Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Columbus 4 stars

Lungarno C. Colombo, 22/A, Lungarno del Tempio, 50136 Florence, Italy

#369 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2250 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    5.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel doesn’t look like a 4 star hotel, but you have to pay city tax for a 4 star hotel… this is not correct! For 2 nights we paid 19 EUR for city tax! The room is very small, with old furniture, warn carpet, dark… you will feel like you are in a abandoned hotel. Breakfast was very bad for a 4 star hotel… was the same menu every morning.

    I recommend this hotel only for its location and for the low price… but if you will choose a 3 star hotel maybe you will feel better than in this 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was relatively new but it smelled because of some kind of fungus, The jalousie was broken so we couldn't open it. There was no parking. We had to pay in cash not by card. Definetely not 4 stars, 2 at most.

    The hotel is near the city center - about 30 min by foot to Uffizi. The breakfast was ok. The staff was extremely friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really healpful. You can ask them to mend the air conditioner and fridge but they will not come until you ask them for the 3rd time after the fruits has rotten. which is nonsense.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything: the cleaning, breakfast do not fead the needs of the hostess, the location (just have one bus to Go to the city center and this bus is chaotic!), the receptionist ask us to buy the municipal tax at the beginning of the accommodation and only in cash (which is ridiculous!!) and he kept our ID cards because he didn’t want to make our check-in in the system with our presence (I din’t know why! It doesn’t make sense, at all!!). The room was very noise, with people talking along the night, so we didn’t slept at all! When o push the door of he bathroom, the handle broke and stand in my hand. I do not recommend this hotel to stay in Florence. It was the worst experience that I’ve ever had!! I didn’t take any photos, because I do not want to show what I’ve seen to anyone and I do not want to keep any memories of this place!!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room with clean sheets, shower was OK not as other reviews where they have complained about it. Good price value for what hotels has to offer. I recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed is two small beds pushed together which can get a bit uncomfortable. The rooms were old, carpet stained and it had an old smell. There was no showercurtain either which can quickly tirn into a mess.

    Staff was nice and included breakfast saces some money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast includes just one hot drink , if you wanna second or more , you have to pay money . Saturday mornings are so crowded in breakfast area , cuz that somethins is finished and not to preparing again.

    Location is perfect , you can walk every where . staffs are so helpfully and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly out of the historic centre but public transport was very close so that didn’t pose much of an issue. The interior of the rooms could do with an update as well

    As a traveller on a budget, it did the job - nothing extravagant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything could have been better!

    Breakfast was a catastrophy!No explanation why the restaurant was closed, every morning they gave us our breakfast in paper bags out of a box delivered by some company! This paperbag contained a plastic bottle with water (0,5l) two croissants and a sandwich!Poor quality! There were no warm drinks offered..we had to pay them extra on a coffee machine...also poor quality! The Internet-Connection didn't work well either. Very unconfortable beds! Staff was not the friendliest, not recommended at all!Bad performance for a 4 Star Hotel!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was included. Restaurant wasn’t working but they had breakfast boxes to compensate

    Close to city center. Easy to follow to city center through the river

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel interior looks very old. AC was controlled by the hotel so they switched it only after we informed and it was off in the morning before we got up. We expected a delicious breakfast but since there was some management change they provided us food in packets which is OKAY.

    Hotel staff were very good. They are available 24X7 and received us at late night also. It was good location. If there are no repairs going on at train station you can reach by public transport. If not via Taxi you can be at hotel within 10-15 minutes which costs you around 18eur.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the web site the hotel was described as 4 stars hotel, but actually the facilities, furniture, break-fast level was no more than 2 stars hotel.

    Personnel very kind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved this hotelnthinking it was a 4 stars hotel. Maybe it could be 2 or less. Forniture is very old, Tv screen very small, bathroom has a lot of old and broken piecis like broken shower and old lavatory.

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was completely broken, the shower didn’t work properly. The window was also broken so we couldn’t sleep well, neither later than 7:35 am because of the street noise and the light. About the bed sheet, I don’t wanna what happened with them, but our body was aching all over. Breakfast could be much better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure wasn't great and had to hold the shower head ourselves as it wasn't attached to the wall!

    Rooms and hotel itself were Very clean great staff very friendly and helpful..view was amazing to wake upto and breakfast was Lovely and fresh!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems

    Clean, friendly and helpful staff. Adequate room and bathroom. About a 2km walk to the Uffizi. We like to walk so good for us. Bus service in Florence was not great,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was really poor. Room was not clean. Staff was alright but seemed to be without experience. After all it is not like a 4 star hotel at all. It was not worth for the money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no shower curtain in the bathroom and no curtains in the bedroom. The bar was closed during my stay. If you are relying on public transport it can be annoying travelling between the hotel and either the bus or train station. As far as I know two bus journeys are needed.

    The hotel is very clean and although I had very little interaction with the staff, they seemed friendly enough. The breakfast was ok. My room was comfortable and spacious. There was a safe in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms in need of renovation (bathroom, carpet). Had asked and agreed with Reception for an opportunity to have breakfast 15 minutes earlier that starting service but the restaurant person did not seem to have got the message and was quite rude in his interaction with the guest.

    Good price - quality hotel for Florence. Good breakfast. About 20 minutes walk to the center. Professional staff at the reception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in really bad mood, not helpful at all. All of them not even one was helpfull. We had a lot snow in our stay the parking space was down to a ramp and was frozen we asked of was possible to leave in front of the hotel. The guys was extremely rude saying was not possible but on the next day there was more the 2 cars parked there also the bed was really poor quality when I seat the bed broken and my husband had to fix himself. Breakfast not many options and really expensive for the poor stay that we had there. The bar does not work. Outside was -10 degrees and the shower was cold no hot water. My mom's room did not even had a shower was only a bath and again not hot water at all and no heater at all. I honestly think is way expensive for the poor hotel. I advise people pay a bit more and stay in a better place.

    I liked the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is awful. Temerature in room is 10 degrees.They have to repair the air conditioner because it was not working Everything in room is broken. The staff was rude and disrespectful.The bathroom door could not be closed.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet in breakfast quite limited. Juice, tea or coffe. Bread with jelly or ham, yogurt. Would be nice to have some fruit available.

    Location is good, around 2km from Ponte Vecchio.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You must take shampoo and soap from reception. I think should be on reservation site information, that Bus 14 is 1-2min. from the Hotel and it is perfect connection 10-15min. with center of the city.

    Perfect location, but with Bus 14!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for 2 nights. Incredible view of the river from our room, very friendly staff willing to help with anything. Made for an excellent experience in Florence. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be careful the room you could get might not be similar to the one with the photos. In our case it was a lot smaller (the bathroom was 1x2 meters) . I think they use the same photos for all their rooms. In general the hotel is also ancient. The hotel has a small parking in the back. The first night there were no parking reserved for us, so I had to wake up at the morning to see if one was assigned for us and park the car.

    The breakfast was good and they have assigned a parking for us although it might be not included. The heating was very nice, we even felt hot. The fridge was really helpful. Although they seem to be trying to make everything better, more effort could be done in general.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not good to smell that kind of vinegar inside the bathroom. Little far from city. Don't walk destination of tourist.

    manager has kind. breakfast good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot water is lacking. Pretty dirty place overall, but I love it.

    I love the style of this place-a faded glory hotel you'd see in a Coen Brothers film, for that it is a ten. Best hotel desk worker I've ever met-dry wit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change the room after the first day as th plumbing work for the sink was not completed in one day. The television did not receive any channels for two nights. The breakfast needs some work as it is a bit skimpy. No eggs, no sausages, no bacon. You only get cold cuts of ham, cheese, bread, cereal, yoghurt, coffee and the usual cakes.

    The location was good as you can catch the 14C to most places and get the 31 or 14C back to the hotel. The supermarket and laundromat are also very close maybe 5 minutes walk. The staff are very helpful, friendly and speak English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were bed bugs on my mom's bed. No hot water, and water is weak. The towels and bed sheets smells like it hasn't been washed. When we asked for new sheets that's the one that smelled like it has been washed. Breakfast was not innovative, not worth including in the pay.

    Fridge and TV. Space of the room. A/C Heater.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was bare minimum, only coffee and juice useful. The wifi was unreliable.

    Arriving from Naples, Florence was very pleasant. Quiet area of the city across the river. Got a very good deal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was proper shower, only a hand held wand. Also never any hot water, barely luke warm.

    The staff were great and the wifi n free tv was awesome. Very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stuff member who checked me in was not friendly and very aggressive.

    very practical for people looking for good hotel without lots of facilities to sleep The breakfast didn't have lots of options but it was okay to start the day

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was not to a couple. There was two single beds together. No breakfast included. The room and bathroom have everything very old and sometimes broken

    Staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs were indecent....could not even arrange for hot water....kettle ...even the phone in the room was not working..which could not be repaired...everytime I had to come to the corridor to speak to the receptionist..if at all he picked up......

    The property have a breakfast which was hardly up to basic standard...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is presented as a 4 star hotel, but it needs renovation.

    Polite and eager staff. We complained about the room and immediately gave us another better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is so far from city center. You have to take the bus to reach anywhere and the bus takes a long time to come or in your way back from city center, it is very crowded. It is expensive for the location.

    It is in a quite neighbourhoods but so far from the city center. The hotel has big rooms and clean bathrooms. Nice breakfast and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit naff, water not very warm and the water pressure was rather low.

    Excellent value for money. Grear view. Very clean. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal was so horrible. Man asked me after 5 minute long conversation "Do you speak English" with really ironic face. When you want to take a shower, it's going to be only small source of cold water. Everywhere are webs. 4*, so high price and it looked like some hostel.

    Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work properly even asking to the staf to manage it but nothing was done

    The room space was pretty good and breakfast was cool and I had a room with a nice view from my window

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. It's dirty, dusty, and with walls that had marks of dampness. The furniture is very old and uncleaned. The photos weren't at all accurate. The reality of this hotel is much worse than what you can see in the pictures. We decided to leave next day, in order to find another hotel. My wife has an alergy to dampness. But that was just one of the many reasons to leave. Before leaving, we asked for a refunding. They said that it will be done in 2 weeks or 10 days! I hope that they do that. But I don't have great expectations. So, i'm decided to make complaints. It's a mess of the hotel and we saw other clients that wanted to make complaints at the desk.

    Nothing to like. It was awfull experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was an old hotel with very small rooms, the condition of the toilet was not really good. no enough lighting inside the roomette room had no view it is more vintage look. no parking for the cars.

    I have nothing special to say about this hotel. accept that the staff were very friendly easy to find the hotel front of the river. taxi and bus are very easy to find tourist buses very close if you want city tour

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't hav hot water in the morning on the 6th floor so we needed to pack our staff and move to another room. The balcony is really tiny. The breakfast wasn't good enough for 4 star hotel.

    Although they say they don't provide parking we had a parking place for one day. The staff was really welcoming for the first day (greatings to the man with tatoo and the young woman, you really made our day).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is very nice and clean, the breakfast is great and the staff are excellent! They are very friendly and helpful and would go above and beyond to help you with any queries you have. Excellent hotel with a beautiful rooftop terrace where watched the sunrise and sunset

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel is poor, in fact a lot of it is way beyond poor. Leaky toilet, door handle coming off (don't worry, if it comes off we'll fix it).. light not working.. we had a room overlooking the river which had no curtains just an external shutter which wouldn't have been a problem if the shutter hadn't been jammed open (can't do anything until tomorrow) and we had to endure a whole night with the lights along the river illuminating the entire room. The bars on the balcony has rusted through and there was a cup full of water and cigarette butts in the corner, one of the electrical sockets had been pushed into the wall rendering useless and dangerous. When my husband outlined the faults to the manager he was told "that's your opinion". To put this into perspective we have stayed in many hotels and never complained about anything before so this is not unrealistic expecpectations or nit picking. It was bad we left after just one night a found a much hotel for the same money. We did not get a refund at the time as the reception manager (Guido) told us it was booked through Booking.com so would be down to them and "there's the door, I'm done". This was a lie and we are still waiting to be re-imbursed by the hotel.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Probably, about 30 years ago it was a good hotel. Now the old walls, old floors, old ceilings, old furniture, old bad plumbing. The room is not very clean. A scant monotonous breakfast. For complete authenticity, only bedbugs are missing.

    Delicious fresh croissants and courteous staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have better WiFi. The WiFi was poor and kept cutting out.

    Really spacious rooms with very good air conditioning. Good transport links and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much trafic.

    The hotel is nice, not too far from the old town (20 minutes walking) and the Piazzale Michelangelo. It is directly on the river, however there is much trafic on the street. The service was great. There are nice places to eat and drink near by. All in all is good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They don't have a parking lot although I have selected only the hotels with parking! The smell in the room was unbearable. It was a tough smell of old that you could not stay in the room. It was noisy (like sleeping near a highway) and cold because the window door didn't close properly.

    The breakfast was ok

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friend had really serious an allergic reaction in this staying. She hasnt got any allergy before. We went a hospital next day in Rome and they said, it could be cause of blanket or something else (insect bite..). Cleaning was very problem with us. Wifi is not properly connecting and so far to the city center you must use public transportation or taxi.

    Only view is so fantastic and breakfast is so good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin so you can hearing every single person coming back to their rooms on the floor, not to mention how you can hear every thing the people in the neighbouring rooms are doing. The rooms are very dated and could do with some refurbishment. The aircon, which had to be on for the mosquitos and for the lack of airflow in the room, clicked and made terrible humming sounds. The cupboard doors don't close, and the light by our door didn't work so we couldn't see into the cupboard to fetch things. Breakfast was abysmal - I understand that the italian breakfast is normally coffee and a pasty....well, The coffee is disgusting, and a few times there wasn't enough pastries. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this hotel- it is stuck on the 1960s.

    The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A walk out from the tourist areas of Florence but short. Fridge in room didn’t work at all. Shower pressure was poor.

    Great view from balcony over the river and off to the old town. Friendly staff, plenty of good restaurants nearby. Breakfast okay but limited selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though the hotel is located at the riverside, it's a long walk to the city centre. Approximately 45 minutes. Also, the hotel looks like you're back in the '70s. Old interior and style. Airco didn't work very well. Breakfast was minimal, but at this price it's already kind of nice that it is included.

    It's relatively cheap and seemed clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everythink - when I entered to room first idea to run out I never back.

    Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The four stars got probably in 1970. The only plus staff - very helpful and nice! Hole in the door, unplugged TV, furniture except for the sellers, no water in the mini bar. Breakfast terrible. No fruit. Watermelons in the summer are not expensive. Think about it. Not too far from the center 2.5 km. Whatelse - if you wanna go ther think twice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Very dirty hotel. One day the curtain did not close so we had to sleep with curtains open. No basic facilities. By no means this is a 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad wi fi, staff had to keep resetting the router which never worked . Staff were helpful but did everything they were asked with a bad attitude and a frown . The restaurant was only open for breakfast , the bar was never open , the rooms had bad air conditioning and traffic was very loud .

    Located beside some nice outside restaurants and bars .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult commute from train station to hotel (couldn't find the bus stop although it turned out to be pretty easy after the fact). We took a taxi. Our double bed was in fact 2 singles joined together; problematic when they start to come apart from each other.

    The room was nicer than expected based on prior reviews. I made 2 bookings for different nights (back to back) via different booking agencies, and was happy that the hotel accommodated us so that we didn't have to change rooms between the bookings. Our rooms were also cleaned daily. Easy commute into the city once the staff explained the bus routes and we got our own bearings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very poor and bad cooked and there were too many mosquitoes.

    The location and that the hotel had private beach with ombrelas and sun beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor and I didn't like the croissants, the taste was awkward. The bathroom was a nightmare for us. It was for people with desabilities and we didn't request this. Based on this fact ... our toilet was high and uncomfortable, the shower was basically on the floor. We found a lot of dust on the radiator. The walls in the room where dirty. Although the view from our room was nice, we slept poorly due to the noise from main street.

    Stuff was friendly. To city center we took a walk of 30 minutes. Clean sheets on bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small and with very old furniture in which you could not put your clothes because of the smell. Of the 4 bulbs there was only one. The lift did not work. The rooms are not at all soundproofed, we hear any noise from the adjoining rooms. The camerists did not respect the signs on the door and spoke very loudly on the corridors. The hotel has not been renovated for many years, you have the feeling that you are the last tourist then the hotel will close. Breakfast is poor. There is not even a toaster, and the variety is completely lacking. There is no hot breakfast at breakfast. The terrace on the last floor looks like in the photo attached and it is not functional.

    Nothing was to be appreciated in this property. I visited over 20 European cities and this accommodation was the worst of all. The pictures do not reflect the reality, there is no longer a 4 star hotel, I personally would rate it at 2 stars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's really old, smells like dust, the walls are so thin that you hear all the sounds so you cannot have a decent rest. Breakfast is less than average, and also too few tables for all the hotel guests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were way too small, barely enough room around beds. Beds were squeaky and not comfortable. No private parking facility. One our bathroom door didn't have a handle. The other bathroom was small, less than 2 square meters. Our shower cabin door didn't have a glass, just an empty door frame. Rust on the window frames. The older receptionist was kinda rude. Breakfast way too basic, veery limited choice. This is definitely not 4 star as advertised, more like 2 star. No iron, laundry bag or tea /coffee with a water heater in rooms. Three pin plugs needed, very few sockets for use. One of them was dangerously fitted.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast provided were a nice touch for our stay but it would have been better if they had more variety than just bread, meat, cheese and croissants. There were some cereals and yogurt but not much to choose from.

    We were on the outskirts of the city but it was a fairly decent walk to the old town. Nice walk along the water. The air con was perfect as it was extremely hot when we were there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are super helpful and have great local knowledge. The hotel is close to a supermarket, and a short walk to the city centre and the bus stop for tourist buses.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city center, but a bus stops right next to the hotel and takes only 15 min. Can walk, but it would take about an hour.

    It was clean and breakfast was included. Great price!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice standard hotel...excellent breakfasts...supermarket nearby but away from central Florence and one needs to take a bus. Other than location, this is a safe, and pleasant place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi signal was weak. Hotel was very old and the interior needs some refreshment. The room was really dirty - with fingerprints all over the walls. The AC wasn't that good and it was pretty hot in our room. Breakfast was really simple - just enough to get through to lunch.

    Personnel was friendly and kind. Window view was good. It takes about 15 mins to get to the historical centre of Florence.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking - a nightmare. We parked a few 100 meters away (the only spot we could find really) and found our car the following morning locked in by other cars and had to find the owner(s) in shops and cafes nearby. The hassle of convincing reception that the airco didn't work properly. Breakfast (included). Bread was reasonable, but toppings and drinks were disgusting. If we would have known we would have gone elsewhere to buy breakfast.

    The help we got when we ran into rental car trouble. The other room we were given around midnight when the airco in the initial room didn't work in cooling mode. The restaurant tip given by reception was a hit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived, we got a very small room. No space to move around and the bathroom was extremely small with a terrible view from the balcony (back of the hotel). We complained and the next day were moved to a room with a view of the river on the front side of the hotel. Room was spacious with a renewed bathroom with a bath. We were very happy with this room and hotel staff was very friendly and helpful to make this change for us. TFurniture in the hotel is very old fashioned. It is very clean, but needs a bit to be modernised.

    Friendly and helpful hotel staff. Free (Small) parking available for the guests and we were lucky to find parking every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub was old and the walls needed some repaiting. A usefull info would be the check in. Although we book the room at 8 in morning, the check in only starts at 11 so we had to wait.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything...crap breakfast ... crap room...crap location (fool you into thinking close to centre when its literally 45 min walk!!!) Crap services just a shocking hotel worst ive stayed at and i always stay at cheap little hotels like this to avoid major clsts in big cities so i dont go with any expectations just avoid at all costs

    Staff were ok

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't realise how far away from the city centre the hotel was. The wi-fi was inconsistent. Our window blind was broken so we couldn't keep it open.

    Very clean, staff were friendly and helpful. View of the river. The breakfast was great, a large buffet with a wide variety to choose from!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The carpets need a change, they are clean however they feel like old carpets. The wifi didn't always work, but when it did it worked fine. Another thing is the balcony rail, for a tall person it is quite low, would have probably felt safer if it would have been taller.

    The hotel is 30 minutes away by foot from Pontevecchio. Very friendly staff, clean bedsheets, towels and bath. Even though the hotel parking was full we were able to find a parking spot nearby. The room had a balcony with a beautiful overview over Arno. All in all, the value is good for the price, I would recommend it for short stays and people who aren't too picky.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was average. The furniture in room was a little bit old, bathroom was very small. The hotel is far from the center

    Parking is free, air condition in room is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very very scarce, room - old and disorganized. The apartment needed renovation long time ago: walls were dirty, some sockets didn't work, shower cabin - too tiny even for a Lilliputian. Electricity requires a separate note: we had a voltage drop and all the room turned black. It is super bad travel experience!

    Florence itself

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection was absolutely non-existent. Quite far from the center. The older gentlemen at the desk was a bit rude, all younger staff seemed to be very polite however. And the restaurant! If you are advertising it opens daily from breakfast, lunch, and dinner, how are you going to tell us dinner isn't opening for the night? Especially when this night was filled with downpouring rain and thunderstorms. Wouldn't stay here again.

    The AC got extremely cold, woohoo! The staff was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Columbus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: