Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Corte Di Re Artù B&B

Via San Marco 443, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#98 of 137 B&Bs and Inns in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 344 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 40

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Such a lovely quiet bed and breakfast with a beautiful charm the room was big we had a bath in the room and also a balcony best to book a suite carafe amazing will be returning next year 10 min walk to walled city x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start,noisy,strange,breakfast,toilet,noisy,owners are not personable, dark,too quirky,stairs,hearing other guests using the toilet, making out,it's not a good building to be a b&b

    Perfectly positioned for walled town, that's it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Economy room was pretty small but that's why it's economy I guess. Check-in time could be longer. Not far from walls of the city center but the interesting parts of city center itself are not so close as we though they will be.

    Nice room. Possibility of parking (for 3 cars). Possibility to arrive after check-in time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the late arrival procedure explained more clearly. Quirky decor not to everyone's taste. Would have liked kettle for tea/coffee in the room.

    Quiet, clean and comfortable, quirky. Friendly staff. Walking distance from old city walls.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    size of the room ; very average breakfast - bread was not fresh enough rather poor quality of products

    Tiny room for what we paid for plus bathroom and shower are very small too. However we came to Lucca to see the Rolling Stones so I suspect we paid premium prices

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    short walk to the old town. Very nice and quite room. If you can afford take suite. The hotel is conveniently located when traveling with or without car. The hotel has very unique atmosphere of very old but renovated building when renovation preserved old time ambience. Hotel stuff is limited. You come and go as it would be your own home. Breakfast was was good and typical for Italy hotels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a kettle in the room to make tea! Husbands suggestion as a tea addict. I was happy with everythibg

    Lovely characterful accomodation, friendly owner, very comfotable bed & beautiful courtyard. In an ideal setting just a short walk from the city walls. Couldn't have wished for more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor thing that quite a few light bulbs didn't work / needed changing. Breakfast was buffet style, good choice but some little issues, warm milk, cereals a bit soft, jam not the best quality - lovely bread, pastries, meat and cheeses however

    Cool / unusual decor, comfy bed, a/c, fridge, freestanding bath in room, nice spacious room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooom we stayed in was poorly soundproofed. Luckily we were on the ground floor. I can imagine that having another bedroom next to us would have been terrible. When we booked the room, it was important to us that there was parking at the hotel. It turned out that there were only 3 parking spaces in front of the hotel and we had to park in a nearby public car park.

    We had the room nr. 1, which was right opposite the reception on the ground floor. The room was a good size, as was the bathroom. Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit, various cheeses, cold meats and various types of bread. We could choose cappucino or espresso, which was freshly made for us. The hotel is in a residential neighbourhood, so nice and quiet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator, but there is only 3-storey building. No problem for small-luggage holder.

    Silence and near old town. Just 8-10min walk. Continental Breakfast is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    disappointed that the room was different compared to the picture's one in the web site, there was no bath in the room neither the size of the room was the same ... my room was in front of the check-in desktop so the first couple that checked-out in the morning woke me up because of the loud speaking - but still a very nice place -

    Lovely place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose the Corte Di Re Artù because the rooms looked so fun in the pictures and they did not disappoint. The entire house is full of character and made our short stay extremely enjoyable. The breakfast was amazing so make sure you don't leave too early in the morning. The staff were extremely friendly and had some great suggestions for wine tasting.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t see anyone when we checked in. The rooms key was left for us along with intructions along with a map of Lucca (helped alot!). But would have been nice to talk to someone about where the main attractions, nice restaurants etc.

    Location was great, only a short walk to the centre walls. The suite was spacious and decor was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property would have benefitted from indoor comfort area although a pleasant outdoor garden did provide a relax option.

    Presentation of the premises and its position to the centre, for the price, were better than described. Clean, comfortable and cosy for eating and sleeping with a pleasant walk into Lucca centre.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and the look of the old style decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thematic King Arthur

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close proximity to the centre. The eccentricity of the property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small shower

    Homemade ontbijt/breakfast, superbe! Nice personell, romantic rooms, nice neighbourhood. Good cappuccino.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stairs in accommodation

    Location was great for lucca City and day trip to pisa

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - don't eat the eggs - they're boiled to death... - wifi had obviously broken down the second day and was restarted only the next day in the morning - we just did not find it that comfy - maybe the Middle Age-theme was not the right thing for us...

    - easy walking distance to the city centre - heating worked well

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The check in process was a bit messy as there's no one there. Parking is not great at the property! Just make sure you Check your email!!! Instructions for check in come through on the day of check in. I didn't check and tried to call reception for 45mins as there was no one there Not exactly sound proof in the building and woke up to the sound of the people in the room below me going at it. Wasn't great with my 73 year old mother in the room

    Very nice big rooms quiet even though on busy road The breakfast had a good variety.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The personnel is on place only during check-out time, and if you want to ask anything during check-in you should either call or wait till the next day. It was also very noisy in the room , we heared the bells of church near the hotel and everything what was happening in the neighbour room, so when they started to talk and cough at 6am, we couldn't sleep anymore. The hotel is 40 minutes walk from the station and even if you have luggage on wheels you'll need to carry it because all the pavements are made of small stones and it's impossible to roll anything. Bed sags as if you are lying on a hammock.

    Included breakfast was good, there was a fridge in the room and a balcony. The desing of the hotel is medieval and stylish.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi didn't work very well.

    Location is good, close to the city center. Spacious room with nice decoration. Friendly and helpfull staff. Lovely breakfast. Parking directly in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a little bit of a hike to get anywhere, we didn't have a car. Also the beds need updating. The mattress was uncomfortable and the pillows were flat.

    The place was very charming! Francesca was also very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room is really small and the AC does not work well.

    Five minutes' walk to one city entrance. The breakfast is very good compare to other hotels I stayed during this trip. Hardly seen staff during the day but everything is handy: keys on desk, maps on table.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The showers were rather small. Views not great. Taxis in town can be expensive....it's close to town so walking recommended.

    Our teenage kids had the triple room with the bath in it. ...great room...plenty of space. ..they loved the bath.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In hindsight I would have preferred to be nearer to the centre, but it is walking distance. However a bit too far with a suitcase from the train station. My room was lovely but a little dark.

    The owner was so very helpful and friendly. There is a really good choice for breakfast and it is from 8am until 10am so you can have a lie-in!

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was ok the only disadvantage was the stairs no lift. But we were ok as we only had hand luggage.

    Very spacious suit. Loved the bath In the room. Nice garden at the back. Staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quirky B&B close to Lucca city walls.helpful staff and lovely breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    view weak

    unique home decor

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Great sphere with the roomdecorations and very sweet staff!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was to cold.

    Fantastic room furniture, next to the old city, comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was really cold and the heating was turned off. Internet connection was very bad.

    Good location. The place looks really nice.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place has a cosy atmosphere and the room is beautifully decorated and you instantly feel at home

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Anything!

    We were in a suit and it was amazing! The breakfast is good!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning not very effective.

    The friendliness of the staff. The accommodation was clean, parking was easy and a ten minute walk into town.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs cooked breakfast was poor

    The medieval chharm the friendly owner

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing it was perfect for us

    Lovely friendly staff very helpful good English perfect in every way hope to visit again October

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lovely accommodation and close proximity to lucca. Francessca very helpfull.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 40

Browse Corte Di Re Artù B&B traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: