Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Conca Azzurra Wellness & Beauty Hotel 3 stars

Via C. Alberto 53, 21020 Ranco, Italy

#5 of 6 hotels in Ranco

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 386 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    All in all a success and I would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The A/C was weak with a small free standing unit servicing a large double room. Just not enough power to do the job. The breakfast room does not open until 7:30AM so if you wanted an early morning cup of coffee it was not possible. An electric tea kettle is in the room so you could make instant coffee, which was provided. The extraordinary breakfast laid out more than made up for this and it is served in a beautiful and comfortable lake view room.

    The room was large and faced Lago Maggiore with a remarkable view and a small balcony. Very pleasant, indeed. The breakfast was large and sumptuous. A beautiful spot and a lovely, large pool with a lake view. The food at the on property restaurant was excellent and there are many lakeside restaurants in the are with superb food choices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Just what we needed. Super relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a better bar/sitting area but I presume that this is not necessary during the suller Monti's when strandbad would be open.

    The facilities offerde to guests were well above average for a 3 star hotel. The view of the Lake from the hotel is one of the best. Staff were super friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Lake View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many events there;weddings Meetings and a wild kiddy birthday party Wonderful breakfast buffet never varied nor did dinner menu Perhaps a one wrk stay would have been better

    Wonderful. Helpful staff Wonderful Driver Great for a disabled person Lovely pool A few fine dinners Fewer. Americans Quiet part of the lake Liked the mix of visitors Loved Angera,the ease of ferry travel Two top restaurants in Ranco

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Staff very nice and devoted for customers. Very nice view on the lake
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing in particular as I was there for business no time use all the facilities.

    Staff very helpfull - good situation just at the lake border - very quiet I even get the diner 30 minutes after the open hours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.4
    The view is amazing, and staff were nice, but unfortunatelly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very very old, doors were squeaking, room is full of dust. Rooms aren't soundproof, can hear everything from outside. On our first night, room attendant didn't clean our room at all (they denied it). Moreover, my 1.5 year old daughter fell from the outside swing as it broke down. The most outrageous thing was that we asked for 4 boiled eggs every morning during breakfest, and in checkout we discovered that each egg cost 2.5 euro! They didn't bother tell us when ordering.

    The view is amazing, and staff were nice, but unfortunatelly that's it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Great place, we'd go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little dated but the price of the room more than compensates for that.

    A really quiet location with great food in a dining room overlooking the lake. The room was large with plenty of storage and had an amazing balcony large enough to be called a terrace. The rooms were very clean and the staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Unbeatable view from the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room needed a bit of renovation. Although I did put 'do not disturb' sign, the room was cleaned despite it (it was ignored for all three days). Breakfast is quite basic. It is a pity that spa center costs extra (in some other places usually the access is granted for the guests).

    The view is unbeatable. I really enjoyed being so close to the lake and seeing mountains. The water in the lake was pleasant thus if you happen to be here around summer time, do not miss this opportunity. Also it was very fresh and green around. I stayed in a room with bigger terrace and it was really nice to enjoy morning or night light from the terrace. The area is very well maintained (except some trash next to the lake that could be easily cleaned). The hotel is in a small quiet village with not much activities around (it can be a minus as it depends on what are you looking for).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice location peaceful area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant only offered ala carte menu so was expensive and very little elsewhere to eat. Staff appeared a bit unfriendly compared to other places we stayed

    Relaxing location, beautiful views of lake from Hotel and room. Nice swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Amazing views and beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a little bit worn but the garden and views are super!

    Amazing view to the lake and mountains from everywhere - from our room, the restaurant, the pool, the garden, the kids playground. Very very beautiful garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    We got a nice room with amazing view to the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is a bit far from the town. Very expensive dinner. We did not eat much but paid 62 euro! 8 euro of which we had to pay for coperto (tips), normally it is not more than 4 euro. We would not go there anymore.

    We got a nice room with amazing view to the lake. We had everything we needed in the room including kettle and mini fridge. I really liked this place. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.9
    The view on the lake from the restaurant and my room is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The female director was very rude to me, as she vented her frustrations about vegetarians/plant-based people, when the only thing I (very politely) asked for was soy milk for breakfast.

    The view on the lake from the restaurant and my room is surreal. The sauna with the view on the lake is priceless.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.3
    the quietness of the place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is not possible close to the windows, a pity as a view on the lake is superb...

    the quietness of the place! No noise at all at night, so peaceful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    8.8
    Great views
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location and view from our second floor room were excellent. As other guests have commented the place is a tad dated and the corridors and stairs a little dark. Staff were exceptionally friendly. The free use of bikes was an added bonus and the wellness suit was really good. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    5.8
    An ok stay with flaws in a great quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room with Terrace and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need an urgent overhaul straight out of the 80's There was hair in the drawers from previous guests. Spiderwebs in the room behind the curtains and sofa. Breakfast was ok but the bread was terrible. Cleaning behind furnitures is definitely an issue also in piblic area. The Internet was an issue didn't reach well into the rooms even with the receiver directly outside of the room. Good reception only sitzing in the hotel corridor und the modem.

    Location is great for quiet lake view vacation. Pool High quality food for Dinner. Great selection of at least 30 different type of Grappa.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    Magnificent view of Lago Maggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower is so tiny that a person my size (1.89m) can hardly turn around without hitting something. Besides, the drainage in the shower did not work properly.

    From the room we overlooked the Lago Maggiore and had an excellent view of the Alps. The hotel has terraces with deck chairs around a pool and in a filed with trees. One can choose to enjoy the sun or rest in the shade. The breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and helpful with giving local...
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was basic but adequate. The room was dusty in places - on the top of the wardrobe and top shelves. But small things when you have such a good location.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful with giving local information. The view from the room is wonderful and the price per night for what you get is very good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    great view from the balcony of my room and fine food in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great view from the balcony of my room and fine food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.5
    area and view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit old fashioned style but cosy

    area and view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Spectacular lake and mountain view.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible coffee in breakfast - in particular for an Italian coffee!

    Spectacular lake and mountain view. Very peaceful location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    very very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a large and comfortable room, with amazing view of lago Maggiore. Friendly staff and very good restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dated

    Very quiet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Terrace and Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, great food and a perfect place both for holiday with children or a romantic getaway.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    beautiful view on the lake, sunrise, sunset, the park...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    6.7
    The location is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old infrastructure

    The location is great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Great get away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we enjoyed everything about the hotel,food rooms and location looking forward to a return trip next year

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.9
    Nice location, good food, service is very good, big rooms .
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wall corners were not clean in our case.

    Nice location, good food, service is very good, big rooms ...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location with beautiful view at the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast of very little choice and not best quality. Coffee at the breakfast needs improvement!

    Perfect location with beautiful view at the lake. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    4.2
    view of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    bar man quite rude. breakfast was terrible. double bed not a double bed - fell down the middle of two singles each night. shower was broken. place was very dated.

    view of the lake. helpful receptionist

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    5.4
    Hotel room was big and comfortable, equipped with all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cleanliness of restaurant was not ok. I ate cookies and in end I saw that there was bugs inside bowl. Don't knew how much them I ate. One of two juices in breakfast was tainted.

    Hotel room was big and comfortable, equipped with all necessary. View to lake is good, also quite OK garden.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.1
    The position overlooking the lake.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi didn't reach my room. I had to sit outside on the balcony to get reception. Towels were pretty hard and rough. Bed squeaked quite a bit. The owner? was a strange character - occasionally helpful but often totally offhand. Not prepared to organise a tray for an early breakfast. I needed to leave at 6.50 and asked. All I got was "No breakfast".

    The position overlooking the lake.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.1
    Recommend to get a room with lake view otherwise you get a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was terrible. Not even fresh coffee as it was dispensed from a machine. We ended up going to the local supermarket to get breakfast. The dinner was not great either. Not much to do in Ranco and you definitely need a car to get around. Recommended nearby Angera a lively little town with lot's of restaurants.

    Recommend to get a room with lake view otherwise you get a room with a view of the carpark. The view of the lake is amazing.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    Excellent location by the lake, nice grounds, staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Had to do some work from the hotel, phone and internet dropped off from time to time.

    Excellent location by the lake, nice grounds, staff very friendly and helpfull and a well ran family hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.5
    The location and it's stunning views make this hotel a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor of the rooms are stuck in the 80s and could do with an update. A modern design would put this up with the best hotels.

    The location and it's stunning views make this hotel a lovely place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    7.1
    Hotel is in lovely position, nice view of lake, quiet place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant was very poor. Lots for breakfast, but mostly processed. Tasteless eggs and greasy bacon undercooked and swimming in fatty water. Waiter seemed to be always in a very bad mood. First night the fish was meant to be grilled, seems to be fried, was coated in oil, not seasoning whatsoever, oily and tasteless. When asked, I told them this and they said lake fish are tasteless! That's why you season them when you cook them, and don't grill them in a pan full of oil! Next night decided to go vegetarian, pasta with asparagus, would have bet they were tinned. Again when asked I told them it wasn't good and the asparagus were tinned. They were defensive and stated that they were boiled, not tinned, so must have been boiled for half an hour. If you like greatly over-cooked asparagus that taste as bad as mushy peas, then you will enjoy it. The manager asked me how my stay was. I told her the spa was great, nice position on the lake but I wouldn't eat in the restaurant again because the food was really poor - again she argued, made out there was something wrong with me and insisted that's how italians like to eat. I wonder why she bothered asking. I lived in Italy for 10 years, and never experienced Italians eating mushy asparagus and unseasoned greasy fish.

    Hotel is in lovely position, nice view of lake, quiet place, nice gardens on lake. Spa has really good facilities. Staff on the whole pleasant. Great massage

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.3
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was way too soft and mattresses kept moving away from each other.

    Location was great. One day we had bad weather but the wellness part easily kept us busy and relaxed over the day.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    9.2
    Having a lake-view terrace room on the top floor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was slippery, so we bought a shower mat which has served us well at several subsequent hotels this trip.multigenerational

    Having a lake-view terrace room on the top floor! Having a window-adjacent table at dinner!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    6.3
    Hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No place to sit outside except for at swimmingpool (laybeds) Breakfast served inside (nice weather outside) and we were not allowed to sit at the window Staff was not trained or willing to help.

    Hotel location Rooms View

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    5.4
    Great location next to the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard beds Waiter who wanted to go home, wasn't interested in being in the restaurant Smell in the bathroom

    Great location next to the lake Good parking Quiet

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    7.9
    The breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dinner choices were few and pricy

    The breakfast was great! Comfy bed. Great people

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Amazing view to the lake from my room, very comfortable room...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing view to the lake from my room, very comfortable room and very quiet location. Ideal for relaxing and enjoying nature!

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.6
    Stunning views on Lake Maggiore, quiet location and friendly...
    • Couple

    Bed was noisy

    Stunning views on Lake Maggiore, quiet location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.1
    The view was spectacular and the staff friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa facilities had restricted hours of operation

    The view was spectacular and the staff friendly and acommodating

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    The location, the beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was a bit worn and torn, not modern, but the balcony and the view compensated this.

    The location, the beautiful view.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: