Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel d'Este 3 stars

Via Carlo Alberto 4/B, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#716 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1513 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was relatively modest, we missed eg. wholemeal bread, muesli, fruit and vegetables. We booked the room for 315 EUR, and we were charged 105 EUR five days before the trip and then 315 EUR when leaving, the receptionist claimed that the bank will return us 105 euros, but we think that we will have to complain about that.

    The room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.3
    Not a good choice!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad bathroom with rubbed towels and hardly working plumbing. Old and unpleasant rooms. In general, bad impressions about the hotel. Bad value for the money. Booking should not recommend the hotel for staying!!! And finally, be ready to have a rest from your social networks or publishing your good pics&videos of Rome trip , cause wi-fi works at Zero speed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    A good place to stay while exploring the beautiful past of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bad odour at bathroom was annoying. The staffs at the reception were sullen faced.

    The location is very near to Roma Termini and Vittoria emanuale metro station. The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    2.9
    Worst hotel ever ... DONT DONT DONT
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- hotel and rooms not clean and old 2- bathroom floor is full of water and i put towels on the floor in order to be able to go in 3- no Wifi in rooms nor in corridors, only in reception 4- when i asked the reception why no wifi, they answer so you want wifi on your bed????? 5- location is good near Metro Barnini 6- breakfast is very poor and not tasting good 8- crowd at rooms 9- bathroom is disgusting and room smells like bathroom I was planning to stay 3 nights and i made checkout in the early morning after one night as its the worst hotel ever

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Tvarkingas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On a noisy street, we asked for a quiet room, but we got a room with windows on the street, it is impossible to sleep. Breakfast did not have a sweet bakery for one morning.

    Good staff, near Termini, near good fish restorant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Easy walk to and from train station. Spacious room, could use a major facelift, especially bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit run down. The light in the bathroom was literally held to the wall with duct tape!

    We could walk to the train station and the room was spacious. Very friendly front desk staff when we were checking in. Elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    The location was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room smelled like stale cigarettes, so we kept on having to air out the room!!

    The location was brilliant. 15 minute walk to the Colosseum and 20 minutes to the Trevi Fountain. Staff were friendly and the breakfast was lovely too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    A lovely hotel with pleasant staff in an ideal location. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a few fried options and/or a selection of tinned fruits would add to the breakfast value. Instructions on how to operate the air con system and safe in each room would be nice.

    There were a good selection of pastries to choose from for breakfast. Comfy beds and a clean room on arrival. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Would totally recommend this hotel on the basis of location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is very austere but roomy. We were given a room with 3 beds, a servicable chair, wardrobe and one end table (but the beds were so close together we could use them as endtables. Wi-Fi service is spotty. While a TV is in the room, there is no service that gives you even one English speaking channel. We arrived during a time when the room airconditioner was not yet turned on but staff graciously found a controller so we could run the A/C. The road outside is busy during the day.

    The location is great, within walking distance of Termini Train station, can walk to Coliseum and a nice, but long walk to Tivoli sqaure/fountain. Recommend Tivoli in the evening, plenty of shops, food, and people and very festive. Close to metro and grocery store. They have a very nice breakfast room and outside area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast was very good with lots of variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A single room had one double bed and one single bed in it, which made it cramped. On the third night, loud police banging on the next room door woke me up - the Syrian couple next door were taken away to the police station.

    Breakfast was very good with lots of variety. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice and accessible hotel to metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast options were very limited, and coffee was bad. They did have a lovely outdoor terrace for eating (besides the interior area). Also, the fact that elevator was extremely small with a capacity for only 2 persons.

    Location and service was excellent. Hotel was near to metro station, and right across Santa Maria Maggiore church. Staff provided great recommendaitons on dining options; they were also very helpful with other requests as well. Hotel provided for area to leave the luggage if flight was after check out period; the area was also furnished so you could also remain there resting until departure :) Hotel was also located near an ATM machine, which was helpful to withdraw cash for the city taxes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    The reception staff was really nice and very helpful, the...
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like stains on the bed covers and ants running and flying around, but maybe that's what you get at 40 bucks a night.

    The reception staff was really nice and very helpful, the location is great too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Clean, friendly, accommodating, well presented, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Apparently we didn't book a room, we booked the RIGHT to a room. They decided our room would be "too small" so put us in the hotel next door. Bit weird but didn't detract too far from overall

    Went out of their way to accommodate dietry requirements, well presented, lovely staff, very short walk from Termini Station meaning easy to find and surrounded by lovely resteraunts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable stay in a clean hotel with a clean, well kept room with friendly staff and plentiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear the local train through the night nearby and unfortuately noise travelled easily through rooms.

    The room was serviced and replenished daily. The breakfast was plentiful and the room spacious, airy, clean and decorated to a good standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice and comfort stay in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from outside. Breakfast could be better.

    Housemaid was really correct and punctual. The room has been clean every day. Not usual in other higher categories hotel. Location is good. Few minutes walking from Termini station, and 10 minutes from Coloseum. Overall nice stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Very comfortable and in a good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smokers standing outside the door. If it was summer and people were using the outside tables it would have been annoying to have smokers there.

    Breakfast was very good. Good selection of food and drink. Staff kept the buffet well supplied and cleared tables promptly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    The location is very convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is a bit poor (the same everyday) and not much to choose from. Also the internet is slow. Other than that it was great...

    The location is very convenient. We literally walked everywhere and there was no real need of the metro (unless to go to the Vatican). great access to metro (when we needed it) and termini station. The staff were very very polite, helpful and happy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    A walking distance to Termini and city center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast has not many options. A bit more variety would have been appreciated. The bathroom was clean but not renovated.

    The king bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.2
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 201 was tiny. It was so nosiy on a night there we could get no sleep due to other hotel residents making a huge racket. I think it was a group of friends who were split up across floor 201. If that’s the case they should of put us else where. The safe didn’t work in our room. It’s defintley not a modern hotel.

    Shower

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    Great location, nice staff. The room and the bathroom are tiny. Not bad for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating actually didn't work so I was cold and had to ask for a portable heater. Was very dusty in the room and during 4 night stay sheets were not changed, furniture not dusted.

    The breakfast was not bad. Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Good for sightseeing in Rome with children, close to key points
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor breakfast, not many places to eat around, the property itself looks a bit more used than shown on photos

    Very close to the sightseeing places e.g. Santa Maria Maggiore Church & Colosseum, close to the Termini station. The staff was kind to open the breakfast room 1.5 hours before the usual time as we had early departure & they proposed it instead of lunch boxes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    quiet room from the backyard side!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all pillows were to hard!!! I would prefer a normal quilt in the winter!

    express check-in, quiet room, big bathroom and very good heating in the winter time. very king and nice breakfast staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location for a short visit to Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Both our rooms had small issues like unhinged window, or minibar not working, but for the price those were negligible. Complementary breakfast was anemic and identical every morning.

    Excellent location close to Termini Station. Everything in central Rome is within easy walking distance. Small but clean rooms, awesome bang for the buck! Many well rated restaurants in a 500 meter radius. Friendly staff and a fun internal decor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    Very happy on overall stay. We got balcony view and this made our holiday more special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No eggs and bacon for breakfast

    View to Santa Maria Maggiore and balcony, comfortable and non smelling beds, daily free room cleaning, tv worked and room was always warm. Staff very polite and friendly. Will come back again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.3
    Don’t recommend it! Doesn’t worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.There wasn’t any wifi connection in our room, room 101, very close to reception, when we complained they said it’s too far from wifi source and it’s out of their hand!! 2. At 3:00 a.m someone tried to enter our room. Knocked the door and push the handle constantly, we woke up with heart beat and told reception, didn’t recieve any apology!! 3. Construction noices at early morning woke us up, we saw some workers in the hotel and noises was super loud just above us, but reception denied any builder works in the hotel. 4.super noisy room, I could here the toilet flush from neighbors above me, all night and early morning was noisy, didn’t feel safe or comfortable at all. 5. Lack of cleanliness. 6. LOTS OF ANTS. we felt itchy all night and in the morning found bunch of ants on the floor!

    Breakfast was OK, location was convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Choose Hotel D'este
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No Bacon and no Australian type of coffee....but its Italy so what do you expect. I loved this place, I have no real things that i didn't like

    This place is great. Everything you need is so handy. English speaking staff. Everybody is always smiling. No fuss about anything. Everybody was always helpful. They seemed to know every answer to every question that i asked.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Good location, everything near you train station and buses...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, everything near you train station and buses shops restaurant, reception persons they are helpful and nice specially the Palestinian man, thanks for him.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Near train station and metro .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near train station and metro .plenty to eat at breakfast not just pastries.there was cereal, fruits, coffee,milk,juice. Since it gets darker early by 7pm was little noise on abusy street. No a/c the temperture was nice but have to leave a little bit open the window to refresh the room, that why colud hear the cars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    2.9
    Worst experience with a hotel I ever had - black mould in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst experience with a hotel I ever had - black mould in the bathtub (you really can’t even take a shower there), no way to regulate a/c, extremely rude staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    Location, price, near metro and Termini station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad breakfast, bad room, unclean bathroom, everything looks to cheap, reception guys not polite not smiling and not welcoming at all. If you work in tourism at least smile to your guests if you don’t want to make them a “kings”.

    Location, price, near metro and Termini station

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    5.8
    Rubbish hotel dont stay here - wont return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not welcoming - no smilling at reception - looks like working there is a chore Phone didn't work - exposed wires ! Room very basic - Toilet roll holder loose Bathroom smelt of damp Walls patched up with other paint botch jobs Electrical surround for light switch broken/off & exposed ! Came back to room & room door found wide open - reported to hotel - response well must have been the maid !!! Not impressed !!' No blankets in room - had thin sheet & top sheet - had to ask twice ! Kids frightened all night due to LACK of security and uninterested staff !!! Especially travelling alone with children !!! Breakfast done on the VERY cheap! Coffee machine rubbish, not fresh juice - breakfast choice poor ! Fruit looked battered an old black bananas ! Not impressed at all

    Clean hotel Nice lobby Bed comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Location was good (very near to Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore) – 5-8mins from the Termini.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel overall was fair with buffet breakfast (standard) - they purchase more teapots towards the end of our week (as we prefer tea in the mornings). Help yourself to hot water / coffee machine from 7 - 10am. Having said that, I was disappointed upon arrival, as I requested a top storey room (WITH balcony), but gather it had been given away when we arrived on a Friday evening, so waited until Sunday before moving rooms, but was then inadvertently given the wrong room (as I wanted twin beds), so packed and unpacked twice (!), as we were moved again to a twin bedded room (with balcony). Have to say the 'twin' bedded room was actually a double bed, with a single child's bed along one wall - we managed, as it was still preferable (for us) than a double bed. Otherwise, exhausted our holiday seeing the sights around Rome - which was excellent! Had a go at speaking a little Italian, which I think is appreciated – (if you're worried, lots of cafés/restaurants speak English though).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.8
    Its okay, its not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not what was expected. The bedding sheets and pillows werent good. The breakfast was bad !

    Its okay, its not bad. Its not what the pictures show u so expect a little worse. The good thing is its in the center of rome and is close to everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    4.6
    Very basic and terrible breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was basic. There was no fridge or tea and coffee making facilities which would be good for international travellers. The breakfast was awful. Very sweet and no ability to make toast. For the investment of a toaster for the breakfast room and a kettle in the rooms the hotel would certainly benefit.

    The location was good to get the hop on hop off bus and there was a supermarket in the corner

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.4
    Medium
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    same for breakfast every day (I stayed 4 nights) and food was medium quality. Not possible to male Coffee or tea anywhere in the hotel (no single kettle anywhere in the whole hotel, even in this small leisure lobby). Room (walls) need painting. Very very low pressure in the water installation hence taking shower was bad experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    No thrills good value we
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was actually given a room next door at hotel Montreal. The hotel is quite basic with thin mattress and pillow but fine nonetheless especially for the low price

    Well located less than ten minutes away from termini station - easy to take the train from the airport to termini and then walk a few minutes to the hotel. Cheap and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.3
    Tired but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt old and needed some updating. Electric sockets were covered with brown tape in the room. No hot water come the evening.

    Location was brilliant. Really close to the train station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    We would like to come again, definitely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We expected also vegetables on breakfast. Bed was very soft for us, but maybe it's usual in Italy.

    Hotel officers were very pleasant, kind and helpful. Hotel is really good located (just 5 minutes walk from Termini Station, 3 minutes walk from metro Vittorio Emanuele, 15 minutes walk to Colosseum) with many restaurants in neighborhood. Room was large and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.0
    Probably wouldn't recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was awful. We are not from Europe so are not used to eating sweet pastries for breakfast. The cereal was extremely sweet and there was no option to make toast. The room had no tea and coffee making facilities such as a kettle or cups. For an additional $20 euros this would be possible and make it much more comfortable for those travelling from UK, USA or Australia. I was asked to pay a tax in cash when we arrived. This was not included in the quote. Maybe dodgy but what can you do!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    A really bog standard, adequate place to sleep for cheap in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not that comfy, or modern, or particularly clean, it's just basic. Woman angrily shouting down the phone in the next room for an hour while I bang on the wall kind of place. Wife thinks she got bug bites. Get breakfast somewhere else.

    It's cheap. Really cheap. Perfect location near the Colosseum. If you're really not bothered about luxury and just want somewhere adequate to rest your head this is probably it, if you've stayed in cheap motels you already know the drill and what to expect, it's a small step up from that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Location fantastic, slightly tired hotel, but good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a cot provided, but it was really for a new born. Our 1 year old could easily climb out and it was a worry with the tiled floor below. She ended up sleeping in our bed with us. No child seats available in breakfast area, so our 1 year old sat on a normal chair (with us sat ready to grab her if she tried to move).

    Location is fantastic - right by the Colosseum and main train station. Friendly Staff. Good continental breakfast. Good sized rooms, but slightly tired 'look and feel' but authentic to Italy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location, trevi fountain, pantheon, Spanish steps and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea facilities in the room

    Great location, trevi fountain, pantheon, Spanish steps and colosseum are all in a 15-20min walk. Easy to get to using shuttle bus service to the Termini, (€9 return) which is cheaper than a taxi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    Got what we paid for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated services...poor wifi, bathroom (shower leaked all over floor under screen and head squirted everywhere), staff a little non plus, room was dull and bare more like a dormitory

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location 7 min from the train station, they are open...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It looks better on the pictures than in reality - it's quite an old hotel. I found the room much smaller than expected.

    Great location 7 min from the train station, they are open 24h and store the luggage:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee facility in room (kettle, tea ect)

    Great friendly Staff, good location near termini, balcony looking over maria maggiore church. Breakfast was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.8
    Great position Staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been much more comfortable,Shower not really clean Renovations stopped at reception which was lovely

    Generous with cereal croissants beverages

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.4
    Good location, OK breakfast. Amenities can be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Poor amenities. Ample scope to improve. - Triple room size is small compared to the price. - Wash basin was clogged. No response from hotel management even after complain.

    - Location. Close to the Metro and Bus terminus. - 30 mins from the Airport. - 20 mins walk to Colosseum, Trevi fountain. - Multiple eateries nearby. - Airport shuttle service is recommended (50 Euros one way). You can call the hotel and they will send the shuttle to receive you at the airport. - St.Maria basilica view from the balcony is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is really well positioned in the city;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds were really uncomfortable, so I could not sleep well. The breakfast is the same each and every day.

    The hotel is really well positioned in the city; near to the train station, close to the Santa Maria Maggiore and the sightseeing spots within 2-3 km-s. Like this, no need to take public transport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Not too impressed. Had better accomdation in some of the hostels I stayed in Europe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast, not too great a variety. And the Room wasn't what I expected - certainly NOT what it looked like in the pictures on the booking website. Also, upon arrival, bed was made and sheets looked clean, but there was a big stain on the sheet. Most disturbingly, I could have sworn there were bed bugs! I saw bugs or what appeared to be mites in the bed!! I was itchy and had a few bites on me!

    I thought the staff were quite good - friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.0
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic. Bathroom was very average & shower head didn't work properly. I wouldn't really want to stay here for more than one night... sorry.

    Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should improve the breakfast. At least warm egg, more healthy bread, add some vegetables or slice fruits and stop people from smoking at breakfast table.

    A small family hotel locates in an excellent area where you can find plenty of restaurants, great supermarket "Simply" and shops nearby. Walking distance from the main railways station, termini. Bus stop just right in front of the hotel. With all this conviniency you can surprisingly enjoy the quiet and calm from the street outside in the evening. Hotel breakfast is nothing you dream of then again all Italian hotels serve this kind of breakfast, as I heard. Hard-cooked cold egg, white bread, cooked ham and coffee from the modern coffeemaker which is almost undrinkable for me, take tea instate. The staff are very nice and helpful. Overall is a good hotel for its price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.8
    It is fine, utilitarian, clean, but neighborhood not the best, would look elsewhere next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You will not be wowed by any part of it. Strictly utilitarian place to stay. Some areas close to the Termini station are very nice, this area is really not. For that reason, I'd stay elsewhere next time. AC dripped into our room. From the damage to the laminate flooring, it was apparent the AC had dripped long term, and the water had run across the room. I would look elsewhere next time for sure

    This is truly handy to Roma Termini station, which also makes it handy to start your venture in Rome. Room was as expected, AC worked. It was a fine, utilitarian place to stay. They held our bags for the day when we checked out, and we felt comfortable allowing them to do so, and all went well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was broken-water was dripping out so we could only turn it on for short periods of time. Breakfast was a bit weak-every morning the same.

    Wonderful location, close to public transport and walking distance from all the major spots (approx. 25 mins to Colosseum, Roman Forum, Spanish steps). Beautiful view on the cathedral from the fourth floor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Quiet hotel. We would have had to do something about the air conditioner if we had stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was over 40 degrees in Rome during the day and around 34 degrees at night. This meant we needed to run the room's air conditioner through the night. The condensate from the air conditioner leaked into the room (Room 407) - drip, drip, drip, drip all night onto a steel radiator below!! Managed to quieten the noise by lining up a plant pot underneath.

    Clean room. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Convenient location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One of the biggest advantages of this hotel is its perfect location. It is situated in 6 min from train station which is also a crossing station for two tube lines. It was very easy to get from any place in Rome back to hotel. Colosseum is around 15 min by walk. The room had lots of space and was rather big for an Italian hotel. It was very clean, with big bed and working air conditioner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.8
    It was alright, location good for visiting landmarks but we were disappointed by the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were quite abrupt and not helpful when we were trying to book excursions/tickets to attractions. Wi-fi didn't work. Breakfast was poor and we felt rushed to leave at the end.

    Location was close to train station. Air conditioning worked. Quiet and sound-proofed room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    A very clean room, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a very rude lady who works on the breakfast shift, while i was eating my breakfast alone, she spoke and humilated me in front of the people( she humiliated me,cannot believe it). She said that i have to eat fast and move,using foul language because people are waiting, waiting for what??Mind it, there were a lot of empty tables around, I don't know..why couldn't i have my breakfast in peace , Can i sit wherever i please. Question now: why?? Am i not a paying customer, just like everyone else in the room why? WHY IS SHE EVEN TALKING TO ME, DO I KNOW HER??. SHE SHOULD NOT BE TALKING TO CUSTOMERS . HER JOB WAS TO SERVE BREAKFAST NOT DELEGATE THE TRAFFIC... UN UGLY EXPERIENCE AND I WOULDN'T BE RETURNING TO THIS HOTEL.

    A very clean room, good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay, I do recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cold refrigerated boiled eggs for breakfast. no option to get a fried or scrambled eggs.

    Cooperative staff, clean enough, quite, comfortable and spacious family room. nice breakfast lounge, access is good, you can walk to Roma Termini station and stop for City Sight Seeing buses.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.4
    Location was central to transport and shops
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property first room two people couldn't walk past each other at the same time but room was in better condition than the next. Asked to move rooms as had trouble with toilet flushing and was moved to a larger room with run down look terrible plumbing smell and toilet made gurgling noises on its own. Very disappointed with hotel. Was too hot and bothered too complain again just had to put up with it thank goodness was only for 2 nights, rooms did have aircon that worked. 2nd room tv didn't work because of this have decided to not travel to Venice or book through this site again. Shouldn't put these rooms on Internet as below standard better to stay at a hostel.😁😁

    Location was central to transport and shops

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    3.3
    Run away from this place and nevet look back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start 😡 Rude, aggressive staff who were rude and demeaning. Refused to honour booking made. Told us too bad. Moved us to a 1 star room with a jet engine aircon that often didn't work. A "room" with mould, dirt and dust. Bathroom covered in mould and filth. Even when asked to move due to the mould setting off my asthma was told "too bad, move out". So I did and was still expected to pay 3 star price for 1 star room! This establishment is appalling - run!!!!!!!

    Central location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.1
    A good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was dirty. Walls needed a fresh paint job. But a good value.

    Room was spacious. Close to subway and within walking distance of Colosseum. Plenty of hot water for showers. Air conditioner worked well. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location, good size rooms, but not very clean and awful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible breakfast. Rooms weren't clean. Had to argue with reception to get the rooms we'd booked. Fortunately I'd printed out the e-mail correspondence.

    Good coffee. Good size rooms, nice lobby, great location. Manager very helpful with getting us a taxi to our next stop.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Perfectly nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom facilities could have been slightly more modern and were a bit dated, but that's my only comment!

    The hotel was perfectly clean, and in a great location; just five minutes walk to Termini station which gives you easy access to the main tourist attractions by Metro, and the area surrounding the hotel has great restaurants and bars. There was so much choice! The staff were all incredibly helpful and accommodating, and spoke fantastic English. The room itself was clean, comfortable and great value for money. It was slightly dated in places like the bathroom, but was still very clean and perfectly pleasant. Breakfast went on until 10am which was welcome if you fancy a bit of a sleep in!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.0
    Terrible staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Terrible staff. The cold water to the shower wasn't working. I asked the 3 days to fix it, I needed to make a scene in order for them to lift a finger. Besides that the card to my room was never working, every day I was coming back to the hotel I had to ask them to reset the card.

    Close to the train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.5
    Probably wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner didn't work had to be moved to another room. The electrical outlet didn't work and it was fixed. The toilet leaked water the attendant was noticed but nothing was done. My daughters room smelled of sewage.

    The rooms are very big for a European hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.5
    It was good in terms of location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better and should have more selections. They could provide an oven toaster to heat the bread. The pillows should have been more fluffy. Hotel amenities should include toothbrush and maybe a bottle of water to welcome the guests.

    The hotel is near some of the tourist attractions and a short walk from the train station. The front desk staff are friendly to the guests and accommodated questions. There's also a grocery store around the corner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    3.8
    Not great - felt like student accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The bed clothing was not very clean. There were stains on the duvet cover 2. The room was very noisy. I had the sound of water all evening and didn't sleep very well 3. The breakfast didn't start until 7.30am which when you are a business traveller is too late in most cases. I had to leave the hotel at 6.30am and didn't even get to have a drink. 4. The bathroom smelt of mould

    the reception areas were clean and modern

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    3.8
    Awful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed for 4 nights. Could only have hot water available for a shower 1 night. When complaining to staff was told (3 days) that I would need to wait 30 minutes. Waited for 2 hours and there was no hot water. The response was always the same: problems to warm up water and technicians coming to fix it. It was a lie. On Sunday evening even worse: the rude receptionist said that I could have hot water in the morning. How can it be that I am paying for a hotel and don't have the right to have my shower when I decide????? I have traveled a lot in my life and NEVER faced a situation like this - no hot water during the evening. The worst was the lack of respect and appreciation for the guests. My mistake was not checking Trip Advisor before booking this horrible hotel. Many evaluations in Trip Advisor are about not sufficient and cold water in the room. The 2nd night that I could not have hot water I told the manager I was not going to pay the full amount for the room as I was supposed to pay. Yesterday when I checked out the manager charged less. It was an awful experience. From now onwards I will check the reviews on Trip Advisor before booking hotels.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Value for money location next to Termini
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities outdated One evening out of two there was no hot water for shower Breakfast just ok - could have more choices and coffee was not great

    Good location for sightseeing & traveling around with easy metro access Helpful staff Very clean Lots of good places to eat with close proximity

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Good location for main attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great area plus they have a sister hotel which I had and it's not so nice as the Hotel D,este

    Front staff were nice and good continental breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel at St Maria Maggiore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked the design of the hotel everywhere - at reception, at breakfast place outside and inside, in the corridors as well. The hotel is very close to the city tour bus stop and to the metro. The staff was very friendly and helpful :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    6.3
    Good for short stay without any expectation and travelling alone
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, breakfast can be better, there is not too much option. There was too much noise and there was no hot water in the bath. The hotel is good for a short stop between the journeys

    The location of the hotel is perfect and close to Termini station, good for one day and if you travel single. You can use this hotel only for sleeping

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    When paying cash, I gave money wrong in number (more EUR 50).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When paying cash, I gave money wrong in number (more EUR 50). But it was not returned by the receptionist. Unfortunately I just realized after I left Rome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Very clean comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selfish guests who didn't close lift door therefore it was stuck at the level so meant we had to climb four flights of stairs. This was not hotel fault but selfish guests

    Very clean comfy bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant value for money, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little uncomfortable, asked for an extra pillow for each bed but were unable to provide as hotel was full! Also asked for transfer from airport when we landed and no transfer was there, however we got a taxi from outside which was perfect and only cost €48

    Brilliant location, excellent value for money, very clean, friendly staff, hotel very quiet Hop on hop off bus only a few mins walk away,

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel d'Este traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: