Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Colombo 3 stars

Via Nolana 35 - Via Conforti 11A, Central Station, 80142 Naples, Italy

#107 of 158 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 918 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area around the hotel is very sketchy. Lots of street markets and gets smelly (but the hotel smelled fine). Rooms were kind of small, but still adequately big enough to move around a little bit.

    Receptionists were welcoming and the room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in time was 9am, we arrived and the room wasn't ready, reaching the hotel itself by car is a nightmare, broken air-conditioning you couldn't even regulate the Temperature

    Closer to the centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can be noisy - the back of the hotel is on a busy street where on some days of the week, they are setting up street stalls early in the morning and the market continues all day. Some of the rooms are very close to reception area and stairs so you hear people coming and going and chatting.

    Good location a few hundred metres from Central Station with several cafes and restaurants nearby. Fairly good breakfast buffet though room is very small and can get crowded.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furnitures, old fashioned room, clean but broken...

    We spent there only one night. Near to the station. Room was not ready but we could left there our baggages, price was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved Naples!!The staff was very friendly and polite willing to help with anything we need.I will definitely travel to Napoli again.When I do I will for sure stay at Colombo.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was OK but on the small side for me. The room was clean but the wife said it smelt a bit damp. Missing a good cup of tea.

    Staff were great! Breakfast was OK and the coffee was good. Small mini bar in the room. Area was close to public transport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    terrible area, lots of dimly lit, dodgy looking streets, didn't really go out at night if we could help it!!

    very nice helpful staff, family run. nice clean rooms. close to train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel very well located and close to all touristic attractions. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, bed comfortable, quiet location at night and had all the facilities. I would like to say that I read before booking that the area doesn't look save because there were lot of inmigrant people and so. That's not true at all. OK, the are immigrants but that doesn't make unsafe the area. Location in safe even late at night. Also, people say that hotel was not good enough and I would ask them, what do you expect for nearly 40 euros/room/night? Maybe a 4**** or 5***** hotel??? Hotel has all facilities for. 3****, private bathroom, fridge, air conditioning, TV, hairdryer, amenities, etc....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy from outside.

    Our room was on the top floor so no noisy neighbours. Breakfast was as expected the usual stuff. Room was small but good location. Cost 25€ taxi from the airport. Saw a note in the hotel later they offered taxi Sevice from 20€. Metro and train station only couple of min away. Not many good places to eat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small

    Cleaness, location, breakfast included. Will be cool if you are planing to take morning train next day - train station is 5 mins walking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is my only complaint. The streets around the hotel were very noisy during our stay, even during the late hours of the night which made it very difficult to get some sleep

    The staff were very nice and helpful, and the room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location although very close to the center, train and bus stops can intimidate, but we had no troubles!

    The staff is very helpful and we could leave the luggage after check-out until the evening.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Small room, bathroom not very clean, tabaco smell in the room, we can listen everything on the other rooms, no wi-fi, bed not só confortable.

    The breakfast is not so bad and the people that work there are very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Nearby streets are quite messy, but that's because of the proximity of train stations & market

    - All the hotel staff was really kind and caring, showed great hospitality - Breakfast was diverse, it was perfect to start the day with - Metro, train, Circumvesuviana and Alibus stations are close to the hotel - At arrival we had to wait a bit for our room to be cleaned, but we were offered nice coffee while waiting :) - Luggage can be left at the hotel before check-in/after check-out

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Superb location (great for visiting city center and also for going to transvesuviana ride), nice staff. Very good place for travelling alone or with partner. Overall good ratio of price and quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was fine but the shower was tiny and could be cleaner; I would prefer to have buvet instead of blanket; extreemly slow elevator; places such as terrace were closed in february

    Location, vintage climate, room size, view and small balcony, nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The location is absolutely amazing for getting around Naples/The Islands/The Amalfi Coast/Vesuvius and Pompeii Garibaldi station / the Circumvensuviana station are both around a 2/3 min walk away Had a great time in this hotel and the staff are lovely Really clean rooms as well

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location. Excellent mattress. Great staff. Room was cleaned every day. Quiet at night. Elevator. Great value in comparison to the other places in Naples.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubical was small and there was some mould around the shower area, but everything else was very clean.if you hire a car there is no parking and on street parking is impossible,so you have to park in a 24hr which is £25 p er day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise, noise and more noise coming from the window. Trash trucks going up and down the roads at night were a pain and so were the the market people working since very early in the morning. Smell coming from the sewers. No shuttle to the airport from the hotel, there is the public bus to be taken from the train station.

    Good breakfast and good position downtown. Staff were helpful and available to answer to our questions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smells! There was like garlic smell in the room and I really didn't like it, but it despaired when I turned on the AC. Also, there was a always some water on the bathroom's floor, it might be from a leakage. I checked in around 2200hrs, the man on the reception, asked to keep my passport with him, but he was not able to speak good English, so I was really confused coz I didn't understand why he wanted to keep the passport.

    It's to close the central station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very small and dated with cleaning supplies and dirty towels piled on the floor right outside the room. Room had very strong fragrance, which then was replaced by choking cigarette smoke at night even though we were promised that we had a non-smoking room (which we did not believe because there were ash trays in the room). Asked the staff to switch to a different room in the morning for the next night, was told ok but when we returned in the evening, the evening staff seemed to have no idea what we were talking about and refused. The toilet was clogged and the staff just told us to wait until the morning and did nothing to help the situation. The area around the hotel seems very dirty and sketchy.

    Morning staff was friendly but the evening staff did not speak any English and was not friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really good, the staff were very friendly and respectful, we felt very good at the hotel and surely we would return. Already we are very missing the atmosphere of the hotel and the friendly staff.The hotel is in a great location close to all transport hubs, everything is close and easy to reach, Naples is beautiful and magic. It's my second home and i return to here already 6 years and will be always Thank you Colombo ❤

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    just a bit noice on the street in the night....garbage trucks and cleaning cars

    Great destination, very helpful personal, the breakfast was good, wifi works, clean and basic rooms. Just a little oasa in the cenrtum.. again so thanks for everything. I loved this family hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect! Staff was very friendly, especially Dario. :) Hotel Colombo is very close to the railwaystation 1-2 minutes on foot. The area is not the best in the evening but this hotel was a very good choice. Breakfast was fine: ther was not hot meal, bzr you can find everything else: original italian espresso (yumi :)), capuccino, croissan, ham, yoghurt... The room was a small and clean one but enough for us. :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could have been a better selection at breakfast. The surrounding area was a bit seedy but I felt safe at all times. Even coming back to the hotel in the early hours.

    The staff were excellent. Very helpful. Three minutes walk from Central station and easy to find. Seemed to be in the centre of everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is not in one of the most salubrious districts, which is reflected in the very good price. There is plenty of noise in the street outside at all hours - but that seems to be Naples! The street markets of Porta Nolana are colourful - so it has quite a buzz.

    Superb location for access to the city, very helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast, excellent caffe latte!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Area around the hotel is eclectic to say the least. I would not say I didn't like it. But I will say it may challenge your comfort level. I did find it very safe!

    Very friendly staff that were helpful planning travel. Spoke good English. Breakfast was fine. Room was clean and functional. Always felt comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot water was not even warm some of the time.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is close to the main train station. The surrounding streets look a bit shady, but we did not have any problems.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day I was leaving I left my case open on the bed and went out for some tea, when I came back the ceksner had been. I put the rest of my belongings in and zipped it up, when I got home a new bottle of expensive purfume I had pushed had been stolen from my case.

    Good location,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a former hotelier from a city centre hotel in London, I would classify this hotel as sub-1 star. The appearance and conduct (- ambivilance, verging on unfriendlness) of the sole staff member on the evening shift when we checked in at around 9 pm and the general poor level of cleanliness, decor, fixtures and fittings in the bedroom underpin this assessment. Beware also of the rat-infested side street filled with shanty structures housing the homeless leading to the hotel entrance. This can seem especially daunting after dark.

    The hotel is located close to the railway station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is not ideal as it feels very unsafe at night. We did not have any incidents but we did not push our luck either. The room was sadly not clean.

    The staff was helpful. If your budget is low, it's a good option.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are too many odd little staircases but one leads to the garden terrace over the entrance - mainly for smokers. The electrical sockets also need a bit of work, the connections were a bit loose. Shower unit was too small; get rid of the bidet or move it to make a way for a larger shower tray. Breakfast is simple - cereal dispensers need a bit of a redesign - with a coffee made to order. Need more fresh fruit in a bowl nearer the end of breakfast service......

    Getting to the hotel via the street market seems daunting but isn't and is so near Piazza Garibaldi, everywhere is walkable, even the port! The staff were friendly & explained what was of interest and where + suggesting tour/excursion deals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger bathroom,location although central very noisey,chaotic,and worst of all very dirty.Surprising the council cleaning services don't work.

    Close proximity too public transport ie,train & metro u/ground stations,port for ferry crossings too Capri & Ischia islands.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Hotel is 3 minutes walking to central train station, where the neighborhood is not that safe and caution should be taken. The best advice is get to the Hotel through main streets only.

    Staff very friendly and helpful with a very good English. Access to the Internet via WiFi in rooms was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is convenient but dangerous and if you're a female traveling alone, forget about it! The evening I walked to the hotel, I was just a few feet from the hotel, I passed a couple fighting and the guy fot phisycal. Not even a min later, a guy ran passed us and around the corner a lady was shouting and was asking for help while pointing in the direction the guys was running. The guy stole something from her. I won't be staying there again.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The coffee was really good as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    quite basic breakfast and facilities, but value for money was certainly excellent

    very friendly and enthusiastic staff, centrally located close to the central station and the train for erculano, pompeii and vesuvius - via duomo is a short walk away; our room was overlooking a street market

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was decent but with a poor variety. When i got my car back from the garage its rear bumper was scratched. Some rooms have balconies overlooking a street market, which is noisy during the day.

    The hotel situated not far from historical center, on the start of scenic walking route through Naples. Hotel staff was helpful. Rooms were tidy. Air conditioner was working good, even in extreme heat. The parking was at a separate garage in 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants in the room and it smelled like room for smokers. Floor very dirty (hair from other guest on the floor, especially hairs). Streets around hotel very dirty and unsafe. Air condition very loud and not possible to change temperature, for this room is very hot or very cold.

    Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area of hotel is not nice.the streets are very dirty and full of rubish but its a norm over there as whole naples is quite dirty city.old A/C in bedroom and could be only on or off without any control of temp.the shower drain got tendency to block I checked it and the problem is not a drain itself but stupid plastic cover on drain.overall if you are not too sensitive its ok for budget hotel

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Close to transport links.circumvesuviana station is only 5min walk.central station 10min walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor neighbourhood, we were scared to go out at night. If you visit naples DO NOT STAY IN THIS AREA!! although it was close to the train station i would prefer to pay a bit more and stay closer to the centre. This area was just disgusting. Also the beds and pillows a bit uncomfortable and bathroom very small. A single person could not fit in the shower and we had to keep the door open

    Helpfull staff, clean rooms, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the room there is an aircondition but I could not use it. In Neaples it was really hot, so it was a problem. The room was OK, but the bathroom was not really clean. You could see hair on the floor and dirty mirror. As for breakfast, this is tipical Italian style, basicaly just sweet staff. There wasn't even proper cheese or ham to put on bread. Breakfast was really bad. You could not make coffee yourself. You have to ask to make one for you. But you can ask for more than one, so it was ok. The hotel is located in the very centre, that is good. However take into account that this is really rough area with lots of immigrants standing on the streets and selling some stuff, lots of rubish everywhere, people talking loudly till late night etc. Sometimes I felt a bit unsafe there. As for the staff, they were just OK, not really friendly, especially the guy at night shifts.

    It was located in the very centre, virtualy at the main railway station and circumvesuviana - the train to Pompei and Sorrento. The hotel is also close to the old town. The room was OK, but it could have been renewed a bit. They cleaned rooms every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn't that good at all - next to the hotel loud street market, also hookers that gathered to the meal right next to hotel. In the evenings there's rare open space to get a late evening meal, have to get closer to port side of town. Room itself got regularly cleaned, but the look of it hardly was 3* worth. Smoking on the street could be felt through small window part in upper level floors. Breakfast offer could be smaller, but with some healthier options, but it's just if we're too picky

    Welcoming staff that tried their best to improve overall feeling for a stay. Bonus points for that. Close to train station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not very satisfying, and was lacking fresh products. The hotel is located in a street that contains too much dirt. The bathroom inside the rooms is tiny.

    The staff were very helpful and always available. The hotel and the rooms were clean. The property is close to the metro and the main train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personal is very rude, we were "welcomed" by an old italian guy that had absolutely no manners. He didn't even make the effort to talk english to us. The location is awful, extremely dangerous (lot's of junkies, very dirty streets, not safe). The room was dirty, there was a problem with the warm water in the shower.

    The fact that I only stayed one night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small but effective organized room with everything you need. Clean bathroom and good aircondition. Free wifi in the room. Very friendly and helpfull staff. There was an breakfast option included in the room rat, but I didnt use that because there was so much goodies to get outside. 10 minutes walk to the central station and five minutes walk to the metro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Lift was not always working. Could only stay in the shower a few minutes before the base filled with water as the drain wasn't draining properly. Breakfast was horrible and not worth 6€.

    Close to train station. Reception was helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and decor was a bit dated. The streets surrounding the hotel are a bit rough. I wouldn't want to wander through late at night, was fine in the day though.

    Great price for what you get, includes breakfast too. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Close to transport and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was mainly sweets, a bit more variety would be good. The street sweepers work loudly after midnight. Trash and prostitutes on the street under the balcony, but it adds to the Naples feeling.

    Very good located hotel for visiting Naples. The staff is friendly and helpful, the room is nice and clean, air conditioning and WiFi are included. There is balcony too with plant. Perfect for the price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were awesome! Incredibly helpful! Gave us bus/metro/train routes times to tourist destinations e.g. Pompeii vesuvius!!and best places to eat for value and quality!! 5min walk to train station

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was very basic, no fresh bread. Coffee was excellent. The nearby streets are not so good, very dirty but safe. Bit noisy in the morning, because the street is a market place as well.

    The Hotel is near the Garibaldi square. The city center can be reach by walking and Metro as well. The ferry port is 15 minutes walk, not necessary to take any transport. The other port is far, so take the Metro to Universita stop. The room is equipped with fridge and air condition. The room is very clean, the bathroom also. Ali bus from the aeroport stops near Garibaldi Station, then must walk across the square to the hotel, takes 10 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After dark, some of the streets surrounding the hotel are downright scary. If you approach from the other side, all is good (very little extra distance)

    Breakfast was good quality and lots of it. Right in city centre so very convenient. 5 minutes from main train station, two minutes from Circumvesuviana train and bus station for trips out

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The cleanliness of the shower area was non-existent, i took baths and the following day there would still be hair on the drains and the overall bath cabin (it was never cleaned). The room also din't look like it had a proper sweep throughout my 8 night stay. The bath linens were, however, clean and replaced every day.

    Good Value for money, breakfast included (simple, but still...). Nice staff. A/C worked, Minibar.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My flight was very delayed, and the hotel staff stayed up very late to check me in. They also were very helpful providing directions to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late and the man at the reception didn't speak English. It was a challenge to understand each other. We had a triple room which was too small (basically a double room with an extra bed that made things very crammed). The furniture is very simple and a bit scruffy. The window view wasn't great either because the street had many garbage bags in the evening and lots of noisy people in the morning. Breakfast was very simple. Not too comfy overall.

    The location was ok, close to the central station. The day staff was helpful and kind. The hotel is a good option is you plan to stay for one night and you need to be close to the train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location - easy to get from the airport and very close to the Circumvesuviana train station for Pompeii and Sorrento. Clean rooms, tasty breakfast, friendly and helpful staff - they gave us a map and recommended us some restaurants, bars and city attractions. Very nice value for the money. I do recommend the hotel for people who want to be close to the center and walk to the city attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple breakfast but there are so many things you want to eat while being in Naples that it was better for us not to have breakfast in the hotel. Brilliant cappuccino!

    Very clean hotel! Spacious room, comfortable bed, gentle stuff giving maps and information. Next to the train station. We never felt like living in an unsafe area. Wish to return!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - There is no free parking - their notion of free parking is that you can park on the street, no places guaranteed. Their own garage parking is 20Euro. - Super-noisy bathroom fan - The air conditioning sometimes blasted hot air, sometimes cold, sometimes didn't work at all. No remote to control any of this madness - Small, cheap shampoo+shower gel packets, 1 day not refilled - Very very noisy in the night - Sketchy neighbourhood (not feel safe in the night) due to the local marked being situated next to the hotel

    - The location close to the train station and not far from the old city centre - The staff, although not great in english, helped with finding parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy in the evening (as it is in the city centre)

    Friendly and helpful staff, close proximity to the train station and airport bus stop, clean room and comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are small, but that is to be expected in an inner city location.

    Great location, only a few minutes walk to the Circumvesuviano (train to Pompei and Herculaneum), a few more minutes to the main train station and a few minutes walk to the old town. Very friendly helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There a lots of street stalls in the alleys behind the hotel and these tend to be noisy during set up in the morning. But nothing out of the ordinary for a big European city.

    The Colombo is a little gem. I wanted inexpensive, no frills, clean, comfortable accommodation and that is exactly what I got. The location is right next to the major shopping streets of Naples and an easy walk to the historical center of the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room is too small. The neighborhood does not seem safe enough and during the night many gangster-like guys wander around the area.

    Lovely family-ran small hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Located near central train station, where airport shuttle bus departs every 15 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly personnel, they showed us where to go, helped us to print tickets, ... Located in walking distance from the train station (5 minutes). The city centre takes +/- 10 minutes by foot.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice small hotel with very friendly staff on day and evenings. Continental breakfast and the made to order coffee is delicious. I had a double room and the bed was very comfortable. Good double glazing kept out noise although the main road is a good few metres away. hotel close to main station and close to station for Pompei and Vesuvius. I enjoyed it here, and liked the local area which is a mix of street markets and a good selection of eateries. Bathroom was fine.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was a shortage of natural food for breakfast: fruits, yogurt with no preservatives and starch, cheese, croissants.

    Good location of the hotel, it is close to the station, where trains depart to Pompei, Stabia and Ercolano. Nice room (for its price), clean linen. Excellent coffee for breakfast. Most importantly, the hotel offers a shared balcony, where guests can sit and enjoy a glass of their wine.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wi-fi was the only thing that bothered me at times.

    I think that the staff of th albergo are great people. All of them did their best to meet my requieres, to provide all the information I needed on the city and its sites, the breakfast service was fine, the food was good. Despite the noisy neighbourhood, inside the hotel the athmosphere was calm and silent, I could have a good rest at the end of each tiresome day of wandering about the city. I recommend the place to those tourists who want to stay in the very center of a historic city and have all the opportunities to visit it. Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the shower a little pokey, I'm six foot tall with a reasonably athletic/slim build and struggled having a shower, anyone with a larger build would have struggled to close both of the concertina doors. I think they would be better off removing the bidet from the bathroom and making the shower larger the next time they renovate the bathrooms. My friend also mentioned they had trouble sleeping the first night on account of being able to hear the voices of guests staying in the adjoining rooms (not sure if this was a reflection on how loudly they were speaking or on the acoustic insulation between the rooms). That being said, my room was very quiet and I slept well.

    It was an easy walk from the national train station and an even shorter walk to the train station that the trains to Pompeii depart from. The guys behind the concierge desk were friendly and helpful. The hotel backs and fronts onto streets that connect two busy roads but the hotel is far enough away from both of the busy roads that we didn't hear any traffic noise from either of the roads. We had an early Sunday morning flight out of Naples and the guy behind the concierge desk phoned a taxi for us that arrived in about five minutes and, as it was early on a Sunday morning, there was no traffic and it took about 10 to 15 minutes to get to the airport. The guy behind the concierge desk instructed us to pay €18 and no more but since I had a €20 note on me and I was flying out of Italy later that day, I gave the driver €20 and didn't ask for change. As it was our first time to Naples and we'd read lots about how unsafe it can be, we were cautious when walking from the train station to the hotel on arrival but quickly became comfortable and never felt unsafe.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in the center of the city, but being Naples, this might not be the best thing. It's a preference thing, but the street in front was crowded and loud for me.

    I had read the comments before booking the hotel, and most people had mentioned the friendly staff. I definitely agree on this, they were quite polite, friendly and helpful. The room was also quite decent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Upon arrival, we were given a room, which was obviously for smokers. I could detect the smell of cigarettes and there was even an ashtray left on the night stand. Although we had a reservation for a non-smoking room, we were told there are no other options, since we arrived late and all rooms were already filled. No guarantees could be given if any room would become available on the next day. After much discussion, we were given a decent room on the second day of our 4-day holiday. Due to the negative experience and difficulties in English-language communication with the staff, I would personally not return to this hotel. For those who are considering it, I would recommend making a specific request for a non-smoking room to all future travelers to this hotel.

    The location is ok. Very close to the main train station and main shopping street. 20 minutes to the historic centre. Hotel staff was helpful in providing directions and a free city map.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Area in the immediate streets next to the hotel is a bit rough and some people would find it intimidating. I guess that is something the owners can't change at the moment.

    Staff were super helpful, gave us a city map and recommended areas to visit, very laid back with check out times. The room was nice and quiet for a city hotel. Can't complain.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is small and it was hard to open my luggage

    Very nice staff there. Many valuable advises are given to me. And one even leaded us to the local supermarket. Close to the train station, and better not to be back too late

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately in a noisy, congested part of town.

    Knowledgeable and engaged staff. They called our tour operator (without us even asking), and made sure there was no confusion about where the pick-up point would be. Also, location is very convenient for 1st time visitors to Naples.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like area, where is hotel. There is really dirty, a lot of rabish in the streets around and it's doesn't look safety place.

    Nice hotel, not too far from airport and tousist plases (centre), close to train station, very nice and friedly staff, room everyday cleaned and tidy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con was not working on one of the rooms which made it hard to sleep (mosquitoes around). Very small bathroom

    Very friendly staff. The possibility of an early check in, though not guaranteed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower was a little small.

    The guys on reception are great, the beds comfy and the breakfast, whilst there wasn't a lot of choice, I always left full and satisfied. Also the location was In the centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Colombo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: