Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Continental 4 stars

Via Pagana 8, 16038 Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy

#9 of 22 hotels in Santa Margherita Ligure

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1191 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Location was excellent, comfort poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely hard. Woke in a lot of pain. Overhead shower water Luke warm. Bath water Luke warm, good get hot shower using bath shower head.

    Location, beautiful setting for breakfast overlooking the bay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Go and stay there! Treat yourself!
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Its by the sea with a garden running down to the water. The sea is clean and clear, the blue towels are piled up for when you get out. swimming excellent. Decor and furniture gorgeous, handsome sofas, fine mirrors and paintings. Its gracious, stylish and gorgeous. Our dog was made welcome, and night walks with the dog in the garden with moonlight on the sea and the silhouette of palms terrific. One of the loveliest hotels I know. All Staff are very good indeed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely trip... the view alone makes it a must stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    About a 5 min walk uphill from the local train station. :P Room was slightly smaller/ older than anticipated for the price...

    Beautiful Italian hotel on a picturesque hill overlooking Santa Marguerita Ligure. Private pool/ beach/ bar area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.9
    The view is beautiful, the location is great, the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were too small for the price you pay.

    The view is beautiful, the location is great, the staff were lovely and always accommodating. The breakfast is delicious especially the views. They had the best cream filled croissants I've ever tasted.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No clear information about the cost of for the parking in the internet or reservation format.

    The location is amazing and the scenery from the breakfast venue is awesome. Hotel is clean and staffs are efficient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    3.0
    water was disgusting to swim in at the beach, nappies, drum can, tree trunk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No pool, no waterside drink service, staff were rude. I was told to put something over my swimsuit to eat at the beach cafe? they charge you for beach beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Everything a stay in the part of Italy should be - we are already planning our visit next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, but as a guest was slightly surprised to be charged for a sun lounger. I’d rather pay a little more for the room and not have loads of extra’s but its a personal thing.

    A family run hotel with character and charm. We booked garden rooms with partial sea view (through the trees), the view was perfect, better than expected. Room not huge but absolutely fine and spotlessly clean, small balcony great. Walking through the gardens for lunch above the rocks fantastic. Staff always attentive and if you asked for a specific table / view it was never too much trouble. Relaxing and swimming off the rocks just perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Stunning sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor slightly dated and needs updating. Reception staff not very forthcoming or informative about facilities. We had to keep asking.

    Stunning sea view. Beautifully tended gardens and grounds. Excellent breakfast. Great gym.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They will charge you for using their Beach area. 20 Euros per person. The hotel is already expensive, it’s just not so practical to charge your guests for the amenities that should be free of charge.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Classic Italian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Single rooms are very basic. Older rooms and communal areas could do with updating. They could make much more of a feature of the beautiful gardens, if served sundowners outside.

    Wonderful view, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    I really loved this hotel, the gym and relax area was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I really loved this hotel, the gym and relax area was very calm, clean and quiet and we loved the sunbed-area a lot. Perfect and very convenient that the hotel had their own cliff with sunbeds and lunch restaurant nearby. The taxi our bus took only 10 min to Portofino port and 5 min walking down to the center of Santa Margherita. The breakfast was very good! A lot of fresh fruit, scrambled eggs, juice and everything else a breakfast should include. They also hade gluten free alternatives, bread and cookies. The service was very good and the stuff was very polite and happy! Always a big+

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    A great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room, a single room, was very small. Considering the cost of the hotel + parking + sunbeds, the overall value for money was so so.

    Great place, great location and a beautiful garden. Breakfast facing the bay and Santa Margherita was awesome. Staff at the reception was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Our 4th visit, and a good location to visit the Ligurian coast.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not great. Pets are not allowed in the restaurant.

    Good location. Great views (depending on your room). Secure parking. Pet friendly. Our room had been recently modernised in a good way. (its our 4th visit to the hotel).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    We loved the place and would have no hesitation in recommending the Hotel to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The menu both dinner and breakfast seemed tailored to the traditional American - pancakes, waffles, bugers etc I think staying true to Italian cuisine and continental breakfast a la Europe would have been better Saying that we had a wonderful seafood lunch elsewhere and I had the minestrone pesto for dinner and it was excellent. Choice though was very linited.

    A wonderful stay. Perfect location, lovely swimming area, exquisite verandah dining area, We only spent 1 day but staff could not have been more helpful. Loved our little balcony looking towards Portofino where we drank a glass of wine late at night enjoying the ambience, Before arriving we wrote and asked about how to go to Portofino eg drive or ? Received a detailed set of options including take the ferry trip. Which we did. The staff in our case Stephano went the extra mile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Waking up to that view is worth every penny.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room in the newer part of the hotel was not clearly advertised online... the bed was actually two smaller beds conjoined which was a bit uncomfortable.

    The beach is amazing and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location for a relaxing break with beautiful scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, couldn’t fault it.

    The view from our sea facing room was stunning. Staff are very attentive and friendly. Easy to walk into the town and very good proximity to the railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location, views & breakfast. Service could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. When checking out the evening prior to our early morning departure, they had charged us for using sun beds on the beach but we had not even been down there other than to take a photo. After much discussion they removed the charge, however when we handed the key in the following morning we were once again told we had used the sunbeds and needed to pay the charge. Once again we told them that we hadn't used them or the beach. When we asked for the dates of when we were supposed to have used the sunbeds, they were on 2 consecutive days and when we asked how the charges were applied, we were told that you simply gave the lifeguards your room number! No name required to confirm the room - surely a flawed system, especially when you walk into reception and you can see all the room keys lined up!!! Not impressed with the service but location and views were very good.

    Location and views were great as was the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.4
    Ok 2 nights, before changing room to a better one in the main hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first 2 nights were in an annexe building which we didn't know when we booked. Very dated and bathroom not good

    Location and views and Breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The €16 charge for the beach and sunbed but this seems to be par for the course for this area.

    A very nice hotel. The outlook over the gardens and sea is really lovely. The gardens are so well kept and are beautiful. The location is spot on as it’s only around an eight minute walk to town and around six minutes to the train station. Rooms are well equipped and bathrooms have rain showers. Breakfast is plentiful and all the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Santa Margherita itself is beautiful and the ferry station makes it easy to get around to other places such as Portofino.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel to relax and enjoy the scenery and environment to chill out in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More choice of breakfast foods, more variety for people staying more than 2 nights. The quality of foods could be improved.

    Fantastic location and lovely grounds. Near to station for rail travellers. Friendly and efficient breakfast staff. Room facilities good. Gluten free foods are available. Did not have the opportunity to try out the restaurant or beach café (the latter available from April to September). Range of hotel facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    From beginning to end......very, very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Staff...most helpful and professional, The Food......very good and well presented, The Gardens.....tightened up with great beauty and care, The Location.....a perfect walk to town and an excellent view of the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Needs a little updating, wait staff was fun in the mornings,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old needs a refresh for the price!

    Needs a little updating, wait staff was fun in the mornings, remembered us and brought us coffee right away! Location is excellent!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    A little bit of luxury for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough shelf space in small bedroom, and nowhere to put suitcases.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The gardens are beautiful and the views quite spectacular. The swimming area is well designed and entry to the sea is easy, despite being from rocky coves

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    We had a lovely three day stay, the food was excellent and staff of the highest quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought charging for the car parking and beach beds (for just the latter part of the afternoon) given the hotel can command premium prices was unwarranted

    It’s a really brilliant location to use as a base to see that part of Italy, beautiful beaches, historic sites and lovely small towns

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Incredible breakfast! Prosecco included! Great location and breathtaking view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location! Santa Margherita is a besutiful town and you can move around it, their is night life until 11pm so you can have late dinner and enjoy with friends! Just 20 minutes away in boat from Potofino! And there are buses as well to get to portofino!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not receive a cordial welcome at front desk....too busy to give us the time of day. No instruction about how to get to room. No demonstration of how anything worked in room Breakfast was subpar for a 4 star hotel

    Excellent bartender. Very attentive Great air conditioning. Quiet room, even though we faced the busy street Beautiful grounds Great views from terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    A good hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was a 10 minute easy walk into town but that turned into quite an uphill trek on the way back with no sign of any taxis available.

    A great place to stay for a special occasion. Quite expensive but the hotel has a knockout view down to the harbour and all the activities there. Breakfast area, quality and staff very good. Room was average size but with everything you would want.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    A perfect place to stay in Santa Margherita Ligure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Overall, the front desk staff was not very engaging or friendly, but that's not a big deal. Once engaged, they were fine. The hotel is located on a hill (hence the great views), so the walk back from town might be a bit strenuous for older folks. Ask for soft pillows when you arrive, because the pillows provided in the room can't be slept on.

    The location is excellent, with outstanding views of the harbor and town. Grounds are well-cared for and attractive. Room was comfortable, and well worth the extra money spent to get a balcony and sea view. Breakfast terrace was very nice, and overall the breakfast was good with a wide array of offerings. We stayed for five nights, and it was a perfect base to explore the Riviera Levante and Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in the best location in Santa Margherita.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow a bit hard, but I find that is normal for Italy these days. No decent bread (also normal for N Italy) Dinner was poor and expensive for what it provided - but it was compensated by their wonderful outdoor terrace. The ice cream was pretty inedible supermarket standard - there is the fantastic Gelateria Centrale in the town that could supply the hotel. I would eat out - I think most guests had come to the same decision because there were very few diners.

    Excellent location overlooking the bay and a short walk to the centre. Good beds and bedlinens. Very quiet at night. Lovely well kept gardens. Wonderful breakfast terrace with what must be one of the best views in the whole Mediterranean. Good choice at breakfast (but pancakes and waffles need to be freshly made and warm - not sitting in a cold pile on the buffet)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    The views from the hotel was the main reason we returned for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee could have been hotter Staff seem abrupt at first but become very friendly as you get to know them No swimming pool

    The views from the hotel was the main reason we returned for a second visit. Hotel is very comfortable and nicely located in a small town Upgraded room was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a fine resort - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Charges for sun loungers and towels seems a little excessive given the room rates!

    Great public spaces, lovely gardens, friendly staff, great breakfast and evening meals! Rooms are good with comfortable beds although those on the top terrace are smaller than the garden view rooms on the ground level.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    It was ok. Second time I stayed there so I knew what to expect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception seemed to be overwhelmed all the time and they don’t really focus on you as a guest. They just try to complete the request, but the human side is lost.

    I liked the location, the accessibility to the ocean and the room space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, location, location! Views over the bay, private beach and minutes into the center with the restaurants and shops. Staff impeccable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing breakfast, super comfy bed, staff was really nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! Note for next time: stay longer to enjoy the sunbeds...

    Amazing breakfast, super comfy bed, staff was really nice and it was also very convenient to have a valet parking. The location is ideal if you want to discover Portofino and the coast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Stayed here with my husband and 12-year-old, it was our first stop in Italy and could not have been more perfect! Amazing staff and fantastic location, easy walk to train station, ferries and town center. Our room had the most incredible view of the sea! And the breakfast was excellent, very good selection with dining inside or outside, with that same breathtaking view. We would definitely return, and I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Stunning location, convenient to town and station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A pool would be lovely, but the seaside bathing area is a good second. Could do with some modernisation...but not too much or it would lose some charm

    Stunning location, convenient to town and station. Excellent helpful and friendly staff. Echoes of a by-gone era, elegant class and style without pretentiousness. Nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    The location is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent! It's located at the top of a hill and just a 5 min walk to the center and bus stop. The view is just stunning and service was great. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can’t think of a thing.

    This is a beautiful hotel. We loved the view of the gardens & the sea from our window & the balcony off our room. The breakfast was great with lots of options. We enjoyed having breakfast outside & having afternoon drinks on the terrace, both overlooking the sea. The center of town is only a 5 minute walk down the hill. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rain shower head didn’t work so had to use hand held shower. Noisy air conditioner/heater - there was some buzzing noise at night not allowing me to sleep - and I don’t usually struggle to fall asleep! Street facing room was not sound proof at all. Bring earplugs if you want to have a decent sleep. I’ve stayed there before a couple years ago in another room slightly further from the street and I haven’t had any problems - so maybe I was just unlucky this time. I also felt that the quality of breakfast food decreased. Good variety but the baked goods were not as delicious as at other hotels... and I remember I really enjoyed breakfast there the previous time... overall I’m slightly disappointed but the views and the gardens are so amazing that I may give it one more chance and may still stay here again in the future.

    Location location location!!! Really beautiful gardens and the views!!! Oh, and it is convenient location to get to the train station too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in lovely setting overlooking bay and located close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a major problem (unless you have walking difficulties) is that the last leg of the walk from town to the hotel is up a fairly steep hill. Not too far and worth it for the exercise and those lovely views overlooking the bay.

    Very nice setting on a hillside overlooking well tended gardens and the lovely bay of Santa Margherita and only within a few minutes walk of the main town and train station which is only a short distance away. Nice room with spacious balcony area and very good, attentive staff. Good breakfasts in restaurant area overlooking bay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    This hotel from staff to property amenities were fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the beds in Italy have been harder than I would prefer, these were not better or worse than any other location.

    The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The view is spectacular. Lovely walking into St Margarita.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and relaxing but not somewhere I would go back to due to the road and prices in the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cost of drinks at the bar and the evening meal were outrageously expensive. Whilst I appreciate drinks are generally a little more expensive in hotels the prices were unacceptable.

    The breakfast was amazing and the staff very pleasant and attentive. With beautiful views across the bay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Our "go-to" Ligurian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like everything about this hotel. If forced to list a negative, it would be the walk back from the port on a narrow sidewalk.

    This is an excellent Hotel, with a great position, close to the train station and the report. This provides excellent access to the entire Ligurian Coast. They have valet parking, end an excellent breakfast. Making it ideal for those who are driving and visiting the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    First rate views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic views from our room - we had one of the attic rooms with a balcony. Very relaxing to sit and look out on the sea. The room was typically small as you would expect in Europe, but the balcony gave it a much bigger feel. The location in town was great - maybe 5 minutes to the center of town. Swimming was nice, and we might have stayed out on the waterfront plaza longer if we weren't going to be charged for the lounge chairs. If you go to Santa Margherita and want the views without paying Imperial Hotel prices, this is the place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel experience all around!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upscale hotel with quality accommodations, excellent breakfast with fresh fruit and excellent service. The staff was very helpful and friendly and made our stay enjoyable. The views and gardens were spectacular.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    The views from this property were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from this property were amazing! Breakfast on the restaurant patio every morning was a wonderful way to start your day. We loved our stay at this hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay and have a relaxing few days or more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only quibble and a small one is that double beds are two beds put together rather than one unit. Still comfortable. In mid to end of October when visiting, the beach bar facilities are closed.

    Reception staff friendly, efficient. Staff at breakfast were lovely - attentive in a relaxed way. Breakfast setting excellent. Gluten free options included warmed roll, cereal, crackers, cake in addition to good range of options. Great location near to station, S. Margherita, Ligurian towns and countryside. Hotel grounds expansive and beautifully maintained. Private access to rocky coves. Room spacious well appointed, and designed. Very relaxing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic views with a private beach and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found the bed and pillows slightly uncomfortable. Otherwise, great hotel and will gladly stay again!

    The garden and facilities were fantastic! Plenty of park benches to sit and enjoy the view of the ocean. Also, the private beach was great with a lot of deck chairs to lounge about. The staff was friendly and attentive. Good location, close to the train station and only a short walk into town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Even though I had a simple single room it was lovely, double...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was closeby and although the actual lift was quiet the doors made a loud squeaky noise right next to my bed. luckily it was not used that much at night, so I slept well. I also appreciated I had a budget room. Probably quickly fixable, the hotel said they would definitely look into it.

    Even though I had a simple single room it was lovely, double glazing meant no traffic noise from the front. Nice bathroom, super soaps and shampoo.. Fantastic views from the garden, and all the staff were really nice and helpful, the best atmosphere. Breakfast was great, scrambled egg wins my yearly award!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic 2nd visit. Love the amazing view from this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    Everything! Amazing position of hotel overlooking Santa Margherita Ligure. Great staff. Fab breakfasts, including bubbly, on the terrace. Our 2nd stay at this hotel. Complimentary bottle of bubbly on arrival for our anniversary.Thoroughly enjoyable visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    We did enjoy our 4 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't like the one dinner we tried although breakfasts were good. Parts of the hotel were in need of refurbishment

    The room and bathroom were both excellent with a beautiful sea view. Staff were generally very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Too short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walk back from town is up hill and tough after a day out..but it is do-able. It's 20 euros at night to go less than 2km to the hotel from the marina/shopping/restaurants. I think adding a shuttle of some kind would be a nice plus for the hotel.

    The hotel feels like Old Hollywood. Everyone was extremely helpful getting taxis, etc. The breakfast was bread, yogurt, fruit...good selection. The room wasn't fancy but clean and what I expected in Italy. The spa was great. The view and the property- lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Expensive for what it is, besides the extras.... never book the single room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single room looks like a staff room, don't book. They have not found a good solution for the shame, simply offered us to change room on the next day paying much more. They charge for the chairs at the beach, even if you're staying at the hotel.

    The beach, the view, and the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    Amazing building and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for the type of hotel, breakfast could be improved, mean to charge paying guests for the use of beach facilities considering the already high price of the room

    Amazing building and great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Best romantic place to stay in Santa Margherita
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are not confortable enough Lounge areas should be remodeled they have gorgeous views but they feel old fashioned

    The best view in SM Incredible garden and sea pool ever!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely view of santa margeritha
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking fee is 15 euro, towels are not clean, wifi is terrible and terrible and terrible

    Location, view, breakfast, comfy of sleeping, good quality of shower gel and shampoo,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    8.3
    Location was great, perfect garden and sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst WIFI connection ever. We tried everything but if you really have to do anything on the internet you would not succeed :(

    Location was great, perfect garden and sea view. Really good place for vacation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    Great location to explore the area by car train and boat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality and size of the rooms are not value for money. Breakfast included but Euro 11 for an egg at breakfast.....really!! Rather reminded me of the view people had of hotels in the 60's they had rules like you cannot put your own things (including water!!) it the room fridge. This hotel could be wonderful but they need to drag themselves into the 21st century, pension off the old retainers and get in some modern professional hotel staff. It seems they rely on the location to sell.

    Great location to explore the area by car train and boat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perhaps the price of the sunbeds could be reduced or maybe offer half price for half day use.

    This hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the hotel itself is a cut above the rest in beautiful well-maintained pretty grounds with private area next to the sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Not good value for money. If the beach lingers had been included the price would have been fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was astonished they charge for the sun loungers. This is not clear in the booking information and staying on the private beach was one of the attractions of this hotel. This could have ruined our stay and would stop me returning to this hotel as beyond the view the hotel had little to offer. The breakfast was poor for the standard of hotel with paper napkins. I was happy to pay the advertised price for this sort of hotel but then to have to pay more for the facilities that are the main attraction of the hotel is the straw that broke the camels back. It should be clearer that you have to pay for the beach loungers and the price should be stated. Then we would not have booked. The sun loungers on the beach are half the price and what is the difference other than having a captive market. Maddening. They didn't even ask me how my stay was when I left.

    The view and balcony

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our room, however that was not exactly the room we booked via booking.com. Lack of transparency is bit annoying...

    Excellent location! Very stylish hotel. We had a room with a seaview and it was priceless! Absolutely fantastic and very helpful staff. The hotel is 5 minutes to Santa Margherita and has its own lovely breach. Would definitely come again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Hotel, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day beds cost 20 euro each for the day in the private beach area only for hotel guest, would have loved it more and spent more time down there if it was a bit cheaper or included in the price of the room. The bed and pillows were very hard.

    Facilities were fantastic, the private beach was beautiful and quiet, the views from the bar and restaurant. It was close enough to the train station to be able to walk and you couldn't hear the trains once there. Staff were friendly and helpful. I throughly enjoyed this hotel. Short walk down to the harbor where you can get the boat, shop or visit some of the lovely restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous and elegant hotel - will definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn´t like the fact that hotel guests would have to pay extra for the sunbeds - I think with such high class hotels it should be free of charge for the guests. Otherwise - everything else was perfect, so nothing else to bring out.

    Excellent hotel! Returned for the second time and it was even better than first time! The property is elegant, well maintained, the breakfast is fabulous (served even champagne for mimosas) and the service is very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel,highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the reception is not very service minded.

    The hotel, the view and the surroundings are amazing! The private beach is beautiful and I really recommend staying at Hotel Continental!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.4
    When we came to the hotel they give us the key and tell us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came to the hotel they give us the key and tell us go go it's on the 1st floor with no small presentation of the hotel. Bad connection of wifi, poor selection of breakfast, room are extremely small for the price!!only the view and the gym are worth it!!! Witch hotel does not have an iron in the room!!!!! You have to pay for laundry to have your clothes iron.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Elegant hotel with amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small though it had all the amenities.

    Elegant hotel with amazing views. Car enough out of town to be quiet yet stil within walking distance. One of the most beautiful settings I have ever seen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.3
    A nice view and garden but that's it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The hotel is dated (or should that be out of date?), the furniture and decor is worn and in need of updating - You have to pay 20 euro for a beach lounge (when we paid $520 aud for the room) and there were no other free options bar laying on the stones - We had to pay 4 euro for an ice bucket to be delivered to our room - Breakfast was really ordinary, if we wanted cooked eggs etc you have to pay extra - Bedroom was bland and dated (though it was large) - No iron option, need to pay for maid services if you need ironing

    - Externally the hotel looks charming - The gardens and view were lovely - Location is good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Spectacular views and great location with direct access to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was in the modern annexe rather than the main old building. Although it was perfectly nice, it wasn't exactly what we'd visualised from the photos. However it still had a generous balcony and a sea view, so not a drawback really!

    The hotel is well-positioned on a hill, just a few minutes walk from the train station, overlooking the sea and with gorgeous views all around. A short stroll through the immaculate gardens takes you to the hotel's private sea-bathing area. The swimming area was lovely and well-catered with comfy sunbeds (however there is an 18 euro fee for these; not free for hotel guests as we'd expected). There is a nice little restaurant overlooking this area which served fabulous food and was extremely pleasant for lunch. Well-kept gardens brimming with flowers, and the most spectacular views! The breakfast was wonderful, a great selection of fresh fruits, yogurt, eggs, cold meat and cheeses, and prosecco! And amazing coffee. Eating it out on the sunny patio with the beautiful view was just heavenly. Breakfast serving staff were particularly friendly and charming. Our room was very comfortable, spacious and furnished with beautiful antiques....far removed from a bland 'hotel room' look.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    PERFECT LOCATION but wifi SUCKS lol
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi SUCKS in this hotel...you've been warned! I was not able to watch basic videos on you tube and nothing on Netflix. I'm not sure if it was the room I was in. But the wifi should work everywhere and it didn't. I saw a ton of guests sitting in the lobby trying to get better connections for their devices. That was annoying because at the end of a long day, you want to watch a movie on your ipad or something and you couldn't even do that. !!

    LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! Right across the street from the ridiculously overpriced Imperiale Hotel..lol. Our private beach area was nicer, too. Great breakfast. Nice staff. The train station is literally just a few feet from the hotel. And you walk a few feet down a hill to get to the center of Santa Margherita Ligure. SML was amazing! Such a great town..so beautiful and so much going on. Perfect location and price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Easy to get to from the train station and close walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work from room and could only be used from the ground floor lobby and restaurant area.

    Easy to get to from the train station and close walk to beaches. Great facilities and clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location for exploring the gorgeous Santa Margherita
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Panoramic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty basic and quite dated.

    The best feature is the location and the simply stunning views and gardens. We stayed in a panoramic room with a lovely little balcony overlooking it all. Also you sit looking out over the bay while you eat your breakfast. I could have sat there all day! The hotel is very clean and the staff were friendly, helpful and all spoke excellent English

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Wonderul Romantic Holiday at the Continental
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We just recently stayed at the beautiful Hotel Continental! We had a beautiful jr suite with stunning views and large terrace overlooking the beautiful bay of Santa Margherita. All the sea facing room have the spectacular view and balcony. The hotel is of classic beauty and family run and extremely well maintained. Their garden and grounds are stunning and pristine. It is so beautiful at the hotel it's difficult to leave and visit the surrounding area. The hotel location is also great, a lovely walk down to the beautiful town. There is also a beautiful fitness centre with the running machines overlooking the sea. The hotel restaurant has a huge outdoor terrace with the most amazing views and food. So relaxing to sit at dinner with this fantastic view. The food is also outstanding; the best I have had in a very long time on vacation that I ate there every night! I also love to cook Italian food and happily I am told that I wonderful cook, so it was extra special for me to have such amazing meals every night that I did not have to make. My husband said he never saw me happier with the food. Every night there is a new menu with beautiful pastas, veal, beef, and fish. Everything fresh and homemade. The wine menu is also super with lots of nice whites from the Liguria area and my fav beautiful reds from Piedmonte, etc. The breakfast buffet is also wonderful; a full buffet with eggs, delicious bacon, lot of cheese, fruits, sweets and also Prosecco every day with fresh juices. The swimming area and beach restaurant are also just beautiful and offer wonderful views. The hotel and restaurant staff are just fantastic; always helpful and friendly. A special thanks to Mr. Moreno, Lulu, Guido, Daniel and beach restaurant staff for a great time! We will be going back to this beautiful hotel for sure. One of my most favourite trips! Mille Grazie Hotel Continental!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.6
    Lokation and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Much to expencive compared to room standard, breakfast and others. You must pay extra for omelets if so wished. You must pay for sunbeds on the beach (hotels own sunbeds). Price for 3 nights 1050 eur. Room 89 you shall never accept. Small, worn, shower fixed) for midgets. Last stay on this hotel.

    Lokation and view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The views from the terraces and restaurant were amazing. There was a train strike when leaving and the staff were very helpful in providing further information on cancellations/timings.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Spectacular Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed in single rooms were very small ( but the helpful staff allowed us to change rooms)

    Spectacular views as you relax, have a drink or dine at this hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Continental traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: