Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Colonna Grand Hotel Capo Testa 5 stars

Loc. Capo Testa, 07028 Santa Teresa Gallura, Italy

#14 of 18 hotels in Santa Teresa Gallura

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 218 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    World class sunset cocktails overlooking the sea. Priceless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool is not solar heated in the off-peak season (end September). Water was too cold for the kids.

    A very handsome property and a confortable hotel. Gorgeous pool area with an "unending" view overlooking the deep blue waters of the bay where you can also take in a world class sunset at the bar. Breathtaking. Private beach with crystal clear waters. A short hop to the neighbouring town (Saint Theresa in Gallura) with restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Two another worlds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts and á la carte dinners like in 3 stars accomodation, poor organization of waiters. Second world.... It´s a pity, otherwise the hotel would be perfect. 😢(But lot of famous restaurants in St.Theresa or not far from the hotel) 😉

    Fantastic sea, amazing views, beautiful pools, lovely gardens, fine rooms, good bar, very friendly staff. One world...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Adorable stay, highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upgraded to a room with the most beautiful sea view. The hotel has a private beach and all areas are beautifully decorated. We loved our experience at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    The whole hotel smelt of Lavender. Just like it had been freshly polished. Really lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit more storage space in the bathrooms would be good. A shelf or somewhere to put your toiletries would have helped. Our luggage got put on the wrong taxi on our last day, which was very upsetting. Thankfully it was all sorted out by the lovely lady on reception, and we caught up with it at the airport.

    The position of this hotel is what makes it so special. The warmest, calmest sea we have ever experienced and a beautiful beach to top it. We have been to Sardinia for the last 20 years and this has to be the best. If this had been a top 5* hotel, we wouldn't have been able to afford it, so we were more than happy that the rooms are a bit on the small side and the furniture is drab and tired. We don't go on holiday to stay in our room. The surroundings are unbelievably beautiful and there are some lovely walks in the nature reserve. Just turn right out of the front gates and climb the hill to the entrance. If you want some breathtaking views, you will not be disappointed! We even saw some wild tortoises there! A tip....don't buy the hotels water. There is a Mini Market at the end of the beach, cross the road, and keep walking to the left, and its just around the corner. A 1 litre bottle of water is only 1 euro. One evening, we were asked by the Maitre 'D if we would like to try the Pagoda Restaurant. A really lovely experience and nothing extra to pay. (Just your drinks as usual). Both of the restaurants serve a good variety of food, so we were happy with either. The rooms and all areas of the hotel are kept spotless. Towels and bathrooms are cleaned twice a day, lovely turning down service at night, with my nightdress laid out and the cosy side lamps turned on. Just made it feel special. Lovely selection of toiletries given and always kept topped up without asking. I would recommend this hotel. Lovely for a relaxing holiday (it was September so no kids around). You will not be disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful views, delicious food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were hard and the drinks were expensive.

    The view from the pool area was fantastic. The food was delicious and plentiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Alberto and Mario in the restaurant. The view of the sea from our balcony was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.6
    Uteområdene- bassengområdet er fantastisk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you don’t bother about the price or standard of the room, this is a nice place to be. The location is great, with an excellent pool-area overlooking the sea. The hotel sells itself in as a five- star hotel, but it’s standard was in my opinion not more than 3 or 3,5. The room smells like an old cellar, and I can se the same complaints from other guests, and in my friends room there were fungus in the bathroom. I couldn’t use my phone in the room, it was no phone-connection at all. The bed was rock- hard, I have never had such a bad bed- even at hostels or bed and breakfast. The hotel tried to compensate with a thin madras, but it barely helps. The air- condition is old and noisy, and the construction and furniture are also old. It was impossible to lock the veranda-door, and we had a room with easy access from the garden. According to the hotels homepage the rooms are elegant, exclusive and spacious. The room I had was nothing like the pictures in the homepage. The service is also very variable. My friend tried to get some beachtowels at her arrival, but was told it was too late, even though the pool was still open. Another day she asked to change one towel because it was spilled on, but they answered: «one day, one towel». When she complained - talking a bit loud because she got no respons from the hotel - about her room like I did, she was told to lower her voice and when she didn’t the woman in the reception threatned she would call the police. My friend said she would give the hotel a review, and the woman in the reception responds that she would give her reviews to my friend as well. The way they treat the customers has really surprised us, and I suppose they have few guest that returns to this hotel. We tried to get a reduction in the price, but they rejected it. If I had paid half the price, and had been prepared for a stay in a three-star hotel with five star surroundings, I would have been 100% happy.

    Uteområdene- bassengområdet er fantastisk!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.8
    Very nice location.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and beds moist in July. Front desk chief uneducated, not polite. Restaurants: Terrible. Lowest standard, but luxury prices. Lobster salad for 90 €, haha. Nothing tasty available. Don’t go there until new owner has taken over.

    Very nice location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    We would return at first opportunity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Just a few minor niggles, tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms would be much appreciated. The shower was not well maintained (operating handle not fixed). Beds somewhat on the firm side.

    The location next to a great beach and the swimming pools were excellent. Close enough to take a five minute drive into Santa Teresa Gallura to sample the local bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.0
    Great pool area & beach views. Room was musty and a bit dated. Dinner is good, drinks are expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was very musty and bit dated. The shirts I hung in the wardrobe smelt quite bad after 5 days. We went half board which was good, however having to pay 4 euros for a bottle of water with dinner got expensive, would have been good if water was free with dinner like it was at breakfast. Also, there is no shop nearby which can make things expensive, as drinks aren't cheap at the poolside bar etc. Pool side bar snack options quite limited, but the pizza was well priced and tasty. Beach is very pretty (from a distance), there were huge plies of dried seaweed on the shoreline which didn't look very nice (obviously not the hotel's fault) but it did look quite different compared to the pictures I'd seen online. The hotel runs a shuttle bus service into town which is handy, would recommend this service as a taxi costs 15 euros each way, which is very expensive considering its not even a 10 minute journey. Also, it was frustrating that the shuttle bus times don't align with the ferry times to Corsica - so a day trip instantly becomes 30 euros more expensive as you have to get a taxi there and back. Thoroughly recommend a trip to Bonifacio by the way. Sometimes it took a while to be served at dinner and after 10pm it was a bit obvious that they wanted you to leave, one night we asked for lemoncello just after 10pm and the waiter just said 'no we're not serving' and walked off, felt very abrupt. Not exactly rude, but it wasn't great. Overall though I must say, the waiters for dinner were really friendly and helpful.

    Dinner was great, 4 courses each night and food was varied and tasty. The pool area is excellent and the views are stunning. Rooms were cleaned regularly, we always had fresh towels and bedding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    The grounds were very well kept up and they upgraded us to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was 6 feet of seaweed piled up dry, on the beach for most of the length of the beach. Of course the online photos did not show this; they should have equipment and a worker cleaning the beach daily. The lifeguard was sitting there and he could have picked up the stray trash to clean it up. We had half board - the meal was ok but took a very long time because everyone showed up at the 8 am start. We ordered 2 glasses of wine and the quantity of wine in the glass was one-third of what is normally served.

    The grounds were very well kept up and they upgraded us to a side view room for no extra cost. The front desk staff was helpful. The pool and the view from the pool was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.5
    Really comfortable stay in a beautiful area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi was very poor. We only ate in once because despite having two restaurants, a Buffet and a A la Carte they were both 40 euros per head! We felt this was too excessive and there are lots of great places to eat in Santa Teresa where the food was just as good or better at half the price.

    Location is beautiful. Hotel room and lounge areas including pool area are excellent. Towels super thick and fluffy. Bed really comfortable. Federico on reception particularly welcoming and helpful. Parking spaces a bit difficult for manouvring but plenty of space outside on road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.7
    Wonderful location, great pool and lovely beach but resort let down by rooms and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were not very comfortable or luxurious. The buffet breakfast was very poor. Stale cereal, long life milk and no fresh fruit.

    The pool area was beautiful with an amazing view. The access to the beach was also fantastic and the beach was lovely. Amazing location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is beautiful, great location and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The organization of the staff is not up to the standard.

    The hotel is beautiful, great location and good facilities. We had a good experience, although for some reason not as good as in other hotels (also from the same group). The overall experience is not fully up to the expected standard, but overall is a lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.1
    Fine looking hotel on a pleasant beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average room with a not very comfortable bed for the cost. Be aware this is a windy coast which might affect your stay.

    good views and a sandy beach well patrolled by lifeguards. Plenty of sunbeds on the beach and by the attractive pools decent food in the busy restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    At this hotel you pay for the amazing ammentities and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was okay, could have been updated for the price but still worth it for the ammentities

    At this hotel you pay for the amazing ammentities and the view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was very good and the garden beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were super hard

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    I had a nice stay I would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their shuttle service

    Beach,pool, service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.9
    The outdoor pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were old with a very stale smell. Beds and pillows extremely poor and uncomfortable.

    The outdoor pool area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average, but found a great fish restaurant just up the street from the hotel.

    Nice hotel in a good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    They must try harder.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Chaotic service in the restaurant. Never a chance of a front view table.

    Pool areas and general layout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    4.2
    Very expensive compared with the offer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not a five star hotel, 3 stars maximum! Old and cheap furniture, ugly and small rooms.

    Swimming pools.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    For those who expect calmness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, no cattle, early checking out

    Calm atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All employees are very cheerful :) we loved its pool and beach..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    Almost everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach!

    Almost everything!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    The restaurant was not very good, though expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not very good, though expensive. Breakfast not brilliant either.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    4.6
    No air con as it's centralised so staff switched it from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food and the facilities , amazing views

    No air con as it's centralised so staff switched it from cold to hot without telling us, tiny tv, worn bed sheets , wifi doesn't work , smoke alarms going off at 6am etc etc

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    6.7
    The grounds and pool area were gorgeous and our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was horrendously hard and the shower temperature swung from scalding hot to freezing cold every few minutes. At times, the staff were a bit rude as well.

    The grounds and pool area were gorgeous and our room was incredibly spacious with a huge balcony overlooking the sea

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    Lovely location, no problem getting a sun lounger even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Site needs more info on travel to hotel from airport. It is 60 km away. There is a bus from olbia (no loos!) 8 euros each and 90 mins - ask at airport. Taxi is 120 euros from airport 60 mins. If you're thinking of hiring a car arrange this beforehand as there was nothing at airport. Hotel helpful in arranging hire of car/scooter/taxi, but again arrange beforehand. If you don't have transport don't go for the b&b option as there isn't much nearby!!

    Lovely location, no problem getting a sun lounger even though we went when hotel was full. Despite reviews to the contrary we found plenty of English speakers there that were very helpful. Food was good if a little over presented - waiter was a star - missed him on our last night.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    9.6
    Location, room, breakfast and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked a bath rather than just a shower and the first room we had was nowhere near as big as the picture on your website, but they did change it for us the next day.

    Location, room, breakfast and very helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    8.8
    The location is hands down what makes this hotel 5 star,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff weren't super friendly, and the language barrier didn't help but was overall ok. Wifi issues whilst we were there weren't ideal. The hotel catered much more to older couples, so if you're looking for more action I wouldn't recommend staying in Santa Theresa Gallura but another area with more happening.

    The location is hands down what makes this hotel 5 star, it's right beside 2 amazing beaches with the clearest water I've ever seen. Pool was also great, I can imagine it would get extremely busy during summer. The little town of Santa Theresa Gallura is only 5 mins away by car & it has another amazing beach along with some great restaurants and a cute town square. Ideal for couples looking to relax and take it easy

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The service in the hotel, the food

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    5.0
    Beach front location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food, room, bad value

    Beach front location

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.3
    the facilities of the hotel, the beach nearby hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    not all staff are friendly

    the facilities of the hotel, the beach nearby hotel

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: