Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Corte Dei Medici 3 stars

Via Canto De Nelli 2, San Lorenzo, 50123 Florence, Italy

#87 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1754 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location for a traveler looking for art and history in Florence!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old elevator (not for claustrophobic people). Few tables in the breakfast room, but we saw that they work for a new look.

    Very close to San Lorenzo church and Medici Chapel. Very spacious room and bathroom and very comfortable. Polite staff, good breakfast with very good coffee. Very good restaurant in the nearby "Il Nutino" were you can eat a fabulous Bistecca Fiorentina among others ( real pizza al forno ). We liked also the morning street noise because we woke up earlier and had more time for museums and walks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Very strategic location, on Piazza San Lorenzo, 5 min away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was under renovation and when we booked no one notified us about that. The restaurant room was very small and we had to wait in turn for breakfast. However the staff did apologize for that.

    Very strategic location, on Piazza San Lorenzo, 5 min away from Santa Maria del fiore. The staff were very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Gem in the middle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently being renovated, but that should finish soon. Google maps doesn't point you to the right location so make sure you read the instructions provided by the hotel.

    Staff are very helpful and friendly. Renovations are beautiful and modern. Great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    It is okay. Some staff need to be trained in how to deal with people and the problems that arise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Attitude of night staff. Witnessed another customer asking for her sheets to be replaced as they were dirty. Night person told her that he was not a maid and didn't't know how to make a bed. Woman stood her ground and said but the sheets have not been changed. His response,"this is not a five star hotel, only a three star hotel and you cannot expect your sheets to be changed everyday". She said, but this is our first night we haven't used them and they are dirty. Obviously the maid forgot. I am not putting my daughter in that bed. My wife and I told him he must change the sheets for her, and now. He was finally shamed into doing something.

    Good location. Breakfast staff and meals were wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Very nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very nice room. Easily comparable with luxury hotels of 5 star category. Btw. No Academia reservation needed. You get there in 10 minutes from this hotel. Wait in line for about 40 (if arrive at 8).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Very welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was a little difficult to operate and would kick off during the night and we’d wake up hot and have to lower it again. Lots of stairs, but there is an elevator. But hey, it’s Europe and that’s how it is there! They are renovating the hotel, so it will be interesting to see what they do. Still highly recommend!

    Very welcoming. Amazing breakfasts, very clean, staff was so kind and helpful, always ready to chat or pass on information! Family room was fantastic, had a loft with two twins and bathroom for the kids. Nina was amazing! (Customer service) Location was perfect for anything in Florence. Highly recommend and would stay again! You need to check this place out!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast with many home made specialties, very nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cabinet could be a bit cleaner. There were visible black molds in less accessible spots.

    Breakfast with many home made specialties, very nice and helpful staff, modern clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entrance and breakfast room were a little shabby.

    New spotless bathroom, large room, very clean, always quiet and cool, efficient air condiition, very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Newly remodeled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is transitioning to become a 4 star hotel. We stayed in one of their new suites which was very well done. King bed! That is hard to find in Italy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    The location is excellent, the staffs are friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift is small, but acceptable.

    The location is excellent, the staffs are friendly and helpful. We stayed at quadruple room, it was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is OK. We enjoyed staying here so much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    The staff all are very helpful, kind, nice and willing to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff all are very helpful, kind, nice and willing to answer any question. I have sent some email to them before I go, they reply very quick and always solve my question. Also, the breakfast is amazing! Many choices and delicious. Location is great as well, nearby central market (lots good food must to go), the duomo, leather market etc. 7mins walk to train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Centrally located - about 7 minutes walk from Florence train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only lift in the hotel is very very old - you will have to open & close the lift door by pushing it in & out, operates very slowly & very small

    Centrally located - about 7 minutes walk from Florence train station & about15 minutes walk to Uffizi gallery. Staff are very friendly. Breakfast spread is limited but the handmade cakes are great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    perfect location. the reception staffs are very friendly and introduce many things with patience. They are all the time smiling, asking your experience. The room is big and very clean. The hotel has prepared everything a traveler need. I would recommend everyone to consider this hotel when you are in Florence!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Great central ,near to everything,with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have a bigger sign outside and better signage on which bell to push!

    Very near all attractions, brilliant breakfast and lovely friendly staff. We had great room which was big and overlooked the plaza !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Beyond our expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi litle bit weak

    Beyond our expectation. Location is walking distance to major tourist attractions. Heaps of good restaurant nearby. Staff friendly, breakfast really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The very small elevator was a challenge.

    The traditional exterior did not hint at the very modern interior. Room was spacious and bright. Breakfast was wonderful. Close to everything we wanted to see and do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jetted bath tub was down for maintenance.

    Everything. Staff was the nicest I've seen. Very clean. Hotel is currently being overhauled and modernized. Very nice. AC works great which in Europe cannot be overstated. Would absolutely recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was fantastic. The location was perfect for everything we wanted to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this hotel because we wanted something close to the train station. The bonus was how close it was to all the attractions also. Our room was lovely and we were given an upgrade to a room that had a view of the square. It was a great stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    The location of the property was perfect! It was within walking distance to everything on our list to see! The staff and was AMAZING! They went above and beyond to help us navigate our way through the city, helped to make arrangements for our car and were courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else and look forward to the next visit to Florence and also look forward to seeing them!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    We had a very pleasant and satisfying stay in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel is undergoing repairs right now. I hope they will be over soon and the elevator will look more inviting.

    Most of all I liked the crew and their attitude. They were always friendly, attentive and ready to help. Couldn't have been better' it felt like staying with your family. Many thanks from me and my husband.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife got to much information where to shop and I had to pay the bills

    All above especially coffee and tea facilities in the room and afternoon high tea that was great We traveled in Italy this was the first hotel with coffee and tea facilities in the room nice surprise I recommend this hotel to all and is right in centre of town The staff recommendation where to shop for any goods you want Thank you to all the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    A place I'd come back to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was being renovated but staff still very thoughtful in making guests comfortable.

    Great location, easy to get to from the station and in walking distance to key attractions. Staff multilingual, helpful and friendly. Breakfasts featured home made cakes, butter and other goodies.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel, accommodating staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift is extremely small - we couldn’t fit our babies pram into the lift and had to carry up 4 flights of stairs.

    Staff in the breakfast room were extremely friendly and kind, even preparing a special cake for our daughter. Breakfast was great - amazing homemade jam, bread, butter Rooms are clean and comfortable Location is great - walk to all the sites and the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Stay here - they are adding more rooms - staff, food, location - all top rate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THE STAFF IS INCREDIBLE! Angela, Nina, Rachel, Mira - hosts, kitchen, housekeeping - ALL excellent! The location is directly across from San Lorenzo and the food is amazing. The room was large and very well appointed. The bathroom is like no size found in Europe - wish we had that shower at home!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good location- close to Duomo and Uffizi and many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good location- close to Duomo and Uffizi and many other attractions. Lots of restaurants within short walk .Good room on second floor overlooking street - church bells close by! but with windows shut at night able to sleep- airconditioning, very large double bed. Excellent breakfast - wide choice. Friendly staff. Unusual set up with reception on 3rd floor ( lift available) - helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We loved our trip to Florence and this hotel was part it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to have a tiny dresser in the bedroom to organize the clothes or a couple of drawers.

    The hotel is located in a perfect spot, close to all the atractions in a walking distance. Breakfast was delicious and the staff very kind and helpful. The main desk staff was also helpful and they had all the information about the city and tours and helped us to book the tour we wanted.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    A clean place, with great staff, and a great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is on the third floor, but that was an issue only at first. We got used to it, and it was not limiting in any way.

    Nina and Angela at the desk were the best! Very friendly and helpful. The breakfast staff was also excellent. Great property, great location. If we ever return to Florence, wed are sure to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    It was exceptional in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ground floor room without a view but room was so comfortable

    Amazingly helpful staff. Breakfast home made butter, cheese, cakes and Just incredible. Views from breakfast to I Duomo

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Can recommend this establishment for comfort and centrality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very centrally located. Entrance off the street was a little disconcerting but once at reception all this disappeared! I think they in process of a big upgrade. Bedroom and bathroom newly revamped. Bed comfortable. Loved having kettle & cups in the room. Breakfast was good and staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Location was great but accomodations not so much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was terribly hot and could not be cooled. I informed the staff and they said the heat was on in the building. They said they would turn the heat off to my room and it did make a slight difference. Our room was on the second floor near the stairway and the room was very noisy and it sounded like someone was clashing together dishes most of the early morning.

    The staff was nice and helpful and the breakfast was good. The location was convenient to the train station, shopping and museums.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful stay in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was a great hotel in a very central location. A bit quirky, but very friendly, approachable and helpful staff. We were away to celebrate my birthday, and the kitchen team made me a small birthday cake, and brought it out at breakfast, which was so kind and a big surprise. The room was big, and the bathroom, although narrow, was very well equipped. A good shower, and nice range of toiletries. We loved staying here, because it was so central to the main tourist sites (fabulous for our first trip to Florence) and we felt so welcomed by everyone. The breakfast was amazing; so much choice, which changed on a daily basis. When booking out, we were able to leave our bags and continue enjoying the city before returning to collect them and heading to the airport for our journey home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Good cosy place with all modern amenities.good rooms, clean big bathrooms,pleasant staff .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent everything was.

    An excellent place much in the city near to the public transport , near most must see places, also great restaurants and cafes nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.9
    Helpful and cheerful staff. Great buffet breakfast! Well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With hotel reception being on the third floor and the elevator being very small - it took a couple of trips to get 4 of us with luggage around but we managed.

    Homemade breakfast items were a real treat!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Met my expectations for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the heart of the tourist area. Tons of food, great WiFi and clean room, free breakfast was great. A little loud but not horrible , even on a Saturday night noise dies down around 11pm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Location cannot be beaten.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location cannot be beaten. The property was being renovated. and there was noise associated with it. The room itself was well done and comfortable. Since it was so close to the action, there was a lot of street noise. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    We had a great time and would stay here again. Such a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is currently on 3rd floor and breakfast room a little cramped, but this will be resolved when improvements are complete.

    The staff were excellent. The hotel is undergoing renovations, but all the rooms have been complete, and are very comfortable. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine and fruit basket. Nice touches, home made bread, butters, jams and pastries at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    The best food but bed. Hortel Corte dei Medici. Ciao😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But the bed is not good. And the room was too small.

    The breakfast is the best which I had experienced. The food is home made style. For example the butter, bread, jam etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Location is awesome; staff very pleasant; decor leaves much to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I know the hotel is currently under going construction, but there is an underlying unpleasant odor throughout the building even in the room.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful holiday with friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No significant remarks.

    Exellent location, friendly staff, delicious breakfast with homemade pastries, rooms with great views of the Medici Chapel and Il Duomo.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1-Homemade and rich breakfast 2-A very helpful and polite reception (especially young girl who speaks English very well) Everything was wonderful for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing friendly traditional hotel with modern fittings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is modern and comfortable but our bathroom (this time) had a small cubicle shower. Though it was a good shower, a wet room style one would have been even better. The breakfast room is small and can feel crowded though perhaps when the renovations are finished there will be more space.

    We’ve stayed here before and it was just as good the second time! Great breakfast, fantastic friendly staff, good location very near all the main attractions, walkable in 10 minutes from railway station. Modern comfortable rooms with a traditional feel too. Good to have a lift as the stairs are steep and difficult with luggage.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Still under renovation, but otherwise a perfect place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows are not sound proof. Airconditioning system is quite complicated, maybe a little explanation would help.

    Lovely breakfast, renovated rooms are amazing with big beds and a waterfall shower. Location is perfect. Staff is nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    We would need to return to this hotel after renovation is complete, in to give an objective va
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under renovation, and the photos on your website are a misrepresentation of the current conditions there. The staff were very friendly and helpful, which compensated , to a degree, for the disappointment that we suffered.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    3.8
    Location was good
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled very strong like a cigarette. Very disgusting because it was impossible to sleep well. All the night coughing. And the person in the reception did nothing as soon as he was told about it. We paid unhappy. Very sorry.

    Location was good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Small hotel very well located with great service and comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is unassuming at first but really provides a 5 star service. It is opposite San Lorenzo church and is also very close to the train station. The rooms are also quiet and comfortable with a very friendly staff. I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    We would most definately return! Lovely hotel and worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is extremely limited space in the bathroom for toiletries. This is really no big deal but it was hard to find a place to set the toothbrush and toothpaste. Also, I would highly recommend an interior room. The rooms on the street side are quite noisy with market traffic but the interior rooms are quiet and peaceful.

    LOVED the location, staff, the beds and the amazing delicious homemade breakfast every morning. Traveling with 3 teenage sons, a well made breakfast makes a huge difference during a long day of exploring. The staff was always on point and eager to help in any way. The beds were my most favorite ever. The location couldn't be much better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Excellent staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the property was incredible, it was within walking distance of the train station and most of the major attractions like the Aacademia and Duomo. The staff were very helpful and gave me advice how to get to all the places I wanted as well as recommendations for the souvenirs and shopping I wanted to do. Overal it was the best hotel I had in Italy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. There is work going on on the entrance and stairwell but it didn't disturb us. Don't let it put you off, the hotel itself is fine.

    Great location, great staff, great value. Excellent breakfast. We were welcomed warmly and given an upgrade to a large comfortable room overlooking San Lorenzo basilica. The service was exceptional, the staff are as kind as they are efficient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Hidden Gem, rooms a good size, modern bathrooms with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the alleyway near by, the lighting could be a little brighter.

    Hidden Gem, rooms a good size, modern bathrooms with excellent fittings - great sized shower. All staff were good but the breakfast staff were wonderful, very friendly and nothing too much trouble. By far my favourite hotel of our Italy holiday.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location, quiet and clean. Staff always friendly, happy and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little difficult to find the front entrance from the street, better sign or directions would have helped.

    Room was recently renovated, everything very clean. Staff we very helpful and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby has not been remodeled---and first impression left me wondering, "Why the heck did I reserve here?"---the lobby colors, style and condition were rather dubious.

    Very good location. The breakfast was EXCELLENT...good food, most of which is home-made. And the breakfast staff is super friendly. The rooms are newly remodeled...beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Best breakfast in Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel had the best breakfast for us in Italy. Everything was fresh and homemade. The breakfast had a lot of personal touches. The location was very convenient. We easily found the hotel from the train station. All the main attractions were walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    A great hotel in a wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was kind of warm in the room, but we did not announce it at the reception in order to fix it. Overall, not too disturbing.

    Very close to the main attractions, only 5' to the Duom. No need to take any means of transportation to visit the city, all can be reachable by foot, including Piazzale Michelangelo (20-30' distance from the hotel). Generous breakfast, with various homemade products.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    A perfect place to stay in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect place to stay in Florence, just across The Medici Chaples, with a heart-stopping view from the window. Everything you want to see in this blessed city is 5 minutes walking from the hotel. The staff is nice and welcoming and breakfasts are really good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Well worth a stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Getting to the location was ... well it did not happen. The labyrinth of streets, with daily changing routes (apparently), made it impossible to find the hotel. I ended up going direct to the parking facility - after over an hour driving around never managing to get closer than 250 m from the hotel. Apparently I am not the only person to experience this problem. A little more help with directions would be helpful.

    They are modernising the property, it will be great once completed. Location is a major bonus. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was good. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    The location, breakfast and especially the breakfast staff made this a great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering the hotel located in a very old building with modern challenges was doing good all things considered. The rooms were small with no consideration for traveling with luggage . The bed lamps were 15 ft. High in the ceiling and not practical for reading or not disturbing you bed mate. The bathroom done in an ultra modern style has issues with design and function. The sink sits on a shelf that hits you below the knees, and is in the shape of a large porcelain bucket that's overall a bit low. Moving up there is a "small 3 1/2" wife by about 14" glass shelf that's attached to the wall and below the faucet spigot and faucet control to the right making this shelf totally useless (it should have been located above the faucet and made bigger) a total design error. The bath like the room is small and thus you have a door problem to get in the bath room and the glass door for the shower also open inward to a narrow shower creating issues there too. The water never got hot only warm and the valve to operate the wand was almost impossible to operate, you needed a pair of pliers to crab a hold of it to pull it out to work. There was no functional positive. Entilation in the bath is room. The heat controls were not functioning, the towel warmer not functioning. Many of the bath fixtures were lose on the walls. When we checked into our room there was some trash in the trash receptacle, and shelves in the open (no doors) closet were dusty otherwise maid service was good.

    1. Location was excellent, everything within walking distance. 2. The desk staff were friendly and helpful but didn't have very good English skills. 3. The staff serving breakfast was happy, very friendly and made you feel welcome and part of the family. Their English skills were excellent and the food was the best hotel food we've had in three weeks of travel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Molto bene!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are renovated but tiny. The public areas are a little old and run down. The entrance is a bit shabby.

    The staff are wonderful and friendly and the breakfast was home made and delicious. We paid a premium price for our stay due to the timing, I guess, but otherwise this Hotel appears to be a good value for the money and is usually a bargain considering location and charm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    The hotel location and its staff made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small lift.

    The Location alone make your trip enjoyable and comfortable. The staff is excellent, cooperative and amicable. This makes you feel at home. Special appreciation to Ms. Nina who was very dynamic during breakfast period and was helpful in every aspect. Thanks as well to Ms Chita Facchi and the gentleman at the reception (sorry for forgetting his name).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Without our asking, was upgraded to a larger room and the large spa tub was appreciated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to be willing to climb stairs and they are in the middle of a remodel but didn't hear any noise.

    In Florence, this young staff was the most enthusiastic , helpful we had encountered and were very impressed with their helpfulness. The breakfast was more plentiful and varied than most you find in the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Central, central, central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Renovations were going on.

    The location was second to none. Great views from breakfast room. Room was modern, comfy and clean. Great buffet breakfast. Very friendly staff. Not too far to war from the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Nice comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice comfortable room. Breakfast had plenty to choose from. Very friendly staff. Easy walking distance to sights. Need a map if walking around. One of few hotels with access to parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Recently renovated - very nice effect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Renovations aren't quite complete ... entry is via buzzer to front desk (instead of keycard), usually fine but late one night it took ~15 minutes. Tiny elevator.

    Recently renovated - very nice effect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    A great week in Florence
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    This really nice hotel in the very centre of Florence - lots of places within 5-7 minutes walk and the other are 10-15 minutes away. The rooms are very clean and tidy. The staff is friendly and happy to help. I guess that I will stay there again if I come to Florence in the future. Many thanks to all staff in the hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    I recommend this great property - incredible value in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff went out of their way to make it great. Clean and comfortable upgraded room. Breakfast was very good. Location was perfect - easy to major attractions and great meals!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    The staff were always cheerful and ready to help and made our stay very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sign outside could be a bigger. We passed the doorway twice before realising that it was the entrance to the hotel. Perhaps replace the carpet in the breakfast room with tiles or linoleum.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us a map and marked all of the attractions and recommended good places to eat. I requested an extra pillow and blanket and this was provided immediately. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was excellent. The breakfast was great with lots of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. The room was newly decorated and the bathroom was also relatively new - lovely. The location was very convenient for central Florence.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Bathroom was the highlight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were quite firm but actually I slept well. Only found one English speaking channel on the TV after much hunting. No other facilities in the hotel.

    Bathroom was the highlight...loved the rainforest shower which was hot and powerful enough. Room was serviced every day. Breakfast was nice. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff, excellent coffee & breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac in our room didn't work except for the first night. When we discussed this with the staff they were able to move us to a different room.

    The staff was amazingly kind & caring! The room was clean & updated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests should be aware that the markets setup quite early in the morning and it's a little noisy. Air conditioning also stopped at nights so gets a little warm in the room - appeared to work on our last night. No big issues though

    Great place to stay. Very good location. Staff are friendly. Rooms have been refurbished and are very comfortable. It's close to the markets.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    wonderful location. easy walk to popular sites in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We used the GPS on my IPhone walking from the train station. The GPS stated we had arrived at the hotel, but we were unsure where it was located. There was only a small sign designating the location of the hotel. Really not a complaint but only a comment. Definitely would stay here again

    The hotel is centrally located to all of the popular sites. The train station is located within a easy walk from the hotel. The rooms had soundproof windows and dependable airconditioning for the hot summer temperatures. The breakfast was delicious and the staff were friendly and helpful. We were pleased with the hotel and would definitely choos this property again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Our stay was great and really wonderful. We would love to stay again in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We know the hotel is undergoing renovations. Only that the elevator is too small and when you take the stairs, the steps are steep and narrow.

    Great location! Hotel personnel are very friendly and helpful. Our room is clean and we got everything we need.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Florence is fabulous and would have liked to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room recently updated to a very high standard with comfortable beds. very clean with lovely bathroom. Breakfast very good. Perfect central location for sights and also arriving at night easy to find from station. All sights are within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Best hotel of our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab big room. Worth the upgrade. Everything under the sun you could ask for in the room and bathroom. Wine and fruit and minerals on arrival. Staff so so lovely and helpful. Room so big and spacious and location 10:10 minutes walk to everything. Would for sure stay here on a return visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.9
    Location Location Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The reception in downstairs is under construction so we have to go all the way upstairs to meet them they need to upgrade their building and making it a proper hotel. - The lift is very small and not safe. - Bathroom wasn't that good.

    Comfy bed, LOCATION and staff's friendliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value for money at the heart of Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was a bit bland and was almost the same each morning.

    Apart from the obvious benefits like the excellent location at the heart of Florence, we were beyond doubt amazed by the helpfulness of the staff. The people at the reception acted as first class concierge and we are very thankful for their assistance! The room was clean and neat and provided us with a nice view.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Corte Dei Medici traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: