Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Colonne 4 stars

Via Fincarà 37, 21100 Varese, Italy

#7 of 18 hotels in Varese

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 157 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To find the hotel is difficult even with a navi The parking situation is crappy The night portier was unfriendly when we arrived The WIFI is totally crappy although our room was in front of the router

    We liked the view from our room (it's even better if the weather is sunny). Also the breakfast and the lady who prepared it was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clearly the hilltop site does mean that you have to take the trouble to get to it every night and away each morning. For us it was well worth the effort. And our sat nav coped without trouble. Wifi is available but can be intermittent in performance, as can the TV channels.

    Quite simply this will go down as one of the most interesting and delightful places at which we have ever stayed. lt forms part of the Santa Maria del Sacro Monte complex, steeped in history, art and culture The hotel, which was built in the 19th century to accomodate pilgrims, is at 850 metres and has the most spectacular views. (The overall site boasts architecture from a 5th century Romanesque crypt, to a 17th century baroque church, to a 19th century iconic statue of Moses as deliverer - and much else in between. Anyone interested in history would be utterly absorbed by the surroundings.)The hotel itself is a home from home, with every possible attention to guests' needs, especially from the lady who presented the appetising breakfasts, served in a lovely room overlooking the plain, and lago de Varese, with the Alps in the distance. Rooms were comfortable, well-equipped and more than adequately serviced. Staff were friendly and helpful. It is the kind of place to which one would hope one day to return,.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mail manager was so unkind. We were as genius member offered a drink when we booked the room but we did not get anything. We can not understand why this hotel is a four star hotel.

    To our surprise the breakfast was very good. Nice view.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The male manager was not accommodating and very off putting but the female owner was very accommodating and nice, lovely women. The food was good but the 30Eur deal that is available to guests was never mentioned to us.

    Good breakfast but not a great value at 14Eur. The location is beautiful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view from corner room. Bad bathroom ventilation.

    Wonderful breakfast, warm staff, good parking area, perfect location, additional blanket/pillow, we got free bicycles.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi only worked sporadically in the room, to get a good reception, one had to stand near the door. Breakfast was below par. I took a warm egg from a pre prepared basket, and when I opened it, it looked fossilised - the yolk was a deep mustard colour and powdery. I felt quite queasy after that.

    Fabulous view from the room's balcony and the town nestled in the mountain in the vicinity of the hotel, is wonderful. Short drive down to the beautiful Varese. Evening meal very good, but Nouveau cuisine style portions make you raid the bread basket. Staff friendly & helpful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Just perfect! Lovely helping lady there 💐😘 The rooms are completely with raffinement arraged.... It's really a place of the romantic dreams ....

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just a very small thing but something to work on - I mentioned in the booking that it was our wedding anniversary but there was no sign that the hotel acknowledged that - no congratulation card on the table or in the room, nothing...The stay was excellent, but in any other hotel at least the receptionist would congratulate us. And a second detail - the pillows - uncomfortable. Other than that, nothing to complain about this really beautiful, little, family run place.

    beautiful views, peacefulness, excellent food (Michelin type - delicious small portions, if you want loads of food, it is not a place for you, for us - it was exactly what we wanted), nice gesture of the lady in the reception to give us water for the travel home - this was really appreciated. Beautiful romantic rooms, very cozy place. I don´t understand someone complaining that the rooms were at minus one level - the property is built on several floors on a slope of the hill and all the rooms have wonderful views and lovely terraces. I really recommend.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Splitlevel room ( not mentioned in description) , restaurant closed in the evening ,very hot room ( roof room without airconditioning), pillows like wooden beams

    excellent view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bread at the restaurant was so delicious, maybe that they could offer the same for breakfast! That would be great.

    Stunning view! Very kind people! Very welcoming, even with our dog!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s like dream... really nice and cute place. And restaurant ...wow

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, breakfast, hospitality of the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View Room Service Breakfast All

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Great views, beautiful location, friendly people. Nice food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    friendly people great views and very clean indeed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was top shelf all the way. Also the waitstaff was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly hosts, and lovely food at this great place!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Magnificent view!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and views are gorgeous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very peaceful as it was "off season" lovely walks and places to explore.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I LIKE IT

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food delicious, bed comfy, fabulous hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wine waiter a bit surly!!

    Food was glorious! Chef very helpful and attentive. Staff very friendly - Lydia was lovely and speaks good English

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Indifferent wifi. The very weak shower did not enhance the comfort in the very warm weather during our stay.

    Very nice and friendly hotel in superb surroundings just outside Varese. Extremely nice restaurant but sometimes a little stressed waiters. Except for these little mistakes this place could aspire for a Michelin star! Excellent winecellar.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not great internet in the room but fine on the terrace.

    Lovely to stay in a charming family run hotel - with gorgeous views from our balcony, bar and restaurant. The food was the best we had in Italy - well worth the drive up the mountain road (only a couple of miles out of town).

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location is fantastic, on a remote hilltop with stellar views and ample peace. The hotel is cozy and it is obvious that the proprietor cares quite a lot about guest comfort. Plus every room has a private balcony with a view. And finally, the food. Can't say enough good about the artistic foods coming from Silvio's kitchen. If you stay here, plan to eat here every night.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great views. Terrace off room added space. Food in restaurant was excellent. Proximity to Sacro Monte made this historical area easy to explore. Worth the winding drive from Varese. Good parking area.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful view at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old town and building and very nice scenery. It would had been nice to have more than one night in order to check surroundings better.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was realativly poor

    The view from the balcony

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lot of dust on the floor of the room. Cleaning could be better.

    Very dedicated family who do maximum to give you a pleasant stay

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great views, located next to Sacro Monte and cathedral.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Courtesy of the owner in a warm family like hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Couple

    the room a bit too small

    the food ' the stuff , the location

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Hotel Colonne traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: