Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crystal Hotel 4 stars

Piazza Umberto I°, 91100 Trapani, Italy

#12 of 18 hotels in Trapani

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 414 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Enzo was very nice, serving with a smile and made our breakfast an enjoyable one! In all my trips, this is the first time I met a happy person making hotel guests feel important!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed far too hard. No real facilities apart from a hard sofa in reception. Felt more like an apartment than a real hotel. Bar in basement breakfast area closed by 9.00, no good for a nightcap. No outside space. Think it's more of a business orientated hotel. Receptionists spoke very little English. Walls very thin, had to thump on wall to get neighbour to turn TV down at midnight. Bedside lamp wouldn't turn off completely at night so couldn't get a dark room but staff failed to understand the problem. didn't sleep well either night.

    although close to station parking was relatively easy and only a short walk into the old centre and sea front. Room was minimalist but fine, a good breakfast with some catering for allergies

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning did not work the first night, but the staff corrected it and it worked well the 2nd and 3rd nights.

    The bed was comfortable and the staff were all very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From a 4 star hotel we didn't expect to find unfresh croissants ! Certainly didn't like the breakfast! compared to the amount of money we paid one expects to have a good breakfast!

    We liked the room!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful and friendly staff at the reception. Even though we didn't like the places they suggested as something it cant be missed , they did it in their best faith. Breakfast place was full of mosquitos but otherwise decent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are missing outlets for charging phones and other devices (cameras, PCs, etc). Missing luggage rack for the two suitcases of a couple.

    Close to the historical center. Easy place to park your car on the street near the hotel. Helpful staff. Modernized room. Cleanliness of the room and bathroom is good. Good breakfast, with good selection of breads, pastries, cheeses, sausages, fruits, coffees, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaking shower door led to swamped floor - should be easily fixed. Noise from neighbouring rooms was a big problem. Adjacent room through connecting doors was very intimate - felt I was a party to his phone calls - unacceptable. had to phone reception at 1.30 a.m. To ask them to ring him and wake him up to turn off TV - he had obviously fallen asleep but we could nt follow suit! The arguing Italian family above or below, on both mornings, may as well have been in the room with us! Not good by any measurement.

    The location was great with easy access to the beach, the port and the old town. Fine standard breakfast and good service as required at late might bar - thank you to Senore Francesco on both counts!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No inhouse restaurant for travellers not in a group. Took a little time and two calls to reception to get the tv fixed. Parking costs extra.

    A nice clean hotel. Breakfast waiter was nice and welcoming and the breakfast was good. A quiet location but not far from good restaurants and the ferry harbour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brown tiles in the bathroon makes it look old although it's not.

    The hotel is in a quiet part of the town however in walking distance to the historical center and the port. The staff was very helpful. Rooms were large enough for two.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was perfect, modern, clean, in pretty location near to the city centre and also sea. Staff was friendly and helpful, we could check-in at 1 a.m., they saved us :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was not fully functional, could not alter the use of the hand held telephone shower and the overhead shower, both functioned concomitantly Asked to have shower repaired but to no avail. One bed side lamp was not working so could not do any reading in bed. But over all these were minor problems which did not disrupt our stay at the hotel.

    Excellent breakfast, even though the fare was the same every day no variation! Very helpful and pleasant front office staff, Room was clean. Hotel well located situated next door to train station and coach bus stops. Just a short walk from centro storico

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The position could not be bettered. Very nice atmosphere, room well appointed and not bad(continental) breakfast I would reccomend this hotel. Good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is dated and needs a complete refurbishment. The air-conditioning didn't work very well, and there were gaps in the windows which could not be closed completely. There were strange knocking noises coming from the wall. The floors in the bathroom were worn and sticky. It wasn't because the floor hadn't been cleaned, but because the stone surface was worn through in places to material that was literally sticky. The flooring in the bedroom was also sticky and needed replacement. No English language television. The price would have been correct for an updated hotel of this class. It was too high for its current state.

    Large room & good breakfast. The bed was comfortable. Staff are friendly, professional and quick to respond. Good location to the center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor Breakfast; moldy tomatoes; unfriendly reception; expensive parking, while near the free public city parking; Superior Room is better than a deluxe;

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The very few grumpy staff members

    I would like to commend members of staff, particularly Cristina and the man who was running the bar the evening we arrived. They were so welcoming and good fun. Some of the others were a bit grumpy. We did enjoy our time at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be careful with picking the room, it's worth spending abit more for a better room, as the basic room is quite old - we made this mistake, and should have chosen the next level up. Location is great, walking distance, but it's there's alot of street noise during the night if you try to sleep with windows open.

    Good location with free parking. Nice breakfast. Staff tried to make everything work for us - even came to the room to help us fix the AC. Staff also gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi rarely worked, the room was over a loud street, and the room had an overpowering stench of perfume or air freshener that clung to everything.

    The front desk staff were very helpful, and the servers at breakfast were very accommodating to my baby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff worked very hard to meet our requests and to make us comfortable. This added greatly to the value of the stay. The breakfast featured some lovely Sicilian treats.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not so accommodating... asked for it to be fixed and it was never done. It averaged 25 degrees Celsius, so it was warm during the day and a little better during the night.

    I got the master suite. It was comfortable. Bed was nice and large, the bathroom was big as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot and temperature could not be controlled. Open window just lets in mosquitos, even mid-November. Poor location if you're a tourist No ventilation in bathroom.

    Excellent breakfast, good bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The situation is only good if you are arriving by train, as it overlooks the station. There was a charge for the underground car park. There was no evening meal provided, although there was an excellent restaurant immediately across the road, to which we were directed.

    The room and bathroom were reasonably good, although the view from the window was simply of the rail station. Breakfast was acceptable, if not remarkable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Problems with the toilet were too difficult to resolve. While it was eventually repaired satisfactorily, it should not have required so much effort on our part.

    Comfortable, attractive, room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and its restaurants. They were always very friendly and pleasant and made the stay memorable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The aircon left me needing to wear a cardigan to avoid freezing.

    It is close to the train station and more of a business hotel. The facilities are fine and the staff helpful. Breakfast was the standard fare and here they make proper coffee rather than you pressing a button on a machine.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything could have been ok, but the problem is that it's hugely overprised. It has quality of decent 3-star hotel and a price of decent 5 star hotel. If they (price and quality) meet in between - that would be great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was very friendly. The bed and the bathroom were very good and the room was quiet thanks to good double glazing in spite of facing a street. The free parking on site was a huge boon. The breakfast is good and, if one wishes

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and comfortable apartment with easy parking around the hotel. The room was always quiet and always had a great steady temperature. Amazing restaurants in the neighbourhood and a couple of bars playing live music. Walking distance from a lot of the city's attractions

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building ugly, reception cold

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fact that the address on confirmation was different from the real location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Professional Staff, cozy room, very clean and perfect location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were attended to exeptionaly well by the receptionist Christina who was very helpfull and informative

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the city center, very nice and clean room. Very friendly staff. Good and tasty breakfast. Everything was perfect and I recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hot water

    Location close to the airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I woke every day for the alarm of my neighbour. The walls are super thin.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor service at breakfast - few tables, slow waiters

    The bathroom was stylish

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are a bit old (e.g. Carpet), the shower drain didn't work properly

    The lady at the reception was very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, excellent helpful staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Better reception bar and leisure facilities

    The staff were excellant - welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was as should,perfect location, clean and comfy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet signal was not consistent. Dropped often and we were on first floor.

    Very new building. Staff went above and beyond. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything, we got what we paid for. We wilk return

    Staff, cleaning, breakfast, kindness and very helpfull

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is perfect. There many good restaurants and shops nearby. Staff is especially kind. Rooms are quiet and beautiful, breakfast super.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've seen many better rooms across Europe in that price

    Breakfast - better like in other hotels in this price category

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and poor amenities.

    Leaving.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked very much the contemporary Italian design of the rooms and the hotel. The short street was calm. The breakfast was the best we ever had.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff, very helpful; room a good size: big. Clean. Quiet; Modern. Easy to park car.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms, great location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the center, and they charge 30€ for parking

    Very beautiful room, nice staff, great service

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance will enter the room without notice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good breakfast incl. make your own fresh orange juice :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely breakfast. Really friendly staff and quiet area. The room was a good size and the bed was large and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms are really stylish. Lots of nice restaurants in the surroundings. Really polite staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - very good breakfast - staff was very friendly and helpful and spoke English - attractions of the town just a short walk away - parking space available

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - worst isolation ever, you literally can have a conversation with your neighbors (top, down, left & right) - do NOT book a Deluxe room, it is exactly the same as the lower room, except the price (the bathroom pict is FAKE!! = no bath but only a shower) --> they put a pict from the suite and tel you it's just a pict mistake, and one month later they still have the same picture online. They also use the same trick on a competitor website. - airport shuttle: bus next door is cheaper and a taxi is cheaper !! Literally refused when I asked them to book me a taxi instead.

    Very nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The WiFi basically didn't exist. I also personal didn't like that they authorised the full payment 3 weeks before the arrival. I'm sure it should not happened when a service claims that they would charge upon the arrival.

    The breakfast was great. The bathroom was also really big and comfortable. The hotel is located 10 min from everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the only mirror is in the shower room. A full-length mirror can be provided.

    The. Staff. Are. Very. Friendly. And. Helpful. The parking offered. By. The. Hotel. Is. Very. Convenient,

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Colour of tiles in bathroom - brown, however this is a personal taste, prefer light colours in bathrooms.

    Bedroom & Bathroom very comfortable. AC excellent, very powerful and cools the room in a few minutes.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - no balcony - no posibility to open the window (air condition only)

    - excellent location close to bus station and port - very nice breakfast - clean room

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old, smelly, with dirty small windows (have they ever cleaned them???) Impossible to open the window as it was too loud outside. A lot of mosquitoes...hotel empty, receptionists speak poor English, more business type, don't feel like vacation resort, no balcony or terrace, unpleasant bar where breakfasts were served, I had a hair wrapped on my fork ... disgusting .... we had to ask for coffee or tea as no one cared about anything, poor wifi which doesn't work in the evening ... ....poor service and conditions as for 4*

    Cleaning service was good, they cleaned every day, fresh towels, sheets etc ...

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms had no air conditioning and temperatue was 26/27 in our room. Told the air conditioning was not on yet as not warm enough weather being April! Too hot to sleep.A kettle was provided in room with T bags but only a few herbal ones supplied.Having asked for normal T bags twice and none arriving we went and found our own downstairs.No milk was supplied when asked we were told we had to go and buy our own! Toiletries were not replaced daily.On checking out breakfast in our room and a bottle of wine had been added to our bill neither of which had we had. It was eventually removed but an unpleasant experience.

    Rooms were clean and well maintained Located quite centrally for seeing Trapani

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we slept in a room on the second floor and we found it delicious. very comfortable bed and modern bathrooms resin. good breakfast and attentive staff. Price definitely adequate

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    modern hotel. easily accessible from the motorway. super rooms. very nice bathrooms. the hotel has a private garage. around the hotel is within walking distance to the beach and the monumental area of the city. very nice historical center.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Very poor wifi connection in the room.

    Super staff, coffee, location.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast very good. Beds extra confortable.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, very clean, comfortable bed, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Nice clean design of room. Good breakfast, but take the more expensive rooms which are much nicer.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    ok!!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sometimes noisy around the hotel during the night

    Very friendly staff, clean room, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    ... so beautiful!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast busy and chaotic

    Good location and rooms

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On site car park is useless, you need to park in the street

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is a bit disappointing.

    Parking, Is not an issue. The shower is nice and big. The room is modern and big.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Crystal Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: