Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Art Hotel Commercianti 4 stars

Via de Pignattari 11, 40124 Bologna, Italy

#7 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1105 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in the centre of Bologna with very friendly and helpful staff. A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the bed a little bit too firm.

    In a great location in the centre of Bologna. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really very good and the room was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Nicely furnished spacious apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Somewhat dated. The annex where the apartment does not have an elevator. If you have luggage, ask for help! Parking in the nearby lot is quite expensive.

    Nicely furnished spacious apartment

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Central location, hotel with character and great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked 3 rooms and 2 were small with air con poor in one

    Great location you can almost touch the main cathedral! Amazing breakfast, super friendly staff and spotlessly clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in the heart of the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartments are separate and right on a noisy pedestrian street so if the windows were open it could be an issue....as it was, having no guests nearby was a big noise advantage

    Fantastic location in the heart of the old town Very quiet with windows closed an a/c on Great bed Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Bologna was wonderful, hotel and staff made it even more so!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    That I only stayed there for 4 nights. Wished it was longer and would go back again.

    It was two rooms, one with a pull out couch which was out when we arrived. We decided not to use it. They provided enough soap and everything for 4 people, wonderful slippers, robes, bathtub was really nice. Great location, and after finding it, left car in garage. Building had character and was luxurious. Wonderful happy hour with snacks, prices reasonable for everything. Breakfast was abundant with so many choices of everything. Pastries delicious, staff really attentive, coffee delicious. Would most DEFINITELY stay there again. Loved Bologna! The people at reception were so nice and courteous and answered all questions, made recommendations to lovely restaurants, just everything was great. Not one complaint at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay with plenty of cafes nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing I did not like about the hotel

    Excellent location - even better than I had expected - right next to Piazza Maggiore. Good choice at breakfast although I did not have anything cooked but the fresh fruit and choice of pastries were excellent. Reception staff were very helpful. I would staff at this hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom window though of frosted glass allows sufficient visibility at night to the next door building's windows a few meters away, Bedroom lighting is too dark.

    Location is unbeatable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    The apartment room we had was spacious, modern and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an odor in the bathroom which was probably because of the infrastructure. It dissipated in the three days we stayed in the room.

    The apartment room we had was spacious, modern and very practical. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    A charming hotel in a brilliant, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom window faced an apartment wall across a narrow viccolo and the room itself was a bit too small for two people.

    Breakfast had huge variety and everything we chose was delish - even the scrambled eggs, which most hotels ruin.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very impressive hotel, built in the 12th century and greatly restored. Comfortable beds, perfect location and very good breakfast. Loved the 12th century details of the building in the room! Will certainly return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location close to Piazza Maggiore, but in a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Aerobus shuttle from Bologna airport to Bologna rail station (not organised by hotel). We bought tickets at the machine at the airport, but they fined us for not stamping the ticket correctly on the bus - NOT a good welcome to Bologna.

    Excellent location close to Piazza Maggiore, but in a quiet street. Very good buffet breakfast included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Exceptional location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanliness. Really a major issue. The hotel is old and the rooms show it but this is no excuse for the dirty sticky tables and old towels. The mugs in the room had coffee and tea stains!

    Exceptional location. In the heart of the city center but yet in a quiet side street. Breakfast was good, a few organic and gluten free goodies which is not usually the case elsewhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    A great stay in a great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    We enjoyed the whole experience at this hotel but we the breakfast buffet greatly exceeded our expectations. There was a machine for making hot drinks but the staff offered to make us cappuccinos and they were divine. The location of the hotel is just a few yards from the Piazza Maggiore, so you're right in the heart of the old city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellent staff and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing had a problem with blocked hand basin but was seen to promptly the next day.

    Good hotel with very pleasant staff.Breakfast was great.Very accommodating as we are vegetarian.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Stunning property right next to San Petronio Basilica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine. No complaints.

    Right next door to the San Petronio Basilica. Mod cons in a historic building built in the 13th Century. We were overwhelmed by the wonderful room. We love history so this was a real treat for us. Staff were wonderful, the breakfast: a feast. There's a breakfast room but no restaurant for other meals. However, around the corner is a really lovely restaurant. Vocolo Colombina (see my review) with wonderful food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location- cannot be bettered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is excellent . It is an older style of European hotel, but the staff were very friendly and the hotel's convenience makes up for any immaterial shortcomings in modern facilities. There is good WiFi . The rooms was clean and provided sufficient home comforts to make our stay extremely enjoyable. The weather in Bologna was awful during our stay - but that is not the fault of the hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    It's a beautifull hotel with very nice rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist told us they offered parking (at €28/night). We just needed to drive in front of the hotel, which was impossible as the city centre was changed into a pedestrian zone. Even when we tried driving through there, we could not reach the hotel, as there the street to the hotel was closed off. We would have appreciated some more assistance, like someone coming with us or a clear instruction.

    It's a beautifull hotel with very nice rooms. The location is superb, but it's very difficult to get to with a car. We arrived on Saturday evening and the city centre was closed for cars and turned into a pedestrians zone. The parking in the city is challenging. Make sure to find a parking garage in advance, or you'll be driving around like we did.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    We had Superior apartment - Annex (because we were four)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We had Superior apartment - Annex (because we were four) with the terrace above the main street; sauna; modern furniture; full equipped... Breakfast is fabulous. Staff excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.3
    The new rooms are very nice and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personnel at the reception is terrible Do not bother them with a question or a request - apparently they are not here to provide any kind of service...¨ One notable exception - the lady from breakfast

    The new rooms are very nice and well located Well decorated and confortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    A great place to stay if you are interested in staying in the old , central part of town .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was too high ,unable to regulate the temperature to suit. Sound proofing , especially the windows could be improved .

    Location , right next to the Duomo on the Piazza Maggiore . Surrounded by cafes , bars , restaurants and speciality shopping . Valet parking available on the premises . Good museums and art galleries nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent facilities and location ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint is that my room was quite noisy; I was able to hear the neighboring guests and housekeeping through the walls. All the noise died down at night, however, and I had a peaceful sleep ...

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, there were many lovely details throughout, breakfast was excellent, and the bathtub was a welcome luxury!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old hotel with lots of character. Room had a nice view of the church. Fantastic location right in the centre. Staff very friendly. Comfy bed and great blackout blinds and double glazed windows so very quiet and a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Best location in Bologna, combined with added style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows were hard. At first the AC was not working, but this was attended to promptly. Apart from this everything was great at the hotel.

    This is a very well located hotel, just off the Piazza Maggiore (the main square in Bologna). Everything is within walking distance and this includes great restaurants, bars and cultural attractions. The rooms are all based on a theme relating to the history of the city, ours was dedicated to the silk fabric merchants. They are decorated in a "period" style but the bathrooms are quite modern. The hotel is in the older style and could do with a bit of a face lift in some areas, especially the breakfast room. Breakfast fare is very substantial though and they will make eggs and cappuccino to order at no extra cost. The staff are fairly reserved, but very helpful and are happy to look up timetables and give advice on directions to attractions. Overall it is the location that sells this hotel, it was wonderful being able to come back during the day to drop things off or pick up a jacket. Also there was a proliferation of lovely artworks throughout the hotel which added to the ambience. A gem in Bologna.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with own parking facility (for an extra fee). Helpfull staff. Nice breakfast. You just must be brave enough to come to the hotel through the main Bologna square with your own car:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no safe in the room which is important to us and the lights didn't work independently - either they were all on or all off which was somewhat annoying - the wifi was sporadic and they had to reboot a couple of times

    The hotel was a historical site and extremely well renovated- it was in an excellent location and within walking distance of the restaurants and shops - the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.3
    lovely but expensive hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room we were allocated - a classic double was cramped. Two people couldn't pass each other between wall & bed. Hotel very good but extraordinarily expensive.

    Staff great. Breakfast great. Location. Hotel decoration & ambiance. Bed - size & mattress good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.5
    Enjoyable but expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the most expensive hotel I have stayed in but I understand this was because of a ceramics exhibition during my stay. In addition, I understand there was an imminent visit from the Pope.

    The breakfast was excellent. All the staff,including chambermaids, were friendly, helpful and courteous. Location of hotel was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Always wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all.

    Everything is special about this hotel: the reception.the care.the decoration of the rooms (not to mention breakfast!). All is in the details!It is a dream place to me! Close to everything that matters in Bologna!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable stay in a beautiful city with lots to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the a/c went off and on too much, but it was fairly controllable. The TV should have been a bit more viewable from the bed, but that's a minor issue.

    The hotel has one of the best breakfast buffets I've had in a long time. The staff from reception to waiters and cleaning help were very friendly and helpful. They go out of their way to make one's stay a good one. There are almost too many good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Safe parking for our Ducati motorbike and prompt drinks service after a long hot ride. The restaurant next door had a fabulous lasagna! Breakfast is served till late too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Charming hotel in the heart of city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful place in the center of city, very comfortable beds. Great shower in green marble. Parking very convenient, just a bit tricky to find the way like through a maze, but once arrived is really charming place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location right in the centre of Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very warm and air conditioning didn't work in either room, therefore a good night's sleep was not possible. Shame - otherwise a nice place.

    Great location right in the centre of Bologna. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unaware we were not actually in the hotel but in a separate apartment. However, this stopped being a problem after a while.

    The staff were wonderfully receptive. The location was perfect!!!! Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Awesome location, comfy bed with great pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had works happening at the time we stayed and were woken up early a few mornings. The new card system was installed prior to us leaving and all works complete. Great place to stay

    Awesome location, comfy bed with great pillows

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is very nice decorated and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms are not very quiet due to the poor soundproofing. The Hotel blocked 50% of the total amount and didn't release it 5 days after leaving the hotel (we are still waiting...)

    The hotel is very nice decorated and clean. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location and cool hotel for a short stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel in the most amazing location in Bologna, with really cool art decorations throughout the hotel. Good breakfast with a decent selection. Room was perfect for the length of stay - single room for a night or two was ideal. Parking was amazing and the staff were very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    This was our second wonderful stay and will return again to AHC when we visit Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The waitresses were very polite, friendly, and responsive. Breakfast was plentiful and a good assortment of everything! The rooms were clean, comfortable. Shower water pressure was good. The location was ideal...close to all the action and history. Directions to the hotel were excellent and valet parking was worth the cost.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Friendly hotel right in the centre of Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classic style with interesting works of art. Excellent fruit, cakes and croissants at breakfast. Perfect Cappucino. We had printed their detailed instructions for how to drive to the Hotel- excellent but necessary.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing stay in this wondrous hotel. We felt welcomed from the beginning. Everything had been carefully anticipated from the hotel owners : from the map to the hotel (which is located right in the center of the town !) which was useful as it is a pedestrian-only area, to the way you are welcomed in front of the hotel by a groom carrying your luggage out of the car and parking your car inside the hotel parking. Staff was most attentive to our needs, and the breakfast buffet was royal. All types of food, and served in the most delicate way. We were even offered the possibility to leave our car after we had left the hotel, which was so kind !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Amazing breakfast in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the hotel was in a restricted area, the hotel gave instructions but they were not clear enough, and the arrival was complicated.

    Excellent and quiet location in the tourist center of Bologna (a few minutes walk from all sites). The artistic and very special design of the public areas and rooms, combined with works of art by well-known artists. Excellent breakfast - rich and varied, and very tasty (exceptional for hotels in Italy)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    We liked the hotel and would visit it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very good, with a good variety to choose from, including fresh juices. The location is excellent. The hotel was in a good condition. Our room didn't have a good view, but we were happy to have a small balcony. The air conditioning and wifi were very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Exorbitant costs for garage!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to pay 30 Euros for 20 hours parking for a garage without access. I think the parking should be included, if you want to leave the car for exploring the city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location but small for a family
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really small even the suite/family rooms are small, the air-conditioning system is erratic, when you open your window you are too close to other private apartments; the photos are a bit deceiving of the space you would expect and in my opinion too pricey. One actually pays for location. Hotel parking was full so had to take the car somewhere else. Also the hotel is located in pedestrian area so difficult to see where the car can actually circulate. I would recommend for a romantic weekend for couples not for a family with young children. Overall a pleasant stay thanks to excellent location right in the main historic square and restaurants with outdoor cinema and concerts.

    The location is excellent, the breakfast was varied, lovely historic building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Superb location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving by car is not easy - it is worth researching the route prior to travel as the Bologna roads are difficult to navigate if you are unsure.

    Staff very helpful, excellent breakfast, great location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Still in all a nice hotel centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cannot understand how close it is to the church until you're there. The hotel is located down the side of the duomo The balcony overlooks the church wall Nice for some I found it a bit much

    A pleasant old world hotel centrally located

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Elegant hotel, great position right next to the Duomo and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elegant hotel, great position right next to the Duomo and square. Classy and steeped in history. Great breakfast. Really the surprise and gem of our month long tour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise .... dog barking at 2am . Some business doing their glass bottle recycling at 3am ...

    Location is ideal for city centre walking. The 051 restaurant just up the same street was beautiful . Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.3
    The friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bar facilities were ok but on the one night we wished to use them they were being used for a tour group discussion which we were not part of. This discussion being held in the main body of the hotel disturbed the otherwise good ambience which we wished to share. A noisy event was held in Piazza Maggiore on 13/14 May which again meant that we had to leave that area to find the city atmosphere we came for. The overall area was noisy at night time.

    The friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast buffet, though some available alternatives (e.g. Fresh coffee and cooked eggs) were not publicised. Hotel location was great subject to the comments below

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous location in the heart of the city sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm at night, so hard to sleep undisturbed. We stayed in mid May and they don't switch on the air- conditioning until later (as some people need the heating on and they can't/don't run them together they say). The central location means leaving windows open makes it hard to sleep. Think this should be resolved for the comfort of guests. However all other comforts thought of.

    Fantastic location tucked down a quiet and shady side street just off the bustling main square. Beautiful wooden furniture. Fabulous balcony looking at the basilica and added bonus of watching Peregrine Fulcans and swifts flying overhead.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    Art Hotel Commercianti is perfectly situated for a short stay, next to the basilica and main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was nothing to do with the hotel, but it is worth knowing that the airport bus does not stop in the town centre. The destination of the bus is the railway station, which is a long walk away, especially in the heavy rain that dogged our stay.

    The breakfast bar was very good with a wide choice and the breakfast room and front desk staff friendly and helpful. Unusually, good loose leaf tea was available in the breakfast room but some staff had no understanding of the need for very hot water and a teapot to make tea! The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful short break in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very firm and I found this a bit uncomfortable.

    Excellent continental breakfast, lots of choice. Wonderful pastries. Hotel and room very clean. Towels and bed linen changed daily. Very good central location, not noisy in spite of being just off Piazza Maggorie. Many excellent restaurants in immediate area. Staff very professional and helpful. Would definitely use this hotel again and would very definitely return to Bologna.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.5
    Noice and too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, we heard every sound from The street and other rooms. The staff makes mistakes about The numer of rooms and enters it without asking. Wet pillow on The chair at The balkony.

    Excellent breakfest, Nice balkony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in the very heart of Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As someone who always gets to sleep on the sofa bed I always wish the mattress was in a slightly better condition

    It was my second time staying at Commercianti and I would definitely return. The hotel is well maintained, full of history and right in the heart of Bologna.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location in Bologna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dealing with driving in the area around the hotel--many of the streets are very narrow and one-way only. Even with GPS, the hotel was a challenge to reach via car. If you are driving, you will have to enter a few pedestrian zones--the hotel warns you about this in advance and it really is not a big problem if you drive extremely slowly in the pedestrian areas. We also had difficulty leaving the city via car, due to some temporary road construction that made the GPS instructions invalid. If you have a car, be sure to reserve a parking space and then parking will not be a problem.

    The location was great, right next to the Basilica and the large piazza in front of it. There is lots of activity in the area--good for people-watching, restaurants, shopping, night-life, and convenient to a tourist information office where you can book tours. Our room looked right out at the side of the Basilica--I almost felt like I could reach out and touch it! The room ceiling was beautifully painted. The room was a bit on the small side. We passed by a different room on our floor with the door open and it had a small balcony and was much brighter than our room--that's the room I would want next time! Bologna itself was a real treat--great food and a nice combination of "old-world feel" and "young person vibe". We took a great all-day Food and Wine tour of the area around nearby Modena. We saw DOP Parmigiana cheese being made, DOP balsamic vinegar production and the aging process of DOP prosciutto. We had a much better understanding of why these DOP products are expensive--there is so much craftsmanship involved! The tour finished with a lovely lunch at a countryside restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel - lovely building in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather noisy with windows open to due to local bar but not a major problem.

    Great location in the heart of Bologna. Very comfortable beds and well-equipped rooms. The building itself is full of history and character.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    5.4
    good location but dingy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not 4* quality more like 2.5/3*, terrible breakfast, terrible art for an 'art hotel'- dingy building, could have been modernised to make it feel lighter and cleaner

    Nice room in a good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Excellent city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard for my liking but hotel kindly provided a bed topper which much improved it.

    Superb location, could not be more central, but also quiet. Lovely old building with well maintained reception areas and bedrooms. Excellent breakfasts. Would definitely stay here again if returning to Bologna.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, a property full of historic charm
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My friend and I were in a room with two single beds, and the mattresses were a bit worn through. That is the only thing I can think of!

    Great location in the heart of the historic city center. Easily accessible through a short walk of 20 minutes from the train station. Wonderful historic property with lots of character. Great facilities. Amazing breakfast buffet - too much to choose from!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for a short stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was slightly too warm and the temperature control in the room didn't seem to work. Windows could be opened to let air in though, so not a major issue.

    Location couldn't be better - located just off the bustling Piazza Maggiore but down a quiet street at the side of the basilica. Walking distance to all the major attractions, bars and restaurants. Standard room was spacious and comfortable - better than it looked in the pictures! The included breakfast was very good and staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    Location is the best possible in Bologna just next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minor issue: Because of the central location the parking or accessing the property by car is very tricky. Make sure you obtain the indication about how to get their from the hotel (by email) before you take your car to the parking because it is inside a pedestrian area.

    Location is the best possible in Bologna just next to the Piazza Maggiore. Staff is really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    6.7
    Good but be aware of shortcomings ....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Junior suite a waste of money . Nothing like the photos . Hardly bigger than my friends normal double room , which was lovely . Even when I told them I was unhappy , they said the manager would contact me the next morning , but in fact never did . CAUTION We asked the hotel to order us a taxi for a restaurant , instead we got a Chauffeur driven car ( which we just thought was a taxi ) the same type of car , but were charged double !! A real shame because location amazing , breakfast amazing .

    Excellent breakfast , great location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    7.5
    The perfect position
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a late check out through the booking reservation; we received the confirmation email but when we asked at the reception in person, he said we have to pay for one extra night if we want to stay just few hours more

    The position is the top. Really in the center. And there s the garage too so you can arrive right in the center with your car

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Perfect central location in an ancient building with modern amenities
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was a bit high for Italy but for the central location and quality of the hotel it was probably worth it.

    Location and old world charm. The Spritz and appetizer at cocktail hour was a nice touch. Excellent sound isolation of the windows so that we slept through the loud street cleaning in the morning. Beautiful restoration of an ancient building.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    8.8
    Perfect postion
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was exactly as it was described, the mattress of the bed could have been better for me, did not stop our group sleeping very well

    Location and room size

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    The staff were very attentive and very helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The television channels in HD were playing up and not clear at all times.

    The staff were very attentive and very helpful. Overall very clean. Our stay at the hotel couldn't have been better. Well done!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    7.5
    Needs a little attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No milk cartons in room to make own drinks despite asking for it on 3 occasions. Tea etc not replenished. Very slippy and dangerous floor rug. Coffee was the worst I have tasted in Italy. Waitress needs more help at breakfast.

    Great location. Central but quiet. Interesting old building.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Wish to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    i didn't appreciate the continual presence of music in the common places, particularly a special christmas program in the breakfast room which was really tacky!! Room pleasant but a bit dark!

    I loved the hard mattress, the variety of the breakfast offers, the gentleness of the staff, the proximity of the historical center,

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    9.6
    Excellent stay at Art Hotel Commercianti
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress was a bit too hard / too firm. It would be easily remedied if the hotel fitted soft mattress covers over the mattresses'.

    Stylish room. Good quality fittings. Very pleasant staff. Perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Perfect stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Historical, beautiful, romantic hotel with lot of style for details in superb location opposite of San Petronio Cathedral, close to shopping and next door to a nice restaurant,very kind friendly staff, gourmand breakfast buffet, Italian bakeries, great coffee, lounge area with computer for quests use. I had good big bed in single room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable, clean and an excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The single room on Booking.com was described as having a double bed but unfortunately it was a single bed. Walls and doors are quite thin so it can be a bit noisy.

    Fantastic location, easy to get to and walk anywhere within the city centre. The hotel itself is beautifully renovated and clean. Good breakfast selection of fresh coffee, pastries, cold meats, cereals, fruits, the usual. A fantastic restaurant in the alley behind the hotel, and another one equally as good as you walk down the road to the Piazza Maggiore.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    10
    I came from the airport by rental car and it was impossible...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great

    I came from the airport by rental car and it was impossible to find a route to hotel nor a place to park nearby as it is a traffic free zone. I called the hotel and first I spoke to a gentleman who asked me first to try to come closer before he could navigate me and was not unfriendly but didn't help much. Then I called again totally lost and a younger gentlemen knew where I was and asked me to wait 10 minutes, he came to me and helped me navigate to the hotel and arranged a parking spot in their private garage which you normally need to pre-book. I was really impressed by his helpfullness and pleasant check-in, I love this young guy who delivered 5star+ hospitality. Additionally room was spotless clean, nice amenities in the room and wonderful breakfast which was really extensive and beautifully presented. Location is ideal to explore the city.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.3
    Bologna break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were poor, rock hard and the pillows were very flat. Not really what was expected for this standard of hotel. Didn't get offered any help when my daughter was ill. House keeping didn't seem to possess a mop and bucket.

    The staff were generally very helpful and polite. The breakfast selection was amazing, and the location was excellent .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Our stay was comfortable and we would recommend this hotel ......... lovely breakfast !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were ok but we would have felt more welcome if they reached out to us more by smiling, asking if we had a good trip .... or trying to talk for a minute. They seemed too busy. Otherwise good.

    Location cannot be more central, lovely breakfast, spacious and clean quiet room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Great stay in Bologna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a hot breakfast as an option.

    The staff were really helpful and polite. They could not do enough for you. The room was clean and well stocked with amenities. I loved the make your own tea selection at breakfast. It was in a great location and even though it was in the centre of town the room was quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    One of the most beautiful hotels we've stayed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having more holiday time to spend!

    Bed extremely comfortable. Room interior was exquisite - without being pretentious. Common rooms equally charming and comfortable. Breakfast one of the best ever! Fabulous sweet rolls, croissants, fruit, cereals, quiche and other savories etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Art Hotel Commercianti traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: