, they would mean a world of difference. The windows are actually doors to the balcony, and they are old so you can hear everything that happens at the piazza - and since Amalfi is a popular place, there is a buzz going on all the time. People having dinner, children screaming, couples arguing, the cathedral's bells ringing every quarter hour... It is as if it happens in your room indeed. When you want to get some sleep, just use some earplugs, otherwise you WILL find it uncomfortable.

    The location is hands down second to none. Could not be better! If you arrive by bus or by ferry, it literally is 2 minutes away (you just cross the road, walk through the ancient ark and you are at the piazza del Duomo - the hotel is right across the catherdral itself). The place is clean, the breakfast was great, our room had a view to the Duomo and it really is overwhelming. Once you open the window and its beauty hits you. The staff is cool, very friendly and extremely helpful (Saif, hi from Bulgaria!). Not much else to be desired.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being in the city center inevitably means it is going to be noisy from inside the hotel room. Late at night and early in the morning you can easily hear everything going on in the square. But its the price you pay for good location and convenience!

    My boyfriend and I traveled Italy for almost two weeks, and this was our favorite accommodation! When you take the autobus into Amalfi, the hotel is a 2 minute walk from the bus area. Is is right in the city center. The room and bathroom were larger than the average we have experienced in Europe and very clean! The breakfast was WONDERFUL- they make any coffee you could want, salami, cheese, boiled eggs, cereals, yogurts, fruit, orange juice, pastries, cakes, bread, croissants, butter, jams, nutella, etc etc. All while sitting outside on the rooftop terrace overlooking the church. While very pricy, there is a laundry service that picks-up/drops-off your laundry, they did ours in the same day. The staff was also wonderful. Saif, a gentlemen who spoke excellent English, was extremely kind, helpful, and hospitable. He even helped us plan our journey from Amalfi to Rome! Overall, a great experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Centrale as the name calls it, it's very centrally located in Piazza Duomo overlooking the S. Andrea Cathedral. Our view from the room was amazing, facing the grand stairway and the illuminated arches of the Duomo, breathtakingly beautiful each and every time. Breakfast was of incredible selections and served at the hotel terrace, great vibe to start touring amazing Amalfi. The hotel staff was very personable and helpful. Would highly recommend and will book Hotel Centrale on my next visit to Amalfi!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise. The towels were so old, harsh like sandpaper.

    The location is excellent! (Be aware, the entrance is from the back of the building.) Astonishing view from the room and from the breakfast terrace on the cathedral and a plaza with a fountain and all activities. Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was hard so the sleep was not so good. I asked for a room with a view...I got a room with a view of scaffolding next door. I thought I had prepaid & Reception said no, I had not. I told him to hold off whilst I went to check my paperwork & he took the payment before my authority. Also, our room was right near Reception & we could hear all conversations. I've had better.

    The position is directly opposite Amalfi Cathedral in Duomo Square.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the balcony's room over the Duomo facade of Amalfi. The various and rich breakfast. The good rate Price/Quality. The location of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only downside to the wonderful location of the place was the noise, with the church across the road the bells are always ringing every 15 minutes and the noise from people in the square late at night was quite loud and distracting, so much so that I couldn't sleep at all without wearing huge headphones to bed so it wasn't the most comfortable thing but at least I was able to sleep. I would recommend this place as we had a very pleasant stay but definitely bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper!

    The room was spacious and had everything we needed with a comfy bed and lovely view out onto the main square and cathedral. Couldn't have asked for a better location and the terrace where breakfast is served is nice with a good view, the breakfast was basic but decent - pastries, rolls, cereal, yogurt, cake, cheese and cold meats.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All the staff were extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating. They helped me bring my luggage both up and down the stairs at check-in and check-out. The hotel is in the very center of Amalfi and easy to reach. Breakfast with the view of the Duomo was spectacular. The bed was very firm, which I like, and comfortable and the bathroom was a good size.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and very helpful english speaking staff. This place lived up to its lonely planet recommendation. Excellent breakfast as well and the view from the terrace was the best in Amalfi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold. The room became eventually warmer with a very loud heating system but the bathroom remained cold. Towels clean but very old and extremely hard and harsh. Breakfast room very cold. Bed cover dirty. Everything in the hotel tired, low quality and not clean. For what it is the room was very bery expensive for 94 usd. Lots of stairs to the hotel. Beware if you have knee problems or heavy luggage.

    Almost nothing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cathedral bells start marking the hours, and quarters from 7 o'clock!

    The friendly reception staff: helpful and pleasant. The location was excellent: in front of the cathedral and very near the bus stop.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get to reception you have to haul your bags up two long flights external stairs. Wi fi is a bit dodgy.

    Useful 3 star hotel with all the normal facilities. It's in the main square opposite the cathedral, a hop, skip and a jump from the ferry and bus terminals.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet service could be improved and extended to the rooms. Bathroom could have done with a coat of paint.

    Location was fantastic, especially the roof terrace over looking the Duo-mo. Staff were also great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The relaxed atmosphere and the use of the lovely balcony breakfast room at anytime was great. Saif was always ready to help and always with a smile. Location is beautiful and if your on a budget the price is very reasonable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could perhaps do with some modernisation. Starting with a better mattress which is not so hard. And new chairs for balcony.

    Friendly service, breakfast on the roof top, amazing!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect right in the main town square opposite the Basicillica . Walk out the door to restaurants and sight seeing, main hub for ferries to surrounding towns, staff friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location right in the centre. Well equipped room and friendly staff. Breakfast served in. Nice terrace that looks over the main piazza and the sea as well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to visit, to me best in Amalfi coast. Great location not 5 star but can accomodate your taste. Good breakfast to charge yourself before edventure. Thank you Hotel Centrale staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi signal wasnt very good in the room so we need to go to the breakfast balcony for internet access

    very friendly and nice stuff, excellent breakfast and superb service. Really nice location (the best location in the city). comfortable and clean room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - although be aware of stairs and it could be easily missed if you aren't fully aware of where it should be.

    Location was fantastic, hotel staff were great.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water temp a little cool at times but not a problem for me.

    Best location above bustling piazza facing beautiful church. Saw bridal parties descend the steps, everyone clapping, loved the church bells, not invasive.Fun, friendly staff. Saif especially, charming and efficient at reception.Breakfast, cappuccino, on top terrace always good.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located up very steep steps, wouldn't be suitable for anyone with a walking difficulty. Someone with strong arms required to carry the suitcases up them all!

    Great location, very central. Superb views of the square from the breakfast terrace.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was hoping for a better coffee at breakfast.

    The staff on the front desk were extremely helpful and the location was perfect for the 1 night we were there.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location is extraordinary....nice view The staff were so great Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was mold in bathroom, and the room definitely need reconstruction...

    The location is amazing. Room with balcony and cathedral view was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff are so helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not possible to pay by credit card

    It is ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No seaside view

    Friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, good breakfast, nice people

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to cancel our trip a little bit earlier but didn't received any answer to our request.

    Amazing view!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Cathedral View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little rundown and needs lots of improvements

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host is a funny italian man and he makes very good cappuccino.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the 30 or more steps up to reach the entrance to the property.Enjoyable

    laid back atmosphere and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: