Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel d’Inghilterra Roma – Starhotels Collezione 5 stars

Via Bocca Di Leone 14, Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy

#386 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 911 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All fine.

    Great location, in the heart of Rome shopping district. A maximum 10min walk to most Rome attractions. Great interior design of both the hotel and the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.8
    They charge me twice for the transportation back to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor air condision Breakfast offer 3-4 types of ham ??? no smoked salmon like other hotels

    They charge me twice for the transportation back to the airport,direcr deduction from my credit card ( I GOT A NOTICE FROM MY BANK TO MY PHONE),then charge me cash again on my check out ??? can not be coincidence.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Love this Hotel for location and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior room - there was no view.

    We have stayed several times at this Hotel. We keep coming back because it is really lovely and the location if perfect! The breakfast is really good and in the warm months, you can eat outside if you prefer. The rooms are spacious and clean and comfortable. Get a room with window overlooking the street if you can. There are interior rooms that have a small window that look out onto a small square - you are just a few feet away from another window. Not a huge problem but always nice to have something a view. We were only there one night this trip - if we were there longer, i would have requested a different room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.6
    Quaint hotel in lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service pasta and pizza were perhaps the worst I ever tasted. The front reception is a lovely old wooden structure that unfortunately is very sticky and dirty. Everything requires a spring clean.

    Location is excellent. Rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful lobby and lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were nice but not over the top for that price. Kinda plain Jane. Bathrooms were very nice looking though. Only one complimentary water at night for two guests. 500 euro a night should get you an extra bedside water.

    Beautiful lobby and lounge. Great location, just a few steps from the steps :) very nice breakfast in the morning, lots of selections. Réception was very helpful with printing plane tickets and getting us a taxi to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing and noisy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check-in was slow and took time. The room was EXTREMELY NOISY - we couldn't sleep well due to sounds of something banging outside our room every morning. The rooms weren't soundproof, again, we were very uncomfortable with the sounds of people in the hallway. I was extremely disappointed by this hotel, we stayed in 5 different hotels during this holiday and this was the worst. We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel, and only got a bottle of water on the 3rd night. Also, the room did not have a coffee machine, which was disappointing for a 5 star hotel.

    Location was perfect - centre of Rome, close to many attractions. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi could be a bit stronger as it would fade in certain spots in the hotel

    The staff is so professional, helpful and polite. The rooms are beautiful and the service is impeccable. The concierge helped arrange my dinners/lunches/tours. I was also pleasantly surprised with the restaurant, we had dinner there and it was great. They also cater to gluten free diets and are flexible to make things that aren’t on the menu.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location in Roma
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, fantastic location and great rooms. The staff was so helpful with suggestions for tour guides and dining. When I had a friend decide to join us at the last minute, the staff was so helpful in finding a solution for her accommodations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Would Come Next Time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little dirty and was too expensive.

    Had the perfect location, very easy to access a luxurious shopping center. Had the most comfortable bed ever, and the hotel offered loads of help and supplies! Staff were able to fix all of our problems, and were very polite and friendly. They had heaps of free goodies, like gummies, water, power adopters, etc. Definitely worth the visit and would recommend for others.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking fee, 60 euros per night (!) and the bathtub was a little dusty.

    Great facilities, mostly very clean, right next to a huge shopping center, friendly staff and has lots of free goodies, like gummys and water! Breakfast was also very delicious!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location and decoration with some cons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy rooms between 6-7 am lot of noise from little street while picking glass and garbage, standard rooms very small, ours had an unpleasant smell and noisy A/C, some stuff was not even smiling when we were referring to them. Receipted by photos showing dinner and cocktails at a veranda/roof garden. This option belongs only to some suites.

    Excellent location and beautiful decoration.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    Best location for an historic hotel with elegant decoration but some side effects as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked the hotel because of the photos showing a veranda / roof garden for drink/dinner. It was disappointing to find out that It is belongs to the suite. Our rooms on the second floor were very noisy between 6 am - 8 am because of picking garbage and glass. There was an unpleasant smell particularly in our room but they said no option to change room. Noisy A/C, Delayed service at breakfast.

    Beautiful colors on upholstery and walls - Comfortable beds - Great location - Nice buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    fabulous historical building with its five stars reputation in a very strategic location near spagna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    small room size. if you dont get the new and renovated room its even worse.

    of course its historical and lovely. staffs are very friendly as well. rooms are relatively small but its rome, no complaints. the building and its interior itself is very old and kind of vintage look everywhere.. pleasant breakfast with lovely place.. its our second time to stay here and location couldnt be better. the best location near the shopping area in spagna. they have their own garage and though its costly but you can easily bring your own car and let them taken care of it.. and if you shop a lot, all the shop will deliver your stuff to the hotel for free, easy peasy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommend a stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was a little small, although well equipped.

    This historic hotel is in an excellent location, just steps from the Via Condotti near the Spanish Steps. Beautiful spacious room, furnished with antiques, great front desk staff and concierge, and an excellent restaurant on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.6
    only location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    — narrow passage way from entrance to elevator — very small beds more likely for kids size — poor breakfast collection — uncooperative receptionist — dum room walls color — to order room service after 10:30 pm there is only 4 orders to choose from !!

    only location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.3
    excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    worst concierge i have ever met,very rude.dose not care he is feeling that he is doing a favor for the client and he is always busy and have no time to answer the clients request .very poor breakfast despite it is not cheap

    excellent location very special thanks to the reception staff specially Mrs saskia they are very helpful and highly qualified ..very poor breakfast ..but in general ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    4.6
    unpleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no airconditioning in the room outside the summer months.It was very hot in the room on April 15. It was impossible to open the windows because of the loud noise of the heating system nearby. We could not sleep all night. A 5 star hotel should offer airconditioning when it is hot outside of the summer months. We got a 10% reduction on the room rate for not being able to sleep all night. This is a joke! The hotel also blocks 2 x the amount of your room rate on your credit card, when you check-in. They don't tell you this at check-in. When you check out, they charge your card again, without using the previously blocked amount to offset charges on your bill. When you discover this and call them to unblock this amount, they deny that they do this. When you send them a photo of your electronic bankstatement as proof, they keep on denying it and for the rest it all depends on the bank. (if you are lucky it's unblocked in 12 days, but it can also take 30 days).... in other words: ITS YOUR PROBLEM Great history but definitely not a 5 star hotel anymore.....

    The concierge was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Next to Napoli‘s Vesuvio and Capri‘s Quisisana my absolutly favourite hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my 6th stay during the last 3 years in this perfectly situated hotel and it‘s always a great pleasure for me and my family to be there. The stuff couldn‘t be more helpful, friendly and correct. The rooms have a wonderful charme like the whole albergo. Breakfast is superb, also the traditional dishes like Cacio e pepe o Amatriciana Pasta ( my wife loves the Nizzarda Salad over all).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has many types of rooms, some are renovated and some not. Through booking.com it was impossible to choose a renovated one and we were unlucky ti be on a floor that was not renovated. Too much noise throught the day in the corridor of our floor from housekeepers and guests made it impossible to rest during the day.

    Location perfect, staff very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel and very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds should be separate and with space in between them and not side by side. Wardrobe was dark we couldn’t see inside. Wifi had to login everytime we paused the iphone

    Breakfast and the hotel is luxurious and well located

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Absolutely we will back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested early check in but not given by reception otherwise the hotel is not too crowded.

    Small hotel but nice and location very strategic for shopping and looking around

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Best location for Rome! Great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe 2 bottles of natural water per room at night instead of one sparking.

    Very nice staff, asked for a birthday surprise for my husband and they made it perfect! Amazing cake! Lovely balloons, delivered on time, perfect! Very good breakfast for Italy :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.7
    Many years before it was probably a great hotel with perfect location, but not more than 3 stars now
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel extremely requires renovation, complete renovation. Everything (walls, furniture, appliances) is very old and used. We asked for a quite room, but first two nights were a nightmare, we woke up around 6 am as the garbage is collected on the streets just under the windows, the process is extremely noisy. After that, around 7:30 construction works started at the ground floor just under our room, making impossible to sleep. We complaint and moved to the 6th floor to the room with the windows facing the inner yard, finally it was quite. I am surprised that nobody at the reception desk was aware (or may be not) about the construction works taking place at the building before we complaint!? It was double strange taking into account our request to get a quite room. Photos on the web are brilliant, photographer perfectly knows his job, but unfortunately they hardly meet the reality or were made many many years ago.

    Location is perfect. Stuff is welcoming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel needs a make over. Rooms were uncomfortably warm. I had four rooms booked on the first floor, all of them too close to the street and very noisy and all off them had temperature problems. I did get change to a better room on the 5th floor after the second night after I complained.

    Location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities did not support the size of the hotel. Breakfast was a 'bun fight', we had to queue on the first day and they ran out of some food. The bar was tiny and we were a party of 10 and pretty much took over - drinks were astronomically expensive and we returned from our meal out, we were told the bar was closed!

    The location was amazing and the hotel beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    A lovely stay, but dissapoining overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast staff were rude and actually didn't speak to us. We were never told where the buffet was. The room was smaller than expected and was not value for money. The hotel needs a total refresh, although it is full of character. The carpet in our room was ridiculously hard, like sand paper. The wardrobe door fell of during stay. We had a turn down service on 2 of the 3 nights, they forgot on the last night. (not so important).

    The breakfast selection was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Elegant old world charm and comforts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is only one tiny elevator and at checkout time it is in high demand. I had to walk my suitcase down three flights of stairs after waiting for more than 15 mins to no avail to get the lift. I don't think they can add another elevator, but perhaps they could promote porter services to alleviate the stress at checkout time.

    The hotel is glamorous and cozy in the old fashioned sense. It's true to the inspiration of the name and the guests of long ago - English poets and writers. The staff is exceptionally professional, the rooms were spotless and elegant. We had two separate rooms and per our reservation request, they were located adjacent to each other. I was upgraded to a junior suite, which I never asked for and it was an incredible and much appreciated treat. Wifi was a bit sketchy at first, but it seemed to be an Apple problem, not the hotel, once they showed me the "trick" to keep it going it was perfect. The little bar was delightful and the breakfast buffet was filled with variety for anyone's tastes. The concierge directed us to a wonderful neighborhood restaurant, Babette (see separate review) and the front desk team gave us guidance for shopping in the area (shoes!!!). They offered a lovely welcome treat, coffee/tea service in the room, and a free Handy phone, which we did not need, but what a terrific idea! The location is wonderful, so many sights within easy walking distance. We were sad to have only one night in the hotel, looking forward to staying there again the next time I am in Roma.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Friendly personnel, tried to accommodate every need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast place is very small, people were queuing for breakfast. Breakfast selection is very limited. House-keeping not up to standard, especially in bathroom.

    Friendly personnel, tried to accommodate every need. Location is unbeatable. Nice Christmas decoration.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small....too small ! The bedroom itself was also too small. There was mention of tea making facilities in room but sadly there were none.

    Breakfast was adequate but the actual breakfast room was again very small, when sat at your table you could actually be sat with the next table you were that close.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Perfect place to end our Italy vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful large rooms! We were greeted by friendly staff. Old world charm. Location was in the center of the shopping district and walking distance to sights. We spent our last night in Rome here -- after many days of traveling around Italy. The beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, great location but the rooms are just too smalll to justify the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and the bathroom was tiny. There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room either and we had paid for a premium room with a view.

    Location is excellent for both shopping and accessing the various tourist sites. Staff were great, as was the breakfast and general feel of the hotel. The beds and pillows were very comfy. Get a taxi from the airport as this was the easiest route and the train/bus option was not much cheaper. The train station is too far to walk with luggage and quite hilly with cobbled streets.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Superb atmosphere in the heart of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast room is too small to accomodate all the guests.

    Excellent position in the heart of Rome, just a few minutes from the famous Piazza di Spagna. Superb atmosphere, cozy and elegant with a hint of old-style luxury which is the extra bonus of this hotel compared to other 5-stars.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    6.7
    Nice but not as nice as i had envisaged
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got given a room at first floor, very hot, unbelivably hot despite i closed the heating and vey noisy due to fact shops under the window open at 5am for cleaning and fixing vitrine. Not good considering what i paid

    Position and staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    A perfect romantic long weekend in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every morning at 7 there is a terrible noise in the street made by the trash transporters.

    Perfect location in Rome. Everything worth seeing is within walking distance. Lovely staff and one of the two hotels with the best scrambled eggs in the world.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.2
    You stay in the heart of the city. Easy to walk everywhere. Perfect location with a friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Carpet needed to be washed.

    Location and location. Definitly will stay in this hotel again. Fast reception, friendly and wise concierge, excellent breakfast, clean bathroom. Having TV in the bathroom mirror was fantastic! While you get ready in the bathroom, you can watch all the news channels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    top location for shopping !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    internet connection was rather poor and the breakfast room small

    the strongest advantage of this hotel is its location ! right at the heart of the centre of Rome offers to the visitor , particularly if the reason of the visit is leisure , the ideal place to stay !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as there is no way you can eat something in the neighborhood after midnight, it would be nice to be able to have a small bite with you friends in the bar. The staff arranged for us to have a pizza in the lounge room and it was highly appreciated, but wouldn't it be better if something like that is a standard service?

    very friendly staff. perfect location, and a luxurious nostalgic atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful hotel but lack of cleanliness!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No one clean our room unless we call. We did it every afternoon! We need to ask for bath amenities, because obviously when we checked in, the housekeeping did not fill it in. They do not clean up the floor at all. The terrace is nice but the furniture are all dirty. Very poor housekeeping service.

    Winning location. Good restaurant. Friendly reception/concierge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Still, after 40 years since my first stay, my favourite Rome hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi

    Great Bed - Penthouse Suite excellent - children's room (Superior Double) rather small. Wifi very poor and irritating with constant log on requirements. Staff very helpful and friendly, wonderful little bar !

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location,but a bit too old
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please if someone doesn't use his cup after breakfast,your staff still need to prepare a new cup for next customer instead of using the previous one even if it seems clean. It is disgusting.

    Nice location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    excellent location very central for tourists , charming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent location very central for tourists , charming street and charming hotel just make sure you not on the end floor as the rooms are not renovated on that end floor .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Warm welcome, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast a little cramped

    Excellent reception staff. Lovely welcome to the room. Little extras like chocolates and a smart phone you cantankerous around with you for your stay with endless EU calls and google maps!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    The room was not the same from pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not the same from pictures... I stayed in a very old floor of the hotel.. Air conditioning in the room was very poor! Great balcony and the staff was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not comfortable and it does not have a place to sit and relax outside to read other than the street cafe. The potpourri smell in the lobby and restaurant were way too strong. Way too many beggars on the street while dining. It would be helpful if staff could help keep them away so you can enjoy your meal without interruption.

    Breakfast was great and the staff wonderful! Our luggage was lost and the staff were diligent on working to get us our bags! Excellent location for shopping and sightseeing. Restaurant was excellent for dinners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    A homey yet luxurious stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the breakfast area is a bit squeezed - some rooms at the end of the corridor are very noisy, due to street activities

    - The location is just the best - The building, and decoration is authentic and comfortable - The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and very well decorated - The service is outstanding - The advice on restaurants is perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Location is Excellent- Would return to this Hotel. Just don't allow Staff to refer outside services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was dishonest in their recommendations. Do not ask the front desk to make tour recommendations or limo reservations to the port. They must get a cut or a referral fee. For example- Limo for 4 people -8 bags to the port was quoted as $270 Euros and outside limo companies delivered us to the port for $130 Euros. Tour was suggested - private person at $70 per hour, plus taxi cost and entrance fees. The hotel charged more for entrance fees than actual cost and the organization was not acceptable for us, and we cancelled mid tour as we would need a taxi from 1 place to another, instead a planned driver for the entire tour.

    Amazing location for a shopaholic like myself. Our friends were jealous as they stayed closer to the Vatican. Walking distance to the Spanish Steps. Our room was cute, but small. (typical for Italy). Very clean. Restaurant on site was good. Prices were fair for the room and location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    This was such a great hotel. I am already recommending it to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were a little small - I use a mobility scooter.

    The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. I needed a walk in shower and we were upgraded to a suitable room at no extra charge. Very good Aircon in the Rome heat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi connection is unacceptable! It's like you don't have any... The hotel is extremely old, it really needs some urgent renovation. No coffee machine in the rooms.

    The location is excellent. The hotel has a Relais & Châteaux charm, with a warm and welcoming ambiance. The rooms are small but clean. Beds and pillows are comfortable. We had a connecting family room, which was good for us (2 adults and 2 kids). We also had another room with a small but nice balcony. Breakfast is fair enough. The staff in super nice, friendly and helpful. We had a problem, a stolen passport (the bag was stolen while we were having breakfast in the outdoor space of the hotel, but surely not their fault), and they did their best to help us deal with it. It's not common to have such a good staff in 5 stars hotel! Thank you all...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Take your own towels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They have huge problems with housekeeping. I had to go to the front desk, two days in a roll, to ask for bath towels, for example.

    The best location in Rome. Great restaurant, very cozy decoration and kind front desk.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front staff was efficient but not particularly friendly or helpful - disappointing for a hotel in this price range.

    Breakfast buffet was generous and delicious. Our room was a comfortable size. Our bathroom was very big.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Location and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one criticism is that the shower design meant the water flowed onto the bathroom floor!

    Great location, comfortable bed and pillows. Friendly and helpful staff and good bar for a night cap. Common areas although small are very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Best location in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service is not that good. It is look like 4 star hotel. Most of staff don't speak English, no complementry water or coffe.

    It is old building make you feel the real Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.6
    This is the hotel where we got married.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the hotel where we got married. All of our guests (over 50 people) stayed at this hotel. We had a party for our guests one night at the suite upstairs. Unfortunately the hotel has not done any renovations since then. Moreover, they knew that we were coming and given the history I thought we would get an upgrade. This time our room was old , dark and sheets were horrible (scratchy). We will not be coming back

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Old style charm and tradition in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the rooftop for evening drinks would have been lovely .

    The style , comfort and location of the hotel and very helpful staff - general attention to detail .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.8
    Pass your way if you have a car, it will ruin your experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location difficult to fing, GPS getting lost in this small pedestraian streets of the center of Roma. Valet parking is available but 60 euros... We choose this hotel because of the beautiful roof terrace advertised however this was not accessible, as it was part of the suite of the hotel.... At the end very expensive for what it is ...

    The location is nice if you arrive by Taxi. It is an headache if you arrive by car. The staff was attentionate and nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Great service, no rooftop deck
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their web site and all the pics show a rooftop deck. This was important to is. They didn't have one. This was disappointing.

    Service was amazing. Location was unbeatable. Service was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent service but pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom lighting was inadequate. Bath was too narrow. Wifi was intermittent - not good enough :(

    Helpful and friendly reception; the bed; the bedroom decor; the shared lounge areas; the location near Spanish steps.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chandeliers in room broken, bath water cold and part of bath broken - told reception nothing done - bar too small and restaurant tables to close together

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room is too dark. We are very disappointed with the bathroom. The drainage is not good and cannot adjust the water temperature!

    The location is great. The staffs are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.3
    Hotel room very dark and gloomy but with good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The overall lighting for rooms are dark and not enough lamp or lighting in the room. Some room are still under internal renovation and not in good condition still sell to customer.

    Air Con was broken at the first room the change another room with noisy ventilation sound in the bath room and not sufficient lighting in the rooms for the first night. Cann't sleep for whole night. Next morning request for changing room again. Finally, given a room on the higher floor with good sun light. Breakfast not fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    Concierge was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Connecting Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was exactly the same everyday, no variety and not enough hot food. Shower was broken. Toilet was small. Tables in room wasn't clean well, very dusty.

    Concierge was excellent. Location was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    8.3
    Location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I expected a larger room though the terrace made up for the dismal colour. Also it was smaller than the photo attached to the booking confirmation.

    I liked the service, staff were friendly, polite and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was beautiful and the staff amazing especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our stay it was maintenance is going on and we could not had enough sleep

    The hotel was beautiful and the staff amazing especially Teodora which help us to see most of the important things lead us to best restaurants and makes our stay easy and most comfortable Teodora is an example of excellent hotel staff we wish her all the best

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    8.3
    A interesting experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bath room: is little- but it probably depends from the old structure - the light was too low and there is not a courtesy mirror.

    Excellent breakfast and location. Old hotel restructured and you have suggestions of old times lived in this hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.2
    I would love to visit this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general, there wasn't anything that I didn't like.

    I liked the location and the facilities. The staff was friendly and the service was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    7.9
    A good address to stay in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy, the window was not enough to isolate the noise of the garbage truck every night. The service at breakfast was pretty bad, we arrived twenty minutes before the limit time and the staff was already cleaning every thing and showing signs of bad humour and unpolite behaviour, it was embarrassing. And last but not least the drain of the shower in the bathroom was clogged, so we had a little flood in the first morning...

    Excellent location and very efficient manager, Mr. Massimo Colli.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    4.2
    My burberry scarve stolen from my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My burberry scarve stolen from my room.. I told this to hotel and they said maybe it confused with laundry they called there but couldnt find and it was inside of my luggage ı am sure that ı put there ... İt was an horrible experience for a hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    8.8
    Almost as good as it looks, go for it ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not quite as large as seemed to appear on the pictures; great small terrace was littered with cigarettes.

    Great location and super friendly staff. Truly excellent bed and very nice views on the city from the terrace.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    8.8
    Best location for shoppers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room is very small and as a lactose intolerant it was extremely poor.

    Location is unbeatable; without this location it will be a nice normal hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    10
    We loved our stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet was not working properly

    We loved our stay It was very close to Spanish stairs and all other monuments, the staff was very helpfull, we really enjoyed the stay Xenia - the receptionist - was especially very nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.3
    Great hotel in superb location. Bit tatty round the edges, and in need of refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower a bit of an ordeal - lack of control over temperature. Bedroom lighting similar. Otherwise sleeping arrangements very good.

    Location is the key. Beautiful hotel, some rooms in need of a little refurbishment. Bed very comfortable, but a trifle "sweaty". Staff excellent. Breakfast very good. Internal decor generally stunning.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    10
    This hotel is in the perfect location and has a fantastic restaurant and bar and elegant furnishings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed felt like it had a steel rod across it. No too comfortable.

    Fantastic restaurant. I ate there almost every night for a week. Much better than others that were highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed AND pillows were among the worst I've ever experienced (bed was hard and pillows were no support - I did not sleep well and woke up with neck and shoulder pains). Waited 20 minutes for a table at breakfast; when we were seated, they stopped serving/replenishing and actually started packing up the buffet. I understand breakfast ends at a certain time, but if your guests cannot be seated during that time: Is there no exception to be made?

    Location. Location. Location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    You can do much worse fora little less in price.-- we did on pre cruise stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was both expensive and not up to standards in terms of good food.

    From doorman to bellman to front desk to maids and restaurant staff the quality was first rate in terms of helpfulness. Location can't be bet for shopping and sightseeing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.9
    unbeatable location, friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    quaint rooms, terrible wifi service for such an exclusive hotel. You can feel that it needs a strong whiff of renovation.

    unbeatable location, friendly service

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel d’Inghilterra Roma – Starhotels Collezione traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: