Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Corallo 4 stars

Via Madonna Delle Grazie 9, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#62 of 73 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 263 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.7
    surounding is nice and the pool area beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room is pretty small, also bathroom and shower... for just a couple it is ok, but with a little baby and the babybed it was very tight... also there was no water boiler in the room... breakfast was ok but not as good as other breakfasts and there was no babychair in the breakfastroom... all in all its a little to expensive for what you get

    surounding is nice and the pool area beautiful! also the view out of the hotel room and balcony over the ocean is great! you can leave your window open and listen the waves during night, that was awesome!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    lovely area. Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No restaurant. Only 24 hour snacks. Not allowed to bring food to your room although not much choice of food available on site.

    Swimming pool was great. Near to beach. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    5.8
    Good staff but bad facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay in Taormina was accented by some very torrential rainfall and poor weather for the duration of our stay. This is obviously not the hotels fault but it did not help that the hotel is a 40 minute walk away from Taormina centre and 20 minutes from Giardini Naxos and there are no supermarkets or restaurants closer than that. The food in the hotel was very poor. Due to the bad weather we stayed in the hotel both nights of our stay intending to use the restaurant both nights. However, the restaurant was closed for no apparent reason and due to the hotels strict policy against food being taken into the rooms we were faced with the options of walking 20 minutes in the rain to the closest restaurant or going hungry. One of the nights the weather was so bad that we had no choice but to suffer the latter. We did, however, order room service on our first night to avoid going out but the food was so poor that we had to return it and face the torrential rain to go out for food. (We ordered a salad and were given a bowl of iceberg lettuce and some bread; I've attached a picture for reference). The staff were helpful and tried to resolve this but the menu was very small and for people who don't eat meat or dairy we were very limited. The included breakfast did have a few options but nothing if you don't eat meat or dairy, we did ask for some dairy free milk but they had no options other than cow's milk and due to the policies of the hotel we were reluctant to purchase our own and use that. The hotel would be lovely in good weather if you don't mind walking or getting a bus to the closest attractions.

    The staff are all very friendly and try to help as much as they can. The hotels location is 5 minutes from the train station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    4.2
    Poor hotel - seems owner can not be bothered to fix issues guests seem to raise.. stay elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds & pillows uncomfortable Location really poor for going out in Taormina Breakfast really bad Shower is tiny - I’m 6ft and I could barely fit in the thing Dinner was patchy, sometimes they did it, sometimes they didn’t, not that I would trust the food there in fairness

    Staff were good and efficient - helped us out with check in for our flight & boarding passes Pool and general pool area was nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing holiday location great and easy access to all major sight seeing attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows really aweful in particular the pillows!!! Showers were tiny!! Bearly able to fit one reg size person!!

    Staff really helpful and friendly, one exception dining staff needs serious attitude adjustment Hotel really lovely location great, very clean!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    I would reccomend this Hotel if you want to visit Taormina but not stay right in the busy town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would be nice to offer tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    View from my room 407 across Naxos bay. Pool area. Cleanliness. Transport around the area good as bus stop right outside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    I did have a good time here, although I don’t think it was value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had looked at the map and had thought it was much closer to Toarmina - in walking distance. It was not at all. You have to catch the bus which is only €1.90 and takes 15 minutes. The breakfast was very average. The pool was ok but average, nothing special especially for a 4 star hotel.

    The staff were very nice and friendly. They gave me complimentary water each day and I didn’t have to pay for the water taken from my mini bar. The view from the breakfast room was nice, as was the view from my room. The WiFi was strong in the bedrooms, although not by the pool but that didn’t matter to me.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    We had a fourth floor room with a large terrace and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. There was a sliding door to the bathroom that was right next to the bed, so no privacy. The breakfast was ok, but the coffee is served in thermos jugs that are just left on the table. We asked for cappuccinos both mornings, and both times it took 20-25 minutes because the chap had to take the lift to the ground floor to make them. An Italian kitchen with no coffee?? I would say this is a good two-star hotel. It is certainly not four stars, as it claims. It was also expensive for what it offers, but that’s Taormina I guess.

    We had a fourth floor room with a large terrace and wonderful views over the bay. There is a nice little beach across the road. There is also a good, regular bus service that takes you up to Taormina town. It takes 15 minutes and the round trip costs three euros. It is a spectacular ride! The buses stop right outside the hotel. The hotel staff were lovely and very helpful with local information.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Hotel Corallo is well located for those willing to travel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The shower is WAY too small!! I could barely fit in there and I would recommend them to change this asap.

    Hotel Corallo is well located for those willing to travel around the eastern coast of Sicily. Place is quiet, with very friendly staff and in close proximity to Taormina, Giardini, Recanati and the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. Although the card was accepted at the hotel, the city tax was possibly to pay by cash only, and we spent quite some time to find an ATM in town and then return again.

    Friendly and helpful personnel. Great location. Nice and clean room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was lovely being 2 mins from the beach but the nearest restaurant or bar is 15 mins away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s a no outside food or drink in the rooms rule which is pretty silly especially as there is a fridge but no tea/ coffee facilities in the room. The hotel cannot expect you to pay for overpriced water or drinks ! As the nearest shops/ restaurants / bars are 15 mins walk away along unpaved roads it was a bit of a song and dance to go out. Taormina is actually a 15 mins bus or (expensive) taxi ride away so hotel not hugely well situated for food or entertainment.

    The views from the hotel are amazing. The staff were all super friendly. The rooms a good size and we had a lovely large balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    I like everything and especially the bus stop it’s not far...
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that you have to buy everything from the bar and you can’t from outside

    I like everything and especially the bus stop it’s not far from the hotel and the staff was really helpfully

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    As a family we had a great week staying in this small and friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location meant getting a bus each time to Taormina but it wasn't a big issue as the buses run regularly.

    The hotel was very clean and the staff were really friendly. Excellent pool and a two minute walk to the beach. Great views out to sea from the rooms and the pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.6
    The Sicily visit was great, but the hotel accommodations made this trip a real chore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very, very, very hot. The AC failed to work even though we complained and ask for assistance each day. My family and I were very tired and sleepy as we did not sleep each night. Given that the hotel charged my credit card on the first night without possibility of a refund, I would have soughtother alternatives in another location. As we checked out, after four nights, there was another guest at the desk also complaining of the extremely hot and uncomfortable rooms without AC. I want a refund and will call the hotel on Monday to speak with management. To spend $900 on a room without AC in Sicily in the heat of summer is unthinkable. If Bookings.com cannot assist with getting a refund, I will also discontinue use of this service as well. I will not recommend this hotel in the future and also will write a negative report with Viator Trip Advisor.

    The staff was very friendly and accessible. The pool was great given that the our room was extremely hot on each night and day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outside food or drink is to be brought jnto the hotel. I think is slightly harsh regarding the drink part as they dont provide water in the rooms. They do have a fridge with drinks but only one bottle of small water in there. But we only brought water into the hotel as i wasnt going without water for no body

    Lovely hotel. Great location. Not far from the train station but you dont hear anything from it. Bus stop 1 min away to all the main places. Great location for Taormina. Hotel was very clean and tidy and staff were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Modern clean hotel close to beaches and Taormina old town which are accessible by local bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No issues - would stay again if in the area.

    Quiet location yet convenient for Taormina and beaches. All staff extremely helpful and friendly. Parking immediately outside which is rare in this area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Not sure it’s 4 stars but sold 3 star hotel with great views but room for improvements!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing and the bed and pillows were very hard! The bathroom is good size but needs new shower doors.

    Free parking was good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Bus stop nearby which takes you up the hill to Taormina which is handy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to get food apart from supplied breakfast there was a small beach bar but very limited , you could get drinks from hotel bar but no other restaurants or bars without getting a bus or taxi Also room smelt like previous guest had been smokers Not a complainer probably my first ever review of a hotel and we travel abroad three times a year

    Hotel and Pool very clean and most of the staff very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    4.2
    Not what it says on the cover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The real issue was the hotel advertising a restaurant on its facilities, which was not the case upon arrival. We were told there is no restaurant, which after a day of site seeing and returning to hotel required a 1km walk to gardinia on a dangerous road to get dinner or lunch. The breakfast was very very poor and little choice. There is no real beach near here also, the one across the road is ladened with rocks and not sure of safety in terms of in the water.

    The pool and view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel located outside the city center of Naxos. Car needed if you want to go to the beach or go out in the city.

    Nice hotel, very clean, calm with beautiful view on the sea. The swiming pool is also really pleasant. Helpfull staff. Vast shady parking at 50m from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    It was a haven from the busyness of the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower stall was small so if you are very overtweight you may have trouble getting into it. I think it is a common problem in hotels in there.

    I had a room that looked out to the ocean, clean and comfortable. Peaceful place. All the staff were friendly and helpful especially Marco. He was so very nice and always willing to answer my questions. I felt safe. I liked being away from the intense activity of Taormina, bus service everywhere excellent, and only about a block away. No big hill to climb, a real advantage!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    short but intense
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pubblic transport in the area it's not very good!

    It was last minute booking, just for one night. Everything was ok, staff was friendly and location good. I would be happy to spend a longer weekend in this hotel. P.s. I suggest room with balcony and seaview. It was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Would be best with an auto. Not close to main Taormina . Price good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    see above. Nice that we were upgraded to a room with balcony with table & chairs over-looking the sea.

    Breakfast was adequate & similar to most Sicilian places. The bed was uncomfortably hard & the pillows worse; felt like a pillow case over towels rather than a pillow. Strict rules prohibiting food & drink: no outside items. All ingestibles needed to be purchased from them, including water. Towels 4 the pool needed to be rented from them also.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely laid back accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More fresh fruit like pineapple in the breakfast buffet would be great. The lack of pavements in a lot of the area is a shame but you can walk along the beach to Giandini-Naxos for shopping and dinner options.

    Great peaceful location at the foot of the hills of Taormina and away from the main road. The hotel has a lovely pool and lounge area and a small private beach 5 mins walk away! Our room was clean and comfortable with a balcony and view of the bay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Train station/ buses 10 mins walk away (the most beautiful station I've ever seen!) a perfect base for exploring North East Sicily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    We had been travelling around Sicily for 2 weeks and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was beautiful, however the bed was very uncomfortable. The pillows were like a stone. 4 days in these hotel made me feel sick because of sleepless nights. Breakfast was very poor: yogurt, croissants, milk and cornflakes.

    We had been travelling around Sicily for 2 weeks and had been staying in 5 hotels. Comparing to other 4 starts hotels this hotel was not so bad. Hotel Corallo is situated near a wonderful city Taormina. There is a bus stop close to the hotel, so it is very easy to go to the old city. There is a good staff at the Hotel. There is a mini bar in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel with decent facilities and very friendly, helpful staff and the beach was across the road
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower was a bit small. Sea view was nice but limited.

    Friendly and very helpful staff. Very clean room and good breakfast. Lovely food. Beach close by with good seafood. Bus stop right beside the hotel with regular buses. The cheapest way to get there is the airport bus from Catania to Taormina. Tell the driver your stop is Hotel Corallo, only 8.50 euro.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Great pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel bar and restaurant are pricey and it's forbidden to bring in your own food and drink to the hotel, no other nice restaurants near by.

    Nice big room with a comfy bed. Really nice swimming pool and friendly staff. Located right by the train station and right in front of a bus stop to all the main beaches and central taormina, no hills to climb up!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Lovely relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That Taormina isn't in walking distance, and the roads have no footpaths to walk on

    The hotel and staff are lovely , the hotel is located between taormina and guardini Naxos . Buses are 3euro return which is very good and are regular. Pool is lovel and clean .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.4
    Nice pool and convenient location, but uncomfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small and uncomfortable suite (bedroom and bathroom) for the price charged; Low quality mattress and bedding/bath linens; Inefficient Air conditioning system wasn't enough to keep a comfortable room temperature in summertime

    Convenient location with excellent access to the beach; Nice swimming pool and surrounding areas; Easy parking nearby; Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    6.3
    nice hotel, but not such a good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not in Taormina itself but down at the seashore. We had to pay 3,5€ ppn on additional taxes. The shower was very small (70x70cm)and old.

    Clean and modern rooms except for the badroom.There is also a nice swimming pool. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    location, view, staff, bed, terrace, pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and not having restaurant

    location, view, staff, bed, terrace, pool

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little hard.

    Good room. Lovely pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    4.6
    Not suited for a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad breakfast, poor wifi connexion

    Clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty seawater

    Good service

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Helpful hosts, clean modern rooms, got an upgrade to sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was on the blink I our room bar trident not cold enough

    Helpful hosts, clean modern rooms, got an upgrade to sea view room with balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing loved everything.

    Great customer service and a extremely hospitable manager and team. Very clean hotel and nice location over the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower a little small

    Super friendly staff and excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    just to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No places to go by food. For me a hotel just for sleep.

    Normal place to have a night and free parking places nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    The staff were extra friendly and the room was georgous with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit out of the way to go explore.

    The staff were extra friendly and the room was georgous with air con.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Weekend visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scenes

    Stayed in May 2017

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40