Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Decumani Hotel De Charme 4 stars

Via San Giovanni Maggiore Pignatelli 15, Naples Historical Centre, 80134 Naples, Italy

#75 of 162 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1787 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    Ultimate choice to explore real Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was a bit noisy (even in the late night and early morning).

    Stylish furniture and decorations inside room and corridors as well as perfect location in the heart of the city. Tasty breakfast with wide variety of meals.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    3.8
    Question why you are staying in Naples in the first place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Question why you are staying in Naples in the first place. Dirty, manic city to be avoided at all costs. Hotel was adequate but with noise in the backstreet in which the hotel is situated guarantees no sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyable and I would recommend the Decumani Hotel to anyone wishing to visit Naples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had minor comments to make such as there were not enough coat hangers in our wardrobe and a chest of drawers would have been an advantage. Again only a wish that there had been tomatoes offered with the breakfast buffet and tea and coffee making facility in the bedroom.

    We liked the quaintness of the property especially the “breakfast room”. Also the breakfast buffet was very good indeed. The beds comfortable and our room for 3 was very spacious. Ample towels and toiletries. I must say the cappuccino was the best we had during our one week stay in Italy! Also the location was perfect especially as we were on foot and were able to walk to many of the sites we wished to visit

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Was great once settled in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had difficulty finding the hotel when taxi dropped at end of street and dodgy old local tried to send us in wrong direction. 1st time in Europe so old narrow streets a new experience.

    The breakfast hall and outside deck were awesome but would not have known they were there if we had skipped breakfast, young lady on that morning was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    2.9
    Don’t use this hotel. Pictures are not accurate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures DO NOT represent this hotel accurately. This is not a walkable area. Taxis are overpriced. Staff overcharges and is rude. Air conditioning in room did not work and staff ignored until we decided to leave early. They made no attempt to make the situation right.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    3.0
    Image of hotel was over inflated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Image of hotel was over inflated.Bad location. Taxis could not find the place. We had to find the location ourselves several time..check this off your list..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Great choice for central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning for each room controlled from main desk, which makes it difficult to set / re-set to choice. However, an annoyance only.

    Helpful staff and central location. Wonderful breakfast room and wide choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice clean rooms, great breakfast in a beautiful historic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside hotel a lot of graffiti in streets

    Nice clean rooms, great breakfast in a beautiful historic hall/room, friendly informative staff at front desk which is manned 24/7. Hotel in historic city centre. A lot of cafes restaurants 100 Mtrs away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    The staff were kind, the hotel is in the historic center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needed a refresh, when you take a shower, the floor is totaly wet. The breakfast was not so good as expected, it was really simple for a 4 stars hotel.

    The staff were kind, the hotel is in the historic center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great - no complaints

    The hotel is in a completely charming location with many important sights nearby with terrific restaurants and bars as well. The accommodations are comfortable and clean. The staff are amazing, friendly, helpful, make great recommendations for food and sights. The breakfast is incomparable. Food delicious and beautifully presented in a glorious room. A great find in Naples!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    hidden elegance, wonderful area, delicious breakfast, a fabulous place to stay we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms are great but could use a bit of a face lift - however we loved them - huge and spacious and a/c much appreciated

    extraordinary breakfast in the most beautiful room, a listed building which is in 'secrets of naples'. wonderful staff and gentle neapolitan music, the most exquisite pastries, cheeses, ricotta, provola, mortadella, homemade preserves, coffee, etc. a huge pleasure aesthetically and for the palate as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Naples City Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike here.

    Staff were very good. Even those that dtruggled a bit with English were very happy and helpful. The room was great and comfortable. Spacious and airy well appointed. Location was fantastic.Walked everywhere. Used metro once. We only stayed 1 night. Tried to rebook an extra 3 nights but booked out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Very good staffs, kind, enthusiastic and warm-hearted.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surroundings are terrible. Ugly paintings are everywhere. There’s a pub below the window,so noisy. The facilities are old.

    Very good staffs, kind, enthusiastic and warm-hearted. The restaurant around the corner is perfect. The pizzas there are the most delicious in the journey. The breakfast room and the decorations are beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was great and the restauration of the building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room on floor 1 was quite dark, I would assume the ones in floor 2 are much nicer since those are the historical ones. Also, the walls were strangely dirty.

    The breakfast was great and the restauration of the building quite impressive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room underneath the kitchen so at 3am the room shook when the I assume the bottle washing machines and laundry was being done. Room was dark and bathroom walls were quite mouldy. Breakfast was explained on arrival at 7am but was actually 7.30am so we left with no breakfast.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.9
    A lovely place to stay with easy access to everything uou’d want to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from the local neighbourhood bars. Air conditioning might have been more robust because Naples is very hot in Summer.

    The hotel was one storey of a palazzo which was designed stylishly. The breakfast room was a big hall with extravagant decor. There was a lovely outside area to rest. Great location for the port, old town and access to the cities’ sights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    I would be happy to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking, while available, did take a bit of an effort to find and then to get baggage to the hotel (perhaps 100 yards away). But the hotel did provide assistance.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    pleasant for a 2 day stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly helpful staff - interesting part of Naples to stay with several small restaurants nearby to walk to + ferries not too far to walk except in extreme heat! Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, lovely dining area. Naples itself did not have a great deal to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room layout meant that the windows were limited and needed the lights on during the day

    Location was good relative to being close to different areas (10mins walk to anywhere around the hotel to either old town of main high street) just Naples itself was not great and would not revisit this location for the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in historical center that is quite dirty and far from main sights. In addition, it is better come without a car as streets are extremes narrow.

    Very friendly and helpful staff! They provided good recommendations, were ready to assist with all issues! The hotel was also clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.3
    Nightmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it!!!! Feel deceived by the false advertising. Don’t stay here

    Not much! This is not a 4 star hotel. In fact it’s all false advertising and I would want a refund if I could. First we requested 2 rooms near each other. They put us on the second floor and my kids in the first floor.??? The location is in a graffiti riddled alley that smells like urine. It’s behind the Univeristy and we returned each night to find many college students drinking out front of hotel door. The rooms look nothing like the website shows but in fact look like a prison cells. The bathroom had no water pressure and the shower head was miniature. Impossible to take a normal shower. The beautiful photo of the dining room left out the water and mold stains everywhere. We had a balcony that had a sign that read “ don’t use balcony , falling rocks. Seriously grumpy staff. Booking.com should take this off there website. Feel ripped off. No one looked happy at this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Close to the port, was a clean hotel, room was spacious, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s in the old part of the town so it feels like you are in the Bronx, the rooms are very old fashioned and feels a bit dark

    Close to the port, was a clean hotel, room was spacious, the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Fabulous stay in a magnificent city. Super well located!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff.

    The hotel is a little jewell in the heart of the centro histórico! The staff at the reception was a little rough and I think overworked ... the staff in the rest of the hotel were great. Like Viviana at the breakfast Hall which is impressive by the way! They are in reparation, but the hotel offers a great experience to stay in a palazzo owned by an archbishop of Napoli.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a lovely part of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a lovely part of the city. The breakfast room is a sight to behold. Stunning. Food was very good. Would highly recommend. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great old building, in a good position to visit the main museum and the old city. Close walking distance to the main sights. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Small friendly hotel in great location with excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked 2 standard rooms one of which was fine - but the other was very small and cramped but the hotel was full and they couldn't move us.

    Very good location - near to lovely restaurants and cafes . Sights of old city all walkable. Breakfast room is as lovely as portrayed in the photos. Breakfast itself is very, very good and staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Stay right in the centre of Napels: chaotic, charming, run-down and totally addictive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not turn off our air conditioning and the shower drain was very very slow.

    Decumani's location is great, in the heart of the historic centre. Lots of Napels' attractions are in easy walking distance. The street is very narrow and run-down, as is the hotel on the outside. Once you are inside, a completely different world opens up, full of charm and surprise. The room was clean and quite spacious and remarkable little noise from the busy outside area could be heard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.4
    Ok , but could be better value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet strange design , cheap shampoo for 4 star hotel , no complementary water or tea making facilities , balcony outside was dirty, shower door fell off

    Good air conditioning , bed was comfy , the douche

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    I won't be going back
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom smelled of sewage, no water pressure in the shower, night staff said they didn't have a toothbrush kit!! After we complained, nothing was done to rectify it and no discount was offered.

    Nice property

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    The room was unbelievable noisy and the bathroom was small and in poor conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was facing the street so it was UNBELIEVABLE noisy. The hotel was fully booked so the staff couldn’t change the room. Also te Bathroom was very small and the shower did not have enough water pressure. The toilet was running water all not long so this was also an inconvenience. For the price this hotel is not a good value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    The Decumani Hotel de Charme is a pefectly located hotel in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Decumani Hotel de Charme is a pefectly located hotel in the old quarter in Naples, an easy walk from all important sights. The staff of the hotel were always friendly and helpful. The grand palacial dining room where breakfast is served daily is breathtaking!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel in a beautiful historic building perfectly located in the midst of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure. The coffee at breakfast was really really bad! Which shouldn’t happen in Italy. It tasted like bad instant coffee...

    The historic building is gorgeous... The old painted ceiling beams in our room were beautiful ... the dining hall was jaw-dropping. Old Naples was literally at our door-step.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.6
    For a four-star accommodation, the room was a major...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a four-star accommodation, the room was a major disappointment. No decor, little in the way of seating, and the shower closet and toilet were in serious need of repair.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Location excellent but would not return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to climb up narrow stairs to gain access to bed and bathroom once entering the room, very dark room. No hot water one morning. Drains in toilet needed cleaned terrible smell.location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful reformed palace in central Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast supply was low and rarely topped up. The breakfast manager was very stressed and appeared rude, even though there were hardly any customers.

    The reception staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location; an oasis of calm in the midst of old Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Being English we would have loved a bath, but showers seem to be the norm. Again, we would have loved tea and coffee making facilities in the room (but when requested it was provided at no cost). Quite difficult to find in the tiny backstreets of Naples.

    Excellent breakfast in an impressive old salon. It turns out that the hotel is an old palazzo, but with all mod cons. Staff very helpful. Although the old part of Naples is a bit forbidding at first (graffiti, crazy traffic etc.) it really is the best place to stay, surrounded by fine architectural monuments and by the ambience of the old town. We didn't find any pickpockets and indeed the police were visibly present in several locations. Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was without window, just doors to small balcony and in front other room. Dark room. Would be nice to get this info in advance. During booking procces I saw diferent rooms.

    Location, staff, service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    We would probably stay again because of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Our room was very small. We were not able to control the air in the room but had to call down to reception to have them control the temperature

    There were many choices on the breakfast buffet and the fruit and bread was very fresh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    2.9
    Terrible, frightening, very, very dissatisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No glasses, 2 plastic throw away cups in bathroom. Only 2pillows. Bed very hard. No blankets. No information in room, all instructions verbal on arrival (can't remember when tired). Reception on arrival poor, 4 men at reception, one leaning with elbows on counter, all staining at me. Mini bar only 1 1/2 bottle sparkling wine ( did have one beer and soft drink). No room service except for breakfast. No tea or coffee facilities. Very hard to find. Whole atmosphere very frightening for lone women. If I hadn't arranged for car to pick up next morning, I would have left immediately. So afraid stayed in room (no food) from arrival at 13:00 till next morning.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Stunning, location off Spacanapoli.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Comfort Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too hard. Need mattress toppers , extra pillows and blankets as it has such a high ceilings. If they improved the comfort I would definitely stay again.

    Breakfast was superb and the room cleaned thoroughly. Room was very quiet and the hotel generally had some beautiful rooms . Central location is a huge bonus. Try to ignore the reviews talking about the street - it's Naples - there's going to be graffiti. It's in the university quarter so lovely atmosphere. Really sweet staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Impressive renovation in historical area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Comfort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar and outside roof terrace not open.

    Great location in Centro Storico.we stayed in a very comfortable room in this lovingly restored historical palazzo.Impessive breakfast room serving more than adequate breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isn't far from a university so it was a little noisey at night time but nothing too loud

    The staff are very helpful and the hotel is in the centre. I would certainly stay again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel in the heart of the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast often ran out of various items and the staff were slow to replenish them meaning that we often missed out on certain parts of breakfast. We also felt that it would not have been a problem for them to offer a hot drink when seating you, rather that having to try and get a member of staff's attention. The TV only had sky news and an English speaking German news channel, we felt the hotel could have paid extra to get some UK entertainment channels for the TV, as we do like to watch TV before bed. The room is not sound proof as advertised on the website.

    The reception area was very modern and the staff spoke good English, the reception staff were very helpful. Upon arrival we were shown to the wrong standard of room, we had paid for a superior room but were given a standard room, this was resolved very quickly and without any hassle.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast room is just beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is okay but not what is expected at a 4 star hotel and only starts at 7.30 so had to rush through breakfast to make tour meeting points on time.

    The breakfast room is just beautiful. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is very helpful and friendly. It is in na excellent location situated 200-300m from the scapannapoli street and historical centre. Very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    It was a lovely stay, even given the temperature difficulty we had in the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was too warm and reception seemed to have some difficulty controlling that, even given their best effort!

    Great location! Helpful and courteous staff! Lovely breakfast room!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    Not too bad but a bi disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle was very small and there was very weak water pressure, also the water temperature kept changing. There are no coffee making facilities in the room or anywhere else in the hotel ( only at breakfast).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    The home made marmalade made from Sorrento lemons was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath was not cleaned out.

    The home made marmalade made from Sorrento lemons was outstanding. They should have jars for sale. Included in the daily price, they should include a kettle/tea bags etc in each room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    nice hotel, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower is a bit small. no cafe or tea in the room.

    .The place is clean and lovely in a perfect location. breakfast is very nice in a beautiful hall. short ride from the airport. walking distance almost everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    The high rating for this hotel is misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hard to find entrance is on a very narrow street causing our taxi to drop us off a few blocks away and our private car to pick us up a couple of blocks away. The property itself, while clean and modern, had no privacy whatsoever due to the paper thin walls. We could hear every conversation in the hallway and the rooms surrounding ours. It is not a family friendly hotel because you can hear every single sound made by small children making most guests resent their presence. It is also not a romantic hotel due to the lack of privacy. We stayed here during the off season and can’t imagine how loud it would be during the busy months. There was a very small balcony that overlooked the street that was shared by the neighboring room with each room accessing it through a glass door that had a view straight into the other room. That was the only window in the room and a bed was placed directly in front of the door so you could choose between privacy and daylight. The shower stall was maybe two feet wide by four feet long making it next to impossible to shower comfortably since the shower head was located in the middle giving you no space to move around. Also check your bill when you check out. We were mistakenly charged for two nights instead of one and when I asked what the extra fee was I was told that it was the city tax. Only upon further questioning did they actually look at my bill and notice that I was mischarged and remove the extra night.

    Despite my complaints there are positives at this property. The hotel itself is beautifully shabby. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is walking distance to many of Napoli’s historic and tourist sights and many amazing cheap eats are nearby. We had delicious pizza and desserts from nearby shops for 1.5€.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Good quality stay. Very good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning difficult to switch off. A little noise on one of the nights from the streets because the hotel is in an area with bars and restaurants etc. There is only 1 lift, no stairs access from the main entrance. At peak times (check-in / check-out) you can wait quite a while for the lift or you have to ask the reception to open an external door to the building to go by stairs...

    Kind staff, amazing breakfast room. Decent price for a 4 star. Standard rooms with enough space

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay; would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The jacuzzi didn't work.

    The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast has a wide selection of tasty foods and breakfast beverages - so we were really spoilt for choice. Only down side to stay was that the jacuzzi didnt work and the bath didn't hold water. Very clean and centrally located. Would stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Great stay in Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not up to the quality of a 4 star hotel. Our room overlooked a quiet street apart from Wed to Sat nights when there was a lot of noise from the local bar until late.

    Absolutely beautiful breakfast room and a good buffet breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff. Very good location, close to everywhere we wished to visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    6.3
    Friendly staff and decent breakfast in an impressively...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was 'tired' with almost no natural light. Heat/air had to be set at reception?? It was never what we asked for. Guests should be told not to drive to the hotel as accessibility is terrible and the recommended parking is at least 5 minutes walk away.

    Friendly staff and decent breakfast in an impressively decorated room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended for the architectecture, relative location, staff, and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is difficult to find on a small street among many, but it is only about three blocks from the metro stop and with a map can be found. The bathroom had no shower stall and the water flowed into the bedroom.

    The relative location is excellent--near the center of Naples and fairly close to the University Metro Stop and so about half way between the Central Train Station and the Royal Palace complex.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double /Twin Comfort Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. Very basic. Room was only big enough for two single beds facing each other and a small desk.

    Breakfast was excellent. Hotel itself is beautiful. Excellent friendly sttaff and very clean facility.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    The palace is gorgeous, its dining/breakfast place is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee is not as good as at the bar, but this is a standard issue in Napoli since a small coffee machine cannot perform as well as the big ones. In the bathroom, some extra hanging point for towels could be handy.

    The palace is gorgeous, its dining/breakfast place is worth of a 5star+ hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.8
    in this hotel on this location you can find the spirit and heart of the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little noise from the street in the night time during weekend, but would you expect something from this lovely and lively city with impulsive mentality. Noise was not disturbing, we considered that to be part of every day life - like from great old Italian movies

    location was perfect in the middle of Centro storico. The staff was very helpful incl breakfast service staff. Breakfast was rich and you could find sweet and also speciality cheese and all you need on continental breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    6.7
    Shabby palace in the middle of historic Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark, with no window, shared balcony. The bed was hard. Kitchen odours and smoke at the corridoors. Not enough personnel to keep up with the coffee and filling up with food. No greens at the breakfast.

    Location, location, location. Essy access with Metro (if you are traveling light). Stop either at University and walk upphill or Dante and walk downhill. Clean. Fresh fruits at the breakfast and the breakfast hall was golden.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.0
    Staff insisted I drove to hotel but gps was not functioning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated, no English cable channels and tiny television. Bathrooms are dated too. Breakfasts were not as good as other hotels and they never gave napkins with breakfast at the tables

    Staff insisted I drove to hotel but gps was not functioning well and the turn was tricky. Instead of meeting me at a piazza instead of a street that looks like an alley. They should have just given me the address of the garage!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    6.7
    The friendliness of the staff, they were all really helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dated and a little dirty. The bathtub had no curtains therefore the water went all over the floor once taken a shower. There's mould in the corners of the bathtub and that's not what you would expect from such a price. The cleaners in the morning made a terrible noise to the point I had to get up and go tell them to please be quiet.

    The friendliness of the staff, they were all really helpful and happy to suggest locations and tourist attractions. The location is just perfect.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.1
    Friendly staff, very good breakfast, close to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really bad wi fi connection- keeps disconnected all the time.Very annoying- not great for longer stay.

    Close to the airport. Good breakfast choice. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.4
    I selectedvery Overrated property for 90€ per night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel it’s not a 4 star property. Maybe 3 at best The TV system is a disgrace with a old fashioned decoder not working properly. Called staff twice but most popular tV channels scrambled The system is faulty and not user’s friendly The property is very noisy. Only 39 rooms but many facing the very small streets of Naples. Woke up at 4.45 AM due to the big noise made by the trash collection in the street. Also the room corridor leading to the only lift is made by hard tiles therefore anyone walking with high heels pushing a trolley which is the case for people leaving early morning at 6.00 AM it is a nightmare. Impossible to sleep The breakfast is the usual buffet style continental I would expect something more and more choice ( no vegetables, little fruit). Healthy options not available On check out the invoice was done by hand and not printed by a computer which is a joke in 2017 but seems the norm in Naples ( tax evasion?)

    Friendliness of Reception staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    7.5
    We arrived at 4pm and left the following morning at 6am. Driving was a big mistake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar at the hotel. No other facilities. No parking and outside although there was a car parking space too dangerous to park there. It is situated in a fairly unsafe area of the city. I wouldn’t necessarily go back there.

    The receptionist was very helpful. Central location. Near to the airport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in a splendid palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception could have more staff; we had to wait a bit both for check in and in check out, nothing dramatic really, but the staff was a bit overwhelmed with calls and guests.

    The hotel does have a lot of charm! I was afraid it would be a bit old fashioned to my bf and myself, but that was a ridiculous thought! What can we ask more for, than spending couple nights in a palace ! Highlight: definitely the breakfast and breakfast room Fancy a good read? you’ll find amazing rooms to comfortably sit and read a book Sleeping: super comfortable bed, large room, good bathroom. All very clean Definitely recommend and would come back with pleasure Thanks!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay were very helpful. We had a good breakfast. The hotel is located in a great location. Also the hotel is beautiful especially the dinning room. Old and charming!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    Probably wouldn’t bother goin to Naples again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not impressd by the taxi driver over charging us from the train station, watch out if you are coming here for the first time. If you are in the old part of the city it should be no more than 11 euros from the Central station. Also if you go to Pompeii it was just 16.8 euros for the three of us on the train that runs from the underground station (downstairs from the main station) and it only cost 28 euros to get into Pompeii. The taxi driver tried to sell us a 100 Euro trip with him and said that Pompeii closed at 15.00 so we wouldn’t make it in time. Joker!!! Naples just looks tatty in comparison to Rome and Florence.

    The reception staff were very helpful getting us back to the station without being ripped off again by the taxi drivers and we found our room nice and clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointing, couldn't wait to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was very poor - couldn't read my book. Very gloomy. The furniture and furnishings were very very old - looked as though they hadn't been changed for years. The location of the hotel was in a dark and dingy lane - quite scary for a woman on her own. The hotel was rated as a 4 star - it definitely was not. More like a 2 star in my opinion.

    The breakfast was very good and the staff friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Beds were not comfy but think this is just typical of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard to find hotel , particularly by car

    Beds were not comfy but think this is just typical of Italian hotels ? Staff were amazing at front desk and could not have been more helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is centrally located to tourist sights, shopping, and eateries. The staff is friendly, helpful, and extremely well trained to assist. The breakfast is wonderful in a beautiful palace dining room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location friendly staff room disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom old fashioned did not match the look of the public areas in the hotel. Balcony rail was very rusty and dangerous air conditioning extremely noisy.

    Location. Building and public areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    A hotel with real character and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only (minor) downside is that the lift is a bit small so, sometimes, you have to wait for it to return.

    There was a huge choice for breakfast including a wide range of traditional Napolian pastries if your belt buckle can go out an extra notch. The breakfast room was splendid. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the reception staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Directions to get to the Gorel was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and we asked about the AC at the desk and she said she would turn it to 20C by morning it was still 25c.

    Directions to get to the Gorel was terrible. We were in Naples for the first time and was told we could drive in a certain area to get there because if a picture was taken of our license plate we would have a heavy fine. Not happy about that.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.2
    Room 210 in front of the kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 210 in front of the kitchen. Been woke up at 06 in the morning. Cheap équipement, no isolation for the noise, flush that made noise all night long. Honestly horrible experience despite a nice staff. This hotel needs a refresh ! Picture below.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Despite the above criticisms, we enjoyed our stay and would be happy to return to Decumani
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although it is ranked as a 4-star hotel, the staff is limited. There seems to be no maid service after the morning, and when we checked in and had problems, the man at the desk, who was indeed very friendly and helpful, had to solve them. When we had problems with the TV channels, again it was him, since there was no handyman around. The first time we had breakfast, the room as full and there were only two staff to cope. Also, there is no laundry service.

    The bedrooms are beautiful and comfortable. The location is excellent. The breakfast room and the rooms around it are spectacular, and the breakfast is very good. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    1 Nighter in the Heart of Napoli, perfect location to see the sites a few steps out of the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Comfort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location to see the important sites of Napoli. Very helpful staff to check in and get the Napoli experience started. We had to leave very early for airport and the staff prepared a special boxed breakfast which was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Decumani Hotel De Charme traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: