Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi 3 stars

Via Fiorentina 89, 53011 Castellina in Chianti, Italy

#5 of 17 hotels in Castellina in Chianti

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 608 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very friendly; welcoming and very helpful with showing us the map and how to get into town. The hotel was beautiful and clean, with a lovely outdoor area to sit and relax. I would highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    The property is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a gem. The staffs are nice, always smiling and accommodating. The breakfast place has a good ambience. Location is very nice as it’s located in a quiet neighbourhood and near to center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Outstanding hotel experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a wonderful stay! Check-in was easy, Marina welcomed us so warmly, showed us our room and gave us a list of recommended restaurants in Castellina, as well as a coupon to enjoy a free wine tasting. We fell in love with the place and decided to stay for a second night, for which we received a room upgrade! Breakfast was delicious and is served in a beautiful garden. We also enjoyed a relaxing afternoon reading next to the pool. We fell in love with this hotel and the region and we will for sure go back next year! P.S: After we had paid, Marina gave us a free bottle of wine!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice pool and gardens, position of the hotel makes it easily...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice pool and gardens, position of the hotel makes it easily walkable from the town both in the day and at night. Guests at the hotel are able to wine taste at a venue within the vaults which we really enjoyed, as well as receiving 10% off all restaurants in the town. The staff were really friendly and accomodating.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    The property had a great Italian feeling and you have your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property had a great Italian feeling and you have your breakfast in their Garden which is amazing. The staff is very nice and there is short walking distance to the village.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Great location with beautiful view for sunrise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It really was a great experience, but if I really had to mention something not so good, I’d say the pool could use a midday cleaning as well, because of all the insects. However, it is not that disturbing, just an additional nice to have. We will definitely be back here.

    Great location with beautiful view for sunrise Very friendly and helpful staff Clean room Comfortable bed Good parking Delicious breakfast served directly in the garden Functional pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Lovely spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very welcoming and hospitable. The location is great and the hotel is very peaceful. We loved how homely it felt and the rooms are very clean and cosy, even the economy rooms. Definitely recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful property with amazing outside areas for having...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property with amazing outside areas for having breakfast, chilling in the sun or just relaxing. Room was charming and typical tuscany feel, very comfortable. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful property , very nice staff, would come back again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opportunity for bike rental at property

    The property is situated just a couple minutes away from the center of town and close to many vineyards, hotel is cozy and nice , has alll the amenities one would want to be comfortable , beautiful garden and peaceful for a getaway for a couple

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you expect a modern posh hotel, this is not your hotel. It is an oldschool style hotel (see rooms photos). But this does not have to be a negative thing, and it is aligned with Tuscany style.

    The environment. The hotel is a super cool old countryhouse surrounded by nature. It has a big garden with a pool. It is lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful villa hotel and garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A long walk from the town but there was a good restaurant close by.

    Comfortable bed, nice bathroom with complimentary toiletries, lovely garden and pool. Breakfast was good with choice of eggs, fruit and pastries. Receptionist was very friendly and informative.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    great service and very warm and kind of everybody in this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    great service and very warm and kind of everybody in this hotel. especially very nice capuccino and espreso with good breakfast is never forget. my families felt as our home. appreciate all of service for my families. Chao!! ^^

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Great place to discover the Chianti region!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We will surely come back next year and stay for longer. The hotel is cozy and typical, it is a perfect place to feel the atmosphere of Tuscany and its Chianti region. The room is beautiful and arranged in all the small details to make your stay relaxed and pleasant, you even have a teapot in the room in order to enjoy a cup of tea after a driving through the region. The breakfast is great, the atmosphere is so friendly and home-like. I absolutely recommend this place!!! the staff is great and you have the town of Castiglioni just in 3 min drive from you which is perfect for going for a walk&dinner in the evening.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyable location and very cute rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the hotel staff spoke slightly better english. The main door infront our room could be heard when opened and closed each time. The closet was also half broken and needed to be opened from the inside.

    Very cute cozy location. The room was clean and the bed was comfertable. The bathroom seemed tk bebrecently renovated and was in a good shape. Inside the shower however there was no place to keep soaps and had to be kept on the floor, a minor detail but still and inconvenience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay while exploring the Tuscan Chianti area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Great location for exploring the surrounding Tuscan towns, but you must have a car. Our room was quite small, but the decoration created a cosy and comfortable atmosphere. The facility was very clean, and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    As usual we enjoyed our stay in this nice old-style hotel 15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As usual we enjoyed our stay in this nice old-style hotel 15 min walking distance to the village center. Excellent breakfast and all employees very helpful and agreable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    Thoroughly enjoyable. What I would expect in Chianti.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downhill walk to breakfast.

    Staff very knowledgeable and helpful about Chianti . Location on edge of Castellini in Chianti was easily accessible, quiet and convenient. Breakfast was very well served and quite extensive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    The service quality of the receptionist was very good...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I tried one of the restaurants in Castellina highly recommended by the hotel (you can also enjoy 10% discount at the restaurant by showing a coupon from the hotel) but it was just average. I advise you to search the restaurants online before coming to Toscana. There are many nice restaurants there and please do spend some time on the research. It is worth of it.

    The service quality of the receptionist was very good although she made a mistake in making a dinner reservation for me. The washroom in my room was large and the towels are very white and clean. It takes 3 min to drive to the nearest town Castellina in Chianti. You can reach two nice restaurants on foot in 2-3 min.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Excellent in all respects
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Property location excellent in Castellina - old renovated farmhouse - comfortable kingsize bed and slightly small room ( larger rooms available) compensated for by great atmosphere - high beamed ceiling and spacious modern bathroom with good shower However the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff was really amazing - they could not do enough for us . Also an excellent restaurant informal and friendly staff about 60 yards down the road Unreservedly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Very helpful staff and good room with comfortable bed, but a little too far to walk into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was a little further from the town then we thought. At 600 meters it was walkable, but part of the walk was on a busy street with sections that had very little separation from passing vehicles. Did not want to walk after dark.

    The room was large and the bed very comfortable. Staff were also very helpful and the breakfast selection was very good. There was a good restaurant close to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    A cosy hotel with a lot of atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from the village old town, app 15 min walk. The area around the hotel is beatiful. It is a pity there is no view or panarama from the hotel itself.

    A cosy hotel with a lot of atmosphere. A nice garden with a swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Delightful, fulfilling and successful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast lacks quality and convenience. Making our own boiled eggs in lukewarm water never worked; we preferred going downtown for real, good coffee and quality brioche. The bathroom hand towels are useless and need replacing with better absorbent ones, and the tiny shower sliding doors don't join tightly, allowing water spillage onto the floor are in need of adjustment or replacement. That said, it won't stop us from staying here again. The location, surroundings, easy parking, cleanliness and exceptionally helpful staff tops it all.

    It's lovely surroundings within walking distance of the center, with an exceptional accommodating and helpful staff, spotless clean and parking on the premises was especially appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Initially allocated room 10, but moving us was no problem upon request - so great...

    Breakfast fantastic. Immaculately clean. Staff couldn't do enough for you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in a lovely village, very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls; could hear our neighbours a bit too well.

    Very helpful and friendly staff (especially Zico!), room was spacious, the gardens just lovely and relaxing. Easy walking distance to the village. Had one of the best meals in Tre Porti in the village.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful, peaceful property in the heart of Chianti - loved Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The options for coffee at breakfast included machine-made coffee drinks or coffee prepared by the attentive staff. Don't hesitate to ask the staff to prepare your coffee of choice - much better than the machine-made, which tasted burnt.

    Perfect, central location in the heart of the Chianti region in Italy, allowing easy exploring by car; beautiful views of the Tuscan countryside; serene property with easy access to nearby small town and ample parking on property; lovely, private grounds with patio and multiple seating areas for relaxing, flowers, trees and very nice pool; superior room was quite roomy with comfortable bed, large bathroom and closet, lovely bath/shower products; delicious breakfast with lots of choices; family and couples friendly; friendly and helpful staff; options for drinks on the patio and breakfast in the garden; we wouldn't hesitate to recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    A perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect location to explore the region. From the moment we arrived to our departure the staf could not do enough to ensure we had a delightful stay. We certainly will return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is in the pretty town of Castellina in Chianti, an easy ten minute walk away. The hotel itself has a lovely garden and a pool, as well as a pretty breakfast room. Our room was in a separate building which had four rooms and a smalll terrace. It wasn't huge, but big enough, as was the bathroom. Everything was decorated and furnished in a typically Tuscan way, very pretty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Perfect Tuscan holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tuscany optimised! This hotel was beautiful, rooms were so perfect. Just as advertised. Clean comfortable and perfect place to rest after a long day exploring. Breakfast setting lovely and good options to set you up for the day. Building was great and the quintessential Tuscany villa with a lovely sparkling pool and garden to relax in. Village was perfect small and quaint with all the things you need with places to explore, shop and history. Restaurant 60m down road which was so great we ate there every night!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    9.2
    spacious rooms nicely furnished, lovely garden, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noise from the traffic on busy road just behind the (big)pool

    spacious rooms nicely furnished, lovely garden, beautiful surroundings, elevated old village (900m by foot) in Chianti

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Charming and relaxing place for a getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We loved the friendly staff, the delicious breakfast every morning, the beautiful grounds and close walking distance to a fabulous restaurant and pizzeria. The rooms, the pool and cool summer breezes were so relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Reception is was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is was very nice. The young man assisting at breakfast was very attentive and made great cappuccinos! Walking distance to good restaurants... ask for recommendations at the reception desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing hotel a short walk out of Castellina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was on the corner and everybody had to pass by to enter the building which mean that we could not open the window without being overlooked. This maybe only a problem of this room but it is not ideal. Since this hotel is not cheap I think charging extra 3euros for each beach towel is a bit over the top.

    Despite the hotel being very full the pool was not crowded.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Most pleasant staff and amazing hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very cozy and comfortable room. The staff were extremely courteous and welcoming. They were truly the most pleasant staff we came across during our entire Italy trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    staff were very friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our room was above the 'breakfast room' and although we were not disturbed by the noise at breakfast time, on one occasion a group of people moved into the room next door during the early hours and created enough noise to wake the dead

    staff were very friendly and attentive. breakfast was exceptional pool was spotless as was the room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    We couldn't have asked for more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We couldn't have asked for more! The room was small but tidy with fridge and air condition (TV and bath room of course). The pool was very nice. The real highlights were the most lovely arranged garden were we had breakfast, the extremely friendly staff, the location (outside the town but easy to walk into the town-center in the evening), and the original fashioned tuscany main-building! Thank You for a perfect accomodation!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic staff, disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the hotel was bit tired and grotty. I can appreciate rustic and in keeping with the sense of the place and am happy with this, but I thought this hotel was disappointingly old fashioned and the room and bathroom were in need of an overhaul. Tiny window made the room feel quite claustrophobic.....ok it's an old building but I didn't want to stay in the room. So wouldn't go back despite the wonderful helpful staff.

    Staff were amazingly friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. I rate them 5 star. Also 2 places to eat which were within walking distance. One quite up market and actually somewhat pretentious. I imagined we could walk into Castellina but it was really too far. We didn't go to the pizza restaurant. Pool good and welcome place to hang out at the start and end of the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Castellina - surprisingly good restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly welcome - all staff were great Lovely garden to relax in Spotlessly clean room and very well maintained building and grounds Good breakfast Nice shampoo + soap products in bathroom (no cheap sachets!) Ate at 2 restaurants in Castellina reccommended - and kindly booked - by hotel; food was excellent at Il Re Gallo and La Torre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, quaint getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few minor issues with hot water/air con but were resolved quickly, so couldn't really fault the response of staff at all.

    Nice character, lovely rooms, staff who were very pleasant & couldn't do enough for you. Nice touch with the 10% discount off nearby restaurants in town & the free wine tasting!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    If you want to stay in wine country consider the Salivopi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I liked the location of this inn. It was close to Sienna and Florence where we visited twice. I liked the country setting and the Town Castellini in chianti. It was close to other towns in Tuscany which you can visit. The Staff was very accommodating and pleasant. The grounds were beautiful but don't thing you are going to get a room for $126 as advertised on many websites. It cost about $200 a night including taxes. The breakfast are adequate more appealing to Europeans. The pool and the grounds were great. If you do not want to stay in florence or Sienna, I suggest you stay here if it is in your budget

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful & relaxing lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are tall the regular room will be a problem to get inside.

    The people at the hotel were very warm & helpful. At the last the the woman at the reception helped us to deside what to to, beacause it was a very hot day. The place was so peacefujl and beutiful. Lovely place to be in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    A delightful place..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a "gem". The beautiful gardens, historic building and individual rooms were delightful. The location was rural but extremely easy to get to the village. The staff gave very good recommendations of restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Best stay on our trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough time spent here, wish we had stayed longer!

    Absolutely loved it! Close to cute town with lots of restaurants and stores, beautiful grounds, breakfast was wonderful, we will be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely amazing hotel and friendly and extremely helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing hotel and friendly and extremely helpful staff! ❤️ I've travelled to Cinque Terre for couple of days without informing hotel staff ( I do it all the time in order to discover different places ) Been called from the hotel very next day. They been worried about me. That was heart warming and really sweet of them. Bus station is walking distance away, so it's very easy to reach other cities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    In an area with some old, tired hotels.... this one was a lovely surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It really was a great hotel. Hard to fault in any way.

    Room had fresh flowers and a/c for no extra charge. Shower was delightfully powerful and spacious, which is not always the case in Italy ! We ate breakfast in the lovely garden where there were tables in the sun or shade. Service was perfect, and the welcome was warm and thorough. Car parking was available just a few meters from the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    What a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely converted 15th century farmhouse! Very comfortable and staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. Short walk to castellina town where there are restaurants and little shops. Very nice stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Idyllic, relaxing way to see Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Very idyllic and peaceful setting, the staff were lovely. Walkable distance to the town of Castillina. I was given a present for my birthday and on check out a bottle of wine from their vineyard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Will be back
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maby garden was a little bit noisy beccause of traffic, but not too much

    Sorry, but can't be better. Clean, sweet, beautiful garden, nice rooms. And very, very, very friendly stuff beginning wit receptionists, ending with cleaning ladies.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Really nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Typical Toscana house with large and beautiful garden (where breakfast can be taken in summer). EXTREMELY nice staff, very helpful. Upscale italian traditional style, very comfy, relaxing atmosphere. Excellent Pizzeria / Trattoria just 50 m away!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in the heart of Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We spent a week in this amazing hotel in Tuscany. The hotel is located walking distance from the centre of Castellina which offers wide range of restaurants and bars. The staff was great and very helpful,rooms were cleaned daíly and breskfasts were very nice. Perfect location for trips as it's right in the middle of Tuscany.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Really cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better. Industrialized food. Staff very gentle preparing eggs and others.

    Very confortable hotel. Cozy. In a beautiful area. Staff extremely gentle. Good restaurants around. Went by car so I don't know if it's a good location to walk around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in the heart of Chianti
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great really, the only thing that could get better is the temperature of the room. During the night it was quite cold and the heating was off (it was unseasonably cold though, so it couldn't be helped).

    Everything was lovely! Staff was kind and helpful, the room was spacious and clean and there was a great choice at breakfast. Lovely accommodation in the rolling green hills of Chianti!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    10
    Perfect location, beautiful hotel,rooms are very sweet, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, beautiful hotel,rooms are very sweet, the garden in lovely,friendly staff with great recommendations,breathtaking view, breakfast is good and great restaurants near by. We totally recommend!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Lovely week in a charming Chianti farm house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!

    Hotel Salivolpi was a very charming old farm house just on the outskirts of of Castinellina in Chianti The room was nicely decorated in a rustic Tuscany style, and a rose from the garden added a nice touch. The breakfast was excellent, with lots of choice. The staff were very helpful, pleasant and accommodating, arranging wine tours and dinners for us. The garden was lovely, but unfortunately the weather was poor and we didn't have a chance to enjoy it or the pool. The location is good for touring thought out Chianti and south to Siena. We would definitely return and recommend it highly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    Small But Beautifully Formed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking is a bit tight if you have a larger vehicle

    A lovely little hotel on the edge of Castellina with really helpful staff who speak excellent English! Our room was typically Tuscan, small but beautifully presented, with a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom. Several pleasant restaurants within walking distance. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    Just as wonderful as ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather, so we could have sat in the garden and used the lovely pool!

    We have been visiting here for 30 years and this family-run small hotel never disappoints. The welcome and the friendliness of the staff is outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Wonderful! Loved it! A beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one problem, the English breakfast tea we ordered from the bar was not good and tasted strange, I would have liked the tea to be taken off the bill, although the hotelier did replace the tea , but the second one was the same, maybe the water or the tea bags were a problem, I don't know. This was the only problem, everything else was wonderful and I want to come back! Thank you

    Everything was good , I loved the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful place to stay in Chianti!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place to stay. The decor and location was everything you imagined Tuscany to be like! Delicious breakfast buffet. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The only thing that bothered us was that we could smell smoke in our room from our neighbours.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    The room was comfortable with tea making facilities in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was comfortable with tea making facilities in room. Easy to travel to parts of chianti region. Nice gardens to sit in and pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    We will tell all our friends how wonderful this place is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommended for tourists in Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and courteous staff. Equipped with a small but cozy pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful relaxing stay amidst the stunning Tuscany countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything fine.

    Relaxing staff welcoming working hard to ensure everyone enjoyed their stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in the best part of Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great hotel in a great part of Chianti, walking distance into Castellini. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely garden and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely garden and pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic restful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault.

    Fantastic restful location. Very helpful staff. Great location within easy walking of restaurants. Breakfast great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    very pleasant hotel, within walking distance of the town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very pleasant hotel, within walking distance of the town and the restaurants. Lovely breakfast setting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Super recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best way to relax .. amazing location and facilities.. staff friendly and can give a lot of tips.. we booked an entra night because was too good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice garden with pool, short walk to city centre, idilic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice garden with pool, short walk to city centre, idilic building!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t the most comfortable.

    Lovely staff, beautiful property and a great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast could be more sophisticated. is kind of 2 simple

    very very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great location for touring the Chianti region.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they had a restaurant for an evening meal would be even better.

    Authentic rustic charm. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    We all enjoyed it immensely. Staff was so helpful and nice. Tremendously accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little on the small side

    Great location, nice breakfast room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Romantic and cosy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Very cosy rooms Walking distance from the town (although it's a longer walk - 20mins) Great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location from the village

    Amazing staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Perfect for a cozy getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy friendly place, walking distance from the town of Castellina and in an absolutely beautiful area. Perfect for winding down!

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: