Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Colonna Palace 4 stars

Piazza Montecitorio, 12, Pantheon, 00186 Rome, Italy

#431 of 968 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 864 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    The location is excellent, a few steps from Via del Corso...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi in my room was weak and patchy. Hopefully this can be improved with the addition of a few more network points. The breakfast room was very busy each morning but the staff manage it well.

    The location is excellent, a few steps from Via del Corso and some great historical sights are within walking distance. The hotel was clean and safe. I was on the 6th floor and the room was very quiet. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Perfect location to see Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators were tiny but we never ended up riding with any other people so it was fine. The bed and pillows were very firm.. too firm for my taste.

    Location, location location! Very centrally located in Rome. Very close to the Pantheon. The breakfast area view is incredible. The room was large and comfortable with a great view of the parliament building and square.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.1
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast needs more choices......bacon, sausages, pancakes and toast.....etc. Need to have coffee machines, wine glasses and corkscrews in the room. Need to install magnifying mirror, and better lighting in the bathroom.

    location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Great location and roof top terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst cocktails we’ve ever had.

    The hotel has an amazing roof top deck but it’s a shame you have to go to ground floor to get a drink to add to the pleasure of watching the sunset.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    5.0
    Awful. Not recommended at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total misrepresentation of hotel on photos. Staff in kitchen damn unfriendly. No kettle in rooms. Shower in bath dangerous. Not value at all. Place is run down. Porter not existent waiting for help is futile

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    Very nice, clean, centrally located hotel with all the amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was a bit high but it wouldn't stop me from staying there again.

    Professional staff. Loved the breakfast and the breakfast room. Room was very pretty, clean and spacious. Very nice hotel in great location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Best Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, unattractive and uninspiring decor in the bedrooms. If this hotel had a make over it would be amazing.

    Amazing location Rooftop Quiet Reasonably comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    The location is central to most of the historic sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The square which is adjacent to the hotel entry is closed to traffic and getting you luggage back and forth to the taxis can be tricky at times. The elevators are really small and slow so if you need to use them to get back and forth to your room then you will prefer to be on a lower floor. The stairs are open and very comfortable to walk up and down to get to your room or to the breakfast patio on the roof.

    The location is central to most of the historic sites. The rooms are nice and comfortable but some of he controls for the rooms are a little touchy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    Centrally located which allowed us to walk to most of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were not the most pleasant people and the outdoor terrace was very small for breakfast

    Centrally located which allowed us to walk to most of the main historical places easily.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    I really enjoyed, great hotel choice, location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast selection of food was okay but it can be improved.

    The location is fantastic, the room was great. Friendly and helpful staff, quiet room, wifi , room AC was very good, overall a good experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was clean, comfortable and located close to many sights, shops and good restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated clear information about the Rome City Tax at time of booking.

    The central location of this hotel was excellent. The room was comfortable and clean and breakfast on the roof terrace was simple but tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Grazia Roma x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main entrance, needs TLC, especially plants, rooms Need refurbished, get rid of carpets, change to wood or some other flooring, reception area needs sprucing up as well.

    Location excellent, Roof Terrace lovely, wonderfully views, staff pleasant and helpfull

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    Location was perfect, the hotel dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nothing like the photographs, it was old and tired, scratched old furniture and the air conditioning was touch and go. The restaurant only served breakfast, which was poor with very little choice

    The roof garden, but don't bother with the plunge pool it was dirty and green

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location, badly managed hotel. Left disappointed after paying a premium for this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel did not book airport shuttle after we made booking at reception. No toilet paper in bar toilets. Poor/low quality breakfast. No bar on terrace. No ironing facilities (due to security reasons). Reception staff are always very busy (and therefore stressed). Did not receive response to email complaint.

    Great location, in city centre, close to all sights. Rooms and interior decor is nice. Great view from terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, rooftop terrace for breakfast very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room near central air conditioning unit which came on and off quite loudly every few minutes No other food available besides breakfast.

    Roof top terrace for breakfast very pleasant Very central, easy walk to many major sites

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    A cheap one night for a quick visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has an old feeling, carpets are used and old, same with bathrooms and the breakfast was extremely disappointing.

    Location was great, close to many tourist locatikns

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is very very tired and needs a major upgrade. Poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Several staff members were unfriendly and unhelpful. Breakfast was generally poor and on one occasion was depleted by 9.45 am (supposed to finish at 10.30 am) and staff were not keen to do anything about it.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location.. seriously the Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, Pantheon and Piazza Navona all range from 4 to 7 minutes away with amazing shops and churches on the way. The staff could not do enough for you didn't matter what the time was. The night shift amazing booked restaurants, organised taxis and private transport to airport. Room large and clean and very good breakfast and happy staff. Very pleasant stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Colonna Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After narrowing down my choices of places to stay in Rome, I selected Colonna Palace. The location was excellent! (Very safe as well due to Parliament security!) The staff was very friendly and helpful. So many nice things and extras... the breakfast was a great way to start the day. We utilized the beautiful rooftop terrace almost every night. I also loved the whirlpool tub in my bathroom...very nice after walking all day. I'd definitely stay here again! Great decision.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Colonna Palace Hotel and have recommended it to our friends wh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Everything was wonderful.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. Since it was April, the air conditioning had not been turned on yet. However, we opened a window and the room cooled nicely with the outside breeze. The view of the city from the Terrace dining area is magnificent. Great location to get to Pantheon and other major tourist attractions around the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    You couldn’t find a more central position if you tried.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    You couldn’t find a more central position if you tried. The rooms were plush and elegant, the bed was massive and comfortable, the view from our window was amazing and the staff were the friendliest people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Left Rome exhausted because hotel turns on a/c by date not temperature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c, until May 15, we were there through the 13th. it was quite warm, which meant having the window open. However, it was extremely noisy outside until 2 or 3 am on Friday and Saturday, which meant no sleep.

    We liked the little bar for refreshments in the afternoon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    We would recommend Colonna Palace hotel to anyone visiting Rome and look forward to going back ourse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did have a couple days in Rome that were quite hot. It would have been nice to have air conditioning available for sleeping.

    The hotel was beautiful and in a perfect location. Breakfast was excellent. Loved our street view of a busy Rome street. It felt very safe and secure as there were Italian Carbonieri outside 24 hours a day since the Italian parliament was located in the same square. It was within easy walking distance from most major sites including the Trevi Fountain, Four Rivers Fountain, pantheon, Roman forum, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Why no air conditioning?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vrry upset that there was no air conditioning. On adjing reception they informed us that it can only be used from the middle of May and to oprn the window. This made it noisy in the morning..

    Excelkent location and very clean hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.6
    Apart from the best location for tourists, the hotel does not have any other advantage in my opinion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of the staff were not very hospitable or helpful. There were almost no facilities at the hotel and we were not allowed to use an iron to iron our clothes. The cleanliness of the room carpet and the toilet was not up to standards.

    The hotel has a prime location with walking distance to almost all tourist attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Location, location, but a bit worn out hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is a bit minimalistic. But the coffee is great if you ask for it instead of using the coffee machine. This is the 6th time we were staying at his hotel, unfortunately this time the bed mattresses were just awful. Feeling the springs in your back, no joke, is no fun. If you're looking for a modern hotel then this is not the place for you. If only it weren't for the location...

    Location, location. Next to the Corso, 5 minutes walk to the Trevi fountain and the Pantheon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Best location to enjoy Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was good but poor and with a awful coffee.

    everything, I expect to come back to this hotel in the future, the location is absolutely amazing you can walk to almost every attraction.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    4.6
    Don’t go to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is non-existent

    I had a corner room on the second floor facing onto the parliament square. Very airy and light because of 3 full height balcony windows.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    Location,room was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast.Because there is only one kind of cheese and bread,jam....This is Italy ! Must be fresh tomatoes,mozzarella and any kind of cheese and totally breakfast was very poor

    Location,room was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    The wonderful location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the terrace had an unpleasant guest: a very aggressive seagull that walked all over the tables (already set for breakfast), touching cups, sugar, tablecloth. It jumped on mine too, while I was still eating. Alerted, the waitress changed only partially the sets on the tables and did not even try to chase away the animal. Difficult not to read it as a sign of rather low cleanliness standards!

    The wonderful location. The beautiful terrace where I had breakfast. The room: modern with all the necessary facilities

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    I found the location to be amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    if i had to critique it, the place is a little dated but what isn't dated in Rome and the pictures on Booking.com and their website were exactly what the place looked like, so I got what i expected and i found the value for money great.

    I found the location to be amazing. Also, the Piazza that the building fronts onto is parliament which has 24/7 security presence and cars dont drive through there...so it is nice and quiet for sleeping...I cant say enough good things about the location though, lots of good places to eat and so close to Trevi, Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona, Campo DiFiori, the Pantheon is literally 3 minutes behind the hotel...the staff were super nice too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely Cosy Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast. It was a cold breakfast. Not even a toaster to make some toasts. Would have been nice to get some toast and Beans and maybe a fried egg. Hotel is dated, but does not feel dirty like some dated places.

    Very Friendly staff at reception, especially Sara who did everything she could every time i asked a question. Very good location, central to most sites. Clean rooms and bathrooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Busy stay in the heart of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Decor is a little bit dated.

    This is an old world property which is very conveniently located for all the main sights in Rome. Staff are friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Amazing vacation in Rome can't wait to return for another vacation
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking for a hotel that's walking distant to most attractions in Rome this is the place to stay

    The staff was pleasant and amazing Morning breakfast on the rooftop was delicious...I had so many choices for breakfast. It was a good way to start my day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    The location was excellent, the breakfast very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location was excellent, the breakfast very good. The room was very comfortable. The service we received from the staff was very nice. They helped us with our requests. The hotel is located within walking distance of mayor attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Overall a very good hotel for sightseeing and enjoying local restaurants and bars in great settings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms at the back of the hotel were noisy through the night due to the bars and restaurants and then in the morning with bin collections and fresh deliveries. We asked to be moved and with no fuss were given a very quiet room at the front.

    The location was excellent and the staff were friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. The breakfast terrace had wonderful views but could only accommodate a small number of guests although the staff were very efficient to clear tables and seat new diners.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    location is super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is super! can walk to most of the places of interests in Rome. the room is spacious, AC is strong just a little bit noisy. lots of restaurants nearby. will stay here next time i go to Rome.:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.6
    Location was great, and the staff was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and tired hotel. Dirty fitted carpets, shabby old furniture, very overpriced for what it offered, except the location

    Location was great, and the staff was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location. Plenty of restaurants close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bed was very hard! The breakfast selection was limited for us as everything was very sweet. More fresh fruit and unsweetened muslie would be good.

    The location was very convenient, an easy walk to all the sites. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace with wonderful views over Rome was the highlight there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    A favorite comfortable hotel centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast menu for all the years I have been coming here.

    I have stayed her many times. Good quality hotel centrally located. Fabulous breakfast area on roof terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Location is great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great! It is in the heart of the city and it has a beautiful terrace. It is so nice to start the day with such a nice view while having your breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel bar did not have any beers on draft beers. It was all wines, whiskey's and similar.

    the central location was a bonus. it was close to train and bus stops.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    If the room was reinovated, the stay would be excellent. Other than that everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't meet our expectations. On the pictures of the hotel it looked fresh and modern, however in reality the room and the furniture seemed to be too old.

    Staff were incredibly helpful. Our sister had her birthday coming up and even though all the flower shops were closed during that period, staff at Colonna Palace found a way to find flowers for us no matter what.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    Fair value, clean and tidy, excellent staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had some work to do here and the internet was not quite fast enough for me so i had to move Hotels! The staff were very good about it. The Hotel price is low so do not expect a brand new fit out and you will be OK

    Staff were excellent, helpful and friendly. Location is excellent. Room was neat and tidy, air conditioning good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    This is a nice older hotel with a pleasant staff and a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a nice older hotel with a pleasant staff and a great location. My room was a bit dated but the bathroom was big and the staff was helpful. It is close to everything you will want to see in Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Very old but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in need of a renovation and a revamp. The location was superb but the windows were old and not sound proof and the streets around could get very noisy late at night. The AC was very loud and worked intermittently. Although window was closed, I had to push on the window for the AC to work. The furniture in general was old and out of style. The furniture in the lobby looked dirty and worn out.

    The location of the hotel was ideal; within a 5-10 min walking distance to the Pantheon, Piazza Navouna, the Trevi Fountain, numerous restaurants and shops. The rooms were clean and breakfast on the top floor was nice although basic. Staff provided us with a map and explanation upon check in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    Don't trust the pictures shown!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photos on booking.com in no way represent the hotel. The bedroom walls are painted and scuffed, the decor is 1960's dark wood, and battered. It is however, clean. The lift doors are wood panelled. It is very very old and dated. I have no idea where the pictures came from. Trip advisor has accurate pictures. I also suspect the lift door has no safety on it as I tried to hold the door using my arms and it started to get rather painful as they started to get squeezed. I did get my arms out in time as I don't think they were going to stop...the breakfast was a struggle as well. The only hot food provided was scrambled eggs which I found a little odd. Why just eggs?

    Location. Staff are helpful. View from the roof terrace is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.3
    A very good location, good WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should do something about the big seagulls at the roof restaurant area. It was little hot, Air condition is not usually turned on before mid of May.

    I liked the yogurt with fruit mixture at breakfast :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    My first choice when in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I can think of is internet could be a bit better, not really a problem, just something that could be improved.

    That's the hotel I always stay when in Rome. The staff, location and hotel itself is great. Very good breakfast too. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Roof top terrace was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower situation was difficult. Water on the floor was not avoidable. Because the hotel is next to the parliament building we needed to cross a police checkpoint prior to entering the hotel. However it was not a problem for us.

    Roof top terrace was excellent. The view if the city was beautiful. Breakfast each morning on the terrace was our favorite hotel feature. Waiters are so helpful. Food excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    We had an unbelievable time in Rome and I highly recommend the Colonna Palace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were three of us in a room that was too small. We could have used a little more space.

    We particularly liked the roof top lounge, the views were incredible. Overall, the hotel is centrally located, closed to everything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    6.7
    Great location, but in need of refurbishment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor insulation from the noise outside the rooms led to poor sleep through the night. Single glazing on the windows and thin shutters was inadequate. Breakfast was ok but old fashioned and the general feel of the hotel was that it needed a revamp.

    Location was great, even when a large group of protesters arrived outside our window to protest at the Parliament building across the square. The room was fine, clean and comfortable but the bathroom was a little small.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    2.9
    A misnomer - Not palatial
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff quite stern, not friendly. Air-con was not switched on at the main point, until the last night; Breakfast was meagre; Only 2 power points in the room worked for adapters; Workmen were beside our bathroom every morning, on the other side of a timber door in the roof; No iron, no attempt to tell us where to find help for laundry. Mini-bar switched off for our entire stay.

    Size of the room was good, also position of the hotel. Nothing else

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.1
    Misleading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner till they feel like turning on! Had to request a fan for room. Noisy at night with police presence in square.no tea coffee facilities. Not a 4 star property. Dated feel and look.

    Excellent position , felt safe with police presence 24 hrs. Taxi service good. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.4
    Location for Trevi Fountain and Novana Piazza, was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were woken, VERY EARLY, every morning by the Emptying of the Bottles from the Taverna Antonina. View from our Window looked out onto Dirty Canopy of this Taverna. (But the food at Taverna Antonina was very good) One particular member of Staff in the Breakfast Room, was unpleasant and unhelpful. On our first morning of Arrival, we were Not greeted as New Customers and Shown to a Table! Having stayed in many hotels in the past, we knew the routine for buffet breakfasts, but a friendly welcome would have been nice. One morning we arrived for breakfast at 9.15A.M. and the Croissant tray was empty. When I asked if it was possible to have a croissant, the Male waiter, just looked at his Watch! He then went into the kitchen and came out with a plate and One Croissant. His manner was rude. Not Suitable for People with Walking Difficulties, as Breakfast Terrace reached by Stairs, after Lift to 6 floor.

    Location for Trevi Fountain and Novana Piazza, was very good. Reception staff very helpful. Cleaning Staff very nice and did a good job.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.9
    Room was spacious;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was not good. There were limited options. The AC is not turned on until May so our room was hot. We had no view from the window. There is only one room with a balcony on the property.

    Room was spacious; location was amazing. 24/7 security and police presence outside because it's next to the Italian parliament.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Collona 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing...staff and facilities were perfect

    Pics do not do the hotel justice. Roof garden was fantastic and was a lovely place to unwind away from the hubbub as well as enjoying a tasty breakfast. The hotel was opposite the parliament building and was very safe

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    5.8
    Excellent location badly in need for a substantial refurbishment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room is probably there since the 1970's. The hotel really needs to be substantially refurbished. The only upside of a breakfast clearly not worthy a four-star hotel is the wonderful terrace with a breathtaking view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Colon Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view (we informed the hotel it was our honeymoon) and the smell of the drains in the corridor leading to our room.

    Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely every day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    4.2
    good location, but terrible outfit....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    hotel is an old dilapidated outfit that should have had a renovation years ago. Entrance lounge looks awful with terrible, worn furniture. Price is rediculously high but mainly caused by the downtown location. Forget this hotel soonest possible.

    breakfast on the rooftop. Though there were groups of locusts, staff tried to fill up supplies.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    6.3
    There are better options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a solid 3 star, not 4. Rooms , furnishings are tired. Location, whilst very good technically, presents problems. Police presence 24/7 is annoying at times, and often I was denied access at one point only to be directed to another. Constant political protests beneath my window, and noisey seagulls roost in the piazza. Noisily.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    10
    Amazing Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An absolutely fantastic hotel in an ideal location as a wheelchair user. Staff could not be more helpful. I will definetely stay again. Thank you staff at the Colonna Palace.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location for differnt tourism places
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - missing some essential things. -the room i checked is completely different from the pictures. -the bed wasn't comfortablecat all. -i advice to change the room if its near from the elevator due to the noise.

    Excellent location for differnt tourism places

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Rooftop terrace with great views, where breakfast is served.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was typical for Italian hotels, i.e. nothing spectacular.

    Rooftop terrace with great views, where breakfast is served. Great view over the piazza and walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    2.5
    The Most disastrous stay in Rome i have ever had thanks to booking.com
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel need to be totally reengineered the management sacks, the room smells ,room very small breakfast products are extremely cheap they use German products when in Italy they have the best food product in the world which even in German they use , I leave also in Germany and I know for fact.. Certainly I do not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel, it sucks it does not have a single principle of a real hotelier. I simply think that booking.com it is projecting the false reality and therefore I ask everyone to ignore the comments of this OTA. I normally stay at the hotel de russie and I book directly but during this period it was fully booked and the only one half empty was this so called hotel...I was never greeted by any member of the team.... and please don't book with booking.com. .they just sell whatever makes money for them......

    Basically nothing it is not a hotel it is a camp in an enclave...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.9
    Apart from Room temperature I enjoyed my stay and will probably go back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Central heating is just too hot... in the room Bed mattress was a bit used off... But i got the feathers pillows and the wool blanket as requested...

    Location is ideal, Breakfast on the terrasse is just breathtaking... what a nice view to strart your day... Staff is very nice and friendly.. A special thank You note for Walter, in the breakfast room... Very nice and friendly...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location to see the sights of Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was above a noisy street. I believe I had asked for a quiet room and I should have requested to change rooms after the first night. There was an bad odor in the lobby every time we walked in. I wish there was more fruit on the breakfast buffet.

    The staff was very helpful and kind when we had a question or needed a reservation for dinner. We felt very safe and the location was perfect! We could walk to all the sights.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    4.6
    It is not worth the money they ask.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old. It feels like nothing changed at least from 80th. Furniture and carpets are really old and worn out. Rooms are extremely loud!!! Almost impossible to sleep from the outside noise or TV sound next door. No tea or coffee available in the rooms. No international channels on TV. It is not worth the money they ask.

    Location is great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.2
    Great location to all main attractions & staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot due to heat radiator could not be switched off. Appreciated the attempts from reception and like our own homes I accept things could go wrong with my turn this time around. This has not changed my mind about the positive of this hotel.

    Great location to all main attractions & staff very attentive. Roof top breakfast was nice with views of immediate location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.3
    Perfect location, large rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is very poor compare to 4 stars hotel. The carpet in the room is old an should be changed.

    Perfect location, the hotel is absolutely in the center, very close to all sights, very friendly staff. Large, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    6.7
    Decent but not the "my place in Rome" that I had hoped for.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not in the kind of condition that that pictures suggest. The building in its picture on Booking.com is not the hotel. It is the National Palace (seat of government). Slightly misleadiong1 This picture is why I booked the hotel

    Location location location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The communal areas are tired overall, for example faux plants need replacing as covered in dust.

    The room was a good size and was cleaned every day. Location was ideal and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Perfect central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower screen leaked badly flooding the floor.

    Loved the room, roof terrace for breakfast and the downstairs bar. Central location was perfect. Really helpful staff everywhere.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    Second stay at colonna palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thuoght price a little high for the hotel

    The bed was great!!!! The service at breakfast was great and the view from the roof top breakfast area was divine!!!! Location is five star!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.1
    Good location but tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms very old in need of a renovation. Very old curtains and soft furnishings. Poor wifi.

    The location was good. Staff at front desk very obliging. Waiting rooms at front of hotel very nice. View from top floor.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Colonna Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: