Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Colony 3 stars

Via Monterosi 18, Tor Di Quinto, 00191 Rome, Italy

#849 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1365 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Toilet flash function was bad. Cold water pressure was very low in tap. Most of the staff didn't know basic English. Room service staff very often didn't knock on the door and trying to enter inside without any warning.

    The room was cozy and comfortable, clean and nice. The neighborhood was good, calm streets with nice smell of flowers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. Only public transport you can use are buses. Too far away from city centre. Poor breakfast, don't expect boiled eggs or fruit to be served.

    Quiet neighborhood. Clean rooms. Towels changed every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Clean and comfotable with friendly staff. Nice patio area for an afternoon drink in the sun. Perfectly situated for my weekend visit to a nearby Birthday Party. Excellent, thank you to everyone at Hotel Colony for making me feel so welcome and making my stay so wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - breakfast absolutely bad. Price (10€!!!!) for a buffet that was extremely poor: almost no fresh fruit, old croissants, coffee from vending machine (had to pay extra for one from the bar, how can it not be included in the 10€?!), no eggs, nothing for the price you paid. Facilities extremely old, personnel not always at disposal and sometimes even rude.

    The balcony in my room + the view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the receptionist was very rude we asked for some towels and she was very rude instead of explain the system of the hotel we arrived at the hotel in the afternoon the weather was hot and obviously we want to take a shower and use towels in the room, in the morning we want to take a shower we went in the reception and we ask fir some towels and the receptionist a women that i think she is like a manager there was very rude to explain that we need to wait after 9 am to get some towels and we had an appointment at 9 am we had a shower and we used just one used towel between 3 persons

    Cleanless very good and very quiet area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The adjoining restaurant was ok but I preferred going out a bit as well Are brilliantly in nearby places e.g. Ponte Milvio.

    The bed was great The room was great very quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cozy place... service is improving they read my last comment and told me... and things are ok.... good location for who need the north part of the city and friendly personel. good opportunity to have also nice dinner if you don't want to go around and stay in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell bad and unpleasent personell, only the first girl at reception was gentle.

    Hotel nice but the worse service ever.... the reception was ok within the check in but the other shift was unbelievably rude and he could not even speak Italian nor English properly. When I called the reception from the room to ask about the WIFI and the phone he had a very bad attitude and there was an horrible smell of garlic everywhere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room full of dust, the men work at the reception was not helpful, no knowledge about anything, very rude with my wife , Wi-Fi ne work , we stay two day but the experience was not good

    the appearance of the hotel is nice

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I have a disability resulting in limited mobility and booked hotel based on the fact that it had an airport shuttle and a general shuttle service neither of which were available. This resulted in a lot of stress trying to get public transport, costly taxi bills and we booked into a city centre hotel for our last night despite the fact the we had paid for same night in Hotel Colony. I would not recommend this hotel for anyone with a disability unless you have your own transport

    The staff were pleasant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Far from touristic attractions and hard to find. The front door did not lock properly. Some water taps did not close. Several lights in the room worked randomly. Rugged wallpapers and careless maintenance. I paid for the whole stay during the check in. Later on, I was informed of an 'extra day' fee which I promptly refused (I had the receipt with the exact amount). The staff had contradictory statements on that matter. They said it was an internal problem.

    If you take a walk, you will find a nice neighborhood and a few blocks away the lovely Via Flaminia. Fair price. Close to public transportation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some information on the buses timetable and which line enable to reach which district in the city centre maybe a plus (first day it took us 1h30 to get the city centre) despite google maps.

    The bed was confortable. Having a balcony was nice to stay some time on the evening. The hotel is well decorated on the "colony" theme ! The hotel is quite faraway to the city centre but the neighborhood is safe.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was neither enough nor fresh food for breakfast, a lady asked for newly cut slice of bread(not from yesterday) and the staff did not do anything about that.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi worked on my phone but not on my computer. Bathroom floor was so badly constructed that when I took a shower it was flooded for hours. A few of the towels was clean but with old dirt stains on them. Breakfast was a joke, hardly anything to choose from but stale bread, no butter, a little juice and yoghurt and several types of sweets.

    Very friendly day portier. Nice interior and a nice little balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a long time since I felt the need to complain, however we specifically booked this hotel as it had a restaurant, which we assumed had food. On arrival after asking if we could have lunch, we were informed the restaurant is not open currently (even on an evening), here is a takeaway menu ! Complete misleading advertising and no nice restaurants close by on asking at reception. Also it's not that close to the stadium, another reason for booking, it's a 50 minute walk. The hairdryer is basically the end of a Hoover, also the hotel do not have any plug adapters, so take your own if you need to charge mobiles etc. Finally, did not feel any customer service was provided at any level.

    Very clean and quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were not bad, but extremely, extremely slow. (40 minutes for check in, 20 minutes for checkout). Maybe it is not their fault, though. Maybe it is the standard operating procedure very, very wrong.

    Really high class.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad orientation of the room. The view was heading into the wall and messy environment.The bathroom was very old, not remodelled for years. No mirror in the room. Not very comfortable bed. The room needs to be remodelled. Bad dinner, not worth the money (14 euros).

    Peaceful neighbourhood.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff - prices

    Bar staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price corresponds to qualiti.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor and the same every morning,staff was friendly but knowledge of English language was very poor

    The hotel is in a quiet place, decent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist impeccabile e professionali. Complimenti a Alina e Jacopo

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of shower, did not protect water from splashing outside

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They are improving a lot since first time I went there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like The breakfast buffet.

    Bed where comfy , nice and big bathroom. Cleaners were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Encountered two cockroaches on the bed, and air conditioning is pretty poor

    Very nice bathroom and rooms are okay, price was extremely good :))

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok good

    Nice place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The slippery stairs and the no egg breakfast.

    The giraffe

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambiance

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to leave..wanted to stay more days!!

    Excellent service!! Great food!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were holes in the walls

    Dinning room staff were great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None at all

    I loved the place and the staff are very nice and the price is reasonable...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location: far from city center, be ready to have 30 minutes bus trip

    It was quite a nice place

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should include refreshments in the regrigirator

    Staff are cooperative

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is far from centre

    breakfast terrace is nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lift alarm going off at 6am for over an hour, shower trey would fill with water and not drain making a shower more than 2 minutes impossible

    Polite staff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little bit far from city centre and staffs are not so good in english

    Totally worth it, it was cheap, clean, nice breakfast, and helpful staff. I also like the interior - looks like some old european houses.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    That you need to pay before they give you a room key. So you need to pay before you see the room. The bill they give you in the end of your staying at hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. No proper information about breakfast time, no hot water in shower, room was dark, bathroom had slight bad smell, far from city

    Nothing. I didn't like anything about the hotel

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning didn't work, room cleaning being done at 5 pm when u already been out all day. First day we had no hot water. Breakfast was all store bought, on the cheap section.

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    area is not very nice. Furniture is very old and bathroom not in very good contitions.

    With promo very good price. Conformtable room. quite room. very kind receptioninst.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room stinked of cigarette smoke. We had to pay 15euro extra for parking as there was no parking available nearby ( in hotels description it says that parking is available- we even wrote a message to hotel prior to arriving that we'll be needing a parking space)

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was not enough light in the room and bathroom, almost all of the bulbs were out. Could not close the window properly.

    Room was clean, tidy, changed the towels every day. Value for money. Easy to get to the city center, 25 minutes with the 223 bus. There was a nice breakfast place in the neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lady at the counter was a absolute b***h. Ask for info on buses and said there is a sign just read it and we said its Italian cannot read it. She said oh well and wAlked away. Told us we couldn't check in until two and didn't suggest where to go to get lunch or waste time since far from the city so walked around pee covered streets trying to find somewhere to eat for two hours. King bed was two beds pushed together. Far from town.

    Room had a bathroom

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have booked this hotel between the date 08.04.2016 and 11.04.2016. When I booked I was notified that is not fee for reservation, but unfortunately have been withdrawn 34 EUR from my account. These 34 EUR have gone to GC Hotel (Colony) followed after that my stay there will end this money to be returned. Today is 10.05.2016 after 30 days I still have not received my money back. I have contacted the hotel six times but they do nothing. I am very dissapointed. It is not about money. They are liars. Every time I called to send my money back they said to wait a day or two but still I have not received anything. So Hotel Colony at this time you destroy your image for 34 EUR, I hope it's worth it!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in a desolate state. The wallpaper was coming off, and the chair was by far not safe to sit in.

    It is cheap. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Private parking in a (rubbish-filled) parking garage is available (for an additional 15 euro a night). Our room had a balcony.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - The hotel is too Old; - Bathroom - very bad smell; - Location is horrible (22 bus stops to the colosseum); - I left the hotel early due the bad conditions.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wi-fi didn't work in our first day of our check-in and it was a bit of a pain, but they fixed it the following evening. I think the worst part about the hotel is its location, as it's very deep into the suburbs and you have to change at least 2 types of transport to get to the main locations. The buses are really confusing so try to avoid them in the morning at least, take the train from Tor di Quinto instead to get to Flaminio (Piazza del Popolo). It's only a 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel and you can use the same ticket, but be wary of coming back there in the evening as it's basically next to a highway and the drivers in Italy are known to not care much about the rules.

    The room was excellent, really clean and we had everything we needed. We really liked the decorations as well! They have some sort of Roman African feeling. The staff are really professional, they cleaned our room every day and the reception was really helpful with directions and whatnot. Overall a great place for a young couple on a backpacking budget.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    • Couple

    Someone from cleaning rooms stole my money, wasnt euro and i didnt think she will took it! Hotel lied me i will get money back, i gone to police to make complain! Its been few days and i dont have money back! Also they took from my card 25euro and they didnt informed me! I just saw random that, is unprofessional service! Breakfeast is a joke! The location of hotel is not very good, you can find only busses and in weekend u have to wait 1hour for a buss! in normal days you need 1 hour or more to go in center of rome, with buss 200,32 then metro A and B! Much things is not good! Im not recomand that place!

    -

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The light from room entrance wasn't working, also, first night was a bit cold and the internet wasn't working first day, but they fixed it.

    NIce rooms, hotel is a bit old, and but renovated, you fell a bit of classic air inside the room, is nice. Not too far from city center, you can arrive with local transport in about 25-30 minutes. I recomend it. Also, nice breakfasts for the price.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The position of the hotel is not the best if you do not have a car; it took approximately 45 minutes to get to a subway connection and for the bus you had to wait at lest 30 minutes (the maximum was 50 minutes). The wireless internet connection was down for our 5 days stay and no apologize were received from the hotel staff. The breakfast was quite poor with not much variety.

    The price of the room was fare, and also cleaningness of the room

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel is at least an hour away from anything in Rome. Which is not a easy journey on Romes public transport which is horrendous for a capital city. So once you go out you have to spend the whole day out rather than being able to come back in the evening then heading out again. Staff were less than helpful and majority of staff don't speak or understand English which makes it harder. Even when I attempted Italian they didn't want to help. Room was so dated, it had wallpaper hanging off the wall, bathroom was dark and damp. Bed was like sleeping on a park bench or mortuary slab. Random fire alarms went off in the early hours of the morning with no fire or apology.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is poor and the cheapest products there. I recommed to book a room without b/f.

    Manager was very helpful and kindly finded a parking for our car. Rooms is small but comfortable with tipical italian style.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very bad Wi_Fi connection, sometimes missing at all, shower door is broken, had to close windows every night because of noise. No metro connection just buses.

    Hotel with a nice vintage design, clean room and bathroom, safe box inside. Good value for the price.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good value for money in an ok area just a fair way out but an enjoyable walk or ride in via bus and metro. Staff friendly and helpful. Could be really good with a bit more attention to detail.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower door was coming off of one wheel. In the rooms we had to play Sherlock Holmes to figure out how to make the plugs work. Apparently, there are switches in the closet. You have to laught!

    The staff was very friendly and helpful! They explained how to get to Rome, fought for a great taxi price and even helped us out with €10! The sleep in this hotel was so peaceful and deep.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very kind and friendly. The room was cleaned every day, comfortable and cosy, a little old fashioned style. The hotel is located in very nice and peaceful district, about 1 hour far way from the Piazza del Popolo.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall property seemed tired and in need of a good rethink on decor. Attention to details such as replacing light bulbs, dealing with scuffed paint and peeling wallpaper would also help.

    Convenient for transport into the centre of Rome. Quiet location - no problems sleeping.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Far from the city center (it was taking us about 45min up to 1 hour by bus & tram & metro). - Breakfast consist mostly of confectionery.

    - Very helpful staff. - Nice atmosphere and style of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The place is quite distant from the centre, it takes ca. one hour to the centre depending on the destination. The offer for breakfast was poor consisting of toasted bread, non fresh croissants, sweets, nutella, corn flakes, sometimes boiled eggs. Old and used equipment.

    It's cheap. The rooms are quiet, maybe a bit noisy if open windows. The staff is helpful. Bus stops of different bus lines within 5 min walk.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is worst that I have seen. There is nothing offered except coffee. We bought our own salami and cheese from the nearby market. Room was so cold we needed a jacket.

    Kind staff, wants to help, although the hotel is not on the best location. You need bus & tram to reach the center. Staff is ready to explain how to get around and to help you in anything you want. Rooms are clean and descent.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was cold , we needed extra blanckets, the breakfast was poor but the Coffee was realy good. Its a bit far from the center..

    Very nice staff. Good Coffee.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The mean guests who were horrible to the waiters (no need for it at all).

    The Hotel is Fantastico! I traveled with my wife a and young child and we loved staying there. Greeted us with parking and kindness with luggage help. A Big thank you to Marina and the girls and the gentlemen who served us breakfast each morning - so kind. I went for jogs and used the gym and rooms and lobbyare very spaceous :)

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The location was close to a business conference for us but it was a little from the center.

    The staff was helpful. At one point a member of our group left their phone in a restaurant in the city center. The hotel sent a cab to retrieve the phone free of charge! They also helped print many documents and provided early breakfast one day. The hotel is compfortable with a unique atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI was too complex, every 24 hours comes with new log in ID/password, too inconvenient and unstable.

    Smiling faces, warm welcome and quick response to questions plus excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bigger tv

    Fairly nice hotel for sleep over and ok breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast is very slim - not much to choose from. No omlett or any kind of eggs.

    Overall ok. A welcoming location

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    -

    Good hotel, reasonable prices, great staff, very helpful!

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Not truly information on booking No ironing service-I needed it

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was so cold in the room and the hotel was so far from the city centre

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tax

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast no good cost 5 euro per person

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    EASY TO FIND. A LITTLE FAR FROM CITY BUT THE BUS STATION IS NOT SO FAR.WIFI DOES NOT WORK AT ALL.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    further downtown Sunday 223 bus stop into town .

    beautiful views

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast poor

    Value for money and clean

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is a bit out of the way

    Bed was very comfy

There are also 46 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Colony traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: